$177 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 22, 2015 Check-out: Apr 23, 2015

Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio

4 stars
View map of Borgo San Jacopo, 3, Florence, 50125

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
31 reviews
First trip to Florence

This was my first visit to Florence. It was important to find a hotel that was close to all the... See full review

  • Kent H.
  • Apr 13, 2015
Pitti Palace

Location was perfect, literally steps from the Ponte Vecchio. The area is safe and clean. My room... See full review

  • Miabella
  • Jan 26, 2015
Refined, historic hotel in coveted location
In a 13th-century building incorporating stones from the Ponte Vecchio, the elegant Pitti Palace hotel offers refined accommodations and the advantage of one of the city's most coveted locations. Enjoy easy walking distance to nearly all of Florence's major attractions, which makes the hotel the ideal base for cultural exploration. The Pitti Palace also boasts a cafe lounge, bar and two spacious terraces with panoramic views of Florence.
Highlights
  • Prime location: adjacent to Ponte Vecchio
  • Hotel retains the stones of the buttresses from the Ponte Vecchio
  • Terraces offer skyline views
Rooms
Guest rooms are simple yet functional. All rooms are soundproofed and feature a private bathroom, air conditioning, cable/satellite TV, mini-bar, safe, hairdryer, and a bathroom with a tub.
Features

Within the walls of the 13th-century Rossi Tower lies the Pitti Palace, a refined, seven-story tower that incorporates stones from the adjacent Ponte Vecchio. This privileged location affords guests an extraordinary lodging experience in the City of Lillies, an enviable vantage point from which to discover all of Florence's treasures.

The hotel delights in the fact that it's only 7 meters (about 22 feet) to be exact from the Ponte Vecchio. The Uffizi Gallery, Piazza Santo Spirito, and Piazza Duomo are all within just a few blocks.

A coffee shop and bar with panoramic terrace are noteworthy meeting spots, while the hotel's attentive and professional staff offer a range of services, including booking for museums, theaters, and concerts, as well as confirming airline and railway tickets.

Transportation
  • Florence Airport (3 mi/ 5 km)
  • Santa Maria Novella train station (0.5 mi/ 900m)
Attractions
  • Ponte Vecchio (adjacent)
  • Duomo and Baptistry (0.7 mi/400 m)
  • Uffizi Gallery (< 0.1 mi/100 m)
  • Basilica di Santa Croce (0.4 mi/700 m)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio Rooms

Double Room
This room offers one double bed or two twins along with Air conditioning,Alarm clock,Bathroom amenities,Cable/Satellite TV,Color TV,Hairdryer,Heating,Internet access,Iron/Ironing board on request,Laundry service,Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms,Room service, Safe in room,Shaver in bathroom, Telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Pitti Palace: 0.1 mi
  • Corridoio Vasariano: 0.1 mi
  • Santa Maria Novela Basilica: 0.2 mi
  • Boboli Gardens: 0.2 mi
  • Uffizi Gallery (Galleria degli Uffizi): 0.2 mi
  • Museo di Palazzo Davanzati: 0.2 mi
  • Museo Galileo - Institute and Museum of the History of Science: 0.2 mi
  • Piazza della Signoria: 0.3 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.3 mi
  • Centro Storico: 0.3 mi
  • Museo Nazionale del Bargello (Bargello Museum): 0.4 mi
  • Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto): 0.4 mi
  • Piazza del Duomo: 0.4 mi
  • Palazzo Vecchio: 0.5 mi
  • Duomo - Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore: 0.5 mi
  • Pitti Palace: 0.1 mi
  • Corridoio Vasariano: 0.1 mi
  • Santa Maria Novela Basilica: 0.2 mi
  • Boboli Gardens: 0.2 mi
  • Uffizi Gallery (Galleria degli Uffizi): 0.2 mi
  • Museo di Palazzo Davanzati: 0.2 mi
  • Museo Galileo - Institute and Museum of the History of Science: 0.2 mi
  • Piazza della Signoria: 0.3 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.3 mi
  • Centro Storico: 0.3 mi
  • Museo Nazionale del Bargello (Bargello Museum): 0.4 mi
  • Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto): 0.4 mi
  • Piazza del Duomo: 0.4 mi
  • Palazzo Vecchio: 0.5 mi
  • Duomo - Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore: 0.5 mi
  • Duomo Museum (Museo dell'Opera del Duomo): 0.5 mi
  • Laurentian Library (Biblioteca Medicea Laurenziana): 0.5 mi
  • Church of Santa Maria Novella: 0.5 mi
  • Santa Maria Novella Train station: 0.5 mi
  • Medici Chapels (Cappelle Medicee): 0.5 mi
  • Basilica di San Lorenzo: 0.6 mi
  • Mercato Centrale: 0.7 mi
  • Cimitero Delle Porte Sante: 0.7 mi
  • Piazzale Michelangelo: 0.7 mi
  • Galleria dell'Accademia: 0.8 mi
  • Sinagoga di Firenze e Museo ebraico: 0.8 mi
  • Museo di San Marco: 0.8 mi
  • Basilica Of San Lorenzo: 0.8 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Croce: 0.9 mi
  • Piazza San Marco: 0.9 mi
  • Basilica di San Miniato al Monte: 1 mi
  • Giardino Corsi: 1 mi
  • Giardino Della Gherardesca: 1.3 mi
  • Artemio Franchi Stadium: 1.7 mi
  • Museo Stibbert: 2 mi
  • Fiesole: 3.5 mi
  • Baptistry (Battistero): 42.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
12:00 PM
Check-out:
2:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
31 out of 31
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.5

