$130 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

3 stars
Via San Gallo, 30, Florence, 50129
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
33 reviews
Great Stay!

My wife and I were in Florence in mid-February. We had a very nice room overlooking the courtyard.... See full review

  • Poli Prof
  • Mar 15, 2014
justin cebel

great place to stay highly recommend it more than I expect it See full review

  • justin e
  • Jan 2, 2014
Tranquil oasis with historic garden in a 19th century palace
The intimate Hotel Orto de' Medici is adored by its loyal cadre of business and leisure guests, who appreciate its quiet calm just steps away from Florence's top sites and attractions. Rooms are decorated in classic Florentine style, with hand-painted furniture and hardwood floors that create sanctuaries of relaxation and rejuvenation. The Garden Orto de'Medici is itself a dedicated destination for Florence visitors, containing a rich history of artistic accomplishment.
Highlights
  • Located inside an early 19th century palace
  • Two spacious reading rooms with frescoed ceilings and parquet floors
  • Historic Garden Orto de' Medici recognized as Europe's first museum and art academy
Rooms

Rooms are designed in classic Florentine style, accented with antique, hand-painted furniture and sleek, hardwood floors. Standard features include air conditioning, mini-bar, satellite TV, bathroom amenities, complimentary Internet access, and safety deposit boxes. Room sizes include single, double, triple, and quad, with suites featuring a balcony that offers coveted city views.

Features

Located in an early 19th century palace in a quiet street near the Galleria dell'Accademia, the Hotel Orto de' Medici is a prestigious, elegant property, ideally positioned for cultural visits to the heart of Florence.

Rooms are stylishly elegant, with many offering coveted vistas of Florentine rooftops. The historic Garden Orto de' Medici is recognized as Europe's first museum and art academy, conveniently accessed along a corridor painted with frescoes.

Two spacious reading rooms with frescoed ceilings and parquet floors allow guests treasured moments of reflection, and a flowered terrace is a prime spots for guests to dine al fresco.

La Terrazza dell'Orto Music Bar offers live entertainment, while Infusion Bar serves a variety of teas and a unique take on hot chocolate along with home-made cakes and cookies.

Transportation
  • Florence Airport (5.2 mi/8.4 km)
  • Santa Maria Novella train station (0.6 mi/1 km)
Attractions
  • Piazza del Duomo (0.5 mi/800 m)
  • Ponte Vecchio (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Uffizi Gallery (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Fortezza da Basso (0.45 mi/750 m)
Business
  • Meeting room accommodates up to 36 people
  • A/V equipment rental (fees apply)
  • Business services (print, photocopy, fax, translation)
  • Complimentary Internet

Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence Rooms

Standard Triple Room
The room offers 1 double bed + 1 twin bed or 3 twin beds. Rooms are equipped with air conditioning, mini-bar, safety deposit boxes, Balcony/Terrace on Junior Suite only, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service at cost, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Safe in room, Telephone. They are designed with pieces of antique hand painted furniture and delightfully decorated in classical Florentine style with hard wood floors. From the windows you may also enjoy a gorgeous view of the world famous medieval red roofs of Florence. A lift serves all floors.
Standard Single Room
The room offers 1 single bed with. Rooms are equipped with air conditioning, mini-bar, safety deposit boxes, Balcony/Terrace on Junior Suite only, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service at cost, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Safe in room, Telephone. They are designed with pieces of antique hand painted furniture and delightfully decorated in classical Florentine style with hard wood floors. A lift serves all floors.
Standard Double Room
The room offers 1 double bed or 2 twin beds.Rooms are equipped with air conditioning, mini-bar, safety deposit boxes, Balcony/Terrace on Junior Suite only, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service at cost, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Safe in room, Telephone. They are designed with pieces of antique hand painted furniture and delightfully decorated in classical Florentine style with hard wood floors. From the windows you may also enjoy a gorgeous view of the world famous medieval red roofs of Florence. A lift serves all floors.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
Dining
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 5.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

43.7789 11.2575
Area served
Lucca
Nearby airports
Amerigo Vespucci Florence International Airport.
Area description
The hotel is located in a peaceful position in the city centre just a few steps away from the Cathedral in Piazza del Duomo, Ponte Vecchio and the Uffizi Gallery and only five minutes away from the Fortezza da Basso. Clearly this privileged position represents an ideal starting-point for visiting museums, making purchases in the most elegant shops of the city and taking part in conferences and seminars.

