$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 12, 2014 Check-out: Oct 13, 2014

Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

3 stars
Via San Gallo, 30, Florence, 50129
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
24 reviews
Great Stay!

My wife and I were in Florence in mid-February. We had a very nice room overlooking the courtyard.... See full review

  • Poli Prof
  • Mar 15, 2014
justin cebel

great place to stay highly recommend it more than I expect it See full review

  • justin e
  • Jan 2, 2014
Tranquil oasis with historic garden in a 19th century palace
The intimate Hotel Orto de' Medici is adored by its loyal cadre of business and leisure guests, who appreciate its quiet calm just steps away from Florence's top sites and attractions. Rooms are decorated in classic Florentine style, with hand-painted furniture and hardwood floors that create sanctuaries of relaxation and rejuvenation. The Garden Orto de'Medici is itself a dedicated destination for Florence visitors, containing a rich history of artistic accomplishment.
Highlights
  • Located inside an early 19th century palace
  • Two spacious reading rooms with frescoed ceilings and parquet floors
  • Historic Garden Orto de' Medici recognized as Europe's first museum and art academy
Rooms

Rooms are designed in classic Florentine style, accented with antique, hand-painted furniture and sleek, hardwood floors. Standard features include air conditioning, mini-bar, satellite TV, bathroom amenities, complimentary Internet access, and safety deposit boxes. Room sizes include single, double, triple, and quad, with suites featuring a balcony that offers coveted city views.

Features

Located in an early 19th century palace in a quiet street near the Galleria dell'Accademia, the Hotel Orto de' Medici is a prestigious, elegant property, ideally positioned for cultural visits to the heart of Florence.

Rooms are stylishly elegant, with many offering coveted vistas of Florentine rooftops. The historic Garden Orto de' Medici is recognized as Europe's first museum and art academy, conveniently accessed along a corridor painted with frescoes.

Two spacious reading rooms with frescoed ceilings and parquet floors allow guests treasured moments of reflection, and a flowered terrace is a prime spots for guests to dine al fresco.

La Terrazza dell'Orto Music Bar offers live entertainment, while Infusion Bar serves a variety of teas and a unique take on hot chocolate along with home-made cakes and cookies.

Transportation
  • Florence Airport (5.2 mi/8.4 km)
  • Santa Maria Novella train station (0.6 mi/1 km)
Attractions
  • Piazza del Duomo (0.5 mi/800 m)
  • Ponte Vecchio (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Uffizi Gallery (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Fortezza da Basso (0.45 mi/750 m)
Business
  • Meeting room accommodates up to 36 people
  • A/V equipment rental (fees apply)
  • Business services (print, photocopy, fax, translation)
  • Complimentary Internet

Hotel Map

43.7789 11.2575
Area served
Lucca
Nearby airports
Amerigo Vespucci Florence International Airport.
Area description
The hotel is located in a peaceful position in the city centre just a few steps away from the Cathedral in Piazza del Duomo, Ponte Vecchio and the Uffizi Gallery and only five minutes away from the Fortezza da Basso. Clearly this privileged position represents an ideal starting-point for visiting museums, making purchases in the most elegant shops of the city and taking part in conferences and seminars.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 5.0 out of 5

Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence Rooms

Standard Triple Room
The room offers 1 double bed + 1 twin bed or 3 twin beds. Rooms are equipped with air conditioning, mini-bar, safety deposit boxes, Balcony/Terrace on Junior Suite only, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service at cost, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Safe in room, Telephone. They are designed with pieces of antique hand painted furniture and delightfully decorated in classical Florentine style with hard wood floors. From the windows you may also enjoy a gorgeous view of the world famous medieval red roofs of Florence. A lift serves all floors.
Standard Single Room
The room offers 1 single bed with. Rooms are equipped with air conditioning, mini-bar, safety deposit boxes, Balcony/Terrace on Junior Suite only, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service at cost, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Safe in room, Telephone. They are designed with pieces of antique hand painted furniture and delightfully decorated in classical Florentine style with hard wood floors. A lift serves all floors.
Standard Double Room
The room offers 1 double bed or 2 twin beds.Rooms are equipped with air conditioning, mini-bar, safety deposit boxes, Balcony/Terrace on Junior Suite only, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service at cost, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Safe in room, Telephone. They are designed with pieces of antique hand painted furniture and delightfully decorated in classical Florentine style with hard wood floors. From the windows you may also enjoy a gorgeous view of the world famous medieval red roofs of Florence. A lift serves all floors.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
Dining
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo di San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Galleria dell'Accademia: 0.1 mi
  • Piazza San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Mercato Centrale: 0.2 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Croce: 0.2 mi
  • Basilica di San Lorenzo: 0.3 mi
  • Medici Chapels (Cappelle Medicee): 0.3 mi
  • Laurentian Library (Biblioteca Medicea Laurenziana): 0.3 mi
  • Duomo Museum (Museo dell'Opera del Duomo): 0.4 mi
  • Duomo - Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore: 0.4 mi
  • Basilica Of San Lorenzo: 0.4 mi
  • Piazza del Duomo: 0.4 mi
  • Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto): 0.4 mi
  • Church of Santa Maria Novella: 0.5 mi
  • Centro Storico: 0.5 mi
  • Museo di San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Galleria dell'Accademia: 0.1 mi
  • Piazza San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Mercato Centrale: 0.2 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Croce: 0.2 mi
  • Basilica di San Lorenzo: 0.3 mi
  • Medici Chapels (Cappelle Medicee): 0.3 mi
  • Laurentian Library (Biblioteca Medicea Laurenziana): 0.3 mi
  • Duomo Museum (Museo dell'Opera del Duomo): 0.4 mi
  • Duomo - Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore: 0.4 mi
  • Basilica Of San Lorenzo: 0.4 mi
  • Piazza del Duomo: 0.4 mi
  • Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto): 0.4 mi
  • Church of Santa Maria Novella: 0.5 mi
  • Centro Storico: 0.5 mi
  • Santa Maria Novella Train station: 0.5 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.5 mi
  • Sinagoga di Firenze e Museo ebraico: 0.6 mi
  • Museo Nazionale del Bargello (Bargello Museum): 0.6 mi
  • Museo di Palazzo Davanzati: 0.6 mi
  • Piazza della Signoria: 0.6 mi
  • Palazzo Vecchio: 0.6 mi
  • Giardino Della Gherardesca: 0.6 mi
  • Uffizi Gallery (Galleria degli Uffizi): 0.7 mi
  • Museo Galileo - Institute and Museum of the History of Science: 0.7 mi
  • Santa Maria Novela Basilica: 0.7 mi
  • Corridoio Vasariano: 0.7 mi
  • Pitti Palace: 0.8 mi
  • Giardino Corsi: 0.9 mi
  • Boboli Gardens: 1 mi
  • Piazzale Michelangelo: 1.1 mi
  • Artemio Franchi Stadium: 1.1 mi
  • Museo Stibbert: 1.2 mi
  • Cimitero Delle Porte Sante: 1.3 mi
  • Basilica di San Miniato al Monte: 1.4 mi
  • Fiesole: 2.7 mi
  • Baptistry (Battistero): 43.2 mi

Dining

Mimmo
very good food - casualin front of the hotel - 30 euro
La Giostra
excellent selectioncasual/intimatein city centre - 55 euro
IL Latini
the best “bistecca alla fiorentina” - in city centre - 35 euro
Osteria De'Benci
delicious food - casua - in city centre - 35 euro
IL Garga
excellent food - casual/fancy - in city centre - 60 euro
Couquinarius
great for lunch - very nice - in city centre - 15 euro
Accademia
good food - economical - San Marco square - 25 euro
Fuor D'Acqua
the best fish in Florence - fancy/intimate - need a cab - 70 euro

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (24)

Ratings and reviews for Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
24 out of 24
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EdnaK
Franklinton, LA 70438, USA
Sep 11, 2012

Good value

The location was very central. We walked everwhere. It was less than 10 minute walk to Rialto bridge and about 15 minutes or less to San Marco. Room was nicely decorated and nice size for European standards. It looks recently refurbished. The breakfast was not included in the price but we took advantage of the service. The breakfast was an average buffet style with cereal, boiled eggs, assorted cold meats, breads, fruits, juice and coffee. The breakfast was self-serve with no attendants. The desk was manned around the clock. The staff was helpful. There is no lift and you must attend your own bags although the man at the desk was kind enough to carry my bag upstairs. The Wi-Fi works in the room very well. The first 3 hours are free and I assume you pay for additional. The hotel was difficult to find the first time. However, everything in Venice is difficult to find at first due to the canals, bridges and curving alley ways which are also part of the charm. Would recommend and would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La Strida restaurant. Is family owned with excellent food and service. The seafood resotto was excellent. They brought us a free home-made Bellini when we arrived and finished with a free lemoncello. The price is average.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fred68
NC
Dec 24, 2011

Good for the money

Overall a very nice hotel in a great location. Breakfast was great and breakfast staff were very nice. Desk clerk was professional but not friendly. Overall a good value for the money, given we had a 20% discount.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to most attractions; easy walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pilgrim
Sussex
Oct 30, 2009

Would even go back!

