$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 23, 2014 Check-out: Jul 24, 2014

Monna Lisa Hotel Florence

4 stars
Via Borgo Pinti, 27, Florence, 50121
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
19 reviews
a find in the city of michelangelo

a former monastery, you need to pass through the cloister to get to your room. has one of the... See full review

  • mike the gypsy
  • Dec 16, 2013
Hotel Monna Lisa

Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful!!!!!! I cannot say enough. See full review

  • Vfer
  • Jul 28, 2013
Special Hotels of the World member in the heart of Florence

Period décor, sculptures and original paintings converge to establish a nearly regal atmosphere for the Monna Lisa Hotel Florence, a premier four-star property in the historical city center. A member of the Special Hotels of the World, the hotel is staffed by a polished and professional team eager to assist with the smallest task.

Highlights
  • Extraordinary history dating to the 15th century
  • Member of the Special Hotels of the World
  • Pampering staff delivers first-rate customer service
Rooms

The 45 rooms at the Monna Lisa Hotel Florence are distinctly furnished, each unique in terms of layout and design, yet all sharing a common focus of establishing a tranquil and nurturing environment for guests. Antique furniture and period paintings blend seamlessly with the conveniences of the modern day, which include air conditioning, flat-screen satellite TV, mini bar, safe deposit box, hairdryer and a telephone in the bathroom.

Features

Originally a convent, the Palace was purchased by the Marzichi Lenzi family in the 15th century, where it was kept as a Renaissance dwelling. Several centuries later, the Palace changed ownership and was transformed into a four-star hotel in 1956, retaining much of its original Florentine charge (terracotta floors, coffered ceilings), a richly decorated home bathed in elegance and charm.

Now a privileged member of the Special Hotels of the World, the Monna Lisa indulges its guests with every modern service and amenity while retaining all of its extraordinary Renaissance features, with a polished and professional staff eager to assist with the most minor task.

The hotel's 45 guest rooms are all distinct in layout and furnishings. Each room is an oasis of calm and serenity that nurtures and reinvigorates the weariest traveler.

A lush Italian garden offers the perfect setting in which to relax with a Tuscan wine or cocktail, while an onsite gym offers basic cardio and strength training circuits.

Transportation
  • Florence Airport (6.6 mi/10.7 km)
  • Santa Maria Novella train station (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
Attractions
  • Michelangelo's David (.4 mi/.6 km)
  • Duomo and Baptistry (.4 mi/.6 km)
  • Uffizi Gallery (.6 mi/1 km)
  • Ponte Vecchio (.7 mi/1.2 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi (fee applies)
  • 2 meeting rooms with multiple layout configurations
  • Audiovisual equipment rentals
  • Concierge
  • Parking (fees apply)

Monna Lisa Hotel Florence Rooms

Standard Double Room
The Room offers 1 Double bed or 2 Twin beds with A/C, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite Tv, color TV, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, laundry service, mini bar, non-smokin rooms, pay TV, pay-per-view movies, room service, safe in room and telephone.

Amenities

General
Pet friendly
Dining
Room service
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Monna Lisa Hotel Florence also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

43.7731 11.2627
Area served
Florence.
Nearby airports
International Airport:Florence.
Area description
Choosing to stay at the 4-star Hotel Monna Lisa you will be in the heart of Florence, in historical Borgo Pinti, within walking distance of squares, churches and monuments that have made this marvelous city famous.From the hotel, a short walk leads to the Piazza Duomo, where you can admire Giotto's Bell Tower, the Santa Maria del Fiore Cathedral with the majestic dome by Brunelleschi and the Baptistery with the famous Gates of Paradise by Ghiberti.

