$177 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Montebello Splendid Hotel Florence

5 stars
View map of Via Giuseppe Garibaldi 14, Florence, 50123

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Montebello Splendid Hotel Florence

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 23
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Montebello Splendid Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jersey City, NJ
Jul 30, 2011

Montebello Splendid Hotel Florence

Very lovely room, great breakfast, free internet. 10min walk from center of florence. great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Montebello Splendid Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel Europe
Business
Dubai - United Arab Emirates
Sep 20, 2011

Dinner Too Expensive

Restaurant quality was fair with an expensive price tag.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Montebello Splendid Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
May 10, 2011

Very nice Hotel in Florence

Montebello Splendid is very nice...walking distance from the train station, Fiume Arno, Piazza Del Duomo... clean, pretty garden..definately worth going back to. In the evenings, they gate the entrance & you must ring the bell to get in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Montebello Splendid Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zoo
Business
Cary, NC
May 14, 2011

Montebello

Friendly and helpful staff. Location was just outside all of the hustle and bustle and close to the train station. (Walking Distance) Everything was within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Montebello Splendid Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
World Traveler
Business
San Diego, CA
Apr 9, 2010

Very Nice Hotel

Room are very nice but very small. Staff is extremely helpful and nice. I would recommend the hotel but be prepared for a small room..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice hotel only a short walk to the shops and dinning..

Review of Montebello Splendid Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LucyNP
Business
Wrentham, MA, USA
Aug 22, 2011

Beautiful Hotel!

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Montebello Splendid Hotel in Florence. We had a spacious, comfortable room for three people with a walk-in closet and large bathroom with shower and jacuzzi. It was extremely hot in Florence and thankfully, the air conditioning worked well. We took advantage of the arrival day welcome dinner with 30% discount, Happy Hour and the Breakfast buffet on our last day. The food was delicious. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a quiet neighborhood and a little further out from the center of Florence where most of the sights are so we did a lot of walking but that was all right. Florence is a very walkable city. There's no pool (not many hotels have pools) so we walked about a mile to a nearby park with a beautiful olympic size pool. I would highly recommend this hotel if you don't mind doing a little extra walking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

There are many tours and excursions available. We paid for one tour (Chianti and Tuscan dinner tour) but took a bus to Sienna and explored on our own one day and a train to Viareggio to the beach on another day. You can save money by venturing out on your own and do a little exploring.

Review of Montebello Splendid Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Aug 22, 2010

[...]

[...] Parking is 30 euros a night, and internet is not free, only 30 minutes a day, contiguous, is free. The hotel is great though[...].

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Montebello Splendid Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
john b.
Business
N/A
Jan 14, 2015

Great "Business" Hotel

The hotel is better suited for Business, than pleasure. We had two rooms. Both rooms were small, but adequate. Amenities are what was expected of a hotel that catered towards business travelers. Only real issue was that the large gate locks at night and the night-time attendant was either sleeping or off doing something else, because we pressed buzzer and called for 30 minutes prior to being let back into hotel. It was around 1am, and I was rather upset given the temp outside. We finally got a hold of him after the 8th phone call. I asked what had happened and rather than tell me the truth, he insisted that we couldn't have been outside because he would have saw us on cameras. I showed him my phone records (showing 8 calls in 30 minutes) and he ignored me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Take a cab from hotel to anywhere in city. It is quite a walk to anything.

Review of Montebello Splendid Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pochacco
Business
Kent, UK
Aug 18, 2011

Clean and cosy away from the maddening crowds

Stayed five nights at this luxurious hotel located in a quiet part of Florence not too far from the river. The staff were friendly and accomodating, the room was clean and the bed very comfortable to sleep in. As one would expect at a 5 star hotel, the drinks there are not cheap! I can't comment on the facilities available to us since we were too busy out and about enjoying what the city has to offer. There was a curious incident when a peach from a bag we bought from the supermarket was stolen by a cleaner. A telephone call to reception resulted in us receiving a bowl of peaches by way of an apology!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't pay 10 Euros for a taxi from the train station to the hotel. The hotel is an easy 10-15 min walk away.

Review of Montebello Splendid Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Merlot Q4
Business
Harpswell, Maine
Apr 20, 2013

Florence Vacation

Great location, Staff was not overly friendly "Luke Warm", compared to other area Five Star Hotels visited. - Hotel advertised Dinner available all days starting April, On arrival no dinning room open on Sunday. After a late arrival, had to seek out another resturant in Florence. - Based on Five Star rating bathrooms were a three star at the most, too small and shower / tub combo very dangerious and difficult to navigate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top