$61 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 16, 2014 Check-out: Nov 18, 2014

Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence

3 stars
Via Nazionale, 10, Florence, 50123
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
35 reviews
Nice Place

Nice hotel, clean, comfortable, quiet. Nice breakfast. Close to train. Not a bad walk to other... See full review

  • Corinn
  • Aug 8, 2014
Florence visit

We enjoyed our stay. The staff was helpful and the location was excellent. Good breakfast too. See full review

  • K Badger
  • Jul 7, 2014
Traditional Florentine style in a 14th-century palace near attractions
The Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence is located in a 14th-century palace, just a short walk from the main train station. This superior three-star property serves as an ideal base from which to discover all of the city's cultural treasures. An attentive, multi-lingual staff can help arrange city tours and regional excursions, a welcome convenience for those who want to focus on maximizing their time and travel experience. A private terrace offers an ideal vantage point to gaze across Florentine rooftops, a surreal setting that's ever-so-appropriate in this Renaissance city.
Highlights
  • Located in a 14th century palace
  • Private terrace provides stunning views of Florence
  • Multi-lingual staff helps arrange city tours and regional excursions
Rooms

Cozy, comfortable rooms are well-appointed in typical Florentine style. Special additions include a private bath or shower, mini-bar, direct dial telephone, Wi-Fi (fees apply), satellite TV, air conditioning and safe.

Features

Located in a 14th-century palace and a short walk from Florence's major museums and attractions sits the Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence, a comfortable, superior three-star hotel focused on personalized service and comfort. The hotel's gracious and professional staff provides attentive service, from suggesting local tours to planning regional excursions through the Chianti countryside.


Rooms are decorated in classical Florentine style and feature amenities, such as Wi-Fi, satellite TV, air conditioning, and mini-bar.


A private terrace affords guests a spectacular panoramic view over Florentine rooftops, the ideal base from which to savor an aperitif or glass of Chianti wine.

Transportation
  • Florence Airport (4.9 mi/8.0 km)
  • Santa Maria Novella train station (0.2 mi/350 m)
Attractions
  • Piazza del Duomo (0.4 mi/650 m)
  • Galleria degli Uffizi (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Ponte Vecchio (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Pitti Palace (1.4 mi/2.3 km)

Hotel Map

43.7763 11.2507
Area served
Florence.
Nearby airports
Florence International Airport.
Area description
The Machiavelli Palace Hotel is situated in the heart of Florence, just a few hundred meters from Santa Maria Novella station and the Fortezza da Basso and also a short walk from all the city's monuments and main museums.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence Rooms

Double Room
The room offers 1 Double bed furnished in Florentine style, all with bath, shower and hairdryer, mini-bar, direct dial telephone, satellite TV, air conditioning and safe. In addition there is a unrivalled view over the roofs of Florence from the first floor terrace, where the guest can relax with a drink or sunbathe in the summer.
Triple Room
The room offers 1 Double and 1 Twin bed furnished in Florentine style, all with bath, shower and hairdryer, mini-bar, direct dial telephone, satellite TV, air conditioning and safe. In addition there is a unrivalled view over the roofs of Florence from the first floor terrace, where the guest can relax with a drink or sunbathe in the summer.
Single Room
The room offers 1 Twin bed furnished in Florentine style, all with bath, shower and hairdryer, mini-bar, direct dial telephone, satellite TV, air conditioning and safe. In addition there is a unrivalled view over the roofs of Florence from the first floor terrace, where the guest can relax with a drink or sunbathe in the summer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Church of Santa Maria Novella: 0.1 mi
  • Basilica di San Lorenzo: 0.1 mi
  • Santa Maria Novella Train station: 0.1 mi
  • Medici Chapels (Cappelle Medicee): 0.1 mi
  • Mercato Centrale: 0.2 mi
  • Laurentian Library (Biblioteca Medicea Laurenziana): 0.2 mi
  • Basilica Of San Lorenzo: 0.3 mi
  • Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto): 0.3 mi
  • Piazza del Duomo: 0.3 mi
  • Duomo - Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore: 0.3 mi
  • Duomo Museum (Museo dell'Opera del Duomo): 0.4 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.4 mi
  • Centro Storico: 0.4 mi
  • Museo di Palazzo Davanzati: 0.4 mi
  • Galleria dell'Accademia: 0.4 mi
  • Church of Santa Maria Novella: 0.1 mi
  • Basilica di San Lorenzo: 0.1 mi
  • Santa Maria Novella Train station: 0.1 mi
  • Medici Chapels (Cappelle Medicee): 0.1 mi
  • Mercato Centrale: 0.2 mi
  • Laurentian Library (Biblioteca Medicea Laurenziana): 0.2 mi
  • Basilica Of San Lorenzo: 0.3 mi
  • Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto): 0.3 mi
  • Piazza del Duomo: 0.3 mi
  • Duomo - Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore: 0.3 mi
  • Duomo Museum (Museo dell'Opera del Duomo): 0.4 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.4 mi
  • Centro Storico: 0.4 mi
  • Museo di Palazzo Davanzati: 0.4 mi
  • Galleria dell'Accademia: 0.4 mi
  • Santa Maria Novela Basilica: 0.4 mi
  • Museo di San Marco: 0.5 mi
  • Piazza della Signoria: 0.5 mi
  • Museo Nazionale del Bargello (Bargello Museum): 0.5 mi
  • Piazza San Marco: 0.5 mi
  • Corridoio Vasariano: 0.6 mi
  • Pitti Palace: 0.6 mi
  • Uffizi Gallery (Galleria degli Uffizi): 0.6 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Croce: 0.6 mi
  • Giardino Corsi: 0.6 mi
  • Museo Galileo - Institute and Museum of the History of Science: 0.6 mi
  • Palazzo Vecchio: 0.6 mi
  • Sinagoga di Firenze e Museo ebraico: 0.8 mi
  • Boboli Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Giardino Della Gherardesca: 1 mi
  • Piazzale Michelangelo: 1.1 mi
  • Cimitero Delle Porte Sante: 1.2 mi
  • Basilica di San Miniato al Monte: 1.4 mi
  • Museo Stibbert: 1.4 mi
  • Artemio Franchi Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • Fiesole: 3 mi
  • Baptistry (Battistero): 42.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (35)

