$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

Monna Lisa Hotel Florence

4 stars
View map of Via Borgo Pinti, 27, Florence, 50121

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
24 reviews
Florence break

Wonderful hotel it was my birthday while there i was presented with a bottle of champagne nice touch See full review

  • thomas c.
  • May 11, 2015
Perfect Location full of Italian charm.

Located a few minutes walk from the main attractions this very cool hotel is everything we wanted... See full review

  • CHRIS A.
  • Mar 10, 2015

Period décor, sculptures and original paintings converge to establish a nearly regal atmosphere for the Monna Lisa Hotel Florence, a premier four-star property in the historical city center. A member of the Special Hotels of the World, the hotel is staffed by a polished and professional team eager to assist with the smallest task.

Rooms

The 45 rooms at the Monna Lisa Hotel Florence are distinctly furnished, each unique in terms of layout and design, yet all sharing a common focus of establishing a tranquil and nurturing environment for guests. Antique furniture and period paintings blend seamlessly with the conveniences of the modern day, which include air conditioning, flat-screen satellite TV, mini bar, safe deposit box, hairdryer and a telephone in the bathroom.

Property features

Originally a convent, the Palace was purchased by the Marzichi Lenzi family in the 15th century, where it was kept as a Renaissance dwelling. Several centuries later, the Palace changed ownership and was transformed into a four-star hotel in 1956, retaining much of its original Florentine charge (terracotta floors, coffered ceilings), a richly decorated home bathed in elegance and charm.

Now a privileged member of the Special Hotels of the World, the Monna Lisa indulges its guests with every modern service and amenity while retaining all of its extraordinary Renaissance features, with a polished and professional staff eager to assist with the most minor task.

The hotel's 45 guest rooms are all distinct in layout and furnishings. Each room is an oasis of calm and serenity that nurtures and reinvigorates the weariest traveler.

A lush Italian garden offers the perfect setting in which to relax with a Tuscan wine or cocktail, while an onsite gym offers basic cardio and strength training circuits.

Highlights
  • Extraordinary history dating to the 15th century
  • Member of the Special Hotels of the World
  • Pampering staff delivers first-rate customer service
Nearby attractions
  • Michelangelo's David (.4 mi/.6 km)
  • Duomo and Baptistry (.4 mi/.6 km)
  • Uffizi Gallery (.6 mi/1 km)
  • Ponte Vecchio (.7 mi/1.2 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi (fee applies)
  • 2 meeting rooms with multiple layout configurations
  • Audiovisual equipment rentals
  • Concierge
  • Parking (fees apply)
Transportation
  • Florence Airport (6.6 mi/10.7 km)
  • Santa Maria Novella train station (1.3 mi/2.1 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Monna Lisa Hotel Florence also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Monna Lisa Hotel Florence Rooms

Standard Double Room
The Room offers 1 Double bed or 2 Twin beds with A/C, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite Tv, color TV, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, laundry service, mini bar, non-smokin rooms, pay TV, pay-per-view movies, room service, safe in room and telephone.

Amenities

General
Pet friendly
Dining
Room service
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Sinagoga di Firenze e Museo ebraico: 0.1 mi
  • Palazzo Vecchio: 0.3 mi
  • Museo Nazionale del Bargello (Bargello Museum): 0.3 mi
  • Duomo Museum (Museo dell'Opera del Duomo): 0.3 mi
  • Duomo - Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore: 0.3 mi
  • Piazza del Duomo: 0.3 mi
  • Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto): 0.4 mi
  • Galleria dell'Accademia: 0.4 mi
  • Centro Storico: 0.4 mi
  • Piazza della Signoria: 0.4 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Croce: 0.4 mi
  • Laurentian Library (Biblioteca Medicea Laurenziana): 0.4 mi
  • Museo di San Marco: 0.4 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.4 mi
  • Uffizi Gallery (Galleria degli Uffizi): 0.5 mi
  • Sinagoga di Firenze e Museo ebraico: 0.1 mi
  • Palazzo Vecchio: 0.3 mi
  • Museo Nazionale del Bargello (Bargello Museum): 0.3 mi
  • Duomo Museum (Museo dell'Opera del Duomo): 0.3 mi
  • Duomo - Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore: 0.3 mi
  • Piazza del Duomo: 0.3 mi
  • Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto): 0.4 mi
  • Galleria dell'Accademia: 0.4 mi
  • Centro Storico: 0.4 mi
  • Piazza della Signoria: 0.4 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Croce: 0.4 mi
  • Laurentian Library (Biblioteca Medicea Laurenziana): 0.4 mi
  • Museo di San Marco: 0.4 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.4 mi
  • Uffizi Gallery (Galleria degli Uffizi): 0.5 mi
  • Museo Galileo - Institute and Museum of the History of Science: 0.5 mi
  • Medici Chapels (Cappelle Medicee): 0.5 mi
  • Piazza San Marco: 0.5 mi
  • Basilica di San Lorenzo: 0.5 mi
  • Mercato Centrale: 0.5 mi
  • Museo di Palazzo Davanzati: 0.5 mi
  • Corridoio Vasariano: 0.5 mi
  • Giardino Della Gherardesca: 0.6 mi
  • Pitti Palace: 0.6 mi
  • Piazzale Michelangelo: 0.7 mi
  • Santa Maria Novela Basilica: 0.7 mi
  • Church of Santa Maria Novella: 0.7 mi
  • Santa Maria Novella Train station: 0.7 mi
  • Basilica Of San Lorenzo: 0.8 mi
  • Boboli Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Cimitero Delle Porte Sante: 0.9 mi
  • Basilica di San Miniato al Monte: 0.9 mi
  • Artemio Franchi Stadium: 1 mi
  • Giardino Corsi: 1.2 mi
  • Museo Stibbert: 1.6 mi
  • Fiesole: 2.9 mi
  • Baptistry (Battistero): 43.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Monna Lisa Hotel Florence

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 24
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Monna Lisa Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Aliso Viejo, CA
May 13, 2009

We loved the Monna Lisa!!

