$97 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2015 Check-out: Aug 6, 2015

Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

3 stars
View map of Via San Gallo, 30, Florence, 50129

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 30
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Melanie frequent traveler
Business
Boston, MA
May 8, 2011

Orto de Medici Hotel Florence

We were returning from Boston, MA to Florence to visit our cousins. We've stayed in Florence numerous times and found this hotel to be at the top in quality of room, service, historic as well as modern ambiance, and courtyard beauty. Location was very convenient for us. We were terribly disappointed with the breakfast - no better than an American budget chain hotel - canned fruit, no fresh baked items, tasteless croissants and granola, packaged muffins, bland fruit preserves. Didn't enjoy standing in line for machine-dispensed espresso, although it produced ok coffee. This would be a reason not to return, but a tough choice given other pluses.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Palazza Medici Riccardi is a gem a few blocks away, as is the Dominican monastery of San Marco - exhibit of altar painting restoration process & display of stringed instruments were delights.

Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Farmington NM
Mar 22, 2011

Florence Hotel

We were in Florence for sightseeing. The hotel was perfectly located. It was in a quieter neighborhood not overrun by tourists yet within easy walking distance to all of the major attractions of florence. The common areas were very nice and had computers available for guests' use which was a real benefit. The room was very basic but was clean, had a good bed and a very nice bath. The breakfast was good and served in a beautiful breakfast room with a garden view. The staff was very courteous and always helpful. It was an extremely good value in relation to other places we have stayed in Europe. We would stay at this hotel again on a return to Florence

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Book tours for the major attractions such as the Uffizi,the Accademia, and the Doumo.

Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Haverhill, MA
Dec 1, 2010

A jem in city

Wonderful high ceilings. A perfect blend of modern and classical.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to attend the public market and don't be afraid to haggle!

Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
boston, ma
Apr 26, 2010

excellant hotel, good location.

hotel employees were wonderful. greet breakfast. very accomadating we were stuck due to the volcano & they put us up for another week at a great price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

reservations

Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington DC
Apr 4, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

Great location, clean room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pilgrim
Business
Sussex
Oct 30, 2009

Would even go back!

Very good hotel with efficient and friendly staff. Arrived late at night and was conscious that there were not many "guide line" instructions in the room. No tea or coffee facilities but a good selection of drinks (alcoholic and non) in the mini bar. Breakfast OK with all one expects, but no extra touches. Was very satisfied with everything on offer. Good easy walkgood places to eat in easy walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pilgrim
Business
Sussex
Oct 30, 2009

Would even go back!

Very good hotel with efficient and friendly staff. Arrived late at night and was conscious that there were not many "guide line" instructions in the room. No tea or coffee facilities but a good selection of drinks (alcoholic and non) in the mini bar. Breakfast OK with all one expects, but no extra touches. Was very satisfied with everything on offer. Good easy walkgood places to eat in easy walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dottore Armando
Business
Miami Beach, FL.
Sep 28, 2009

A hidden treasure in Firenze

The best boutique hotel in the city. Very competent and friendly staff at the Front Desk. The best breakfast in town. My room was clean and extremely comfortable. Very relaxing environment with a beautiful interior garden. Eat italian food, shop italian made clothes and shoes, walk the city up and down, visiting art museums, and enjoy the italian tempo of life. My best time ever in Firenze.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A very good restaurant across the street. A terrific trattoria three blocks down from the hotel, a bar in the corner. Ten minutes from everything important in town.

Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travelin' Couple
Business
Orange County, CA
May 25, 2009

Great Location but Basic Hotel

The LOCATION of this hotel makes up for all other negatives. Price was okay also as booked through Orbitz. First, I don't know who the other reviewers are that said the breakfast is great. It is NOT. It is a very basic cold breakfast with limited items. It is only served from 6:30 am from 9:30 am. The hotel "staff" consists of only 1 person at a time. However, the day shift persons try hard to meet requests such as dinner reservations, etc. Night "staff" sucks and has no idea about anything. Ask for Room 41 which was very nice in size and even had a view of the Duomo with a nice little terrace.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Avoid Il Cibreo, listed as the "best restaurant in Florence" as rated by Fodors 2009 Italy guide. It was ridiculously overpriced and there are fixed prices for each course. My wife's 36 Euro second course consisted of 2,count them 2 meatballs. When we didn't order dessert and coffee (for additional fixed charges), the staff turned surly and ignored us. I had to ask for the check 5 times!! What a waste of 167 Euros. We had to grab a slice of pizza on the way back to the hotel because we were still hungry!! Avoid.

Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peggy & Kermit
Business
Dallas, Texas
Apr 27, 2009

Orto De Medici Hotel

We visited Roma for 5 days and Florence for 5 days on vacation in mid April, 2009. Location of this hotel is excellent to get to all the places we wanted to see and things we wanted to do. Hotel staff was also very helpful with things to do and how to do them. I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to experience Florence in all it's beauty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top