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bengy
Business
Cyprus
Apr 13, 2013

Below average

Small room with stains on the floor, looks shaby and depressing.Staff never smile.Very basic breakfast. The only good thing was the location and the view from last floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Miabella
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Nov 13, 2013

Close to Ponte Vecchio

I had a single room and it was small, but clean. Hotel is in a very good area to walk to all attractions in Florence. Area was safe, but a bit noisy. It was a great value and I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Oct 31, 2010

Location, Location, Location

The location was great. All major sights 5 - 15 minutes walk, many great places to eat within 2 blocks of the hotel. The breakfast with many food choices didn't vary over the 8 day stay and was always crowded, many times with a wait for a table and always uncomfortably warm. The hotel was very clean, the beds very firm, again with the halls and rooms very warm. Light bulbs not working upon arrival and maintenance said the therostat wouldn't work in the room so heat was either on or off. We kept it off all the time. Some of the staff very helpful with information and directions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
On The Road Dee
Business
Swannanoa, NC
Apr 23, 2014

Excellent!

We couldn't believe we were footsteps from the Ponte Vecchio. Such an excellent location. This hotel has been renovated and is modern, clean and lovely. Our room was small but comfortable with enough space to unpack. Our room was over an ally that had nighttime garbage pick-up so it was quite noisy with the window open (we needed it open as the a/c wasn't turned on yet) but my earplugs fixed the problem. Wonderful buffet breakfast every morning in a charming roof top room with amazing views!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is nearby and we walked all over. Very close to the Pitti Palace. Discovered we were near a non-touristic neighborhood called Santo Spirito which had lovely local restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Captain Chaos
Business
No fixed abode.......
Nov 9, 2011

Romance on your doorstep

I was meeting someone on the Ponte Vecchio, so the location couldn't have been better - out of the hotel door, and onto the bridge. Most parts of Florence could be reached with an easy stroll, and there was a small taxi rank next to the hotel entrance for those longer journeys. Lots of enticing shops lined the neighbouring streets. The roof terrace with views over the city was particularly attractive, and although my own room did not look directly onto the bridge it was close enough that I could lean out and see it. The staff were incredibly polite, patient, helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Most of the major attractions and shops and restaurants can be reached in an easy stroll from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brenda Waggoner
Business
McKinney Texas
Nov 6, 2011

Great place to stay

My husband and I went to Florence for our anniversary and wanted to stay in a hotel within walking distance from the Ufizzi and other museums, shopping district, etc. The Pitti Palace was everything we wanted and more. Really quite a basic room, very clean, great view, good breakfast everyday, and in the arts district. Fantastic overall!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Bottled water, bakeries and pizza and gelato shops are right across the street. We like to walk a lot, and we found no need to take cabs, except to airport and back.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MarkoBarrko
Business
Boston, MA USA
Nov 18, 2011

great location, good value

Absolutely great location, very nice breakfast and helpful staff/ Occasional problems using the wifi, but this is apparently more due to room location than anything else. Staff generally gave me a 2 day access code for wifi. We were on the 5th floor. The only real downside was that the trash pickup was directly below us, and they typically showed up at about 6 AM. I would gladly stay there again but would request a room away from the dumpsters.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La Galleria Restaurante is just down the street towards Pitti Palace, and is a very nice, well priced restaurant. Good food for a good price. I liked the house white wine better than the red. The poached pear is a great dessert. The florentine steak is very good as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Adult Daughter and Mom
Business
Denver Colorado
Feb 14, 2012

Enjoyed our stay

Location could not be better; smallish room but very adequate; small elevator, nice breakfast room, helpful staff - enjoyed the stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BJ Miller
Business
Hope New Jersey
Jul 14, 2012

Wonderful week in Florence!

