$77 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 4, 2015 Check-out: May 5, 2015

Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence

3 stars
View map of Via Nazionale, 10, Florence, 50123

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 41
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kimberly Molly's mom
Boston MA
Jun 13, 2012

Great location

walking distance from the train station. around the corner from the street markets. 5 min walk to the duomo. staff was acceptable. charged for wifi and other small amenities. nice stay overall. gelato cafe across the street to the right was very nice and offered free wifi with coffee and gelato

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver, Canada
Sep 24, 2010

Excellent value

A terrific breakfast. Rooms are a little on the small side, but that is normal for this type of hotel. The Florentine decor made up for the size. Great staff bent over backwards to help my husband retrieve his luggage left behind in Paris by the airline. Everyone spoke more than passable English which was a relief since our Italian is nonexistant. Our compliments to everyone there, including the cleaning staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss David! Only a ten minute walk. Also, the train station, city bus tour stop, and regional bus tour depot are all within a five minute walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Couple not that young
Business
Miami, FL
Aug 19, 2010

Friendly

Excellent location. We got to the hotel at night and the receptionist explained the city in 5 minutes. She assured us that would be OK to walk through downtown late night (11PM). We started at 8PM coming back close to midnight. Lots of people everywhere. The rooms are not big, nothing fancy. The mattress was really hard but we were so tired! Please note that Americans (we live in Miami) are going to see this as really small bedroom and simple breakfast. But overall it is OK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

ATTENTION: all museums and parks in Florence are closed MONDAYS!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montreal, QC
Jun 15, 2010

friendly, good value

The staff was very friendly, the hotel well located, and the room quite good for this type of hotel. Compared to other places we've been to in the area, I'd certainly recommend this place and go there again. Electricity outlets were in some kind of older Italian standard but the staff provided adapters to fit with our hairdryer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nuris
Business
Turkey
Jun 10, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

The Lady at the front desk was unfriendly and our bathroom was so small that I couldn't even turn around myself while taking shower!!! Breakfast was just ok...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rilla
Business
Middle East
Jun 7, 2010

It's a place to stay.

Staff friendly except for individual who sold me used computer ticket. Room very small and bed uncomfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Laid back dad
Business
Fairfield connecticut
Apr 25, 2010

Good Service not so good maintenance

Good location, clean room, and very nice if you do not want to stay in the room too much. TV did not work, it was in italian anyway. No problem there. Wifi could not connect. Still have to pay for Wifi to use in the lobby. It was quite normal to pay for internet services in the places we stay, but unusual to have to be in one spot to use it. Seriously did not pick up anywhere else but the lobby. Shower and plumbing slow to drain, but usable. Over all ok... Good breakfast (inclusive), great staff and very clean rooms (a must). Would stay there again, if could get an european phone with wifi...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Central market panin

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jan 13, 2010

Helpful in an emergency

During our stay at the hotel I encountered a medical emergency and the staff was very helpful in assisting us in getting the the appropriate medical attention including pharmacies and an emergency room. They also translated our concerns from english to italian to ease the communication. Our room faced out the back of the hotel so noise was not an issue. Our shower was very small but had a very nice new shower head in it. I learned that some of their rooms had larger showers, so you may want to ask when getting your room if this is a concern you may have. The location was great and in the heart of nice restaurants, shops, and a large open-air market. I would definitely stay there again. It was a great value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to check out the nearby open-air market.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Aug 27, 2009

Location, service, and food are great

After living in Napoli for two nights and crazzzy tous. We were both exausted. Since we arrived the train station, we just walk a couple steps to check in this hotel in Florence. This hotel provide warm and helpful services. Room is small but clean; food is great. We are sure that if we travel to Florence again, this hotel will be the first choice to live in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DollarAF
Business
Skillman, New Jersey
May 31, 2009

Nice Hotel...near everything

Staff was very helpful...breakfast was plentiful...location, location, location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Plan well in advance as this hotel is very popular.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia
May 27, 2009

Nice Stay, Good Location

Our stay was very enjoyable, we were in Florence for one night and visited a lot of must-sees in the 2 days that we were there. Free breakfast was a nice inclusion, and the proximity to the train station was key in our decision making process. A great value for what we paid for it!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Trattoria Angiolino - Get the Gnocchi and Florentine Steak

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top