Montebello Splendid Hotel Florence ★★★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$210
avg/night
Rate and special offer based on
Check-in: Feb 13, 2016 Check-out: Feb 14, 2016
4.1 /5
Overall score
89%
Would recommend
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
4
1 2 3 4 5

Select your room

Room types

Show Prices Classic Double
  • Size: 204 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Junior Suite
  • Size: 290 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Deluxe Double
  • Size: 247 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Standard Single
  • Size: 139 sqft
  • Occupancy: 1

Overview

The Montebellow Splendid Hotel Florence is known for both luxury and hospitality. Rooms and common areas are classically furnished in rich, soothing tones, and pleasingly accented by marble, antiques, and mosaics. The furniture is personally selected by the hands-on hotel owner. The hotel's intimate size translates to maximum service and hospitality, an uncompromising attention to detail that aims to exceed each guest's expectations.

Rooms

Each guest room or suite has been meticulously designed with a distinctive style and look. Find antiques and original works of art, bathrooms with stately marble, and high-tech electronics, including bed-side controls for the window shutters and the do-not-disturb light on the hallway door. The hotel's proprietary "Sweet Dreams" sleep system guarantees a hygienic and relaxing sleep, with extra-large beds dressed in deluxe Egyptian cotton linens. Other features include air conditioning, cable/satellite TV, telephone, mini-bar, telephone with voicemail, hairdryer, radio, and high-speed Interent (fees apply).

Property features

Standing in sharp contrast to formulaic luxury properties, the Montebello Splendid Hotel Florence is a sedate urban sanctuary, an oasis of stylish comfort that embraces the most discriminating traveler.

Unrivaled hospitality is a signature focus of the Montebello's management team, a dedication that's reinforced with its stylish surroundings.

Each room has a distinct style and look, a commitment to luxury and indulgence that affords visitors a truly pampered experience.

Relax and enjoy a Tuscan wine at the on-site Il Portico Garden Bar, or dine in the five-star Capricio restaurant, either in the richly appointed dining room or al fresco in the garden. There's also a dedicated fitness room with cardio equipment and weight stations.

Highlights

  • Peaceful intimacy in the heart of Florence
  • 19th-century villa catering to ambassadors, opera greats, and artists
  • Five-star on-site restaurant offering indoor or al fresco dining

Nearby attractions

  • Piazza del Duomo (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Ponte Vecchio (0.4 mi/600 m)
  • Uffizi Gallery (0.4 mi/700 m)
  • Palazzo Pitti (0.5 mi/800 m)

Business

  • 2 meeting rooms
  • State-of-the-art technology
  • Full catering capabilities

Transportation

  • Florence Airport (4.4 mi/7.2 km)
  • Santa Maria Novella train station (0.5 mi/800 m)

Recommendations for you

Guest score 3.0 / 5
$72
Guest score 3.4 / 5
$65
Guest score 3.4 / 5
$70
Guest score 4.3 / 5
$148
Guest score 4.0 / 5
$95
Guest score 4.0 / 5
$83

Amenities

Featured

  • Free Wi-Fi in Room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities

General

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
  • Concierge
  • Pet friendly
  • Elevators

Activities

  • Fitness center or spa

Dining

  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Room service

Services

  • Laundry service
  • In-Room Safe
  • Meeting/Banquet facilities
  • Conference facilities
  • Doctor on call

Internet

  • Free Wi-Fi in Room

Parking

  • Parking

Accessibility

  • Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Reviews

4.1 /5 Overall score

89% Would recommend

  • Amenities: 4.1/5
  • Cleanliness: 4.3/5
  • Hotel staff: 4/5
  • Comfort: 4.3/5
  • Location: 4.1/5
  • Value: 4/5

a short break during a long trip

Would recommend Tue, Aug 4, 2015
Actually I liked everything. The restaurant serves very good meals accompanied by the excellent service. The owners made a very good investment to make the people feel comfortable. But the most unfriendly concierge I ever seen at the departure ( especially comparing with the one who met me at the arrival) spoiled the overall impression.

| Moscow Singles

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Great "Business" Hotel

Would recommend Wed, Jan 14, 2015
The hotel is better suited for Business, than pleasure. We had two rooms. Both rooms were small, but adequate. Amenities are what was expected of a hotel that catered towards business travelers. Only real issue was that the large gate locks at night and the night-time attendant was either sleeping or off doing something else, because we pressed buzzer and called for 30 minutes prior to being let back into hotel. It was around 1am, and I was rather upset given the temp outside. We finally got a hold of him after the 8th phone call. I asked what had happened and rather than tell me the truth, he insisted that we couldn't have been outside because he would have saw us on cameras. I showed him my phone records (showing 8 calls in 30 minutes) and he ignored me.

