$86 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 14, 2015 Check-out: Jul 16, 2015

Paris Hotel Florence

3 stars
View map of Via dei Banchi 2, Florence, 50123

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Paris Hotel Florence

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
29 out of 29
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.5

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Paris Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mom and Daughter travelers
Business
New York
Oct 11, 2009

Competent Staff, older hotel

The staff was very very helpful with tourist information and reservations to the meseums. With only 68 rooms, we felt like we got to know them personally and they were very professional. However, the building is old, it used to be two buildings and it's very maze like. There was street construction (not the hotel's fault) that made it a very noisy place. The noise started early and ended late!. Within walking distance to the train station but far enough away to be in a better heighborhood than around the stations. Calling a cab took only 3 minutes so we had no transportation problems. Easy walking dictance to all the museums and shopping. Was a cab ride of 40 Euro up the hill to Piazza Michael Angelo. Very goog breakfast included. A plethora of places to eat nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The slight shabbiness of the rooms was more than made up for by the wonderful staff and great location. The bed was uncomfortable. But, we paid roughly half the going rate for florence, so, I'm very pleased.

Review of Paris Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Crispy's BFF
Business
New York, NY
Feb 25, 2010

Decent but creepy

The hotel is very old; according to the hotel's pamphlet it is hundreds of years old and it certainly felt like it. The refrigerator was not cold enough, the shower was tight, the couch was old and moldy. However, the hotel is in a prime location, close to everything, and the breakfast buffet was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Paris Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nogales, Mexico
Nov 8, 2009

Very nice

The hotel is very nice is and old european house transform in hotel and also the staff was very friendly, the buffet was good they have coffe, milk, cereal, cheese, jam and bread, I woul recomend to take it. The location is superb is walking distance from Il Duomo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Paris Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
roschinger[@]
Business
San Francisco, CA
Oct 3, 2009

What not to expect from an old hotel...

The best thing about this hotel is the fresco on the ceiling in the dining room where we had breakfast every day. The staff were friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was provided with the room however the coffee came out of a coffee machine. The yogurt was thin, the fruit came from cans not fresh and the muffins were very sweet cupcakes, resembled American cupcakes. Our room was clean, comfortable, spacious with high ceilings. Unfortunately the public walkways, halls and waiting areas weren't as clean and the carpet was frayed and had seen better days. From our window we could see San Lorenzo dome,the Duomo and watch Vespas, buses, bicycles, pedestrians, and delivery trucks all squeeze down cobblestone streets. We walked through different neighborhoods- we recommend exploring Oltrarno across Ponte Vecchio and not as touristy. We had a great lunch at Fraddi, a trattoria frequented by more locals than tourists. We took an all day bus tour to San Gimignano, Siena and a winery in Chianti where we tasted some great wines. The thing that would have made our trip more enjoyable is better quality of the food served for breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Paris Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bardle
Business
Knoxville, TN
Jan 6, 2014

Overall Disappointing

First, the positives: Good location: a little hard to find, but everything is Great breakfast: free and varied and very nice dining area. Hotel common areas are upscale and beautiful (after all, this place used to be a palace)...you walk in and think, "Wow, my room is going to be fantastic." Wrong! Now the negatives: Room was huge disappointment. We spent less for a room in Rome that was clean, charming and had a private balcony. If Hotel Paris used to be a palace, then we stayed in the servants' quarters! We had a window, but it was at the ceiling and provided no view or light. It was more like a dungeon...drab with an awkward bathroom layout..and walls in bathroom were discolored in places and had paint peeling off. I felt it was a total ripoff and asked to be moved to another room, but they were unapologetic, and said they were full. Beds: hard as a park bench, but I expected this from the reviews and brought along a cheap, pool air mattress which worked wonderfully. Even though we didn't spend a huge amount of time in our room, it did cast a negative shadow on our trip. I'm sure they have nicer rooms, so if you decide to book at Hotel Paris, you should specify a room with an eye-level window and no peeling paint in bathroom. Good luck. There was a very nice restaurant nearby, but info is in my luggage which was lost on the return trip. If I ever get it back, I will post the name because it was a bright spot in our trip, as was a public park (again no name) which was about 35 minutes away..lovely walk along the river.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Paris Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tom Super Daddy
Business
New York
Jun 19, 2014

Family trip.

