$117 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 19, 2014 Check-out: Nov 20, 2014

Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio

4 stars
Borgo San Jacopo, 3, Florence, 50125
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
27 reviews
Superb location!

Terrific location to explore Florence. Parking garage just down the street. As long as you are... See full review

  • Steve I never burn
  • May 26, 2014
Perfect to experience Florence

We were fortunate to have perfect weather out of season, but our 4 night break was made much less... See full review

  • Great grandparents
  • Nov 10, 2013
Refined, historic hotel in coveted location
In a 13th-century building incorporating stones from the Ponte Vecchio, the elegant Pitti Palace hotel offers refined accommodations and the advantage of one of the city's most coveted locations. Enjoy easy walking distance to nearly all of Florence's major attractions, which makes the hotel the ideal base for cultural exploration. The Pitti Palace also boasts a cafe lounge, bar and two spacious terraces with panoramic views of Florence.
Highlights
  • Prime location: adjacent to Ponte Vecchio
  • Hotel retains the stones of the buttresses from the Ponte Vecchio
  • Terraces offer skyline views
Rooms
Guest rooms are simple yet functional. All rooms are soundproofed and feature a private bathroom, air conditioning, cable/satellite TV, mini-bar, safe, hairdryer, and a bathroom with a tub.
Features

Within the walls of the 13th-century Rossi Tower lies the Pitti Palace, a refined, seven-story tower that incorporates stones from the adjacent Ponte Vecchio. This privileged location affords guests an extraordinary lodging experience in the City of Lillies, an enviable vantage point from which to discover all of Florence's treasures.

The hotel delights in the fact that it's only 7 meters (about 22 feet) to be exact from the Ponte Vecchio. The Uffizi Gallery, Piazza Santo Spirito, and Piazza Duomo are all within just a few blocks.

A coffee shop and bar with panoramic terrace are noteworthy meeting spots, while the hotel's attentive and professional staff offer a range of services, including booking for museums, theaters, and concerts, as well as confirming airline and railway tickets.

Transportation
  • Florence Airport (3 mi/ 5 km)
  • Santa Maria Novella train station (0.5 mi/ 900m)
Attractions
  • Ponte Vecchio (adjacent)
  • Duomo and Baptistry (0.7 mi/400 m)
  • Uffizi Gallery (< 0.1 mi/100 m)
  • Basilica di Santa Croce (0.4 mi/700 m)

Hotel Map

43.7678 11.2514
Area served
Florence
Nearby airports
Aeroporto di Firenze International Airport.
Area description
The hotel is located in one of the districts most evocative of medieval Florence. It is also within walking distance of both the Uffizi Gallery and the Pitti Palace, near Pitti Palace, a stone's throw from Ponte Vecchio and the Vasari Corridor.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio Rooms

Double Room
This room offers one double bed or two twins along with Air conditioning,Alarm clock,Bathroom amenities,Cable/Satellite TV,Color TV,Hairdryer,Heating,Internet access,Iron/Ironing board on request,Laundry service,Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms,Room service, Safe in room,Shaver in bathroom, Telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Pitti Palace: 0.1 mi
  • Corridoio Vasariano: 0.1 mi
  • Santa Maria Novela Basilica: 0.2 mi
  • Boboli Gardens: 0.2 mi
  • Uffizi Gallery (Galleria degli Uffizi): 0.2 mi
  • Museo di Palazzo Davanzati: 0.2 mi
  • Museo Galileo - Institute and Museum of the History of Science: 0.2 mi
  • Piazza della Signoria: 0.3 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.3 mi
  • Centro Storico: 0.3 mi
  • Museo Nazionale del Bargello (Bargello Museum): 0.4 mi
  • Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto): 0.4 mi
  • Piazza del Duomo: 0.4 mi
  • Palazzo Vecchio: 0.5 mi
  • Duomo - Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore: 0.5 mi
  • Pitti Palace: 0.1 mi
  • Corridoio Vasariano: 0.1 mi
  • Santa Maria Novela Basilica: 0.2 mi
  • Boboli Gardens: 0.2 mi
  • Uffizi Gallery (Galleria degli Uffizi): 0.2 mi
  • Museo di Palazzo Davanzati: 0.2 mi
  • Museo Galileo - Institute and Museum of the History of Science: 0.2 mi
  • Piazza della Signoria: 0.3 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.3 mi
  • Centro Storico: 0.3 mi
  • Museo Nazionale del Bargello (Bargello Museum): 0.4 mi
  • Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto): 0.4 mi
  • Piazza del Duomo: 0.4 mi
  • Palazzo Vecchio: 0.5 mi
  • Duomo - Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore: 0.5 mi
  • Duomo Museum (Museo dell'Opera del Duomo): 0.5 mi
  • Laurentian Library (Biblioteca Medicea Laurenziana): 0.5 mi
  • Church of Santa Maria Novella: 0.5 mi
  • Santa Maria Novella Train station: 0.5 mi
  • Medici Chapels (Cappelle Medicee): 0.5 mi
  • Basilica di San Lorenzo: 0.6 mi
  • Mercato Centrale: 0.7 mi
  • Cimitero Delle Porte Sante: 0.7 mi
  • Piazzale Michelangelo: 0.7 mi
  • Galleria dell'Accademia: 0.8 mi
  • Sinagoga di Firenze e Museo ebraico: 0.8 mi
  • Museo di San Marco: 0.8 mi
  • Basilica Of San Lorenzo: 0.8 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Croce: 0.9 mi
  • Piazza San Marco: 0.9 mi
  • Basilica di San Miniato al Monte: 1 mi
  • Giardino Corsi: 1 mi
  • Giardino Della Gherardesca: 1.3 mi
  • Artemio Franchi Stadium: 1.7 mi
  • Museo Stibbert: 2 mi
  • Fiesole: 3.5 mi
  • Baptistry (Battistero): 42.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1200
Check-out:
1400

