$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 14, 2015 Check-out: Jun 15, 2015

Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

3 stars
View map of Via San Gallo, 30, Florence, 50129

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
33 out of 33
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Virginian traveller
Business
Virginia, USA
Dec 11, 2012

The Virginian traveller

Hotel is nice and in a good location. We booked a room with garden view - very lovely. Our room is big, clean and up dated. Front desk employees are very nice and helpful. Breakfast is good. We enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend it to our friends and family members. We would go back and stay in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk and convenience to every where, such as restaurants, historical sites, shopping, mini market, etc... everything within walking distant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rajan
Business
Surrey, UK
Oct 27, 2012

Hotel review

The staff at the reception and at the breakfast room are very courteous and helpful. Tidiness of the room we stayed were really good. However the Room 36 we stayed in for four nights has a bathroom which needs to be refurbished - there was no shower curtain or glass screen and consequently when we have shower water splashes around the bathroom, and the bath itself is very small and has two levels. The breakfast is cold except the toasts - just scrambled eggs or warm bacon and sausages would have been enjoyable; and then the machine coffee! Otherwise the hotel and the staff are fine. MR Surrey

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EdnaK
Business
Franklinton, LA 70438, USA
Sep 15, 2012

Great place.

You will see another review that I wrote for this hotel but it was for one in Venice. Sorry. This was a great hotel. It was centrally located. We walked everywhere. The room was large for European standards. The decor was a little above average. There are antique furnishings in the room and throughout the hotel with just enough modern added for comfort and contrast. The hotel has a lot of character and looks to have been recently updated. The breakfast was very good and the patio dining was a great addition. I was a little concerned about leaving the key but it was fine. In the evenings for a couple hours you could relax in the patio area and have a drink and you were served some light horderves. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The only negative was that the Wi-Fi didn't work well in our room. I highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EdnaK
Business
Franklinton, LA 70438, USA
Sep 11, 2012

Good value

The location was very central. We walked everwhere. It was less than 10 minute walk to Rialto bridge and about 15 minutes or less to San Marco. Room was nicely decorated and nice size for European standards. It looks recently refurbished. The breakfast was not included in the price but we took advantage of the service. The breakfast was an average buffet style with cereal, boiled eggs, assorted cold meats, breads, fruits, juice and coffee. The breakfast was self-serve with no attendants. The desk was manned around the clock. The staff was helpful. There is no lift and you must attend your own bags although the man at the desk was kind enough to carry my bag upstairs. The Wi-Fi works in the room very well. The first 3 hours are free and I assume you pay for additional. The hotel was difficult to find the first time. However, everything in Venice is difficult to find at first due to the canals, bridges and curving alley ways which are also part of the charm. Would recommend and would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La Strida restaurant. Is family owned with excellent food and service. The seafood resotto was excellent. They brought us a free home-made Bellini when we arrived and finished with a free lemoncello. The price is average.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gabriel Alexander
Business
NJ
Sep 8, 2012

Would come back again - nice place

Hotel staff were super helpful! They were more than happy to recomend places to eat and visit. The hotel is located around the corner from the Accademia Gallery and a couple of blocks from the train station. I would go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
EmmaUK
Business
England
Sep 2, 2012

Felt very unsafe and unrested

the room was disgusting, the walls covered in squished bugs, the heavy-looking wood and metal light fitting was hanging out the ceiling attached only by its exposed wires, the walls were thin enough to hear the reception phone ringing from our 3rd story room, let alone the other guests in the hotel. The bed were so hard we may as well have been sleeping on concrete, there was no entertainment and we received no directions to the hotel bar which was discretely hidden up some stairs and along a walkway from the garden area. When we arrived our passports were taken from us and we were told they'd be brought to our room in half an hour - an hour and a half later we had to go collect them which not so much as an apology. On the first day the maids left our room unlocked, so our passports and valuables were left for anyone to take for the 9 hours we were out and we left the do not disturb sign on our door for the rest of the trip. The receptionist would answer the phone and serve other people mid-serving us, and overall seemed very unenthusiastic about his job. In 3 nights I had a grand total of 8 hours sleep due to noise, discomfort and generally feeling unsafe. This hotel is very misleading with its photos so if you absolutely have your heart set on it and cannot for some reason stay elsewhere, pay for a good room because the 'standard' rooms are beyond sub-standard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Not Lost from Chicago
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 3, 2012

A quick stop in Florence and Orto di Medici

We stopped at Florence for just a few days and booked this hotel. The hotel is only a few block walk from the Duomo (the major church in town). This worked as a good base of operations for us to wander the town of Florence....a MCD was close, which served as a landmark for us to come back but never to eat. A laudramat is only three blocks away for self-service for any long term travelers. Staff was fantastic, bed comfortable. Fairly quite at night and wi-fi in the hotel. An all you can eat buffet of small plate food (appetizers and such) was available next door and seemd to draw a very vivacious and young crowd each night. Good stuff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The staff recommended Pepo, a small restauraunt just near the Central Market (which is a must to see....with all the farmers, butchers, and fishermen bringing their food to sell. Pepos is just a block off of thesquare on the Northwest road leading into it. Great traditional cooking and at a very good price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TC10014
Business
New York, NY
Jun 1, 2012

Good, clean hotel with great staff

Stayed here a few night...all good. A little out of the way from the main areas but there a few restaurants on the block. Lovely lobby with apple computers you can use for free. Also, they have a great library on the second floor and the back patio is great for a drink in the afternoon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to the Accademia where Michelangelo's David is kept.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Courtley
Business
Ventura, CA, USA
Jan 8, 2012

Birthday in Florence

This hotel is so conveniently located! As two girls traveling alone, we felt right at home and safe in the neighborhood immediately. We were convenient walking distance to all of Florence's famous sites and to the train station. The airport is a little further, but the taxis offer a fixed 25 euro fare, so it was very convenient as well. The hotel was clean and the common areas were beautiful! Our room was average, but it was large and clean, and we were given the opportunity to upgrade when we arrived at the hotel. They offered a nice breakfast and wifi which were both very convenient for our trip. When they found out that it was my birthday, they gave me a nice note and some complimentary biscotti. I thought it was a very nice touch. I would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends. I thought it was a great value, and the convenient location could not be beat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

One day we did the Florence cooking tour with Chef Giovanni from florencetown.com. On the tour, they take you shopping in the market, and then teach you to make a traditional Italian meal. I thought it was a lot of fun, and I will never forget how to make pasta from scratch!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fred68
Business
NC
Dec 24, 2011

Good for the money

Overall a very nice hotel in a great location. Breakfast was great and breakfast staff were very nice. Desk clerk was professional but not friendly. Overall a good value for the money, given we had a 20% discount.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to most attractions; easy walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top