Nearby points of interest

  • Sinagoga di Firenze e Museo ebraico: 0.1 mi
  • Palazzo Vecchio: 0.3 mi
  • Museo Nazionale del Bargello (Bargello Museum): 0.3 mi
  • Duomo Museum (Museo dell'Opera del Duomo): 0.3 mi
  • Duomo - Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore: 0.3 mi
  • Piazza del Duomo: 0.3 mi
  • Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto): 0.4 mi
  • Galleria dell'Accademia: 0.4 mi
  • Centro Storico: 0.4 mi
  • Piazza della Signoria: 0.4 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Croce: 0.4 mi
  • Laurentian Library (Biblioteca Medicea Laurenziana): 0.4 mi
  • Museo di San Marco: 0.4 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.4 mi
  • Uffizi Gallery (Galleria degli Uffizi): 0.5 mi
  • Sinagoga di Firenze e Museo ebraico: 0.1 mi
  • Palazzo Vecchio: 0.3 mi
  • Museo Nazionale del Bargello (Bargello Museum): 0.3 mi
  • Duomo Museum (Museo dell'Opera del Duomo): 0.3 mi
  • Duomo - Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore: 0.3 mi
  • Piazza del Duomo: 0.3 mi
  • Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto): 0.4 mi
  • Galleria dell'Accademia: 0.4 mi
  • Centro Storico: 0.4 mi
  • Piazza della Signoria: 0.4 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Croce: 0.4 mi
  • Laurentian Library (Biblioteca Medicea Laurenziana): 0.4 mi
  • Museo di San Marco: 0.4 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.4 mi
  • Uffizi Gallery (Galleria degli Uffizi): 0.5 mi
  • Museo Galileo - Institute and Museum of the History of Science: 0.5 mi
  • Medici Chapels (Cappelle Medicee): 0.5 mi
  • Piazza San Marco: 0.5 mi
  • Basilica di San Lorenzo: 0.5 mi
  • Mercato Centrale: 0.5 mi
  • Museo di Palazzo Davanzati: 0.5 mi
  • Corridoio Vasariano: 0.5 mi
  • Giardino Della Gherardesca: 0.6 mi
  • Pitti Palace: 0.6 mi
  • Piazzale Michelangelo: 0.7 mi
  • Santa Maria Novela Basilica: 0.7 mi
  • Church of Santa Maria Novella: 0.7 mi
  • Santa Maria Novella Train station: 0.7 mi
  • Basilica Of San Lorenzo: 0.8 mi
  • Boboli Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Cimitero Delle Porte Sante: 0.9 mi
  • Basilica di San Miniato al Monte: 0.9 mi
  • Artemio Franchi Stadium: 1 mi
  • Giardino Corsi: 1.2 mi
  • Museo Stibbert: 1.6 mi
  • Fiesole: 2.9 mi
  • Baptistry (Battistero): 43.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (19)

Ratings and reviews for Monna Lisa Hotel Florence

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 19
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Monna Lisa Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mizroo
Newport, RI
Nov 26, 2010

wonderful, beautiful and historical

A friendly and delightful place. The staff helpful and warm. A very enjoyable time, despite alomst constant rain (the hotel couldn't do any thing about that, of course.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Monna Lisa Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vfer
Wichita, KS
Jul 28, 2013

Hotel Monna Lisa

Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful!!!!!! I cannot say enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Monna Lisa Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Arlene S.
Michigan
Apr 6, 2013

Wonderful stay!

The Hotel Monna Lisa is a quaint Florentine hotel which lives up to the European ambiance one would expect. The staff was extremely helpful and attentive. The room was small but sufficient and clean. Daily maid service was very good. The location is within a 10minute walk from central Florence landmarks such as the Duomo. I highly recommend this hotel for it's value and services.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Monna Lisa Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mizroo
Newport, RI
Nov 26, 2010

wonderful, beautiful and historical

A friendly and delightful place. The staff helpful and warm. A very enjoyable time, despite alomst constant rain (the hotel couldn't do any thing about that, of course.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Monna Lisa Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SSan
Riverside, CA
Jun 19, 2009

Great Place

All the staff was friendly and helpful. The room was nice, comfortable and roomy. The feel and ambiance of the hotel was great. Loved sitting outside in the garden to eat breakfast.Only one drawback-because its off the beaten path, had to call for taxi each time one was needed. It was walking distance to several points of interest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurant just down the street was excellent!