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (27)

Ratings and reviews for Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
27 out of 27
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.6

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Walter K
Business
NJ
Apr 11, 2013

Nice hotel

The hotel is in an extremely convenient location. Walking distance to all the attractions. They advertise that it is located 7 meters from Ponte Vecchio and it is true. The room was very clean. The staff was very courteous and helpful. Room is a little on the small side and the bathroom tight but very clean and pleasant. outstanding view from the restaurant located on the last floor. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you are planning to visit more than couple of museums get a Firenze card. It lets you bypass lines and saves you time and money. It does not cover Duomo and Saint Lorenzo church.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rlbobg
Business
Napa, California
Mar 16, 2013

fantastic location

I went to Florence with my 22 year old son to visit my daughter who is studying abroad. We had the most fantastic time! The hotel was is an absolutely perfect location. I went running on the banks of the Arno, and we could walk to anywhere we wanted to go, including all the major sites, and to the train station for our day-long journeys out of town. Highly recommended!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you buy a train ticket to do any traveling, make sure to have it validated at the train station before you board the train!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trollyrde
Business
Michigan
Mar 10, 2013

Fantastic Value!

The location cannot be anything other than perfect. The supermarket down the street, the nearby restaurants and the friendly staff made for a wonderful experience for my husband and two granddaughters. This was our fifth visit to Florence and it was by far our best.....thanks to this wonderful hotel! By the way, the breakfasts are a delight and the view is grand! Loved our week!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Shop the local supermarket down the street and indulge in the local fruits and vegetables as a snack also the wines are wonderful and inexpensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
itala
Business
New York
Dec 30, 2012

Heart of Firenze

Location is perfect--walking distance from most of the treasures of Florence; room comfortable,located in lovely 13th C. tower completely refurbished, amiable staff, complete breakfast with exquisite riccotta, eggs from happy tuscan hens, and perfect coffee!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Auerrehab
Business
Mission, Texas
Dec 2, 2012

Perfect location!

The location was awesome, just steps away from Ponte Vecchio. I loved the breakfast that was included in our stay. The dinning Terrace at the top of the hotel is better than the pictures posted on the web site, you have to check out the view from the terrace at night. The room was extremely clean and comfortable. If you are from The United States, do not let the size of the room through you off . Most hotel rooms in Italy are fairly small, thats just the way it is.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you enjoy fashion, Florence is an excellent place to buy excellent leather good. Always try to bargin for your purchase.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Florence traveller
Business
Minnesota
Aug 9, 2012

The Best Location!

This was my second visit to Florence and my second stay at this hotel. The location could not be better. It's at the foot of the Ponte de Vecchio and walking distance to all of the sights on both sides of the Arno. Both times the room was comfortable, air conditioned and best of all quiet. The rooftop patio with a view of the city was a great way to start each day. The staff were friendly and helpful and arranged our Chianti tour for us. I'll stay there when I return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Italy 2012
Business
Oregon
Jul 15, 2012

Just the spot!