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo di San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Galleria dell'Accademia: 0.1 mi
  • Piazza San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Mercato Centrale: 0.2 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Croce: 0.2 mi
  • Basilica di San Lorenzo: 0.3 mi
  • Medici Chapels (Cappelle Medicee): 0.3 mi
  • Laurentian Library (Biblioteca Medicea Laurenziana): 0.3 mi
  • Duomo Museum (Museo dell'Opera del Duomo): 0.4 mi
  • Duomo - Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore: 0.4 mi
  • Basilica Of San Lorenzo: 0.4 mi
  • Piazza del Duomo: 0.4 mi
  • Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto): 0.4 mi
  • Church of Santa Maria Novella: 0.5 mi
  • Centro Storico: 0.5 mi
  • Museo di San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Galleria dell'Accademia: 0.1 mi
  • Piazza San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Mercato Centrale: 0.2 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Croce: 0.2 mi
  • Basilica di San Lorenzo: 0.3 mi
  • Medici Chapels (Cappelle Medicee): 0.3 mi
  • Laurentian Library (Biblioteca Medicea Laurenziana): 0.3 mi
  • Duomo Museum (Museo dell'Opera del Duomo): 0.4 mi
  • Duomo - Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore: 0.4 mi
  • Basilica Of San Lorenzo: 0.4 mi
  • Piazza del Duomo: 0.4 mi
  • Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto): 0.4 mi
  • Church of Santa Maria Novella: 0.5 mi
  • Centro Storico: 0.5 mi
  • Santa Maria Novella Train station: 0.5 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.5 mi
  • Sinagoga di Firenze e Museo ebraico: 0.6 mi
  • Museo Nazionale del Bargello (Bargello Museum): 0.6 mi
  • Museo di Palazzo Davanzati: 0.6 mi
  • Piazza della Signoria: 0.6 mi
  • Palazzo Vecchio: 0.6 mi
  • Giardino Della Gherardesca: 0.6 mi
  • Uffizi Gallery (Galleria degli Uffizi): 0.7 mi
  • Museo Galileo - Institute and Museum of the History of Science: 0.7 mi
  • Santa Maria Novela Basilica: 0.7 mi
  • Corridoio Vasariano: 0.7 mi
  • Pitti Palace: 0.8 mi
  • Giardino Corsi: 0.9 mi
  • Boboli Gardens: 1 mi
  • Piazzale Michelangelo: 1.1 mi
  • Artemio Franchi Stadium: 1.1 mi
  • Museo Stibbert: 1.2 mi
  • Cimitero Delle Porte Sante: 1.3 mi
  • Basilica di San Miniato al Monte: 1.4 mi
  • Fiesole: 2.7 mi
  • Baptistry (Battistero): 43.2 mi

Dining

Mimmo
very good food - casualin front of the hotel - 30 euro
La Giostra
excellent selectioncasual/intimatein city centre - 55 euro
IL Latini
the best “bistecca alla fiorentina” - in city centre - 35 euro
Osteria De'Benci
delicious food - casua - in city centre - 35 euro
IL Garga
excellent food - casual/fancy - in city centre - 60 euro
Couquinarius
great for lunch - very nice - in city centre - 15 euro
Accademia
good food - economical - San Marco square - 25 euro
Fuor D'Acqua
the best fish in Florence - fancy/intimate - need a cab - 70 euro

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (33)

Ratings and reviews for Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
33 out of 33
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Virginian traveller
Virginia, USA
Dec 11, 2012

The Virginian traveller

Hotel is nice and in a good location. We booked a room with garden view - very lovely. Our room is big, clean and up dated. Front desk employees are very nice and helpful. Breakfast is good. We enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend it to our friends and family members. We would go back and stay in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk and convenience to every where, such as restaurants, historical sites, shopping, mini market, etc... everything within walking distant.

Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Haverhill, MA
Dec 1, 2010

A jem in city

Wonderful high ceilings. A perfect blend of modern and classical.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to attend the public market and don't be afraid to haggle!

Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
boston, ma
Apr 26, 2010

excellant hotel, good location.

hotel employees were wonderful. greet breakfast. very accomadating we were stuck due to the volcano & they put us up for another week at a great price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

reservations

Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
boston, ma
Apr 26, 2010

excellant hotel, good location.

hotel employees were wonderful. greet breakfast. very accomadating we were stuck due to the volcano & they put us up for another week at a great price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

reservations

Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington DC
Apr 4, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

Great location, clean room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington DC
Apr 4, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

Great location, clean room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jillian Italy traveller
Friuli, Italy
Dec 28, 2009

Not as shown!

