$85 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 10, 2015 Check-out: Mar 12, 2015

Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

3 stars
View map of Via San Gallo, 30, Florence, 50129

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
30 reviews
Summer Houday

Fabulous room overlooking garden, early evening drinks on the terrace, excellent location, great... See full review

  • Michael J.
  • Jan 18, 2015
5 stars comfort

This hotel was one of the most beautiful we visited in italy. When we got there they upgraded us to... See full review

  • Levana
  • Dec 29, 2014
Tranquil oasis with historic garden in a 19th century palace
The intimate Hotel Orto de' Medici is adored by its loyal cadre of business and leisure guests, who appreciate its quiet calm just steps away from Florence's top sites and attractions. Rooms are decorated in classic Florentine style, with hand-painted furniture and hardwood floors that create sanctuaries of relaxation and rejuvenation. The Garden Orto de'Medici is itself a dedicated destination for Florence visitors, containing a rich history of artistic accomplishment.
Highlights
  • Located inside an early 19th century palace
  • Two spacious reading rooms with frescoed ceilings and parquet floors
  • Historic Garden Orto de' Medici recognized as Europe's first museum and art academy
Rooms

Rooms are designed in classic Florentine style, accented with antique, hand-painted furniture and sleek, hardwood floors. Standard features include air conditioning, mini-bar, satellite TV, bathroom amenities, complimentary Internet access, and safety deposit boxes. Room sizes include single, double, triple, and quad, with suites featuring a balcony that offers coveted city views.

Features

Located in an early 19th century palace in a quiet street near the Galleria dell'Accademia, the Hotel Orto de' Medici is a prestigious, elegant property, ideally positioned for cultural visits to the heart of Florence.

Rooms are stylishly elegant, with many offering coveted vistas of Florentine rooftops. The historic Garden Orto de' Medici is recognized as Europe's first museum and art academy, conveniently accessed along a corridor painted with frescoes.

Two spacious reading rooms with frescoed ceilings and parquet floors allow guests treasured moments of reflection, and a flowered terrace is a prime spots for guests to dine al fresco.

La Terrazza dell'Orto Music Bar offers live entertainment, while Infusion Bar serves a variety of teas and a unique take on hot chocolate along with home-made cakes and cookies.

Transportation
  • Florence Airport (5.2 mi/8.4 km)
  • Santa Maria Novella train station (0.6 mi/1 km)
Attractions
  • Piazza del Duomo (0.5 mi/800 m)
  • Ponte Vecchio (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Uffizi Gallery (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Fortezza da Basso (0.45 mi/750 m)
Business
  • Meeting room accommodates up to 36 people
  • A/V equipment rental (fees apply)
  • Business services (print, photocopy, fax, translation)
  • Complimentary Internet

