$194 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 4, 2015 Check-out: May 6, 2015

Montebello Splendid Hotel Florence

5 stars
View map of Via Giuseppe Garibaldi 14, Florence, 50123

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Montebello Splendid Hotel Florence

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 22
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Montebello Splendid Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Paione
New York
Oct 8, 2012

Deserves 10 stars (except the restaurant food)

Everything was absolutely fabulous at this attractive little hotel. It couldn't have been nicer in every way except the restaurant. The staff there was gracious, the presentation was good, but the food was awful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Montebello Splendid Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zoo
Business
Cary, NC
May 14, 2011

Montebello

Friendly and helpful staff. Location was just outside all of the hustle and bustle and close to the train station. (Walking Distance) Everything was within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Montebello Splendid Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
World Traveler
Business
San Diego, CA
Apr 9, 2010

Very Nice Hotel

Room are very nice but very small. Staff is extremely helpful and nice. I would recommend the hotel but be prepared for a small room..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice hotel only a short walk to the shops and dinning..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Montebello Splendid Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LucyNP
Business
Wrentham, MA, USA
Aug 22, 2011

Beautiful Hotel!

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Montebello Splendid Hotel in Florence. We had a spacious, comfortable room for three people with a walk-in closet and large bathroom with shower and jacuzzi. It was extremely hot in Florence and thankfully, the air conditioning worked well. We took advantage of the arrival day welcome dinner with 30% discount, Happy Hour and the Breakfast buffet on our last day. The food was delicious. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a quiet neighborhood and a little further out from the center of Florence where most of the sights are so we did a lot of walking but that was all right. Florence is a very walkable city. There's no pool (not many hotels have pools) so we walked about a mile to a nearby park with a beautiful olympic size pool. I would highly recommend this hotel if you don't mind doing a little extra walking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

There are many tours and excursions available. We paid for one tour (Chianti and Tuscan dinner tour) but took a bus to Sienna and explored on our own one day and a train to Viareggio to the beach on another day. You can save money by venturing out on your own and do a little exploring.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Montebello Splendid Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Aug 22, 2010

[...]

[...] Parking is 30 euros a night, and internet is not free, only 30 minutes a day, contiguous, is free. The hotel is great though[...].

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Montebello Splendid Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
john b.
Business
N/A
Jan 14, 2015

Great "Business" Hotel

The hotel is better suited for Business, than pleasure. We had two rooms. Both rooms were small, but adequate. Amenities are what was expected of a hotel that catered towards business travelers. Only real issue was that the large gate locks at night and the night-time attendant was either sleeping or off doing something else, because we pressed buzzer and called for 30 minutes prior to being let back into hotel. It was around 1am, and I was rather upset given the temp outside. We finally got a hold of him after the 8th phone call. I asked what had happened and rather than tell me the truth, he insisted that we couldn't have been outside because he would have saw us on cameras. I showed him my phone records (showing 8 calls in 30 minutes) and he ignored me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Take a cab from hotel to anywhere in city. It is quite a walk to anything.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Montebello Splendid Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Paione
Business
New York
Oct 8, 2012

Deserves 10 stars (except the restaurant food)

Everything was absolutely fabulous at this attractive little hotel. It couldn't have been nicer in every way except the restaurant. The staff there was gracious, the presentation was good, but the food was awful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Montebello Splendid Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jamie and Lane
Business
Boca Raton, FL
Apr 21, 2013

Great hotel

The hotel is wonderful, very clean and updated. It is about 20 minutes from the center of the city although it is an easy walk. There is free wifi. We were very impressed and would definitely recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Montebello Splendid Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mission Viejo, CA
Jun 13, 2011

Amazing Hotel

Polite and friendly service! Wonderful location centrally located very beautiful and clean!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Montebello Splendid Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kerrisj
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Mar 30, 2010

Wonderful discovery

From the moment we walked in we were impressed with the hotel. The rooms were spacious, well cared for, robes and slippers provided. The hotel made an excellent recommendation for a special birthday dinner in Florence. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Montebello Splendid Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chandler
Jun 8, 2008

Favorite Hotel in Italy

The Montebello was not only very comfortable and roomy compared to the other hotels we visited during our stay, but the hotel staff was exceptional. The front desk staff and valet were always helpful and nice, which we did not often find at other hotels. One of the things we loved about this hotel was at night we would order drinks and sit outside and the bar staff would bring us out snacks and check on us often. The rooms had internet that could be purchased and most times had no problems accessing, our room had a king size bed that was quite comfortable and the bathroom was fairly large. We will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top