My mother flew over from the US to visit for Christmas and we went to Florence for the weekend prior to Christmas.[...] The newly remodeled rooms were only the suites and junior suites that are very expensive!! The rooms I booked for my husband and I and for my mother were bare-bones, stark, and less than basic. The room my mother was assigned, at least, had a bathroom including shower, which flooded the bathroom when she used it. However, the room my husband and I were assigned had merely a half tub with a hand shower (no shower curtain.) The walls in our rooms were scuffed and paint was peeling off. We all were given only one pillow and a thin bed cover. When I asked for an additional pillow, I was told there were no extra pillows in the hotel at that time. I used my coat covered with a t-shirt as a pillow. Our room smelled like a rest-home and was really a disappointment after seeing the rooms that we thought we were getting on the web-site. We were comforted, some what, by the fact that my Mother recieved the better of the two rooms but, it was little consolation and I must say that I did not sleep well the two nights we stayed. It was very uncomfortable and cold at night with only the thin bed cover for warmth. The two young ladies that worked at the front desk in the lobby were certainly kind and helpful in their recommendations. They recommended the Accademia Cafe, which was the high-light of our trip!!The building in which our rooms were housed was beautiful and interesting to look through. If I had known before-hand that I needed to book suites for us in order to have decent rooms then I would probably be recommending this hotel to anyone[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Accademia Cafe is very near to the hotel and was probably the highlight of our trip. The staff was friendly and spoke english. The food was magnificent. Every bite was heavenly!!

Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pilgrim
Sussex
Oct 30, 2009

Would even go back!

Very good hotel with efficient and friendly staff. Arrived late at night and was conscious that there were not many "guide line" instructions in the room. No tea or coffee facilities but a good selection of drinks (alcoholic and non) in the mini bar. Breakfast OK with all one expects, but no extra touches. Was very satisfied with everything on offer. Good easy walkgood places to eat in easy walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dottore Armando
Miami Beach, FL.
Sep 28, 2009

A hidden treasure in Firenze

The best boutique hotel in the city. Very competent and friendly staff at the Front Desk. The best breakfast in town. My room was clean and extremely comfortable. Very relaxing environment with a beautiful interior garden. Eat italian food, shop italian made clothes and shoes, walk the city up and down, visiting art museums, and enjoy the italian tempo of life. My best time ever in Firenze.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A very good restaurant across the street. A terrific trattoria three blocks down from the hotel, a bar in the corner. Ten minutes from everything important in town.

Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dottore Armando
Miami Beach, FL.
Sep 28, 2009

A hidden treasure in Firenze

The best boutique hotel in the city. Very competent and friendly staff at the Front Desk. The best breakfast in town. My room was clean and extremely comfortable. Very relaxing environment with a beautiful interior garden. Eat italian food, shop italian made clothes and shoes, walk the city up and down, visiting art museums, and enjoy the italian tempo of life. My best time ever in Firenze.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A very good restaurant across the street. A terrific trattoria three blocks down from the hotel, a bar in the corner. Ten minutes from everything important in town.

Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travelin' Couple
Orange County, CA
May 25, 2009

Great Location but Basic Hotel

The LOCATION of this hotel makes up for all other negatives. Price was okay also as booked through Orbitz. First, I don't know who the other reviewers are that said the breakfast is great. It is NOT. It is a very basic cold breakfast with limited items. It is only served from 6:30 am from 9:30 am. The hotel "staff" consists of only 1 person at a time. However, the day shift persons try hard to meet requests such as dinner reservations, etc. Night "staff" sucks and has no idea about anything. Ask for Room 41 which was very nice in size and even had a view of the Duomo with a nice little terrace.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Avoid Il Cibreo, listed as the "best restaurant in Florence" as rated by Fodors 2009 Italy guide. It was ridiculously overpriced and there are fixed prices for each course. My wife's 36 Euro second course consisted of 2,count them 2 meatballs. When we didn't order dessert and coffee (for additional fixed charges), the staff turned surly and ignored us. I had to ask for the check 5 times!! What a waste of 167 Euros. We had to grab a slice of pizza on the way back to the hotel because we were still hungry!! Avoid.

Back to menu Return to top