$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2015 Check-out: Apr 28, 2015

Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

3 stars
View map of Via San Gallo, 30, Florence, 50129

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
31 out of 31
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Virginian traveller
Virginia, USA
Dec 11, 2012

The Virginian traveller

Hotel is nice and in a good location. We booked a room with garden view - very lovely. Our room is big, clean and up dated. Front desk employees are very nice and helpful. Breakfast is good. We enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend it to our friends and family members. We would go back and stay in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk and convenience to every where, such as restaurants, historical sites, shopping, mini market, etc... everything within walking distant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sydney, Australia
Jul 25, 2011

Florence hotel Orto de Medici

The hotel was very comfortable and the staff were most helpful. It is well located for those who want to have convenience to some of the attractions but in a quiet area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Use the hotel staff to book entry to museums, etc. The small cost is better than the long queues at galleries.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Melanie frequent traveler
Business
Boston, MA
May 8, 2011

Orto de Medici Hotel Florence

We were returning from Boston, MA to Florence to visit our cousins. We've stayed in Florence numerous times and found this hotel to be at the top in quality of room, service, historic as well as modern ambiance, and courtyard beauty. Location was very convenient for us. We were terribly disappointed with the breakfast - no better than an American budget chain hotel - canned fruit, no fresh baked items, tasteless croissants and granola, packaged muffins, bland fruit preserves. Didn't enjoy standing in line for machine-dispensed espresso, although it produced ok coffee. This would be a reason not to return, but a tough choice given other pluses.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Palazza Medici Riccardi is a gem a few blocks away, as is the Dominican monastery of San Marco - exhibit of altar painting restoration process & display of stringed instruments were delights.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Farmington NM
Mar 22, 2011

Florence Hotel

We were in Florence for sightseeing. The hotel was perfectly located. It was in a quieter neighborhood not overrun by tourists yet within easy walking distance to all of the major attractions of florence. The common areas were very nice and had computers available for guests' use which was a real benefit. The room was very basic but was clean, had a good bed and a very nice bath. The breakfast was good and served in a beautiful breakfast room with a garden view. The staff was very courteous and always helpful. It was an extremely good value in relation to other places we have stayed in Europe. We would stay at this hotel again on a return to Florence

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Book tours for the major attractions such as the Uffizi,the Accademia, and the Doumo.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Haverhill, MA
Dec 1, 2010

A jem in city

Wonderful high ceilings. A perfect blend of modern and classical.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to attend the public market and don't be afraid to haggle!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
boston, ma
Apr 26, 2010

excellant hotel, good location.

hotel employees were wonderful. greet breakfast. very accomadating we were stuck due to the volcano & they put us up for another week at a great price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

reservations

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington DC
Apr 4, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

Great location, clean room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jillian Italy traveller
Business
Friuli, Italy
Dec 28, 2009

Not as shown!

My mother flew over from the US to visit for Christmas and we went to Florence for the weekend prior to Christmas.[...] The newly remodeled rooms were only the suites and junior suites that are very expensive!! The rooms I booked for my husband and I and for my mother were bare-bones, stark, and less than basic. The room my mother was assigned, at least, had a bathroom including shower, which flooded the bathroom when she used it. However, the room my husband and I were assigned had merely a half tub with a hand shower (no shower curtain.) The walls in our rooms were scuffed and paint was peeling off. We all were given only one pillow and a thin bed cover. When I asked for an additional pillow, I was told there were no extra pillows in the hotel at that time. I used my coat covered with a t-shirt as a pillow. Our room smelled like a rest-home and was really a disappointment after seeing the rooms that we thought we were getting on the web-site. We were comforted, some what, by the fact that my Mother recieved the better of the two rooms but, it was little consolation and I must say that I did not sleep well the two nights we stayed. It was very uncomfortable and cold at night with only the thin bed cover for warmth. The two young ladies that worked at the front desk in the lobby were certainly kind and helpful in their recommendations. They recommended the Accademia Cafe, which was the high-light of our trip!!The building in which our rooms were housed was beautiful and interesting to look through. If I had known before-hand that I needed to book suites for us in order to have decent rooms then I would probably be recommending this hotel to anyone[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Accademia Cafe is very near to the hotel and was probably the highlight of our trip. The staff was friendly and spoke english. The food was magnificent. Every bite was heavenly!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pilgrim
Business
Sussex
Oct 30, 2009

Would even go back!

Very good hotel with efficient and friendly staff. Arrived late at night and was conscious that there were not many "guide line" instructions in the room. No tea or coffee facilities but a good selection of drinks (alcoholic and non) in the mini bar. Breakfast OK with all one expects, but no extra touches. Was very satisfied with everything on offer. Good easy walkgood places to eat in easy walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dottore Armando
Business
Miami Beach, FL.
Sep 28, 2009

A hidden treasure in Firenze

The best boutique hotel in the city. Very competent and friendly staff at the Front Desk. The best breakfast in town. My room was clean and extremely comfortable. Very relaxing environment with a beautiful interior garden. Eat italian food, shop italian made clothes and shoes, walk the city up and down, visiting art museums, and enjoy the italian tempo of life. My best time ever in Firenze.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A very good restaurant across the street. A terrific trattoria three blocks down from the hotel, a bar in the corner. Ten minutes from everything important in town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travelin' Couple
Business
Orange County, CA
May 25, 2009

Great Location but Basic Hotel

The LOCATION of this hotel makes up for all other negatives. Price was okay also as booked through Orbitz. First, I don't know who the other reviewers are that said the breakfast is great. It is NOT. It is a very basic cold breakfast with limited items. It is only served from 6:30 am from 9:30 am. The hotel "staff" consists of only 1 person at a time. However, the day shift persons try hard to meet requests such as dinner reservations, etc. Night "staff" sucks and has no idea about anything. Ask for Room 41 which was very nice in size and even had a view of the Duomo with a nice little terrace.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Avoid Il Cibreo, listed as the "best restaurant in Florence" as rated by Fodors 2009 Italy guide. It was ridiculously overpriced and there are fixed prices for each course. My wife's 36 Euro second course consisted of 2,count them 2 meatballs. When we didn't order dessert and coffee (for additional fixed charges), the staff turned surly and ignored us. I had to ask for the check 5 times!! What a waste of 167 Euros. We had to grab a slice of pizza on the way back to the hotel because we were still hungry!! Avoid.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top