We loved our stay at the Monna Lisa! The staff was wonderful and the hotel a mini-museum as well, which was very charming! Just a short walk to the Duomo as well as many other sites in Florence if you dont mind a 15 minute walk. We stayed 3 nights and were able to get around to all the major sites: Duomo, Uffizi, Piti, etc via foot. Staff also gave great dinner recommendations and called for museum reservations for us. We traveled in early May, so not very warm, but we did note no AC in the rooms. This would have been an issue for us if we traveled in the summer since there werent screens on the windows and the mosquitos can get you at night! Also of note: great morning breakfast in a beautiful dining room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you plan to see the Uffizi, GET RESERVATIONS or you will waiting for 2 or 3 hours in line. If you aren't able to do this, go stand in line very early in the morning (6 am) for the 815 am opening. My husband and i knew we'd have to wait in line, so it was nicer to do it very early in the morning before it was too hot and an incredible experience to visit the museum while still somewhat quiet.

Review of Monna Lisa Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rysa
Business
Missouri
Jul 15, 2014

Beautiful hotel great location welcoming staff

This hotel was beautiful, well appointed, and in a great location. The staff was very helpful and welcoming. The only issue we had was with the taxi driver who did not bring the large taxi as the hotel clerk requested. The breakfast was very nice including eggs, meats and cheeses. We would definitely stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Watch out for gypsies at the Florence train station. They are very aggressive. They grab your bags acting like they are trying to help you and either steal the bag or demand cash to give it back. They are dressed very well or sometimes in porter type outfits

Review of Monna Lisa Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alan H.
Business
N/A
Jan 22, 2015

In the heart of Florence

Located in the historic centre of Florence, 5 minutes' walk from the Duomo and set in a 15th-century building with a peaceful garden. Our room was clean, the staff attentive and pleasant, on arrival we were given a map with various places to visit marked on it. I found the hotel to be well managed and maintained. I would definitely go back and stay in the Mona Lisa next time in Florence.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We found the receptionists knowledgeable about the local area.

Review of Monna Lisa Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CHRIS A.
Business
N/A
Mar 10, 2015

Perfect Location full of Italian charm.

Located a few minutes walk from the main attractions this very cool hotel is everything we wanted for our Renaissance city break. Will definately be back. The staff are fun and very helpful too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monna Lisa Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SOUL TRAVELERS
Business
FLORIDA
Mar 12, 2013

GOOD HOTEL FOR THE PRICE

WE RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL IT IS GOOD FOR THE PRICE THEY CHARGE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monna Lisa Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Thomas the thinker
Business
Danbury, CT
Oct 20, 2009

Historic Hotel

The Monna Lisa with two ns is an experience, the room was just ok but the hotel was like right out of the middle ages. Good Breakfast spread,no clocks in rooms, they give you one little piece of soap that you transport to the shower when needed,came back to no airconditioning, they turned it on from central control after I complained it is also temperature limited as well. same with the TV volume.Great Location and the best restraunt in the world is just down the street and to the left, reservations absolutely required.Breakfast waiters were very friendly but the desk clerks not really, they are just putting up with you and their English is not top notch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Be hesitant about going up the Duomo dome, it is 465 medeival round about steps with no room on the sides a fat person could not do it, with hundred of people in front of you and in back it is down right scary, people have to pass you going down the same way, in the states this whole experience would not be allowed for safety concerns. But the view of Florence is unbelievable once you get outside. Insides of the Duomo are plain, everything taken out and put in some museum some place, the Duomo in Sienna however is breath taking, the most beautiful church I have ever seen. When finally outside you are about 50 stories high and people on the pavement are the size of ants.

Review of Monna Lisa Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Toby the travler
Business
Us
Jun 17, 2014

Great Hotel, service and location

We had a great stay. The location was great and the rooms each were different and beautiful. magical place and a GREAT breakfast

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monna Lisa Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BGordon
Business
Alaska
Oct 20, 2013

Florence Hotel

The Mona Lisa is quite old but has its charm. Our room was small and rather depressing. The gardens around the property and the big pots of plants were lovely. The hotel has no elevator so carrying suitcases was difficult. There are porters to help if you ask, however. The breakfast was wonderful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monna Lisa Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
elaperro
Business
Italy
Dec 5, 2014

Good hotel

Close to everything, very convenient, nice hotel. Staff was not very helpful, hard to get to by car. Parking its 22 Euros a night, too much and it's behind the hotel. I contacted the help desk to give me direction and said he could not do it over the phone, he should just tell me it was behind the hotel, I spend an hour just to come back twice and park. Hotel was nice over all. if you don't have a car, it is worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

convenient. close to everything.

Review of Monna Lisa Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
opioo
Business
flornce
Jan 20, 2013

help

needs change in up todate also not frendlay at all

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top