$196 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 27, 2014 Check-out: Aug 29, 2014

Montebello Splendid Hotel Florence

5 stars
Via Giuseppe Garibaldi 14, Florence, 50123
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
37 reviews
Great hotel

The hotel is wonderful, very clean and updated. It is about 20 minutes from the center of the city... See full review

  • Jamie and Lane
  • Apr 21, 2013
Deserves 10 stars (except the restaurant food)

Everything was absolutely fabulous at this attractive little hotel. It couldn't have been nicer in... See full review

  • Paione
  • Oct 8, 2012
Intimate, luxury hotel set in a 19th-century villa in city center
The Montebellow Splendid Hotel Florence is known for both luxury and hospitality. Rooms and common areas are classically furnished in rich, soothing tones, and pleasingly accented by marble, antiques, and mosaics. The furniture is personally selected by the hands-on hotel owner. The hotel's intimate size translates to maximum service and hospitality, an uncompromising attention to detail that aims to exceed each guest's expectations.
Highlights
  • Peaceful intimacy in the heart of Florence
  • 19th-century villa catering to ambassadors, opera greats, and artists
  • Five-star on-site restaurant offering indoor or al fresco dining
Rooms

Each guest room or suite has been meticulously designed with a distinctive style and look. Find antiques and original works of art, bathrooms with stately marble, and high-tech electronics, including bed-side controls for the window shutters and the do-not-disturb light on the hallway door. The hotel's proprietary "Sweet Dreams" sleep system guarantees a hygienic and relaxing sleep, with extra-large beds dressed in deluxe Egyptian cotton linens. Other features include air conditioning, cable/satellite TV, telephone, mini-bar, telephone with voicemail, hairdryer, radio, and high-speed Interent (fees apply).

Features

Standing in sharp contrast to formulaic luxury properties, the Montebello Splendid Hotel Florence is a sedate urban sanctuary, an oasis of stylish comfort that embraces the most discriminating traveler.

Unrivaled hospitality is a signature focus of the Montebello's management team, a dedication that's reinforced with its stylish surroundings.

Each room has a distinct style and look, a commitment to luxury and indulgence that affords visitors a truly pampered experience.

Relax and enjoy a Tuscan wine at the on-site Il Portico Garden Bar, or dine in the five-star Capricio restaurant, either in the richly appointed dining room or al fresco in the garden. There's also a dedicated fitness room with cardio equipment and weight stations.

Transportation
  • Florence Airport (4.4 mi/7.2 km)
  • Santa Maria Novella train station (0.5 mi/800 m)
Attractions
  • Piazza del Duomo (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Ponte Vecchio (0.4 mi/600 m)
  • Uffizi Gallery (0.4 mi/700 m)
  • Palazzo Pitti (0.5 mi/800 m)
Business
  • 2 meeting rooms
  • State-of-the-art technology
  • Full catering capabilities

Montebello Splendid Hotel Florence Rooms

Classic Double Room/Twin Room
Room with one Double bed or one twin beds includes Air conditioning, Heating, Internet access, Room service Safe in room, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Laundry service, Telephone, Color TV, Mini bar, Modem / data port connection, Disabled facilities, Non-smoking rooms, Voicemail, Pay-per-view movies, Hairdryer, Radio.
Deluxe Double Room/Twin Room
Room with one Double bed and one twin bed or two twin beds includes Air conditioning, Heating, Internet access, Room service Safe in room, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Laundry service, Telephone, Color TV, Mini bar, Modem / data port connection, Disabled facilities, Non-smoking rooms, Voicemail, Pay-per-view movies, Hairdryer, Radio.
Junior Suite
Room with one Double bed and one twin bed or two twin beds includes Air conditioning, Heating, Internet access, Room service Safe in room, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Laundry service, Telephone, Color TV, Mini bar, Modem / data port connection, Disabled facilities, Non-smoking rooms, Voicemail, Pay-per-view movies, Hairdryer, Radio.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Montebello Splendid Hotel Florence also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

43.7754 11.2412
Area served
Florence.
Nearby airports
Florence International Airport.
Area description
Hotel Montebello Splendid Florence is found in the elegant and refined center of the city, set in a location among the best hotels, surrounded by streets of delightful shops and characteristic artisan bottegas, one hundred meters from the River bank allowing you to reach Ponte Vecchio, the Uffizi, and other major cultural attractions, all on foot in only minutes.