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 5.0 out of 5

Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence Rooms

Standard Single Room
The room offers 1 single bed with. Rooms are equipped with air conditioning, mini-bar, safety deposit boxes, Balcony/Terrace on Junior Suite only, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service at cost, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Safe in room, Telephone. They are designed with pieces of antique hand painted furniture and delightfully decorated in classical Florentine style with hard wood floors. A lift serves all floors.
Standard Double Room
The room offers 1 double bed or 2 twin beds.Rooms are equipped with air conditioning, mini-bar, safety deposit boxes, Balcony/Terrace on Junior Suite only, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service at cost, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Safe in room, Telephone. They are designed with pieces of antique hand painted furniture and delightfully decorated in classical Florentine style with hard wood floors. From the windows you may also enjoy a gorgeous view of the world famous medieval red roofs of Florence. A lift serves all floors.
Standard Triple Room
The room offers 1 double bed + 1 twin bed or 3 twin beds. Rooms are equipped with air conditioning, mini-bar, safety deposit boxes, Balcony/Terrace on Junior Suite only, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service at cost, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Safe in room, Telephone. They are designed with pieces of antique hand painted furniture and delightfully decorated in classical Florentine style with hard wood floors. From the windows you may also enjoy a gorgeous view of the world famous medieval red roofs of Florence. A lift serves all floors.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
Dining
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo di San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Galleria dell'Accademia: 0.1 mi
  • Piazza San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Mercato Centrale: 0.2 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Croce: 0.2 mi
  • Basilica di San Lorenzo: 0.3 mi
  • Medici Chapels (Cappelle Medicee): 0.3 mi
  • Laurentian Library (Biblioteca Medicea Laurenziana): 0.3 mi
  • Duomo Museum (Museo dell'Opera del Duomo): 0.4 mi
  • Duomo - Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore: 0.4 mi
  • Basilica Of San Lorenzo: 0.4 mi
  • Piazza del Duomo: 0.4 mi
  • Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto): 0.4 mi
  • Church of Santa Maria Novella: 0.5 mi
  • Centro Storico: 0.5 mi
  • Museo di San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Galleria dell'Accademia: 0.1 mi
  • Piazza San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Mercato Centrale: 0.2 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Croce: 0.2 mi
  • Basilica di San Lorenzo: 0.3 mi
  • Medici Chapels (Cappelle Medicee): 0.3 mi
  • Laurentian Library (Biblioteca Medicea Laurenziana): 0.3 mi
  • Duomo Museum (Museo dell'Opera del Duomo): 0.4 mi
  • Duomo - Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore: 0.4 mi
  • Basilica Of San Lorenzo: 0.4 mi
  • Piazza del Duomo: 0.4 mi
  • Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto): 0.4 mi
  • Church of Santa Maria Novella: 0.5 mi
  • Centro Storico: 0.5 mi
  • Santa Maria Novella Train station: 0.5 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.5 mi
  • Sinagoga di Firenze e Museo ebraico: 0.6 mi
  • Museo Nazionale del Bargello (Bargello Museum): 0.6 mi
  • Museo di Palazzo Davanzati: 0.6 mi
  • Piazza della Signoria: 0.6 mi
  • Palazzo Vecchio: 0.6 mi
  • Giardino Della Gherardesca: 0.6 mi
  • Uffizi Gallery (Galleria degli Uffizi): 0.7 mi
  • Museo Galileo - Institute and Museum of the History of Science: 0.7 mi
  • Santa Maria Novela Basilica: 0.7 mi
  • Corridoio Vasariano: 0.7 mi
  • Pitti Palace: 0.8 mi
  • Giardino Corsi: 0.9 mi
  • Boboli Gardens: 1 mi
  • Piazzale Michelangelo: 1.1 mi
  • Artemio Franchi Stadium: 1.1 mi
  • Museo Stibbert: 1.2 mi
  • Cimitero Delle Porte Sante: 1.3 mi
  • Basilica di San Miniato al Monte: 1.4 mi
  • Fiesole: 2.7 mi
  • Baptistry (Battistero): 43.2 mi

Dining

Mimmo
very good food - casualin front of the hotel - 30 euro
La Giostra
excellent selectioncasual/intimatein city centre - 55 euro
IL Latini
the best “bistecca alla fiorentina” - in city centre - 35 euro
Osteria De'Benci
delicious food - casua - in city centre - 35 euro
IL Garga
excellent food - casual/fancy - in city centre - 60 euro
Couquinarius
great for lunch - very nice - in city centre - 15 euro
Accademia
good food - economical - San Marco square - 25 euro
Fuor D'Acqua
the best fish in Florence - fancy/intimate - need a cab - 70 euro

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (30)

Ratings and reviews for Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 30
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EdnaK
Franklinton, LA 70438, USA
Sep 11, 2012