Review of Monna Lisa Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SSan
Riverside, CA
Jun 19, 2009

Great Place

All the staff was friendly and helpful. The room was nice, comfortable and roomy. The feel and ambiance of the hotel was great. Loved sitting outside in the garden to eat breakfast.Only one drawback-because its off the beaten path, had to call for taxi each time one was needed. It was walking distance to several points of interest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurant just down the street was excellent!

Review of Monna Lisa Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mizroo
Newport, RI
Nov 26, 2010

wonderful, beautiful and historical

A friendly and delightful place. The staff helpful and warm. A very enjoyable time, despite alomst constant rain (the hotel couldn't do any thing about that, of course.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Monna Lisa Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Aliso Viejo, CA
May 13, 2009

We loved the Monna Lisa!!

We loved our stay at the Monna Lisa! The staff was wonderful and the hotel a mini-museum as well, which was very charming! Just a short walk to the Duomo as well as many other sites in Florence if you dont mind a 15 minute walk. We stayed 3 nights and were able to get around to all the major sites: Duomo, Uffizi, Piti, etc via foot. Staff also gave great dinner recommendations and called for museum reservations for us. We traveled in early May, so not very warm, but we did note no AC in the rooms. This would have been an issue for us if we traveled in the summer since there werent screens on the windows and the mosquitos can get you at night! Also of note: great morning breakfast in a beautiful dining room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you plan to see the Uffizi, GET RESERVATIONS or you will waiting for 2 or 3 hours in line. If you aren't able to do this, go stand in line very early in the morning (6 am) for the 815 am opening. My husband and i knew we'd have to wait in line, so it was nicer to do it very early in the morning before it was too hot and an incredible experience to visit the museum while still somewhat quiet.

Review of Monna Lisa Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Aliso Viejo, CA
May 13, 2009

We loved the Monna Lisa!!

We loved our stay at the Monna Lisa! The staff was wonderful and the hotel a mini-museum as well, which was very charming! Just a short walk to the Duomo as well as many other sites in Florence if you dont mind a 15 minute walk. We stayed 3 nights and were able to get around to all the major sites: Duomo, Uffizi, Piti, etc via foot. Staff also gave great dinner recommendations and called for museum reservations for us. We traveled in early May, so not very warm, but we did note no AC in the rooms. This would have been an issue for us if we traveled in the summer since there werent screens on the windows and the mosquitos can get you at night! Also of note: great morning breakfast in a beautiful dining room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you plan to see the Uffizi, GET RESERVATIONS or you will waiting for 2 or 3 hours in line. If you aren't able to do this, go stand in line very early in the morning (6 am) for the 815 am opening. My husband and i knew we'd have to wait in line, so it was nicer to do it very early in the morning before it was too hot and an incredible experience to visit the museum while still somewhat quiet.

Review of Monna Lisa Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mike the gypsy
staten island, new york
Dec 16, 2013

a find in the city of michelangelo

a former monastery, you need to pass through the cloister to get to your room. has one of the coziest little bars i;ve ever seen. only reservation is that breakfast contains no variety. on the other hand, with salami, prosciutto, gorganzola and fresh fruit, as well as top-notch florentine pastries, what difference does it make??

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

walk in the city. buses can get you lost.

Review of Monna Lisa Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sandra68
Florida
May 26, 2013

Charming Hotel with fantastic staff

I loved my stay at the Monna Lisa hotel. If I could, I would give it a ten! Wonderful artwork & plenty of comfortable common areas with free WiFi. My favorite was sitting in the beautiful garden with my ipad. I felt I was in the Florence of long ago. The staff spoke English & went out of their way to be helpful which was appreciated by a single woman traveler. The breakfast was great with personal service, good china and silver tea pots. What could be better. Book early as they book up quickly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything you want to see in Florence is within walking distance-skip the taxi & walk. You will save money. Also, with such a great breakfast, I could skip lunch or have fruit & save $ for dinner.

Back to menu Return to top