TV is not working. Poor WIFi connection at room and lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Paris Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Family Travelerr
Business
Miami, Florida
Jun 17, 2012

Wouldn't Recommend - terrible management

When we arrived, we were given an attic room with one window - and that window was literally 12 feet from the ground. The room was big, but there was no view and we felt as if we were in a dungeon. We had personally spoken with the staff prior to booking the room and asked for a room with a view. We were told that this was 'no problem.' However, on arrival, the hotel was fully booked and the staff told us they did not have any more rooms with a view. After some discussion with the staff, the manager then came over and began to yell at us that they do not offer rooms with a view. We, again, told the manager the only reason we booked a room here is to have a view of the Duomo. The manager was very condescending and stated he would switch our room the following day. The manager also stated that we had no other options. As we were staying 5 nights, I told the manager we do have another option - either stay in the hotel or find another hotel. The manager, suddenly and miraculously, switched us to another room with a window at the normal height of 4 feet high (rather than 12 feet above the floor) but without any view. We then told the manager that we would like to have the room switched to a view of the city the following day. The manager was, again, completely obnoxious and condescending (and this is an understatement) and only relented, again, when we stated we were going to find another hotel. I have traveled to Florence many times and will not stay at this hotel again. Also, the hotels charges 8 Euros for 24 hours of internet service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Paris Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
El Romano
Business
Los Angeles
Sep 13, 2013

Service lacking in Florence

Our arrival at the Paris Hotel Florence seemed normal enough until we actually spoke to the front desk attendant, Massimo. I specifically had requested a non-smoking room with (2) twin beds, and I also relayed this to Massimo upon our check-in. Massimo told me the hotel did not have twin beds, only double beds are available. We went to our assigned room which was on the 4th floor (rough lifting heavy baggage up stairs), and the room immediately reeked of cigarette smoke and other odors. I immediately informed Massimo at the front desk, and his solution was housekeeping take me an can of deoderant spray. Massimo told me this was a no smoking hotel, yet the room he assigned to me had an ash tray and stunk of smoke. (He refused to reassign another room, despite there being plenty of vacancies) Luckily we were able to open a window that had a center view of the service area, but the stench still persisted. Since the weather was hot outside, the cool air-conditioned air left our room. The bed was of inferior build and quality. I walked inside the hotel, and while housekeeping was cleaning other rooms, I saw several rooms that had (2) twin beds, and those rooms did not stink of cigarette smoke. Obviously Massimo had lied to me about other rooms not being available and the hotel not having twin beds, and rooms that did not stink. Upon my check-out, Massimo printed the wrong name on my receipt, and he became angry at me because I asked him to correct the name. Keep in mind I had paid for the room almost (3) months in advance, and we had USA passports. I did notice that Massimo did render good service to Italian guests and other European guests. Perhaps this hotel should have a warning advising that guests with USA Passports advising they will charge you the same or more as everybody else, but will provide you with a sub-standard room, be lied to, and rude service...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Santa Maria Novella train station is about 1/2 mile north.

Review of Paris Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MQ
Business
Texas
Mar 25, 2010

Simply ugly and old

I would not stay at the Hotel Paris in Florence again because it is a very old hotel. The only thing I liked was that it was conveniently close to the metro station. Other than that, I am totally glad my husband and I only stayed there for 1 night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

We took the train to Pisa for about $36 dollars each. It is only about an hour away and the leaning tower is about all that is interesting there, but definitely worth it. We only spent half of our day there, so we were back in time to still stroll the streets of Florence.

Back to menu Return to top