$144 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 12, 2015 Check-out: Sep 13, 2015

Monna Lisa Hotel Florence

4 stars
View map of Via Borgo Pinti, 27, Florence, 50121

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
25 reviews
Florence break

Wonderful hotel it was my birthday while there i was presented with a bottle of champagne nice touch See full review

  • thomas c.
  • May 11, 2015
Perfect Location full of Italian charm.

Located a few minutes walk from the main attractions this very cool hotel is everything we wanted... See full review

  • CHRIS A.
  • Mar 10, 2015

Period décor, sculptures and original paintings converge to establish a nearly regal atmosphere for the Monna Lisa Hotel Florence, a premier four-star property in the historical city center. A member of the Special Hotels of the World, the hotel is staffed by a polished and professional team eager to assist with the smallest task.

Rooms

The 45 rooms at the Monna Lisa Hotel Florence are distinctly furnished, each unique in terms of layout and design, yet all sharing a common focus of establishing a tranquil and nurturing environment for guests. Antique furniture and period paintings blend seamlessly with the conveniences of the modern day, which include air conditioning, flat-screen satellite TV, mini bar, safe deposit box, hairdryer and a telephone in the bathroom.

Property features

Originally a convent, the Palace was purchased by the Marzichi Lenzi family in the 15th century, where it was kept as a Renaissance dwelling. Several centuries later, the Palace changed ownership and was transformed into a four-star hotel in 1956, retaining much of its original Florentine charge (terracotta floors, coffered ceilings), a richly decorated home bathed in elegance and charm.

Now a privileged member of the Special Hotels of the World, the Monna Lisa indulges its guests with every modern service and amenity while retaining all of its extraordinary Renaissance features, with a polished and professional staff eager to assist with the most minor task.

The hotel's 45 guest rooms are all distinct in layout and furnishings. Each room is an oasis of calm and serenity that nurtures and reinvigorates the weariest traveler.

A lush Italian garden offers the perfect setting in which to relax with a Tuscan wine or cocktail, while an onsite gym offers basic cardio and strength training circuits.

Highlights
  • Extraordinary history dating to the 15th century
  • Member of the Special Hotels of the World
  • Pampering staff delivers first-rate customer service
Nearby attractions
  • Michelangelo's David (.4 mi/.6 km)
  • Duomo and Baptistry (.4 mi/.6 km)
  • Uffizi Gallery (.6 mi/1 km)
  • Ponte Vecchio (.7 mi/1.2 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi (fee applies)
  • 2 meeting rooms with multiple layout configurations
  • Audiovisual equipment rentals
  • Concierge
  • Parking (fees apply)
Transportation
  • Florence Airport (6.6 mi/10.7 km)
  • Santa Maria Novella train station (1.3 mi/2.1 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Monna Lisa Hotel Florence also booked these hotels.

★★★
$75
4.0 / 5 73 reviews
★★★★
$185
4.7 / 5 9 reviews
★★★★
$131
4.2 / 5 50 reviews
★★★★
$156
4.1 / 5 17 reviews
★★★★
$152
4.3 / 5 16 reviews
★★★★
$142
4.4 / 5 8 reviews
★★★
$83
3.6 / 5 49 reviews
★★★
$65
3.5 / 5 13 reviews
★★★
$106
4.2 / 5 30 reviews

Monna Lisa Hotel Florence Rooms

Standard Double Room
The Room offers 1 Double bed or 2 Twin beds with A/C, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite Tv, color TV, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, laundry service, mini bar, non-smokin rooms, pay TV, pay-per-view movies, room service, safe in room and telephone.

Amenities

General
Pet friendly
Dining
Room service
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Sinagoga di Firenze e Museo ebraico: 0.1 mi
  • Palazzo Vecchio: 0.3 mi
  • Museo Nazionale del Bargello (Bargello Museum): 0.3 mi
  • Duomo Museum (Museo dell'Opera del Duomo): 0.3 mi
  • Duomo - Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore: 0.3 mi
  • Piazza del Duomo: 0.3 mi
  • Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto): 0.4 mi
  • Galleria dell'Accademia: 0.4 mi
  • Centro Storico: 0.4 mi
  • Piazza della Signoria: 0.4 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Croce: 0.4 mi
  • Laurentian Library (Biblioteca Medicea Laurenziana): 0.4 mi
  • Museo di San Marco: 0.4 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.4 mi
  • Uffizi Gallery (Galleria degli Uffizi): 0.5 mi
  • Sinagoga di Firenze e Museo ebraico: 0.1 mi
  • Palazzo Vecchio: 0.3 mi
  • Museo Nazionale del Bargello (Bargello Museum): 0.3 mi
  • Duomo Museum (Museo dell'Opera del Duomo): 0.3 mi
  • Duomo - Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore: 0.3 mi
  • Piazza del Duomo: 0.3 mi
  • Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto): 0.4 mi
  • Galleria dell'Accademia: 0.4 mi
  • Centro Storico: 0.4 mi
  • Piazza della Signoria: 0.4 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Croce: 0.4 mi
  • Laurentian Library (Biblioteca Medicea Laurenziana): 0.4 mi
  • Museo di San Marco: 0.4 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.4 mi
  • Uffizi Gallery (Galleria degli Uffizi): 0.5 mi
  • Museo Galileo - Institute and Museum of the History of Science: 0.5 mi
  • Medici Chapels (Cappelle Medicee): 0.5 mi
  • Gallery Of The Academy: 0.5 mi
  • Basilica di San Lorenzo: 0.5 mi
  • Mercato Centrale: 0.5 mi
  • Museo di Palazzo Davanzati: 0.5 mi
  • Corridoio Vasariano: 0.5 mi
  • Giardino Della Gherardesca: 0.6 mi
  • Pitti Palace: 0.6 mi
  • Piazzale Michelangelo: 0.7 mi
  • Ponte Vecchio: 0.7 mi
  • Church of Santa Maria Novella: 0.7 mi
  • Santa Maria Novella Train station: 0.7 mi
  • Basilica Of San Lorenzo: 0.8 mi
  • Boboli Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • San Miniato Al Monte: 0.9 mi
  • Basilica di San Miniato al Monte: 0.9 mi
  • Artemio Franchi Stadium: 1 mi
  • Giardino Corsi: 1.2 mi
  • Museo Stibbert: 1.6 mi
  • Fiesole: 2.9 mi
  • Baptistry (Battistero): 43.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Monna Lisa Hotel Florence

