$81 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 26, 2014 Check-out: Aug 27, 2014

Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence

3 stars
Via Nazionale, 10, Florence, 50123
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
123 reviews
Nice Place

Nice hotel, clean, comfortable, quiet. Nice breakfast. Close to train. Not a bad walk to other... See full review

  • Corinn
  • Aug 8, 2014
Excellent hotel

It's a charming hotel with a old world feel, very near train station. The best thing about the... See full review

  • Lazy bum
  • Feb 16, 2014
Traditional Florentine style in a 14th-century palace near attractions
The Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence is located in a 14th-century palace, just a short walk from the main train station. This superior three-star property serves as an ideal base from which to discover all of the city's cultural treasures. An attentive, multi-lingual staff can help arrange city tours and regional excursions, a welcome convenience for those who want to focus on maximizing their time and travel experience. A private terrace offers an ideal vantage point to gaze across Florentine rooftops, a surreal setting that's ever-so-appropriate in this Renaissance city.
Highlights
  • Located in a 14th century palace
  • Private terrace provides stunning views of Florence
  • Multi-lingual staff helps arrange city tours and regional excursions
Rooms

Cozy, comfortable rooms are well-appointed in typical Florentine style. Special additions include a private bath or shower, mini-bar, direct dial telephone, Wi-Fi (fees apply), satellite TV, air conditioning and safe.

Features

Located in a 14th-century palace and a short walk from Florence's major museums and attractions sits the Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence, a comfortable, superior three-star hotel focused on personalized service and comfort. The hotel's gracious and professional staff provides attentive service, from suggesting local tours to planning regional excursions through the Chianti countryside.


Rooms are decorated in classical Florentine style and feature amenities, such as Wi-Fi, satellite TV, air conditioning, and mini-bar.


A private terrace affords guests a spectacular panoramic view over Florentine rooftops, the ideal base from which to savor an aperitif or glass of Chianti wine.

Transportation
  • Florence Airport (4.9 mi/8.0 km)
  • Santa Maria Novella train station (0.2 mi/350 m)
Attractions
  • Piazza del Duomo (0.4 mi/650 m)
  • Galleria degli Uffizi (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Ponte Vecchio (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Pitti Palace (1.4 mi/2.3 km)

Hotel Map

43.7763 11.2507
Area served
Florence.
Nearby airports
Florence International Airport.
Area description
The Machiavelli Palace Hotel is situated in the heart of Florence, just a few hundred meters from Santa Maria Novella station and the Fortezza da Basso and also a short walk from all the city's monuments and main museums.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence Rooms