It was the first day of a two week holiday that started with a cancelled flight resulting in a mixup on the date of our arrival. But the staff quickly changed our date of stay with no problem and helped us enjoy the ciy of Florence. Plus the Wine Bar overlooking the city was a true delight. The wine stewart led us on an unbelievable journey through the Tuscan wines and foods while viewing the Florence cityscape at night. The summer evening, the wine, and the company of a couple we met at the Wine Bar made it a remarkable evening. Also just a short walk from everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A couple of blocks from the hotel we found marvelous outdoor dining on side streets with just four tables and true Tuscan dishes served with joy and warmth. No hurry or pressure we at and enjoyed the wine for hours in the warm summer evening. The chef actually came to our table which just added to the fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BJ Miller
Business
Hope New Jersey
Jul 14, 2012

Wonderful week in Florence!

Our hotel ws very nice. The location was superb for us. We walked everywhere and most everything was within walking distance of our hotel. Many restaurants are close by and are all very good and reasonably priced. The room was small, but we find small rooms in all the cities in Europe and we have been to many. The staff was courteous and friendly, and helped us with reservations (for a fee) to the Uffizi and Academia. Although our room was small, there was a wonderful sitting room on the second floor overlooking the street. The room was so peaceful and comfortable and usually empty! Computer usage was available for a small fee also. The restaurant and breakfast room, was on the 6th floor and had a wonderful view of the city. Breakfast, which was included, was very good. It was a large assortment of breads, cakes, ham and cheese, cereals, fruits, yogurt, hard boiled eggs and juices. The Coffee and cappucino were great too. The women who ran the breakfast were very hard-working, and greeted us so friendly every morning. We enjoyed getting to know them. These are all the postive points of this hotel. On the negative side, there are a few points to consider. First of all, the bed was as hard as a kitchen table and the pillow was about 1 to 2 inches thick. As soon as we arrived, we began to ask for more pillows. We finally got 2 more, but it did not help much. We like to read before bed, and we could not sit up in bed with that mattress and pillows. There were two straightback chairs and a desk in the room, but no room to really use them. We mostly tripped over them. The maids did not speak English, and we asked for pillows again and again. On our last day, we saw a big box of brand new thicker pillows in the hallway. So we took two and figured at least our last night would be more comfortable. But while we were out, the maid took them away. Also, we like our bucket of ice every day, to put a bottle of wine on ice or to make a cold drink. They would only give us a small bowl of ice once per day. We did not use the 6th floor bar for drinks. We tried to get a drink there one day, but the bartender did not understand my order (bloody mary) and then disappeared for 15 minutes so we left. Also, I noticed in other reviews of this hotel that people said the best view is in the fifth floor rooms but we decided to stay on the second floor. We had a view of the side street only, which was okay. We paid for a room with a view . We decided to stay on the 2nd floor because the elevator was so small and slow. We were able to walk up to the 2nd floor much easier than the 5th. But we received no refund for our upgrade because they said we had a "view" from the 2nd floor. We did not want to make an issue about it. We were glad to be on the 2nd floor. And the upgrade was very little money. These are things that happen when you are out of the country and don't speak the language. It is something that you get used to as you become a seasoned traveler. Customs and services are very different in Europe than in the USA. We learned to make the best of it, and have a good time. We had a wonderful time here at the Pitti Palace Hotel. The price was very good because in Florence, prices can be very expensive. The staff here was great, friendly and helpful for most things, and I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

A short walk from our hotel was a small supermarket where they sold bottles of water for 20 cents (in euros). We would buy 4 or 5 bottles at a time and keep in our little refrigerator to take with us walking. It saves a lot of $$ because all the little stores charge 2 euros for a small bottle of water. You will go through a lot of water there especially when it is as hot as it was when we were there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Adult Daughter and Mom
Business
Denver Colorado
Feb 14, 2012

Enjoyed our stay

Location could not be better; smallish room but very adequate; small elevator, nice breakfast room, helpful staff - enjoyed the stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MarkoBarrko
Business
Boston, MA USA
Nov 18, 2011

great location, good value

Absolutely great location, very nice breakfast and helpful staff/ Occasional problems using the wifi, but this is apparently more due to room location than anything else. Staff generally gave me a 2 day access code for wifi. We were on the 5th floor. The only real downside was that the trash pickup was directly below us, and they typically showed up at about 6 AM. I would gladly stay there again but would request a room away from the dumpsters.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La Galleria Restaurante is just down the street towards Pitti Palace, and is a very nice, well priced restaurant. Good food for a good price. I liked the house white wine better than the red. The poached pear is a great dessert. The florentine steak is very good as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top