Nearby points of interest

  • Giardino Corsi: 0.3 mi
  • Santa Maria Novella Train station: 0.4 mi
  • Church of Santa Maria Novella: 0.4 mi
  • Basilica Of San Lorenzo: 0.5 mi
  • Santa Maria Novela Basilica: 0.6 mi
  • Basilica di San Lorenzo: 0.6 mi
  • Medici Chapels (Cappelle Medicee): 0.6 mi
  • Mercato Centrale: 0.7 mi
  • Museo di Palazzo Davanzati: 0.7 mi
  • Laurentian Library (Biblioteca Medicea Laurenziana): 0.7 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.7 mi
  • Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto): 0.7 mi
  • Piazza del Duomo: 0.7 mi
  • Centro Storico: 0.7 mi
  • Pitti Palace: 0.8 mi
  • Giardino Corsi: 0.3 mi
  • Santa Maria Novella Train station: 0.4 mi
  • Church of Santa Maria Novella: 0.4 mi
  • Basilica Of San Lorenzo: 0.5 mi
  • Santa Maria Novela Basilica: 0.6 mi
  • Basilica di San Lorenzo: 0.6 mi
  • Medici Chapels (Cappelle Medicee): 0.6 mi
  • Mercato Centrale: 0.7 mi
  • Museo di Palazzo Davanzati: 0.7 mi
  • Laurentian Library (Biblioteca Medicea Laurenziana): 0.7 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.7 mi
  • Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto): 0.7 mi
  • Piazza del Duomo: 0.7 mi
  • Centro Storico: 0.7 mi
  • Pitti Palace: 0.8 mi
  • Duomo - Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore: 0.8 mi
  • Duomo Museum (Museo dell'Opera del Duomo): 0.8 mi
  • Corridoio Vasariano: 0.8 mi
  • Piazza della Signoria: 0.8 mi
  • Boboli Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Uffizi Gallery (Galleria degli Uffizi): 0.9 mi
  • Museo Galileo - Institute and Museum of the History of Science: 0.9 mi
  • Galleria dell'Accademia: 0.9 mi
  • Museo Nazionale del Bargello (Bargello Museum): 0.9 mi
  • Museo di San Marco: 0.9 mi
  • Piazza San Marco: 1 mi
  • Palazzo Vecchio: 1 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Croce: 1.1 mi
  • Sinagoga di Firenze e Museo ebraico: 1.2 mi
  • Cimitero Delle Porte Sante: 1.4 mi
  • Piazzale Michelangelo: 1.4 mi
  • Giardino Della Gherardesca: 1.5 mi
  • Museo Stibbert: 1.7 mi
  • Basilica di San Miniato al Monte: 1.7 mi
  • Artemio Franchi Stadium: 2 mi
  • Fiesole: 3.4 mi
  • Baptistry (Battistero): 42.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (37)

Ratings and reviews for Montebello Splendid Hotel Florence

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
37 out of 37
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Montebello Splendid Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
humboldt happy hiker
Humboldt, California, USA
Oct 12, 2011

Wonderful week in Florence

Hotel beautiful, bed firm & comfortable, clean. The bathroom bit small for staying a week but nice. The room was quite nice, bit small but to be expected in Europe. Bar & restaurant expensive but lots of great choices within an easy walk. Easy walk to train/bus station for day excursions. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Easy walk to the museums & shopping. tip: be sure to check your bill and mini bar charges!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Il Profeto, recommended by staff. Bit expensive but delicious and wonderful staff. Best meal of our stay, worth the splurge.