Double Room
The room offers 1 Double bed furnished in Florentine style, all with bath, shower and hairdryer, mini-bar, direct dial telephone, satellite TV, air conditioning and safe. In addition there is a unrivalled view over the roofs of Florence from the first floor terrace, where the guest can relax with a drink or sunbathe in the summer.
Triple Room
The room offers 1 Double and 1 Twin bed furnished in Florentine style, all with bath, shower and hairdryer, mini-bar, direct dial telephone, satellite TV, air conditioning and safe. In addition there is a unrivalled view over the roofs of Florence from the first floor terrace, where the guest can relax with a drink or sunbathe in the summer.
Single Room
The room offers 1 Twin bed furnished in Florentine style, all with bath, shower and hairdryer, mini-bar, direct dial telephone, satellite TV, air conditioning and safe. In addition there is a unrivalled view over the roofs of Florence from the first floor terrace, where the guest can relax with a drink or sunbathe in the summer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Church of Santa Maria Novella: 0.1 mi
  • Basilica di San Lorenzo: 0.1 mi
  • Santa Maria Novella Train station: 0.1 mi
  • Medici Chapels (Cappelle Medicee): 0.1 mi
  • Mercato Centrale: 0.2 mi
  • Laurentian Library (Biblioteca Medicea Laurenziana): 0.2 mi
  • Basilica Of San Lorenzo: 0.3 mi
  • Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto): 0.3 mi
  • Piazza del Duomo: 0.3 mi
  • Duomo - Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore: 0.3 mi
  • Duomo Museum (Museo dell'Opera del Duomo): 0.4 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.4 mi
  • Centro Storico: 0.4 mi
  • Museo di Palazzo Davanzati: 0.4 mi
  • Galleria dell'Accademia: 0.4 mi
  • Church of Santa Maria Novella: 0.1 mi
  • Basilica di San Lorenzo: 0.1 mi
  • Santa Maria Novella Train station: 0.1 mi
  • Medici Chapels (Cappelle Medicee): 0.1 mi
  • Mercato Centrale: 0.2 mi
  • Laurentian Library (Biblioteca Medicea Laurenziana): 0.2 mi
  • Basilica Of San Lorenzo: 0.3 mi
  • Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto): 0.3 mi
  • Piazza del Duomo: 0.3 mi
  • Duomo - Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore: 0.3 mi
  • Duomo Museum (Museo dell'Opera del Duomo): 0.4 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.4 mi
  • Centro Storico: 0.4 mi
  • Museo di Palazzo Davanzati: 0.4 mi
  • Galleria dell'Accademia: 0.4 mi
  • Santa Maria Novela Basilica: 0.4 mi
  • Museo di San Marco: 0.5 mi
  • Piazza della Signoria: 0.5 mi
  • Museo Nazionale del Bargello (Bargello Museum): 0.5 mi
  • Piazza San Marco: 0.5 mi
  • Corridoio Vasariano: 0.6 mi
  • Pitti Palace: 0.6 mi
  • Uffizi Gallery (Galleria degli Uffizi): 0.6 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Croce: 0.6 mi
  • Giardino Corsi: 0.6 mi
  • Museo Galileo - Institute and Museum of the History of Science: 0.6 mi
  • Palazzo Vecchio: 0.6 mi
  • Sinagoga di Firenze e Museo ebraico: 0.8 mi
  • Boboli Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Giardino Della Gherardesca: 1 mi
  • Piazzale Michelangelo: 1.1 mi
  • Cimitero Delle Porte Sante: 1.2 mi
  • Basilica di San Miniato al Monte: 1.4 mi
  • Museo Stibbert: 1.4 mi
  • Artemio Franchi Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • Fiesole: 3 mi
  • Baptistry (Battistero): 42.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (123)

Ratings and reviews for Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 123
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DallasTX01
Dallas TX
Mar 13, 2011

Close to Train

comfortable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

lots of open market.....overpriced.

Review of Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dino LA
Los Angeles, CA
Jan 14, 2014

Great deal

I needed a room only for a night near downtown Florence, and this was the perfect choice and a great deal. I love that I was able to make the reservation on my way there using the App.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Physician
New York, NY, USA
Nov 13, 2011

Good place to stay, could have been better

Overall, I should say that I had a good stay at this place. First of all, it is located about 3-5 minutes from Florence's train station. This was very convenient to me as I traveled between cities by train. So, arriving from Venice or leaving for Pisa the following day and Rome the day after (quite early in the morning) was not at all issue. I could easily walk from the station despite having 2 travel bags with wheels. However, such close proximity to the station and its location on a fairly busy street could be an issue at night sometimes, as you may hear a lot of noise from the street compromising on your sleep. It does get quieter later at night and remains so until early morning. The most important reason as to why I gave lesser points on amenities and room comfort is because the sound-proofing in the facility is poor. I could literally hear every word that was spoken in my neighbor's room (not that I intended it) and as they were awake after I had gone to bed, it was too much of a hindrance for me, as I could not go to sleep for quite some time. The second drawback is that there was a constant malodor prevailing in the bathroom despite the bathroom being clean. I am not sure if it was because of a common ventilator duct traversing the floors above and below. The shower area is quite small. I am an average person and for someone who is big, this could definitely be an issue. If you drop your soap, you could find it very difficult to pick it up from the floor. However, these were not major issues to me on the whole. My bed was comfortable. The room was clean. Mine had a balcony attached to it with a table and few chairs. I could sit on the balcony late in the evening and relax. This would be great if you traveled as a couple. There is a restaurant/pizzeria right across the street (Trattoria, I believe) with very affordable prices and does not charge for COVER (this is a common concept when you dine in Italy, more so in Venice). This could be convenient when you return in the evening tired from sight-seeing. Or you could order food for take-out and have it with your partner on the balcony! Staff was very friendly and helpful. They were always happy to provide useful suggestions and directions. My room was tidied every day and it could not have been kept better. The complimentary breakfast that they provide is extremely good. This came in handy as I was mostly seeing places. After a good breakfast, I could postpone my meal until early in the evening concentrating more on sight-seeing and worrying little about where or when I would eat next. If I needed, I could grab a quick bite and go on. For the price you pay for this hotel, I think this is definitely worth it. If I ever get back to Florence, I won't mind staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Right across the street is the restaurant/pizzeria that I have mentioned above. You could walk to most attractions from the hotel. Florence itself is not a very big city and most attractions can be visited on foot. Alternatively, if you have a driver's license for a moped, you could hire one from a place located a few streets from here.

