$113 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

3 stars
Via San Gallo, 30, Florence, 50129
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
33 reviews
Great Stay!

My wife and I were in Florence in mid-February. We had a very nice room overlooking the courtyard.... See full review

  • Poli Prof
  • Mar 15, 2014
justin cebel

great place to stay highly recommend it more than I expect it See full review

  • justin e
  • Jan 2, 2014
Tranquil oasis with historic garden in a 19th century palace
The intimate Hotel Orto de' Medici is adored by its loyal cadre of business and leisure guests, who appreciate its quiet calm just steps away from Florence's top sites and attractions. Rooms are decorated in classic Florentine style, with hand-painted furniture and hardwood floors that create sanctuaries of relaxation and rejuvenation. The Garden Orto de'Medici is itself a dedicated destination for Florence visitors, containing a rich history of artistic accomplishment.
Highlights
  • Located inside an early 19th century palace
  • Two spacious reading rooms with frescoed ceilings and parquet floors
  • Historic Garden Orto de' Medici recognized as Europe's first museum and art academy
Rooms

Rooms are designed in classic Florentine style, accented with antique, hand-painted furniture and sleek, hardwood floors. Standard features include air conditioning, mini-bar, satellite TV, bathroom amenities, complimentary Internet access, and safety deposit boxes. Room sizes include single, double, triple, and quad, with suites featuring a balcony that offers coveted city views.

Features

Located in an early 19th century palace in a quiet street near the Galleria dell'Accademia, the Hotel Orto de' Medici is a prestigious, elegant property, ideally positioned for cultural visits to the heart of Florence.

Rooms are stylishly elegant, with many offering coveted vistas of Florentine rooftops. The historic Garden Orto de' Medici is recognized as Europe's first museum and art academy, conveniently accessed along a corridor painted with frescoes.

Two spacious reading rooms with frescoed ceilings and parquet floors allow guests treasured moments of reflection, and a flowered terrace is a prime spots for guests to dine al fresco.

La Terrazza dell'Orto Music Bar offers live entertainment, while Infusion Bar serves a variety of teas and a unique take on hot chocolate along with home-made cakes and cookies.

Transportation
  • Florence Airport (5.2 mi/8.4 km)
  • Santa Maria Novella train station (0.6 mi/1 km)
Attractions
  • Piazza del Duomo (0.5 mi/800 m)
  • Ponte Vecchio (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Uffizi Gallery (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Fortezza da Basso (0.45 mi/750 m)
Business
  • Meeting room accommodates up to 36 people
  • A/V equipment rental (fees apply)
  • Business services (print, photocopy, fax, translation)
  • Complimentary Internet

Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence Rooms

Standard Triple Room
The room offers 1 double bed + 1 twin bed or 3 twin beds. Rooms are equipped with air conditioning, mini-bar, safety deposit boxes, Balcony/Terrace on Junior Suite only, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service at cost, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Safe in room, Telephone. They are designed with pieces of antique hand painted furniture and delightfully decorated in classical Florentine style with hard wood floors. From the windows you may also enjoy a gorgeous view of the world famous medieval red roofs of Florence. A lift serves all floors.
Standard Single Room
The room offers 1 single bed with. Rooms are equipped with air conditioning, mini-bar, safety deposit boxes, Balcony/Terrace on Junior Suite only, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service at cost, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Safe in room, Telephone. They are designed with pieces of antique hand painted furniture and delightfully decorated in classical Florentine style with hard wood floors. A lift serves all floors.
Standard Double Room
The room offers 1 double bed or 2 twin beds.Rooms are equipped with air conditioning, mini-bar, safety deposit boxes, Balcony/Terrace on Junior Suite only, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service at cost, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Safe in room, Telephone. They are designed with pieces of antique hand painted furniture and delightfully decorated in classical Florentine style with hard wood floors. From the windows you may also enjoy a gorgeous view of the world famous medieval red roofs of Florence. A lift serves all floors.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
Dining
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 5.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

43.7789 11.2575
Area served
Lucca
Nearby airports
Amerigo Vespucci Florence International Airport.
Area description
The hotel is located in a peaceful position in the city centre just a few steps away from the Cathedral in Piazza del Duomo, Ponte Vecchio and the Uffizi Gallery and only five minutes away from the Fortezza da Basso. Clearly this privileged position represents an ideal starting-point for visiting museums, making purchases in the most elegant shops of the city and taking part in conferences and seminars.