Very good hotel with efficient and friendly staff. Arrived late at night and was conscious that there were not many "guide line" instructions in the room. No tea or coffee facilities but a good selection of drinks (alcoholic and non) in the mini bar. Breakfast OK with all one expects, but no extra touches. Was very satisfied with everything on offer. Good easy walkgood places to eat in easy walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Not Lost from Chicago
Chicago, IL
Jun 3, 2012

A quick stop in Florence and Orto di Medici

We stopped at Florence for just a few days and booked this hotel. The hotel is only a few block walk from the Duomo (the major church in town). This worked as a good base of operations for us to wander the town of Florence....a MCD was close, which served as a landmark for us to come back but never to eat. A laudramat is only three blocks away for self-service for any long term travelers. Staff was fantastic, bed comfortable. Fairly quite at night and wi-fi in the hotel. An all you can eat buffet of small plate food (appetizers and such) was available next door and seemd to draw a very vivacious and young crowd each night. Good stuff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The staff recommended Pepo, a small restauraunt just near the Central Market (which is a must to see....with all the farmers, butchers, and fishermen bringing their food to sell. Pepos is just a block off of thesquare on the Northwest road leading into it. Great traditional cooking and at a very good price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Virginian traveller
Virginia, USA
Dec 11, 2012

The Virginian traveller

Hotel is nice and in a good location. We booked a room with garden view - very lovely. Our room is big, clean and up dated. Front desk employees are very nice and helpful. Breakfast is good. We enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend it to our friends and family members. We would go back and stay in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk and convenience to every where, such as restaurants, historical sites, shopping, mini market, etc... everything within walking distant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EdnaK
Franklinton, LA 70438, USA
Sep 15, 2012

Great place.

You will see another review that I wrote for this hotel but it was for one in Venice. Sorry. This was a great hotel. It was centrally located. We walked everywhere. The room was large for European standards. The decor was a little above average. There are antique furnishings in the room and throughout the hotel with just enough modern added for comfort and contrast. The hotel has a lot of character and looks to have been recently updated. The breakfast was very good and the patio dining was a great addition. I was a little concerned about leaving the key but it was fine. In the evenings for a couple hours you could relax in the patio area and have a drink and you were served some light horderves. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The only negative was that the Wi-Fi didn't work well in our room. I highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sydney, Australia
Jul 25, 2011

Florence hotel Orto de Medici

The hotel was very comfortable and the staff were most helpful. It is well located for those who want to have convenience to some of the attractions but in a quiet area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Use the hotel staff to book entry to museums, etc. The small cost is better than the long queues at galleries.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Farmington NM
Mar 22, 2011

Florence Hotel

We were in Florence for sightseeing. The hotel was perfectly located. It was in a quieter neighborhood not overrun by tourists yet within easy walking distance to all of the major attractions of florence. The common areas were very nice and had computers available for guests' use which was a real benefit. The room was very basic but was clean, had a good bed and a very nice bath. The breakfast was good and served in a beautiful breakfast room with a garden view. The staff was very courteous and always helpful. It was an extremely good value in relation to other places we have stayed in Europe. We would stay at this hotel again on a return to Florence

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Book tours for the major attractions such as the Uffizi,the Accademia, and the Doumo.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Courtley
Ventura, CA, USA
Jan 8, 2012

Birthday in Florence

This hotel is so conveniently located! As two girls traveling alone, we felt right at home and safe in the neighborhood immediately. We were convenient walking distance to all of Florence's famous sites and to the train station. The airport is a little further, but the taxis offer a fixed 25 euro fare, so it was very convenient as well. The hotel was clean and the common areas were beautiful! Our room was average, but it was large and clean, and we were given the opportunity to upgrade when we arrived at the hotel. They offered a nice breakfast and wifi which were both very convenient for our trip. When they found out that it was my birthday, they gave me a nice note and some complimentary biscotti. I thought it was a very nice touch. I would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends. I thought it was a great value, and the convenient location could not be beat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

One day we did the Florence cooking tour with Chef Giovanni from florencetown.com. On the tour, they take you shopping in the market, and then teach you to make a traditional Italian meal. I thought it was a lot of fun, and I will never forget how to make pasta from scratch!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travelin' Couple
Orange County, CA
May 25, 2009

Great Location but Basic Hotel

The LOCATION of this hotel makes up for all other negatives. Price was okay also as booked through Orbitz. First, I don't know who the other reviewers are that said the breakfast is great. It is NOT. It is a very basic cold breakfast with limited items. It is only served from 6:30 am from 9:30 am. The hotel "staff" consists of only 1 person at a time. However, the day shift persons try hard to meet requests such as dinner reservations, etc. Night "staff" sucks and has no idea about anything. Ask for Room 41 which was very nice in size and even had a view of the Duomo with a nice little terrace.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Avoid Il Cibreo, listed as the "best restaurant in Florence" as rated by Fodors 2009 Italy guide. It was ridiculously overpriced and there are fixed prices for each course. My wife's 36 Euro second course consisted of 2,count them 2 meatballs. When we didn't order dessert and coffee (for additional fixed charges), the staff turned surly and ignored us. I had to ask for the check 5 times!! What a waste of 167 Euros. We had to grab a slice of pizza on the way back to the hotel because we were still hungry!! Avoid.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search