$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

3 stars
Via San Gallo, 30, Florence, 50129
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
33 reviews
Great Stay!

My wife and I were in Florence in mid-February. We had a very nice room overlooking the courtyard.... See full review

  • Poli Prof
  • Mar 15, 2014
justin cebel

great place to stay highly recommend it more than I expect it See full review

  • justin e
  • Jan 2, 2014
Tranquil oasis with historic garden in a 19th century palace
The intimate Hotel Orto de' Medici is adored by its loyal cadre of business and leisure guests, who appreciate its quiet calm just steps away from Florence's top sites and attractions. Rooms are decorated in classic Florentine style, with hand-painted furniture and hardwood floors that create sanctuaries of relaxation and rejuvenation. The Garden Orto de'Medici is itself a dedicated destination for Florence visitors, containing a rich history of artistic accomplishment.
Highlights
  • Located inside an early 19th century palace
  • Two spacious reading rooms with frescoed ceilings and parquet floors
  • Historic Garden Orto de' Medici recognized as Europe's first museum and art academy
Rooms

Rooms are designed in classic Florentine style, accented with antique, hand-painted furniture and sleek, hardwood floors. Standard features include air conditioning, mini-bar, satellite TV, bathroom amenities, complimentary Internet access, and safety deposit boxes. Room sizes include single, double, triple, and quad, with suites featuring a balcony that offers coveted city views.

Features

Located in an early 19th century palace in a quiet street near the Galleria dell'Accademia, the Hotel Orto de' Medici is a prestigious, elegant property, ideally positioned for cultural visits to the heart of Florence.

Rooms are stylishly elegant, with many offering coveted vistas of Florentine rooftops. The historic Garden Orto de' Medici is recognized as Europe's first museum and art academy, conveniently accessed along a corridor painted with frescoes.

Two spacious reading rooms with frescoed ceilings and parquet floors allow guests treasured moments of reflection, and a flowered terrace is a prime spots for guests to dine al fresco.

La Terrazza dell'Orto Music Bar offers live entertainment, while Infusion Bar serves a variety of teas and a unique take on hot chocolate along with home-made cakes and cookies.

Transportation
  • Florence Airport (5.2 mi/8.4 km)
  • Santa Maria Novella train station (0.6 mi/1 km)
Attractions
  • Piazza del Duomo (0.5 mi/800 m)
  • Ponte Vecchio (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Uffizi Gallery (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Fortezza da Basso (0.45 mi/750 m)
Business
  • Meeting room accommodates up to 36 people
  • A/V equipment rental (fees apply)
  • Business services (print, photocopy, fax, translation)
  • Complimentary Internet

Hotel Map

43.7789 11.2575
Area served
Lucca
Nearby airports
Amerigo Vespucci Florence International Airport.
Area description
The hotel is located in a peaceful position in the city centre just a few steps away from the Cathedral in Piazza del Duomo, Ponte Vecchio and the Uffizi Gallery and only five minutes away from the Fortezza da Basso. Clearly this privileged position represents an ideal starting-point for visiting museums, making purchases in the most elegant shops of the city and taking part in conferences and seminars.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 5.0 out of 5

Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence Rooms

Standard Triple Room
The room offers 1 double bed + 1 twin bed or 3 twin beds. Rooms are equipped with air conditioning, mini-bar, safety deposit boxes, Balcony/Terrace on Junior Suite only, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service at cost, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Safe in room, Telephone. They are designed with pieces of antique hand painted furniture and delightfully decorated in classical Florentine style with hard wood floors. From the windows you may also enjoy a gorgeous view of the world famous medieval red roofs of Florence. A lift serves all floors.
Standard Single Room
The room offers 1 single bed with. Rooms are equipped with air conditioning, mini-bar, safety deposit boxes, Balcony/Terrace on Junior Suite only, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service at cost, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Safe in room, Telephone. They are designed with pieces of antique hand painted furniture and delightfully decorated in classical Florentine style with hard wood floors. A lift serves all floors.
Standard Double Room
The room offers 1 double bed or 2 twin beds.Rooms are equipped with air conditioning, mini-bar, safety deposit boxes, Balcony/Terrace on Junior Suite only, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service at cost, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Safe in room, Telephone. They are designed with pieces of antique hand painted furniture and delightfully decorated in classical Florentine style with hard wood floors. From the windows you may also enjoy a gorgeous view of the world famous medieval red roofs of Florence. A lift serves all floors.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
Dining
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo di San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Galleria dell'Accademia: 0.1 mi
  • Piazza San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Mercato Centrale: 0.2 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Croce: 0.2 mi
  • Basilica di San Lorenzo: 0.3 mi
  • Medici Chapels (Cappelle Medicee): 0.3 mi
  • Laurentian Library (Biblioteca Medicea Laurenziana): 0.3 mi
  • Duomo Museum (Museo dell'Opera del Duomo): 0.4 mi
  • Duomo - Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore: 0.4 mi
  • Basilica Of San Lorenzo: 0.4 mi
  • Piazza del Duomo: 0.4 mi
  • Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto): 0.4 mi
  • Church of Santa Maria Novella: 0.5 mi
  • Centro Storico: 0.5 mi
  • Museo di San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Galleria dell'Accademia: 0.1 mi
  • Piazza San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Mercato Centrale: 0.2 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Croce: 0.2 mi
  • Basilica di San Lorenzo: 0.3 mi
  • Medici Chapels (Cappelle Medicee): 0.3 mi
  • Laurentian Library (Biblioteca Medicea Laurenziana): 0.3 mi
  • Duomo Museum (Museo dell'Opera del Duomo): 0.4 mi
  • Duomo - Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore: 0.4 mi
  • Basilica Of San Lorenzo: 0.4 mi
  • Piazza del Duomo: 0.4 mi
  • Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto): 0.4 mi
  • Church of Santa Maria Novella: 0.5 mi
  • Centro Storico: 0.5 mi
  • Santa Maria Novella Train station: 0.5 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.5 mi
  • Sinagoga di Firenze e Museo ebraico: 0.6 mi
  • Museo Nazionale del Bargello (Bargello Museum): 0.6 mi
  • Museo di Palazzo Davanzati: 0.6 mi
  • Piazza della Signoria: 0.6 mi
  • Palazzo Vecchio: 0.6 mi
  • Giardino Della Gherardesca: 0.6 mi
  • Uffizi Gallery (Galleria degli Uffizi): 0.7 mi
  • Museo Galileo - Institute and Museum of the History of Science: 0.7 mi
  • Santa Maria Novela Basilica: 0.7 mi
  • Corridoio Vasariano: 0.7 mi
  • Pitti Palace: 0.8 mi
  • Giardino Corsi: 0.9 mi
  • Boboli Gardens: 1 mi
  • Piazzale Michelangelo: 1.1 mi
  • Artemio Franchi Stadium: 1.1 mi
  • Museo Stibbert: 1.2 mi
  • Cimitero Delle Porte Sante: 1.3 mi
  • Basilica di San Miniato al Monte: 1.4 mi
  • Fiesole: 2.7 mi
  • Baptistry (Battistero): 43.2 mi

Dining

Mimmo
very good food - casualin front of the hotel - 30 euro
La Giostra
excellent selectioncasual/intimatein city centre - 55 euro
IL Latini
the best “bistecca alla fiorentina” - in city centre - 35 euro
Osteria De'Benci
delicious food - casua - in city centre - 35 euro
IL Garga
excellent food - casual/fancy - in city centre - 60 euro
Couquinarius
great for lunch - very nice - in city centre - 15 euro
Accademia
good food - economical - San Marco square - 25 euro
Fuor D'Acqua
the best fish in Florence - fancy/intimate - need a cab - 70 euro

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (33)

Ratings and reviews for Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 33
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travelin' Couple
Orange County, CA
May 25, 2009

Great Location but Basic Hotel

The LOCATION of this hotel makes up for all other negatives. Price was okay also as booked through Orbitz. First, I don't know who the other reviewers are that said the breakfast is great. It is NOT. It is a very basic cold breakfast with limited items. It is only served from 6:30 am from 9:30 am. The hotel "staff" consists of only 1 person at a time. However, the day shift persons try hard to meet requests such as dinner reservations, etc. Night "staff" sucks and has no idea about anything. Ask for Room 41 which was very nice in size and even had a view of the Duomo with a nice little terrace.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Avoid Il Cibreo, listed as the "best restaurant in Florence" as rated by Fodors 2009 Italy guide. It was ridiculously overpriced and there are fixed prices for each course. My wife's 36 Euro second course consisted of 2,count them 2 meatballs. When we didn't order dessert and coffee (for additional fixed charges), the staff turned surly and ignored us. I had to ask for the check 5 times!! What a waste of 167 Euros. We had to grab a slice of pizza on the way back to the hotel because we were still hungry!! Avoid.

Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travelin' Couple
Orange County, CA
May 25, 2009

Great Location but Basic Hotel

The LOCATION of this hotel makes up for all other negatives. Price was okay also as booked through Orbitz. First, I don't know who the other reviewers are that said the breakfast is great. It is NOT. It is a very basic cold breakfast with limited items. It is only served from 6:30 am from 9:30 am. The hotel "staff" consists of only 1 person at a time. However, the day shift persons try hard to meet requests such as dinner reservations, etc. Night "staff" sucks and has no idea about anything. Ask for Room 41 which was very nice in size and even had a view of the Duomo with a nice little terrace.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Avoid Il Cibreo, listed as the "best restaurant in Florence" as rated by Fodors 2009 Italy guide. It was ridiculously overpriced and there are fixed prices for each course. My wife's 36 Euro second course consisted of 2,count them 2 meatballs. When we didn't order dessert and coffee (for additional fixed charges), the staff turned surly and ignored us. I had to ask for the check 5 times!! What a waste of 167 Euros. We had to grab a slice of pizza on the way back to the hotel because we were still hungry!! Avoid.

Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rliv
Ny
Feb 28, 2013

Nice concierge, simple room, great breakfast

The room is a simple Italian style room: dark furniture, brocade bedding, clean. The hotel lobby is very modern with new computers. The concierge are nice and helpful, though dont take thier suggestion of the reataurant in san marco: very mediocre. Location is an easy walk to duomo. Breakfast buffet is the big sell: big selection of meat, mozzarella, tomatoes, pastries, juices, coffee, cereal, fruit and in nice weather you can sit and eat on their patio outside!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Il Bento Salvatore

Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rajan
Surrey, UK
Oct 27, 2012

Hotel review

The staff at the reception and at the breakfast room are very courteous and helpful. Tidiness of the room we stayed were really good. However the Room 36 we stayed in for four nights has a bathroom which needs to be refurbished - there was no shower curtain or glass screen and consequently when we have shower water splashes around the bathroom, and the bath itself is very small and has two levels. The breakfast is cold except the toasts - just scrambled eggs or warm bacon and sausages would have been enjoyable; and then the machine coffee! Otherwise the hotel and the staff are fine. MR Surrey

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peggy & Kermit
Dallas, Texas
Apr 27, 2009

Orto De Medici Hotel

We visited Roma for 5 days and Florence for 5 days on vacation in mid April, 2009. Location of this hotel is excellent to get to all the places we wanted to see and things we wanted to do. Hotel staff was also very helpful with things to do and how to do them. I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to experience Florence in all it's beauty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Poli Prof
Utah
Mar 15, 2014

Great Stay!

My wife and I were in Florence in mid-February. We had a very nice room overlooking the courtyard. The hotel is very close to the major attractions and the breakfast was quite good, especially the freshly squeezed orange juice. The staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Melanie frequent traveler
Boston, MA
May 8, 2011

Orto de Medici Hotel Florence

We were returning from Boston, MA to Florence to visit our cousins. We've stayed in Florence numerous times and found this hotel to be at the top in quality of room, service, historic as well as modern ambiance, and courtyard beauty. Location was very convenient for us. We were terribly disappointed with the breakfast - no better than an American budget chain hotel - canned fruit, no fresh baked items, tasteless croissants and granola, packaged muffins, bland fruit preserves. Didn't enjoy standing in line for machine-dispensed espresso, although it produced ok coffee. This would be a reason not to return, but a tough choice given other pluses.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Palazza Medici Riccardi is a gem a few blocks away, as is the Dominican monastery of San Marco - exhibit of altar painting restoration process & display of stringed instruments were delights.

Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peggy & Kermit
Dallas, Texas
Apr 27, 2009

Orto De Medici Hotel

We visited Roma for 5 days and Florence for 5 days on vacation in mid April, 2009. Location of this hotel is excellent to get to all the places we wanted to see and things we wanted to do. Hotel staff was also very helpful with things to do and how to do them. I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to experience Florence in all it's beauty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EdnaK
Franklinton, LA 70438, USA
Sep 11, 2012

Good value

The location was very central. We walked everwhere. It was less than 10 minute walk to Rialto bridge and about 15 minutes or less to San Marco. Room was nicely decorated and nice size for European standards. It looks recently refurbished. The breakfast was not included in the price but we took advantage of the service. The breakfast was an average buffet style with cereal, boiled eggs, assorted cold meats, breads, fruits, juice and coffee. The breakfast was self-serve with no attendants. The desk was manned around the clock. The staff was helpful. There is no lift and you must attend your own bags although the man at the desk was kind enough to carry my bag upstairs. The Wi-Fi works in the room very well. The first 3 hours are free and I assume you pay for additional. The hotel was difficult to find the first time. However, everything in Venice is difficult to find at first due to the canals, bridges and curving alley ways which are also part of the charm. Would recommend and would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La Strida restaurant. Is family owned with excellent food and service. The seafood resotto was excellent. They brought us a free home-made Bellini when we arrived and finished with a free lemoncello. The price is average.

Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fred68
NC
Dec 24, 2011

Good for the money

Overall a very nice hotel in a great location. Breakfast was great and breakfast staff were very nice. Desk clerk was professional but not friendly. Overall a good value for the money, given we had a 20% discount.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to most attractions; easy walking distance.

Back to menu Return to top