$147 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2015 Check-out: Jul 29, 2015

Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio

4 stars
View map of Borgo San Jacopo, 3, Florence, 50125

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
34 out of 34
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.6

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Auerrehab
Business
Mission, Texas
Dec 2, 2012

Perfect location!

The location was awesome, just steps away from Ponte Vecchio. I loved the breakfast that was included in our stay. The dinning Terrace at the top of the hotel is better than the pictures posted on the web site, you have to check out the view from the terrace at night. The room was extremely clean and comfortable. If you are from The United States, do not let the size of the room through you off . Most hotel rooms in Italy are fairly small, thats just the way it is.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you enjoy fashion, Florence is an excellent place to buy excellent leather good. Always try to bargin for your purchase.

Review of Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Florence traveller
Business
Minnesota
Aug 9, 2012

The Best Location!

This was my second visit to Florence and my second stay at this hotel. The location could not be better. It's at the foot of the Ponte de Vecchio and walking distance to all of the sights on both sides of the Arno. Both times the room was comfortable, air conditioned and best of all quiet. The rooftop patio with a view of the city was a great way to start each day. The staff were friendly and helpful and arranged our Chianti tour for us. I'll stay there when I return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Italy 2012
Business
Oregon
Jul 15, 2012

Just the spot!

It was the first day of a two week holiday that started with a cancelled flight resulting in a mixup on the date of our arrival. But the staff quickly changed our date of stay with no problem and helped us enjoy the ciy of Florence. Plus the Wine Bar overlooking the city was a true delight. The wine stewart led us on an unbelievable journey through the Tuscan wines and foods while viewing the Florence cityscape at night. The summer evening, the wine, and the company of a couple we met at the Wine Bar made it a remarkable evening. Also just a short walk from everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A couple of blocks from the hotel we found marvelous outdoor dining on side streets with just four tables and true Tuscan dishes served with joy and warmth. No hurry or pressure we at and enjoyed the wine for hours in the warm summer evening. The chef actually came to our table which just added to the fun.

Review of Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BJ Miller
Business
Hope New Jersey
Jul 14, 2012

Wonderful week in Florence!

Our hotel ws very nice. The location was superb for us. We walked everywhere and most everything was within walking distance of our hotel. Many restaurants are close by and are all very good and reasonably priced. The room was small, but we find small rooms in all the cities in Europe and we have been to many. The staff was courteous and friendly, and helped us with reservations (for a fee) to the Uffizi and Academia. Although our room was small, there was a wonderful sitting room on the second floor overlooking the street. The room was so peaceful and comfortable and usually empty! Computer usage was available for a small fee also. The restaurant and breakfast room, was on the 6th floor and had a wonderful view of the city. Breakfast, which was included, was very good. It was a large assortment of breads, cakes, ham and cheese, cereals, fruits, yogurt, hard boiled eggs and juices. The Coffee and cappucino were great too. The women who ran the breakfast were very hard-working, and greeted us so friendly every morning. We enjoyed getting to know them. These are all the postive points of this hotel. On the negative side, there are a few points to consider. First of all, the bed was as hard as a kitchen table and the pillow was about 1 to 2 inches thick. As soon as we arrived, we began to ask for more pillows. We finally got 2 more, but it did not help much. We like to read before bed, and we could not sit up in bed with that mattress and pillows. There were two straightback chairs and a desk in the room, but no room to really use them. We mostly tripped over them. The maids did not speak English, and we asked for pillows again and again. On our last day, we saw a big box of brand new thicker pillows in the hallway. So we took two and figured at least our last night would be more comfortable. But while we were out, the maid took them away. Also, we like our bucket of ice every day, to put a bottle of wine on ice or to make a cold drink. They would only give us a small bowl of ice once per day. We did not use the 6th floor bar for drinks. We tried to get a drink there one day, but the bartender did not understand my order (bloody mary) and then disappeared for 15 minutes so we left. Also, I noticed in other reviews of this hotel that people said the best view is in the fifth floor rooms but we decided to stay on the second floor. We had a view of the side street only, which was okay. We paid for a room with a view . We decided to stay on the 2nd floor because the elevator was so small and slow. We were able to walk up to the 2nd floor much easier than the 5th. But we received no refund for our upgrade because they said we had a "view" from the 2nd floor. We did not want to make an issue about it. We were glad to be on the 2nd floor. And the upgrade was very little money. These are things that happen when you are out of the country and don't speak the language. It is something that you get used to as you become a seasoned traveler. Customs and services are very different in Europe than in the USA. We learned to make the best of it, and have a good time. We had a wonderful time here at the Pitti Palace Hotel. The price was very good because in Florence, prices can be very expensive. The staff here was great, friendly and helpful for most things, and I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

A short walk from our hotel was a small supermarket where they sold bottles of water for 20 cents (in euros). We would buy 4 or 5 bottles at a time and keep in our little refrigerator to take with us walking. It saves a lot of $$ because all the little stores charge 2 euros for a small bottle of water. You will go through a lot of water there especially when it is as hot as it was when we were there.

Review of Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Adult Daughter and Mom
Business
Denver Colorado
Feb 14, 2012

Enjoyed our stay

Location could not be better; smallish room but very adequate; small elevator, nice breakfast room, helpful staff - enjoyed the stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MarkoBarrko
Business
Boston, MA USA
Nov 18, 2011

great location, good value

Absolutely great location, very nice breakfast and helpful staff/ Occasional problems using the wifi, but this is apparently more due to room location than anything else. Staff generally gave me a 2 day access code for wifi. We were on the 5th floor. The only real downside was that the trash pickup was directly below us, and they typically showed up at about 6 AM. I would gladly stay there again but would request a room away from the dumpsters.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La Galleria Restaurante is just down the street towards Pitti Palace, and is a very nice, well priced restaurant. Good food for a good price. I liked the house white wine better than the red. The poached pear is a great dessert. The florentine steak is very good as well.

Review of Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Milarus
Business
Illinois, USA
Nov 13, 2011

Pitti Palace

Great location, clean room, helpful staff. I would recommend it to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Captain Chaos
Business
No fixed abode.......
Nov 9, 2011

Romance on your doorstep

I was meeting someone on the Ponte Vecchio, so the location couldn't have been better - out of the hotel door, and onto the bridge. Most parts of Florence could be reached with an easy stroll, and there was a small taxi rank next to the hotel entrance for those longer journeys. Lots of enticing shops lined the neighbouring streets. The roof terrace with views over the city was particularly attractive, and although my own room did not look directly onto the bridge it was close enough that I could lean out and see it. The staff were incredibly polite, patient, helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Most of the major attractions and shops and restaurants can be reached in an easy stroll from the hotel.

Review of Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brenda Waggoner
Business
McKinney Texas
Nov 6, 2011

Great place to stay

My husband and I went to Florence for our anniversary and wanted to stay in a hotel within walking distance from the Ufizzi and other museums, shopping district, etc. The Pitti Palace was everything we wanted and more. Really quite a basic room, very clean, great view, good breakfast everyday, and in the arts district. Fantastic overall!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Bottled water, bakeries and pizza and gelato shops are right across the street. We like to walk a lot, and we found no need to take cabs, except to airport and back.

Review of Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travelteer
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Aug 28, 2011

Great location and customer service

The hotel is in a prime location, I didn't have to take a single cab to visit all the sites I was interested in. The service was great, everyone spoke English well and I had all my questions answered. There are plenty of restaurants close by, but I would recommend taking advantage of the rooftop atmosphere with the meat and cheese platter at least once during your stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top