Ratings and reviews for Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
35 out of 35
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ochka
Business
Chicago IL
Apr 4, 2013

Very good

Second best hotel that we stayed in Europe. Big room. Our bathroom had a view of big duma. Of course the toilet flashes kind of different. Shower is surrounded by curtains. Location was great. Everything was in walking distance. I would love to stay again. Price was not that expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Enrique M
Business
Pasadena, CA
Dec 16, 2013

The place was good for it's price

The room that I stayed was perhaps too small. But everything was very clean and the breakfast was very good. The location is excellent. Very close to the train station (two blocks) and short walk to most attractions. I would probably stay again if I go back to Florence.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't use exchange places to buy euros. The cheapest way is just to get money from an ATM.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jan 13, 2010

Helpful in an emergency

During our stay at the hotel I encountered a medical emergency and the staff was very helpful in assisting us in getting the the appropriate medical attention including pharmacies and an emergency room. They also translated our concerns from english to italian to ease the communication. Our room faced out the back of the hotel so noise was not an issue. Our shower was very small but had a very nice new shower head in it. I learned that some of their rooms had larger showers, so you may want to ask when getting your room if this is a concern you may have. The location was great and in the heart of nice restaurants, shops, and a large open-air market. I would definitely stay there again. It was a great value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to check out the nearby open-air market.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bee Jay
Business
Tamarac, FL
Apr 2, 2011

Great location, helpful staff, comfy.

Hotel has charm, restaurants nearby, walking distance to everything including the bus station. Doing some remodeling currently but we were not disturbed by noise. Breakfast was adequate. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the many family-run restaurants that can be found on the narrow little streets. A Micro-Brewery Cafe on the same street as the hotel has great pizza and designer beers.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Aug 27, 2009

Location, service, and food are great

After living in Napoli for two nights and crazzzy tous. We were both exausted. Since we arrived the train station, we just walk a couple steps to check in this hotel in Florence. This hotel provide warm and helpful services. Room is small but clean; food is great. We are sure that if we travel to Florence again, this hotel will be the first choice to live in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver, Canada
Sep 24, 2010

Excellent value

A terrific breakfast. Rooms are a little on the small side, but that is normal for this type of hotel. The Florentine decor made up for the size. Great staff bent over backwards to help my husband retrieve his luggage left behind in Paris by the airline. Everyone spoke more than passable English which was a relief since our Italian is nonexistant. Our compliments to everyone there, including the cleaning staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss David! Only a ten minute walk. Also, the train station, city bus tour stop, and regional bus tour depot are all within a five minute walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northern CA
May 21, 2011

Florence hotal

The hotel was perfectly located - close to the train station and close to everything in Florence! The room was comfortable and clean. There is absolutely no parking and the streets are very narrow and difficult to maneuver if driving. The downside to the hotel was we found that not all staff at the front desk understood English and we got some crazy answers -we had to learn to "listen" between the lines. The desk clerk who checked me in was very abrupt and not very clear on requirements for documents. Breakfast was very good and the location and comfort level would outweigh the front desk staff and I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The great San Lorenzo open air market was literally a block away and full of great shops and incredible leather goods, scarves and lots of food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia
May 27, 2009

Nice Stay, Good Location

Our stay was very enjoyable, we were in Florence for one night and visited a lot of must-sees in the 2 days that we were there. Free breakfast was a nice inclusion, and the proximity to the train station was key in our decision making process. A great value for what we paid for it!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Trattoria Angiolino - Get the Gnocchi and Florentine Steak

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
brokenrules
Business
St Louis, MO, USA
Sep 6, 2011

Decent for the price

Located in the heart of the city. Friendly staff and old fashioned yet clean and comfortable rooms. Wifi connection in room has a minimal surcharge and parking in a garage only available after 3pm and has a fees. Overall, I think it is great for the price. Fantastic location. Close to tour buses and walkable distance to major attactions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nuris
Business
Turkey
Jun 10, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

The Lady at the front desk was unfriendly and our bathroom was so small that I couldn't even turn around myself while taking shower!!! Breakfast was just ok...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top