$245 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 9, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

Santa Maria Novella Hotel Florence

4 stars
View map of Piazza Santa Maria Novella, 1, Florence, 50123

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Santa Maria Novella Hotel Florence

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 20
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.5

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Santa Maria Novella Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Berscheim
Business
Hartsdale, NY
Aug 14, 2011

Review of Hotel Santa Maria Novella, in Florence, Italy

Very nicely located Hotel, justly rated as 4 stars, with all attention from staff and amenities at same level. Overall experiencwe was very positive

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are several good restaurantsn the neighborhood, some of them very reasoanably priced

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Maria Novella Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
May 31, 2011

Great Hotel and Location

Hotel is very conveniently located and staff was extremely accomodating. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Maria Novella Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Coral Gables, Florida
Apr 7, 2011

Fantastic Hotel, Excellent Location

The hotel is a five minute walk from the Florence train station. The room was beautiful with a small balcony and a full breakfast was included. It is only walking distance from the Duomo and Ufizzi Gallery. The hotel also provides free internet access and wi-fi for your electronic devices. Very helpful staff with excellent hotel recommendations. My husband and I truly enjoyed our stay and will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several good hotels in the area include L'Ostreria de Giovannis, Il Latini Restaurant, Academia at San Marco Square. For a fancier meal try Parione. The only one that was more than a 5 minute walk away from the hotel was Academia. All were fantastic.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Maria Novella Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Captexpress
Business
Louisville, Ky
Oct 21, 2010

Great Hotel

Classy sophisticated Hotel in a prime location. Very spacious room consisting of bedroom, separate closet, sitting area, bedroom and a very large marble bathroom. Access to courtyard from a door in our sitting room. Nice breakfast and helpful staff. Construction in adjacent piazza underway, but our room was on the other side of the hotel. Only drawback: Requested a few wine glasses in order to sample a fine wine I had purchased while touring the countryside and was told they could not comply unless it was a wine purchased through room service? I took a walk down to the bar and applied some grease and all was well. Odd for such a nice hotel at those prices. Overall, everything else was top notch and I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Giovanni's for dinner. Outstanding.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Maria Novella Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlantic City, NJ
Oct 20, 2010

Great little Hotel- terrific location

Beautiful room with 12ft ceilings. Beautiful old building on a nice piazza with a beautiful cathedral to look at. Front desk was very helpful. Lots of interesting guests. Great location to explore the city and get to the train quickly. I will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Maria Novella Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlantic City, NJ
Oct 20, 2010

Great little Hotel- terrific location

Beautiful room with 12ft ceilings. Beautiful old building on a nice piazza with a beautiful cathedral to look at. Front desk was very helpful. Lots of interesting guests. Great location to explore the city and get to the train quickly. I will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Maria Novella Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oak Park, IL
Apr 20, 2010

The Perfect Hotel in Florence

This lovely hotel is on Piazza Santa Maria Novella, a wonderful location and a perfect home base for exploring Florence. The staff were wonderfully pleasant, attentive and helpful, giving a great restaurant recommendation, too. The room was attractive: bright, clean and airy, kept immaculate by staff, with a wonderful bathroom. Terrycloth slippers-- a nice touch! The bed was extremely comfortable with crisp, new linens. Breakfast was a feast-- a wonderful hot and cold buffets with everything you'd want, including table service for coffees or tea. We loved staying at this hotel and highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Adjacent to Santa Maria Novella, with easy walks to all the areas of Florence.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Maria Novella Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MGL
Business
Boston, MA
May 3, 2009

This is a real gem

I was travelling with my father to visit my nephew, his grandson who was studying a semester abroad. I wanted a hotel that would be comfortable for us both, nice, centrally located and I did not want to be in a "touristy" hotel. Perfect, beautifully appointed. We both had single rooms and I was pleasantly surprised as my room was quite spacious. His was a bit smaller but more than adequate. Very warm, friendly, and elegant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Wonderful dining options, good to know what you are looking for, dining event or light supper. Can't go wrong though...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Maria Novella Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 9, 2008

Lovely Boutique Hotel in the Heart of Florence

The Santa Maria Novella Hotel is a lovely Hotel within walking distance to all the major historic sights of Florence, Italy. The hotel has lovely furnishings and is well maintained. The marble bathrooms are exceptional and appointed with indulgent amenities. Breakfast was served in a beautiful room and included eggs, cheese, meats, fruit, yogurt and cereal. The wait staff were friendly and helpful. All in all it was a lovely experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Piazza where the Hotel is located is currently undergoing some construction.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Maria Novella Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Mar 27, 2008

Excellent Service & Location

The Santa Maria Novella was a wonderful hotel and the staff was superb. I am currently a manager in the hotel industry and have come to expect a lot with the hotels that I visit. The staff at this hotel went above & beyond to make our visit perfect. The location was ideal as it was only a 10 minute walk to reach all of the tourist attractions and the train station was only a 5 minute walk away. The only thing I would change is for the hotel to put some signage on the exterior of the building. Other than that I would highly reccomend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a tobacco shop right outside of the entrace to the hotel where you can buy all of your bus tickets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top