$75 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 6, 2015 Check-out: Apr 7, 2015

Sempione Hotel Florence

3 stars
View map of Via Nazionale 15, Florence, 50123

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sempione Hotel Florence

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 22
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sempione Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveler80011
Business
Denver, CO
Jun 4, 2012

Sempione Hotel Florence

Excellent location. Near the train station and walking distance to all the sights. Great air conditioner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sempione Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nmeister
Business
East coast
May 5, 2012

Best location

One minute walk to santa maria novella train station. excellent place to put your stuff while exploring florence and tuscany.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

buy bus tickets/tours everywhere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sempione Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
May 18, 2011

Super close to Train station!

The hotel was literally a 2 minute walk from the main train station. Very convenient location with a liquor store,market, bars,and restaurants nearby. I was originally concerned with the location so close to the train station, but we went out for drinks several times and didn't run into any problems. The showers were very small, but that's how it is in Europe. If someone is a large person, they might have trouble fitting into the shower stall. Room had some traffic noise and wasn't the most romantic hotel, but easily walking distance 10-15 mins to every major site in Florence. Free breakfast and free coffee included. I would recommend this if you want something close and convenient to the train station. It was a good value considering the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to train station!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sempione Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
May 13, 2011

Close to train station

Short 5min walk to rail station. 10 min walk to Duomo. Helpful staff. Rooms simple but clean. Good internet connectivity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sempione Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Retired airline pilot
Business
Rural southeastern Oklahoma
Apr 18, 2011

Great location for walking to attraction

Near most attractions. Not a good hotel if you drive. There is no parking. Vehicle must stay in a remote lot with a cost of $30 per night. No food at the hotel, but numerous nearby restaurants. Heat/air available only on the designated turn on days in spring and fall. Bathrooms good. Small rooms, typically European.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not stay here if you are driving.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sempione Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
fn3
Business
Ann Arbor, MI
Aug 21, 2010

FirenzeSempione

The hotel is located within an easy walk from the rail station, although the pavement was a pain. The location is within a very pleasant walk to the Duomo, Uffizu, Arno, Accademia. In addition, there are plenty of eateries for all budgets in the area. Location is certainly a plus. The staff was very good overall; not as friendly as in other Italian establishments, but efficient and knowledgable. One of the staff was not amicable. The rooms are clean but small and spartan, with old style furniture and bathrooms. The air conditioner leaked occasionally, and there was an unusual smell if you opened the window. There was a simple breakfast and internet for free, which was a bonus. The elevator was extremely slow and very small for all the baggage we had take upstairs. Overall, a good experience, though not the best we have had in Italy in this price range.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sempione Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LiveToTravel
Business
Chicago, USA
Jul 10, 2010

Great location

We took a 3 bedroom and it was tiny. The bathrooms were super small and it was tough to shower without elbowing the walls. But it was a great location, had decent breakfast and free wireless.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sempione Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
East Tennessee
Jun 1, 2010

"Great location for the price."

Our stay at Hotel Sempione was great. The hotel staff went out of their way to help us find our way around Florence, even making museum reservations for us. The hotel's location was a plus, being within a five minute walk to the train station, our primary means of transportation while in Italy. The breakfast buffet (included in the price) provided a good choice of cereals, yogurt, pastries, juice and coffee, etc. While in Italy, we stayed in hotels in Rome and Venice, neither of which compared favorably to the Hotel Sempione for friendliness and willingness of staff to assist with travel arrangements. Overall our experience at Hotel Sempione was very favorable, one of the highlights of our Itay trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We particularly enjoyed a side trip to Siena via Trenitalia train. Siena was a pleasant surprise, being less commercialized and touristy than some other towns we visited.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sempione Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Memphis TN
May 21, 2010

Great Hotel!!!

This is my 2nd trip to Italy and 4th time to Europe. The hotel was great! We got off a train and walked to the hotel within about 10 minutes. The staff was extremely hospitable and welcoming. They offer wireless internet as well. The rooms were very good sized for Europe and the bathrooms quite nice as well! The gentleman at the desk called a taxi for me at 4:30a.m. They also answered many of our touristy questions. The location was perfect! about 2 minutes from the Mercato Centrale (If you love great food, this is important!) and lots of shopping. It's about a 10 minute walk to the Duomo. I would stay here again in a heartbeat and it was a great price!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sempione Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI
Apr 8, 2010

Great location.

My wife and I spent 2 nights here on a multi-city vacation through Italy. We arrived into Florence from Venice by train. The hotel only a few blocks from the train station and very easy to get to. The staff was very helpful and the rooms were good size for European standards. The bathroom was huge and very clean. The only 2 reel complaints are that there was no soap holder in the shower and that there was a good deal of street noise (especially if you had the window open). Otherwise, good location. Easy to navigate to all of the touristy sites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a nice family restaurant, which is featured in Fromers Tour Books, which is just 1 block down from the hotel. Tasty food, reasonable prices, friendly staff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top