Review of Montebello Splendid Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
naples, italy
Feb 21, 2010

nice but service needs work

the hotel was nice but the staff gave me a low graded room that was not what i paid for. I had to sit there and argue what i paid for. Finally I showed them the receipt from what I did paid for and took a while to get that room. I had parked my car in their parking area and the staff that brought my car up had it smelling like it was burning something inside of the engine. I was very upset because i had a brand new car and the staff was revving the engine from the time he started the car till he parked it. To make matters even worse the staff said that he didn't do anything to the car and that he didn't smell anything and my wife and smell it even when we stepped outside of the hotel. luckily there was nothing wrong with the car but i wished that the staff took better care of there customers property better

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Montebello Splendid Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
naples, italy
Feb 21, 2010

nice but service needs work

the hotel was nice but the staff gave me a low graded room that was not what i paid for. I had to sit there and argue what i paid for. Finally I showed them the receipt from what I did paid for and took a while to get that room. I had parked my car in their parking area and the staff that brought my car up had it smelling like it was burning something inside of the engine. I was very upset because i had a brand new car and the staff was revving the engine from the time he started the car till he parked it. To make matters even worse the staff said that he didn't do anything to the car and that he didn't smell anything and my wife and smell it even when we stepped outside of the hotel. luckily there was nothing wrong with the car but i wished that the staff took better care of there customers property better

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Montebello Splendid Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Angellikoula
Alexandria, VA
Jul 24, 2009

Not so Good!

I often read reviews about annoying vacuums in the hallways and thought nothing of it but it was super irritating to stay at an expensive hotel and have to dodge a vacuum down the hall. The hotel is about a good 10-15 minute walk to the sights which I thought was a bit too far. They put my family (my husband, myself and 1 year old) in a room by the road and we could hear road noise and see the street light at night so that was a huge inconvenience. That night the pay per view movie was not working in our room either. Also, the bathroom was the most ridiculous shape--it had a jacuzzi tub but it was so akward to try to get into it and when you were in it you felt like you were in a 2x2 prison. It was a terrible bathroom. They offered to move us but closing up the luggage and moving my family was not worth it. Instead they offered my family a free dinner at their restaurant...which was nice because it was a pretty good dinner and quite expensive. Breakfast was just OK. The manager did go out of his way to try to make me happy but I just would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Montebello Splendid Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Angellikoula
Alexandria, VA
Jul 24, 2009

Not so Good!

I often read reviews about annoying vacuums in the hallways and thought nothing of it but it was super irritating to stay at an expensive hotel and have to dodge a vacuum down the hall. The hotel is about a good 10-15 minute walk to the sights which I thought was a bit too far. They put my family (my husband, myself and 1 year old) in a room by the road and we could hear road noise and see the street light at night so that was a huge inconvenience. That night the pay per view movie was not working in our room either. Also, the bathroom was the most ridiculous shape--it had a jacuzzi tub but it was so akward to try to get into it and when you were in it you felt like you were in a 2x2 prison. It was a terrible bathroom. They offered to move us but closing up the luggage and moving my family was not worth it. Instead they offered my family a free dinner at their restaurant...which was nice because it was a pretty good dinner and quite expensive. Breakfast was just OK. The manager did go out of his way to try to make me happy but I just would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Montebello Splendid Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rdesertdesigner
scottsdale az
Aug 23, 2011

if you are looking for snazy uppity hotel

Look they were great they answered questions, there was wallpaper on the walls all very fancy, Nice location, no views, nothing special but nice,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Montebello Splendid Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rdesertdesigner
scottsdale az
Aug 23, 2011

if you are looking for snazy uppity hotel

Look they were great they answered questions, there was wallpaper on the walls all very fancy, Nice location, no views, nothing special but nice,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Montebello Splendid Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Merlot Q4
Harpswell, Maine
Apr 20, 2013

Florence Vacation

Great location, Staff was not overly friendly "Luke Warm", compared to other area Five Star Hotels visited. - Hotel advertised Dinner available all days starting April, On arrival no dinning room open on Sunday. After a late arrival, had to seek out another resturant in Florence. - Based on Five Star rating bathrooms were a three star at the most, too small and shower / tub combo very dangerious and difficult to navigate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Montebello Splendid Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Jersey City, NJ
Jul 30, 2011

Montebello Splendid Hotel Florence

Very lovely room, great breakfast, free internet. 10min walk from center of florence. great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Montebello Splendid Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zoo
Cary, NC
May 14, 2011

Montebello

Friendly and helpful staff. Location was just outside all of the hustle and bustle and close to the train station. (Walking Distance) Everything was within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Montebello Splendid Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zoo
Cary, NC
May 14, 2011

Montebello

Friendly and helpful staff. Location was just outside all of the hustle and bustle and close to the train station. (Walking Distance) Everything was within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top