Time saver

Take a cab from hotel to anywhere in city. It is quite a walk to anything.

| N/A Family

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 2 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Florence Vacation

Would not recommend Sat, Apr 20, 2013
Great location, Staff was not overly friendly "Luke Warm", compared to other area Five Star Hotels visited. - Hotel advertised Dinner available all days starting April, On arrival no dinning room open on Sunday. After a late arrival, had to seek out another resturant in Florence. - Based on Five Star rating bathrooms were a three star at the most, too small and shower / tub combo very dangerious and difficult to navigate.

| Harpswell, Maine Couples

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Deserves 10 stars (except the restaurant food)

Would recommend Mon, Oct 8, 2012
Everything was absolutely fabulous at this attractive little hotel. It couldn't have been nicer in every way except the restaurant. The staff there was gracious, the presentation was good, but the food was awful.

| New York Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Wonderful week in Florence

Would recommend Wed, Oct 12, 2011
Hotel beautiful, bed firm & comfortable, clean. The bathroom bit small for staying a week but nice. The room was quite nice, bit small but to be expected in Europe. Bar & restaurant expensive but lots of great choices within an easy walk. Easy walk to train/bus station for day excursions. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Easy walk to the museums & shopping. tip: be sure to check your bill and mini bar charges!

Dining

Il Profeto, recommended by staff. Bit expensive but delicious and wonderful staff. Best meal of our stay, worth the splurge.

| Humboldt, California, USA Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Dinner Too Expensive

Would recommend Tue, Sep 20, 2011
Restaurant quality was fair with an expensive price tag.

| Dubai - United Arab Emirates Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

if you are looking for snazy uppity hotel

Would recommend Tue, Aug 23, 2011
Look they were great they answered questions, there was wallpaper on the walls all very fancy, Nice location, no views, nothing special but nice,

| scottsdale az Couples

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Beautiful Hotel!

Would recommend Mon, Aug 22, 2011
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Montebello Splendid Hotel in Florence. We had a spacious, comfortable room for three people with a walk-in closet and large bathroom with shower and jacuzzi. It was extremely hot in Florence and thankfully, the air conditioning worked well. We took advantage of the arrival day welcome dinner with 30% discount, Happy Hour and the Breakfast buffet on our last day. The food was delicious. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a quiet neighborhood and a little further out from the center of Florence where most of the sights are so we did a lot of walking but that was all right. Florence is a very walkable city. There's no pool (not many hotels have pools) so we walked about a mile to a nearby park with a beautiful olympic size pool. I would highly recommend this hotel if you don't mind doing a little extra walking.

Money saver

There are many tours and excursions available. We paid for one tour (Chianti and Tuscan dinner tour) but took a bus to Sienna and explored on our own one day and a train to Viareggio to the beach on another day. You can save money by venturing out on your own and do a little exploring.

| Wrentham, MA, USA Family

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Clean and cosy away from the maddening crowds

Would recommend Thu, Aug 18, 2011
Stayed five nights at this luxurious hotel located in a quiet part of Florence not too far from the river. The staff were friendly and accomodating, the room was clean and the bed very comfortable to sleep in. As one would expect at a 5 star hotel, the drinks there are not cheap! I can't comment on the facilities available to us since we were too busy out and about enjoying what the city has to offer. There was a curious incident when a peach from a bag we bought from the supermarket was stolen by a cleaner. A telephone call to reception resulted in us receiving a bowl of peaches by way of an apology!

Money saver

Don't pay 10 Euros for a taxi from the train station to the hotel. The hotel is an easy 10-15 min walk away.

| Kent, UK Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Montebello Splendid Hotel Florence

Would recommend Sat, Jul 30, 2011
Very lovely room, great breakfast, free internet. 10min walk from center of florence. great value.

| Jersey City, NJ Singles

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Top hotels

Nearby points of interest

Giardino Corsi 0.3 mi
Santa Maria Novella Train station 0.4 mi
Church of Santa Maria Novella 0.4 mi
Basilica Of San Lorenzo 0.5 mi
Ponte Vecchio 0.6 mi
Basilica di San Lorenzo 0.6 mi
Medici Chapels (Cappelle Medicee) 0.6 mi
Mercato Centrale 0.7 mi
Museo di Palazzo Davanzati 0.7 mi
Laurentian Library (Biblioteca Medicea Laurenziana) 0.7 mi
Piazza della Repubblica 0.7 mi
Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto) 0.7 mi
Piazza del Duomo 0.7 mi
Centro Storico 0.7 mi
Pitti Palace 0.8 mi
Duomo - Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore 0.8 mi
Duomo Museum (Museo dell'Opera del Duomo) 0.8 mi
Corridoio Vasariano 0.8 mi
Piazza della Signoria 0.8 mi
Boboli Gardens 0.8 mi
Uffizi Gallery (Galleria degli Uffizi) 0.9 mi
Museo Galileo - Institute and Museum of the History of Science 0.9 mi
Galleria dell'Accademia 0.9 mi
Museo Nazionale del Bargello (Bargello Museum) 0.9 mi
Museo di San Marco 0.9 mi
Gallery Of The Academy 1 mi
Palazzo Vecchio 1 mi
Basilica di Santa Croce 1.1 mi
Sinagoga di Firenze e Museo ebraico 1.2 mi
San Miniato Al Monte 1.4 mi
Piazzale Michelangelo 1.4 mi
Giardino Della Gherardesca 1.5 mi
Museo Stibbert 1.7 mi
Basilica di San Miniato al Monte 1.7 mi
Artemio Franchi Stadium 2 mi
Fiesole 3.4 mi
Baptistry (Battistero) 42.4 mi

Hotel Policies

  • Check-in: 2:00 PM
  • Check-out: 12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

$210
avg/night
Choose dates
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 13, 2016 Check-out: Feb 14, 2016