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
25 out of 25
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Monna Lisa Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Arlene S.
Single
Michigan
Apr 6, 2013

Wonderful stay!

The Hotel Monna Lisa is a quaint Florentine hotel which lives up to the European ambiance one would expect. The staff was extremely helpful and attentive. The room was small but sufficient and clean. Daily maid service was very good. The location is within a 10minute walk from central Florence landmarks such as the Duomo. I highly recommend this hotel for it's value and services.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Monna Lisa Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sandra68
Single
Florida
May 26, 2013

Charming Hotel with fantastic staff

I loved my stay at the Monna Lisa hotel. If I could, I would give it a ten! Wonderful artwork & plenty of comfortable common areas with free WiFi. My favorite was sitting in the beautiful garden with my ipad. I felt I was in the Florence of long ago. The staff spoke English & went out of their way to be helpful which was appreciated by a single woman traveler. The breakfast was great with personal service, good china and silver tea pots. What could be better. Book early as they book up quickly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything you want to see in Florence is within walking distance-skip the taxi & walk. You will save money. Also, with such a great breakfast, I could skip lunch or have fruit & save $ for dinner.

Review of Monna Lisa Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vfer
Single
Wichita, KS
Jul 28, 2013

Hotel Monna Lisa

Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful!!!!!! I cannot say enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Monna Lisa Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mike the gypsy
Single
staten island, new york
Dec 16, 2013

a find in the city of michelangelo

a former monastery, you need to pass through the cloister to get to your room. has one of the coziest little bars i;ve ever seen. only reservation is that breakfast contains no variety. on the other hand, with salami, prosciutto, gorganzola and fresh fruit, as well as top-notch florentine pastries, what difference does it make??

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

walk in the city. buses can get you lost.

Review of Monna Lisa Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Aliso Viejo, CA
May 13, 2009

We loved the Monna Lisa!!

We loved our stay at the Monna Lisa! The staff was wonderful and the hotel a mini-museum as well, which was very charming! Just a short walk to the Duomo as well as many other sites in Florence if you dont mind a 15 minute walk. We stayed 3 nights and were able to get around to all the major sites: Duomo, Uffizi, Piti, etc via foot. Staff also gave great dinner recommendations and called for museum reservations for us. We traveled in early May, so not very warm, but we did note no AC in the rooms. This would have been an issue for us if we traveled in the summer since there werent screens on the windows and the mosquitos can get you at night! Also of note: great morning breakfast in a beautiful dining room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you plan to see the Uffizi, GET RESERVATIONS or you will waiting for 2 or 3 hours in line. If you aren't able to do this, go stand in line very early in the morning (6 am) for the 815 am opening. My husband and i knew we'd have to wait in line, so it was nicer to do it very early in the morning before it was too hot and an incredible experience to visit the museum while still somewhat quiet.

Review of Monna Lisa Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mizroo
Friends
Newport, RI
Nov 26, 2010

wonderful, beautiful and historical

A friendly and delightful place. The staff helpful and warm. A very enjoyable time, despite alomst constant rain (the hotel couldn't do any thing about that, of course.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Monna Lisa Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SSan
Family
Riverside, CA
Jun 19, 2009

Great Place

All the staff was friendly and helpful. The room was nice, comfortable and roomy. The feel and ambiance of the hotel was great. Loved sitting outside in the garden to eat breakfast.Only one drawback-because its off the beaten path, had to call for taxi each time one was needed. It was walking distance to several points of interest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurant just down the street was excellent!

Review of Monna Lisa Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rysa
Couples
Missouri
Jul 15, 2014

Beautiful hotel great location welcoming staff

This hotel was beautiful, well appointed, and in a great location. The staff was very helpful and welcoming. The only issue we had was with the taxi driver who did not bring the large taxi as the hotel clerk requested. The breakfast was very nice including eggs, meats and cheeses. We would definitely stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Watch out for gypsies at the Florence train station. They are very aggressive. They grab your bags acting like they are trying to help you and either steal the bag or demand cash to give it back. They are dressed very well or sometimes in porter type outfits

Review of Monna Lisa Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alan H.
Couples
N/A
Jan 22, 2015

In the heart of Florence

Located in the historic centre of Florence, 5 minutes' walk from the Duomo and set in a 15th-century building with a peaceful garden. Our room was clean, the staff attentive and pleasant, on arrival we were given a map with various places to visit marked on it. I found the hotel to be well managed and maintained. I would definitely go back and stay in the Mona Lisa next time in Florence.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We found the receptionists knowledgeable about the local area.

Review of Monna Lisa Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tamara h.
Friends
MINNETONKA
Feb 13, 2015

great for solo traveler

great staff help. Terrific location close to everything and very quiet

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top