$136 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

San Gallo Palace Hotel Florence

4 stars
View map of Via Lorenzo Il Magnifico, 2, Florence, 50129

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for San Gallo Palace Hotel Florence

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 19
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
3.7
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Gallo Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Falconinvs
west hartford, ct
Jun 17, 2012

Nice hotel value

hotel is located a short walk to downtown. Great restaurant right around the corner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Gallo Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dustyattic
Business
Lexington, KY
Jul 16, 2010

Excellent experience in Florence!

I have stayed in Florence before, and at this hotel once before in a double room, which was a nice experience. So I was expecting another pleasant stay. However this time I had my wife and son with me, so booked a triple suite. The room turned out to be very large, with two+ rooms, and had a door that exited out onto a huge red tiled patio overlooking the Square. The amenities in the room were great, the breakfast was very good, and the front desk service was outstanding. I can do nothing but again fully recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Gallo Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Dec 11, 2009

Great Location! Wonderful Place to Stay!

When we went to check in to the hotel, they did not have our reservation confirmed. Thankfully, the concierge behind the desk allowed us to pull our emailed confirmation because I did not have it printed (my mistake). All worked out fine. The only downside was that they did not have internet in the rooms. You had to pay to use their computer in the lobby, a little pricey. The hotel was about a 15-20 minute walk to the river. Not bad. We always walked, except we took cabs to and from the train station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Gallo Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, D.C.
Oct 23, 2009

Great Hotel in Florence

My boyfriend and I visited Florence for a few days and stayed at San Gallo during the visit. It is a short bus ride from the train station which is wonderful. Due to the size of Florence we found that we could walk from the hotel to a get part of Florence for food within 20 minutes. Rooms were great and the staff was amazing! They helped with all questions and spoke many different languages. They have a wonderful breakfast buffet which kept us fueled all morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Great restaurant called Za-Za's in Mercantale Centrale.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Gallo Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PDF1974
Business
Chicago, IL
Oct 8, 2009

Nice Hotel, tough location

San Gallo is a nice hotel that caters more to the business traveler to Florence, and not the tourist. The hotel is not close the the main sites in Florence. It was a good 30 minute walk to the Duomo/Uffizi etc. The staff is friendly and attentive. The assisted in making reservations via email in advance of the trip, and offered nice dining suggestions while we were there. If this hotel was a mile closer, it would be 4-stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Best Dinner we had in Florence was at Il Latini.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Gallo Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, Ohio
Oct 7, 2009

Excellent Stay -- Wonderful!

Great stay at San Gallo Palace hotel. If you don't mind walking 15-20 minutes to the Duomo and the main sites in Florence this is a spotless and beautiful place to stay. We saved so much money and the walk back and forth was not bad at all. It allows you to experience even more of authentic Florence away from the tourists and traps. We woudl definitely stay here again given the great price and fabulous rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Gallo Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sparrow Emperor
Business
Israel
Oct 1, 2009

Florence 2009 @ San Gallo Palace

The hotel was beautiful, rooms are clean and well-cared. No free WIFI but only with 5€ payment - a shame - that's a feature that comes frelly in lower-rated hotels. Good service. Breakfeast was a bit of dissapointment - no salad at all, just eggs, bread cheese and cornflakes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Purchase Ufizzi tickets in advance, and go to the Academy Gallery on 8:15, when it opens up.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Gallo Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CT
Jul 9, 2009

Great Find

Had a great stay. The staff spoke English which was a great help. Everyone was helpful and friendly. Rooms were clean and had plenty of space. The staff recommended a couple of restaurants, we tried them all and all were GREAT. Was able to walk everywhere, even from train station. Had an overall GREAT stay. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the local restaurants around the hotel. Sooo much cheaper then in the thick of it. Great service and dining with the locals was a great experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Gallo Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hildynyc
Business
Washington, DC
Jun 27, 2009

Serene San Gallo

The San Gallo Palace is a wonderful, classy hotel. It's about a 15-20 minute stroll to the center of Florence. This means you're away from the crowds and noise at night. Which is GREAT! The walk to and from is safe, even at night. I took my nephew to Italy as a graduation gift. I've traveled extensively (34 countries so far) and am VERY picky about hotels. I chose this hotel based on extensive research and reviews on multiple sites. I was extremely pleased.Front desk staff is FABULOUS! [...] was exceptional. Due to the museums not accepting U.S. credit cards, I was unable to book reservations online. I asked via email if the hotel could do it. [...] was able to get reservations for the times we needed! They charged a small fee to do this, but it beat standing in the LONG lines at the museums! The rest of the front desk staff were exceptional with directions and facilitating luggage storage and train times to Rome. My only complaint.... It must be an Italian thing, but you only get ONE cup of coffee (or espresso based coffee). Despite requesting a 2nd cup, we were ignored... And don't ask for a Cafe Americano unless you like instant (GAK!)! Stick with Italian style coffees!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Gallo Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Missouri
May 2, 2009

Nice hotel!

Great value for the money. A little further to walk than some other hotels but not bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the Ristorante Perseus about two blocks away. We ate there 3 times in 8 days.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top