Our hotel ws very nice. The location was superb for us. We walked everywhere and most everything was within walking distance of our hotel. Many restaurants are close by and are all very good and reasonably priced. The room was small, but we find small rooms in all the cities in Europe and we have been to many. The staff was courteous and friendly, and helped us with reservations (for a fee) to the Uffizi and Academia. Although our room was small, there was a wonderful sitting room on the second floor overlooking the street. The room was so peaceful and comfortable and usually empty! Computer usage was available for a small fee also. The restaurant and breakfast room, was on the 6th floor and had a wonderful view of the city. Breakfast, which was included, was very good. It was a large assortment of breads, cakes, ham and cheese, cereals, fruits, yogurt, hard boiled eggs and juices. The Coffee and cappucino were great too. The women who ran the breakfast were very hard-working, and greeted us so friendly every morning. We enjoyed getting to know them. These are all the postive points of this hotel. On the negative side, there are a few points to consider. First of all, the bed was as hard as a kitchen table and the pillow was about 1 to 2 inches thick. As soon as we arrived, we began to ask for more pillows. We finally got 2 more, but it did not help much. We like to read before bed, and we could not sit up in bed with that mattress and pillows. There were two straightback chairs and a desk in the room, but no room to really use them. We mostly tripped over them. The maids did not speak English, and we asked for pillows again and again. On our last day, we saw a big box of brand new thicker pillows in the hallway. So we took two and figured at least our last night would be more comfortable. But while we were out, the maid took them away. Also, we like our bucket of ice every day, to put a bottle of wine on ice or to make a cold drink. They would only give us a small bowl of ice once per day. We did not use the 6th floor bar for drinks. We tried to get a drink there one day, but the bartender did not understand my order (bloody mary) and then disappeared for 15 minutes so we left. Also, I noticed in other reviews of this hotel that people said the best view is in the fifth floor rooms but we decided to stay on the second floor. We had a view of the side street only, which was okay. We paid for a room with a view . We decided to stay on the 2nd floor because the elevator was so small and slow. We were able to walk up to the 2nd floor much easier than the 5th. But we received no refund for our upgrade because they said we had a "view" from the 2nd floor. We did not want to make an issue about it. We were glad to be on the 2nd floor. And the upgrade was very little money. These are things that happen when you are out of the country and don't speak the language. It is something that you get used to as you become a seasoned traveler. Customs and services are very different in Europe than in the USA. We learned to make the best of it, and have a good time. We had a wonderful time here at the Pitti Palace Hotel. The price was very good because in Florence, prices can be very expensive. The staff here was great, friendly and helpful for most things, and I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

A short walk from our hotel was a small supermarket where they sold bottles of water for 20 cents (in euros). We would buy 4 or 5 bottles at a time and keep in our little refrigerator to take with us walking. It saves a lot of $$ because all the little stores charge 2 euros for a small bottle of water. You will go through a lot of water there especially when it is as hot as it was when we were there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Italy 2012
Business
Oregon
Jul 15, 2012

Just the spot!

It was the first day of a two week holiday that started with a cancelled flight resulting in a mixup on the date of our arrival. But the staff quickly changed our date of stay with no problem and helped us enjoy the ciy of Florence. Plus the Wine Bar overlooking the city was a true delight. The wine stewart led us on an unbelievable journey through the Tuscan wines and foods while viewing the Florence cityscape at night. The summer evening, the wine, and the company of a couple we met at the Wine Bar made it a remarkable evening. Also just a short walk from everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A couple of blocks from the hotel we found marvelous outdoor dining on side streets with just four tables and true Tuscan dishes served with joy and warmth. No hurry or pressure we at and enjoyed the wine for hours in the warm summer evening. The chef actually came to our table which just added to the fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top