$94 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 3, 2015

San Gallo Palace Hotel Florence

4 stars
View map of Via Lorenzo Il Magnifico, 2, Florence, 50129

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for San Gallo Palace Hotel Florence

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 22
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
3.7
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Gallo Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sparrow Emperor
Business
Israel
Oct 1, 2009

Florence 2009 @ San Gallo Palace

The hotel was beautiful, rooms are clean and well-cared. No free WIFI but only with 5€ payment - a shame - that's a feature that comes frelly in lower-rated hotels. Good service. Breakfeast was a bit of dissapointment - no salad at all, just eggs, bread cheese and cornflakes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Purchase Ufizzi tickets in advance, and go to the Academy Gallery on 8:15, when it opens up.

Review of San Gallo Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jun 26, 2011

Nice hotel, but really out of the way

This was a very nice hotel, but it's very far from downtown, and not as close to the train station as it looked on the map. It's about a 20 minute walk to the Duomo, and the hotel staff said that's the best way to get there (in other words, there doesn't seem to be a bus route that's easy). We had an actual queen bed (as opposed to 2 twins pushed together, as many hotels had) and the room was very clean, if not large. The bathroom was very nice and it had a rain shower and spouts on the side, too. The breakfast was very good as well and we ate outside on a nice patio.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Florence restaurants require reservations. We tried to go at without, and even if there's no one in the restaurant they won't seat you without one. If you're going to a pizzeria, this isn't a problem, but if you want to eat at a restaurant you'll need to make a reservation. Also, the restaurants consistently shut down between 2 and 7 so make sure you eat lunch before then.

Review of San Gallo Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta
Jun 13, 2011

Great Hotel

The TV doesn't work well, but besides that it's a great hotel. Great location and parking is only 10.00 euro per day. Very clean and hotel staff were very nice and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Gallo Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CT
Jul 9, 2009

Great Find

Had a great stay. The staff spoke English which was a great help. Everyone was helpful and friendly. Rooms were clean and had plenty of space. The staff recommended a couple of restaurants, we tried them all and all were GREAT. Was able to walk everywhere, even from train station. Had an overall GREAT stay. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the local restaurants around the hotel. Sooo much cheaper then in the thick of it. Great service and dining with the locals was a great experience.

Review of San Gallo Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Teacher Stephanie
Business
Encino, Los Angeles, CA, USA
Aug 16, 2011

How very Venice

My friend and I stayed two nights at this hotel. Beware the steep steps up from the front door; hopefully your bags won't be too heavy because it appeared that all the hotels were up a flight of stairs. This room was small and a bit old, but it was just fine for our purposes. It was clean, well-maintained, and quiet. The beds were a bit hard. The bathroom had a hairdryer. The shower was small, but big enough. The hotel claimed to have free wi-fi in the lobby, but sadly it does not work with smart phones... how very strange. The breakfast was very nice, in a lovey dining room. The coffee was horrible (as it was at all our hotels in Italy). We really liked the location. It was right by the train station which is sooo important in Venice. You DO NOT want to walk all over with suitcases looking for your hotel. And the water buses and taxis are EXPENSIVE. This also meant that it was away from the massive crowds that are swarming the tourist areas. We could actually walk freely in our neighborhood. This may not be a problem the whole year, but our trip was in tourist high season August. It was also next door to the best (and cheapest) gelato shop of our whole Italy trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Gallo Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chester, NH
May 29, 2011

Wonderful Stay

This is a very nice property situated away from the hustle and noise of the old city center and its crowds. It's an easy walk to all the sights and there is a great pastry place nearby on the walk to/from the center of town. Breakfast was good as well with a nice and varied selection of items from sliced meats, pastries, cereals, yogurts, fruit, and eggs. The staff was attentive but unobtrusive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel concierge can make reservations for you for the most visited local museums though we found that we could get in to these locations very promptly by making our own reservations right at the sites either that day or the day before without any problems.

Review of San Gallo Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hildynyc
Business
Washington, DC
Jun 27, 2009

Serene San Gallo

The San Gallo Palace is a wonderful, classy hotel. It's about a 15-20 minute stroll to the center of Florence. This means you're away from the crowds and noise at night. Which is GREAT! The walk to and from is safe, even at night. I took my nephew to Italy as a graduation gift. I've traveled extensively (34 countries so far) and am VERY picky about hotels. I chose this hotel based on extensive research and reviews on multiple sites. I was extremely pleased.Front desk staff is FABULOUS! [...] was exceptional. Due to the museums not accepting U.S. credit cards, I was unable to book reservations online. I asked via email if the hotel could do it. [...] was able to get reservations for the times we needed! They charged a small fee to do this, but it beat standing in the LONG lines at the museums! The rest of the front desk staff were exceptional with directions and facilitating luggage storage and train times to Rome. My only complaint.... It must be an Italian thing, but you only get ONE cup of coffee (or espresso based coffee). Despite requesting a 2nd cup, we were ignored... And don't ask for a Cafe Americano unless you like instant (GAK!)! Stick with Italian style coffees!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Gallo Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Dec 11, 2009

Great Location! Wonderful Place to Stay!

When we went to check in to the hotel, they did not have our reservation confirmed. Thankfully, the concierge behind the desk allowed us to pull our emailed confirmation because I did not have it printed (my mistake). All worked out fine. The only downside was that they did not have internet in the rooms. You had to pay to use their computer in the lobby, a little pricey. The hotel was about a 15-20 minute walk to the river. Not bad. We always walked, except we took cabs to and from the train station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Gallo Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, Ohio
Oct 7, 2009

Excellent Stay -- Wonderful!

Great stay at San Gallo Palace hotel. If you don't mind walking 15-20 minutes to the Duomo and the main sites in Florence this is a spotless and beautiful place to stay. We saved so much money and the walk back and forth was not bad at all. It allows you to experience even more of authentic Florence away from the tourists and traps. We woudl definitely stay here again given the great price and fabulous rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Gallo Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Jun 5, 2011

great hotel!

Very nice hotel, nice accomodations. Room was spacious, very clean and up-to-date furniture and decoration. Staff was very friendly and helpful. 10 minute walking distance from Galleria della Accademia. Overall great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top