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo di San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Galleria dell'Accademia: 0.1 mi
  • Piazza San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Mercato Centrale: 0.2 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Croce: 0.2 mi
  • Basilica di San Lorenzo: 0.3 mi
  • Medici Chapels (Cappelle Medicee): 0.3 mi
  • Laurentian Library (Biblioteca Medicea Laurenziana): 0.3 mi
  • Duomo Museum (Museo dell'Opera del Duomo): 0.4 mi
  • Duomo - Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore: 0.4 mi
  • Basilica Of San Lorenzo: 0.4 mi
  • Piazza del Duomo: 0.4 mi
  • Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto): 0.4 mi
  • Church of Santa Maria Novella: 0.5 mi
  • Centro Storico: 0.5 mi
  • Museo di San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Galleria dell'Accademia: 0.1 mi
  • Piazza San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Mercato Centrale: 0.2 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Croce: 0.2 mi
  • Basilica di San Lorenzo: 0.3 mi
  • Medici Chapels (Cappelle Medicee): 0.3 mi
  • Laurentian Library (Biblioteca Medicea Laurenziana): 0.3 mi
  • Duomo Museum (Museo dell'Opera del Duomo): 0.4 mi
  • Duomo - Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore: 0.4 mi
  • Basilica Of San Lorenzo: 0.4 mi
  • Piazza del Duomo: 0.4 mi
  • Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto): 0.4 mi
  • Church of Santa Maria Novella: 0.5 mi
  • Centro Storico: 0.5 mi
  • Santa Maria Novella Train station: 0.5 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.5 mi
  • Sinagoga di Firenze e Museo ebraico: 0.6 mi
  • Museo Nazionale del Bargello (Bargello Museum): 0.6 mi
  • Museo di Palazzo Davanzati: 0.6 mi
  • Piazza della Signoria: 0.6 mi
  • Palazzo Vecchio: 0.6 mi
  • Giardino Della Gherardesca: 0.6 mi
  • Uffizi Gallery (Galleria degli Uffizi): 0.7 mi
  • Museo Galileo - Institute and Museum of the History of Science: 0.7 mi
  • Santa Maria Novela Basilica: 0.7 mi
  • Corridoio Vasariano: 0.7 mi
  • Pitti Palace: 0.8 mi
  • Giardino Corsi: 0.9 mi
  • Boboli Gardens: 1 mi
  • Piazzale Michelangelo: 1.1 mi
  • Artemio Franchi Stadium: 1.1 mi
  • Museo Stibbert: 1.2 mi
  • Cimitero Delle Porte Sante: 1.3 mi
  • Basilica di San Miniato al Monte: 1.4 mi
  • Fiesole: 2.7 mi
  • Baptistry (Battistero): 43.2 mi

Dining

Mimmo
very good food - casualin front of the hotel - 30 euro
La Giostra
excellent selectioncasual/intimatein city centre - 55 euro
IL Latini
the best “bistecca alla fiorentina” - in city centre - 35 euro
Osteria De'Benci
delicious food - casua - in city centre - 35 euro
IL Garga
excellent food - casual/fancy - in city centre - 60 euro
Couquinarius
great for lunch - very nice - in city centre - 15 euro
Accademia
good food - economical - San Marco square - 25 euro
Fuor D'Acqua
the best fish in Florence - fancy/intimate - need a cab - 70 euro

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (33)

Ratings and reviews for Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
33 out of 33
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rajan
Surrey, UK
Oct 27, 2012

Hotel review

The staff at the reception and at the breakfast room are very courteous and helpful. Tidiness of the room we stayed were really good. However the Room 36 we stayed in for four nights has a bathroom which needs to be refurbished - there was no shower curtain or glass screen and consequently when we have shower water splashes around the bathroom, and the bath itself is very small and has two levels. The breakfast is cold except the toasts - just scrambled eggs or warm bacon and sausages would have been enjoyable; and then the machine coffee! Otherwise the hotel and the staff are fine. MR Surrey

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Poli Prof
Utah
Mar 15, 2014

Great Stay!

My wife and I were in Florence in mid-February. We had a very nice room overlooking the courtyard. The hotel is very close to the major attractions and the breakfast was quite good, especially the freshly squeezed orange juice. The staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
justin e
nyc
Jan 2, 2014

justin cebel

great place to stay highly recommend it more than I expect it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rliv
Ny
Feb 28, 2013

Nice concierge, simple room, great breakfast

The room is a simple Italian style room: dark furniture, brocade bedding, clean. The hotel lobby is very modern with new computers. The concierge are nice and helpful, though dont take thier suggestion of the reataurant in san marco: very mediocre. Location is an easy walk to duomo. Breakfast buffet is the big sell: big selection of meat, mozzarella, tomatoes, pastries, juices, coffee, cereal, fruit and in nice weather you can sit and eat on their patio outside!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Il Bento Salvatore

Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Virginian traveller
Virginia, USA
Dec 11, 2012

The Virginian traveller

Hotel is nice and in a good location. We booked a room with garden view - very lovely. Our room is big, clean and up dated. Front desk employees are very nice and helpful. Breakfast is good. We enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend it to our friends and family members. We would go back and stay in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk and convenience to every where, such as restaurants, historical sites, shopping, mini market, etc... everything within walking distant.

Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rajan
Surrey, UK
Oct 27, 2012

Hotel review

The staff at the reception and at the breakfast room are very courteous and helpful. Tidiness of the room we stayed were really good. However the Room 36 we stayed in for four nights has a bathroom which needs to be refurbished - there was no shower curtain or glass screen and consequently when we have shower water splashes around the bathroom, and the bath itself is very small and has two levels. The breakfast is cold except the toasts - just scrambled eggs or warm bacon and sausages would have been enjoyable; and then the machine coffee! Otherwise the hotel and the staff are fine. MR Surrey

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EdnaK
Franklinton, LA 70438, USA
Sep 15, 2012

Great place.

You will see another review that I wrote for this hotel but it was for one in Venice. Sorry. This was a great hotel. It was centrally located. We walked everywhere. The room was large for European standards. The decor was a little above average. There are antique furnishings in the room and throughout the hotel with just enough modern added for comfort and contrast. The hotel has a lot of character and looks to have been recently updated. The breakfast was very good and the patio dining was a great addition. I was a little concerned about leaving the key but it was fine. In the evenings for a couple hours you could relax in the patio area and have a drink and you were served some light horderves. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The only negative was that the Wi-Fi didn't work well in our room. I highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EdnaK
Franklinton, LA 70438, USA
Sep 11, 2012

Good value

The location was very central. We walked everwhere. It was less than 10 minute walk to Rialto bridge and about 15 minutes or less to San Marco. Room was nicely decorated and nice size for European standards. It looks recently refurbished. The breakfast was not included in the price but we took advantage of the service. The breakfast was an average buffet style with cereal, boiled eggs, assorted cold meats, breads, fruits, juice and coffee. The breakfast was self-serve with no attendants. The desk was manned around the clock. The staff was helpful. There is no lift and you must attend your own bags although the man at the desk was kind enough to carry my bag upstairs. The Wi-Fi works in the room very well. The first 3 hours are free and I assume you pay for additional. The hotel was difficult to find the first time. However, everything in Venice is difficult to find at first due to the canals, bridges and curving alley ways which are also part of the charm. Would recommend and would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La Strida restaurant. Is family owned with excellent food and service. The seafood resotto was excellent. They brought us a free home-made Bellini when we arrived and finished with a free lemoncello. The price is average.

Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gabriel Alexander
NJ
Sep 8, 2012

Would come back again - nice place

Hotel staff were super helpful! They were more than happy to recomend places to eat and visit. The hotel is located around the corner from the Accademia Gallery and a couple of blocks from the train station. I would go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
EmmaUK
England
Sep 2, 2012

Felt very unsafe and unrested

the room was disgusting, the walls covered in squished bugs, the heavy-looking wood and metal light fitting was hanging out the ceiling attached only by its exposed wires, the walls were thin enough to hear the reception phone ringing from our 3rd story room, let alone the other guests in the hotel. The bed were so hard we may as well have been sleeping on concrete, there was no entertainment and we received no directions to the hotel bar which was discretely hidden up some stairs and along a walkway from the garden area. When we arrived our passports were taken from us and we were told they'd be brought to our room in half an hour - an hour and a half later we had to go collect them which not so much as an apology. On the first day the maids left our room unlocked, so our passports and valuables were left for anyone to take for the 9 hours we were out and we left the do not disturb sign on our door for the rest of the trip. The receptionist would answer the phone and serve other people mid-serving us, and overall seemed very unenthusiastic about his job. In 3 nights I had a grand total of 8 hours sleep due to noise, discomfort and generally feeling unsafe. This hotel is very misleading with its photos so if you absolutely have your heart set on it and cannot for some reason stay elsewhere, pay for a good room because the 'standard' rooms are beyond sub-standard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Orto De' Medici Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Not Lost from Chicago
Chicago, IL
Jun 3, 2012

A quick stop in Florence and Orto di Medici

We stopped at Florence for just a few days and booked this hotel. The hotel is only a few block walk from the Duomo (the major church in town). This worked as a good base of operations for us to wander the town of Florence....a MCD was close, which served as a landmark for us to come back but never to eat. A laudramat is only three blocks away for self-service for any long term travelers. Staff was fantastic, bed comfortable. Fairly quite at night and wi-fi in the hotel. An all you can eat buffet of small plate food (appetizers and such) was available next door and seemd to draw a very vivacious and young crowd each night. Good stuff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The staff recommended Pepo, a small restauraunt just near the Central Market (which is a must to see....with all the farmers, butchers, and fishermen bringing their food to sell. Pepos is just a block off of thesquare on the Northwest road leading into it. Great traditional cooking and at a very good price.

Back to menu Return to top