Good value

The location was very central. We walked everwhere. It was less than 10 minute walk to Rialto bridge and about 15 minutes or less to San Marco. Room was nicely decorated and nice size for European standards. It looks recently refurbished. The breakfast was not included in the price but we took advantage of the service. The breakfast was an average buffet style with cereal, boiled eggs, assorted cold meats, breads, fruits, juice and coffee. The breakfast was self-serve with no attendants. The desk was manned around the clock. The staff was helpful. There is no lift and you must attend your own bags although the man at the desk was kind enough to carry my bag upstairs. The Wi-Fi works in the room very well. The first 3 hours are free and I assume you pay for additional. The hotel was difficult to find the first time. However, everything in Venice is difficult to find at first due to the canals, bridges and curving alley ways which are also part of the charm. Would recommend and would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La Strida restaurant. Is family owned with excellent food and service. The seafood resotto was excellent. They brought us a free home-made Bellini when we arrived and finished with a free lemoncello. The price is average.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
EmmaUK
Business
England
Sep 2, 2012

Felt very unsafe and unrested

the room was disgusting, the walls covered in squished bugs, the heavy-looking wood and metal light fitting was hanging out the ceiling attached only by its exposed wires, the walls were thin enough to hear the reception phone ringing from our 3rd story room, let alone the other guests in the hotel. The bed were so hard we may as well have been sleeping on concrete, there was no entertainment and we received no directions to the hotel bar which was discretely hidden up some stairs and along a walkway from the garden area. When we arrived our passports were taken from us and we were told they'd be brought to our room in half an hour - an hour and a half later we had to go collect them which not so much as an apology. On the first day the maids left our room unlocked, so our passports and valuables were left for anyone to take for the 9 hours we were out and we left the do not disturb sign on our door for the rest of the trip. The receptionist would answer the phone and serve other people mid-serving us, and overall seemed very unenthusiastic about his job. In 3 nights I had a grand total of 8 hours sleep due to noise, discomfort and generally feeling unsafe. This hotel is very misleading with its photos so if you absolutely have your heart set on it and cannot for some reason stay elsewhere, pay for a good room because the 'standard' rooms are beyond sub-standard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jillian Italy traveller
Business
Friuli, Italy
Dec 28, 2009

Not as shown!

My mother flew over from the US to visit for Christmas and we went to Florence for the weekend prior to Christmas.[...] The newly remodeled rooms were only the suites and junior suites that are very expensive!! The rooms I booked for my husband and I and for my mother were bare-bones, stark, and less than basic. The room my mother was assigned, at least, had a bathroom including shower, which flooded the bathroom when she used it. However, the room my husband and I were assigned had merely a half tub with a hand shower (no shower curtain.) The walls in our rooms were scuffed and paint was peeling off. We all were given only one pillow and a thin bed cover. When I asked for an additional pillow, I was told there were no extra pillows in the hotel at that time. I used my coat covered with a t-shirt as a pillow. Our room smelled like a rest-home and was really a disappointment after seeing the rooms that we thought we were getting on the web-site. We were comforted, some what, by the fact that my Mother recieved the better of the two rooms but, it was little consolation and I must say that I did not sleep well the two nights we stayed. It was very uncomfortable and cold at night with only the thin bed cover for warmth. The two young ladies that worked at the front desk in the lobby were certainly kind and helpful in their recommendations. They recommended the Accademia Cafe, which was the high-light of our trip!!The building in which our rooms were housed was beautiful and interesting to look through. If I had known before-hand that I needed to book suites for us in order to have decent rooms then I would probably be recommending this hotel to anyone[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Accademia Cafe is very near to the hotel and was probably the highlight of our trip. The staff was friendly and spoke english. The food was magnificent. Every bite was heavenly!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TC10014
Business
New York, NY
Jun 1, 2012

Good, clean hotel with great staff

Stayed here a few night...all good. A little out of the way from the main areas but there a few restaurants on the block. Lovely lobby with apple computers you can use for free. Also, they have a great library on the second floor and the back patio is great for a drink in the afternoon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to the Accademia where Michelangelo's David is kept.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rliv
Business
Ny
Feb 28, 2013

Nice concierge, simple room, great breakfast

The room is a simple Italian style room: dark furniture, brocade bedding, clean. The hotel lobby is very modern with new computers. The concierge are nice and helpful, though dont take thier suggestion of the reataurant in san marco: very mediocre. Location is an easy walk to duomo. Breakfast buffet is the big sell: big selection of meat, mozzarella, tomatoes, pastries, juices, coffee, cereal, fruit and in nice weather you can sit and eat on their patio outside!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Il Bento Salvatore