Review of Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kimberly Molly's mom
Boston MA
Jun 13, 2012

Great location

walking distance from the train station. around the corner from the street markets. 5 min walk to the duomo. staff was acceptable. charged for wifi and other small amenities. nice stay overall. gelato cafe across the street to the right was very nice and offered free wifi with coffee and gelato

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Northern CA
May 21, 2011

Florence hotal

The hotel was perfectly located - close to the train station and close to everything in Florence! The room was comfortable and clean. There is absolutely no parking and the streets are very narrow and difficult to maneuver if driving. The downside to the hotel was we found that not all staff at the front desk understood English and we got some crazy answers -we had to learn to "listen" between the lines. The desk clerk who checked me in was very abrupt and not very clear on requirements for documents. Breakfast was very good and the location and comfort level would outweigh the front desk staff and I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The great San Lorenzo open air market was literally a block away and full of great shops and incredible leather goods, scarves and lots of food!

Review of Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kulttuurikävelijä
Helsinki
Apr 3, 2014

Ihanteellinen sijainti

Ihanteellinen sijainti matkailijalle, joka haluaa nopeasti historialliseen keskustaan ja rautatieasemalle, josta yhteydet lentokentälle ja muualle Firenzeen. Siisti, vaatimaton pikkuhotelli. Vähän nukkavieru sisustus, mutta toimiva kylpyhuone. Aamiaistarjoilu ei toiminut kunnolla nyt maaliskuussa, vaikkei isompaa ruhkaa ollut - mahtaako toimia kesällä? Omassa huoneessa ei ikkunanäkymää kuin ahtaalle, synkälle ja likaiselle sisäkattopihalle. Tuuletin ei toiminut, TV-kuva heikko. Sopii parin yön pysäkiksi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ワルバン
東京都
Dec 3, 2013

駅前で便利

駅から近くて便利。通りに面しているので、少しうるさいかも。ひとり旅なら、充分。部屋でもWi-Fiは繋がりはしますが、あまり強くない。

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
galadriel
paris
Feb 9, 2014

Musardage

Accueil tout à fait efficace, avec une bonne pratique du français. Les conseils sont avisés et rapides. La chambre, petite et sans vraie vue, était pourvue d'une salle de bains avec baignoire tout à fait confortable, et le petit déjeuner tout à fait correct. Bref, vu le prix, on ne pouvait demander beaucoup mieux, à part un réseau télévisé un peu meilleur! Le seul vrai hic était un chauffage dont le bruit évoquait celui d'un avion..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Il faut éviter les trattorie du centre, hors de prix et souvent pas bonnes et préférer les bars a cucina. de toute façon la cuisine florentine n'est pas un des atouts d la ville

Review of Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jesper denmark
aarhus
Apr 11, 2013

nice staff

Nice staff and in the middle of eveything. Nice breakfast. Definitely worth a visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just across the road

Review of Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bolero7
Zürich
Aug 19, 2014

tolles Hotel

alles in der Nähe , Markthalle, etc, direkt neben Bahnhof

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search