$201 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Principe Hotel Florence

4 stars
View map of Lungarno Amerigo Vespucci, 34, Florence, 50123

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Principe Hotel Florence

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 16
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.5

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Principe Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jim and WIlla
Couples
New York NY
Apr 12, 2011

Absolutely Incredible

Better than the NYC Plaza...view from balcony overlooking the Arno from Point Vecchio west...your neighbor is the US Consulate. Four blocks from Duomo...what a beautiful building, well maintained, large rooms and the staff is absolutely the best I've encountered in Europe. Breakfast was great and served with impeccable style. What can you say about a hotel that changes its welcome carpet daily (it's white linen..really) and has a private garden complete with wisteria everywhere and a koi pond. Don't miss this one...you'll be torn between seeing the treasures of Florence and just staying at the Hotel Principe Florence

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Florence, like many other old cities, has strict traffic restrictions and parking is never easy. The hotel staff arranged for us to leave our car in the side courtyard..secure and safe. All of the city was easily accessible. A wonderful trip.

Review of Principe Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Snarks
Couples
New Mexico
Nov 9, 2010

Great quiet and central location

Very friendly staff. Good breakfast buffet. Easy to walk to all the main sites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

It is best to park and walk everywhere. You will see more of the area and meet more people.

Review of Principe Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
New York, NY
Oct 29, 2010

Very nice old world European hotel

We were a group of 6 people aged 7 - 70. We had three lovely rooms on the first floor (2nd story in US). They gave us a larger room with a Queen bed and an extra twin for my son at no extra charge. The hotel has an old world charm which is reflected in the antique furnishings and decor. In places it is a bit worn (carpets in public areas) but this in no way detracts from the overall feeling of ease and comfort one has. Rooms in the original part of the hotel are large and have very high ceilings and original woodwork and moldings - you will feel as if you have stepped back in time. Bathrooms are in most cases large with old marble floors and walls. Some rooms have balconies though none of ours did. The roof deck has fabulous views. The breakfast room is attractive and the continental buffet is quite abundant with fairly good variety, including fresh juice. The last day I was there I stayed in a single on the 4th floor which is new construction and this part of the hotel was not nearly as nice as in the original part of the building. The room was small with very thin walls and I could hear my neighbors talking. The hotel location on the Arno is very nice but it is a 10-15 minute walk to most of the major attractions so this should be kept in mind. I think it is worth it to be right on the river though. Staff at the hotel is very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are at least three decent restaurants very close to the hotel that they will recommend. I liked Il Profeta in particular which I found out after the fact is also rated #3 of all restaurants in Florence on a popular travel website.

Review of Principe Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
NY
Sep 14, 2010

Warm staff, wonderful setting

We have been to Florence 4 - 5 times and this by far was our best experence much tributed to the hotel and it's staff. It was our 40th wedding anniverary and they did all anyone could do to make it memorable. They should change the name to Domandare e ricivere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For fish "fuol'acqua"

Review of Principe Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Thanliand
Jun 21, 2010

Great location

The staff were great. Got a room with a balcony overlooking the river. Walked the city and visited all the main sites of this wonderful city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Principe Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Washington, DC
Oct 1, 2009

Wonderful Palace Accomodations

This was our first trip to Florence and we were a little concerned with a location that was close enough to the center, but not in the middle of the very crowded streets. We were extremely pleased with our choice. It was a 10 minute walk to just about anything. Being on the river and away from the crowds made for a peaceful location. The staff was excellent. They helped us out with logistics for 3 different excursions including train selection. The morning breakfast was much more than we were expecting for an Italian breakfast. The room was spacious and we used the terrace each night for a relaxing "happy hour". When we return, we will definitely repeat at this lodging.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure and take advantage of some shopping for leather while in Florence. The trick to do it while they're open. Each store tends to have it's own unique schedule.

Back to menu Return to top