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travelin' Couple
Business
Orange County, CA
May 25, 2009

Great Location but Basic Hotel

The LOCATION of this hotel makes up for all other negatives. Price was okay also as booked through Orbitz. First, I don't know who the other reviewers are that said the breakfast is great. It is NOT. It is a very basic cold breakfast with limited items. It is only served from 6:30 am from 9:30 am. The hotel "staff" consists of only 1 person at a time. However, the day shift persons try hard to meet requests such as dinner reservations, etc. Night "staff" sucks and has no idea about anything. Ask for Room 41 which was very nice in size and even had a view of the Duomo with a nice little terrace.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Avoid Il Cibreo, listed as the "best restaurant in Florence" as rated by Fodors 2009 Italy guide. It was ridiculously overpriced and there are fixed prices for each course. My wife's 36 Euro second course consisted of 2,count them 2 meatballs. When we didn't order dessert and coffee (for additional fixed charges), the staff turned surly and ignored us. I had to ask for the check 5 times!! What a waste of 167 Euros. We had to grab a slice of pizza on the way back to the hotel because we were still hungry!! Avoid.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pilgrim
Business
Sussex
Oct 30, 2009

Would even go back!

Very good hotel with efficient and friendly staff. Arrived late at night and was conscious that there were not many "guide line" instructions in the room. No tea or coffee facilities but a good selection of drinks (alcoholic and non) in the mini bar. Breakfast OK with all one expects, but no extra touches. Was very satisfied with everything on offer. Good easy walkgood places to eat in easy walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fred68
Business
NC
Dec 24, 2011

Good for the money

Overall a very nice hotel in a great location. Breakfast was great and breakfast staff were very nice. Desk clerk was professional but not friendly. Overall a good value for the money, given we had a 20% discount.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to most attractions; easy walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Courtley
Business
Ventura, CA, USA
Jan 8, 2012

Birthday in Florence

This hotel is so conveniently located! As two girls traveling alone, we felt right at home and safe in the neighborhood immediately. We were convenient walking distance to all of Florence's famous sites and to the train station. The airport is a little further, but the taxis offer a fixed 25 euro fare, so it was very convenient as well. The hotel was clean and the common areas were beautiful! Our room was average, but it was large and clean, and we were given the opportunity to upgrade when we arrived at the hotel. They offered a nice breakfast and wifi which were both very convenient for our trip. When they found out that it was my birthday, they gave me a nice note and some complimentary biscotti. I thought it was a very nice touch. I would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends. I thought it was a great value, and the convenient location could not be beat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

One day we did the Florence cooking tour with Chef Giovanni from florencetown.com. On the tour, they take you shopping in the market, and then teach you to make a traditional Italian meal. I thought it was a lot of fun, and I will never forget how to make pasta from scratch!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Not Lost from Chicago
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 3, 2012

A quick stop in Florence and Orto di Medici

We stopped at Florence for just a few days and booked this hotel. The hotel is only a few block walk from the Duomo (the major church in town). This worked as a good base of operations for us to wander the town of Florence....a MCD was close, which served as a landmark for us to come back but never to eat. A laudramat is only three blocks away for self-service for any long term travelers. Staff was fantastic, bed comfortable. Fairly quite at night and wi-fi in the hotel. An all you can eat buffet of small plate food (appetizers and such) was available next door and seemd to draw a very vivacious and young crowd each night. Good stuff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The staff recommended Pepo, a small restauraunt just near the Central Market (which is a must to see....with all the farmers, butchers, and fishermen bringing their food to sell. Pepos is just a block off of thesquare on the Northwest road leading into it. Great traditional cooking and at a very good price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gabriel Alexander
Business
NJ
Sep 8, 2012

Would come back again - nice place

Hotel staff were super helpful! They were more than happy to recomend places to eat and visit. The hotel is located around the corner from the Accademia Gallery and a couple of blocks from the train station. I would go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top