$123 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 31, 2014 Check-out: Nov 3, 2014

Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence

3 stars
Via Nazionale, 10, Florence, 50123
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
35 reviews
Nice Place

Nice hotel, clean, comfortable, quiet. Nice breakfast. Close to train. Not a bad walk to other... See full review

  • Corinn
  • Aug 8, 2014
Florence visit

We enjoyed our stay. The staff was helpful and the location was excellent. Good breakfast too. See full review

  • K Badger
  • Jul 7, 2014
Traditional Florentine style in a 14th-century palace near attractions
The Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence is located in a 14th-century palace, just a short walk from the main train station. This superior three-star property serves as an ideal base from which to discover all of the city's cultural treasures. An attentive, multi-lingual staff can help arrange city tours and regional excursions, a welcome convenience for those who want to focus on maximizing their time and travel experience. A private terrace offers an ideal vantage point to gaze across Florentine rooftops, a surreal setting that's ever-so-appropriate in this Renaissance city.
Highlights
  • Located in a 14th century palace
  • Private terrace provides stunning views of Florence
  • Multi-lingual staff helps arrange city tours and regional excursions
Rooms

Cozy, comfortable rooms are well-appointed in typical Florentine style. Special additions include a private bath or shower, mini-bar, direct dial telephone, Wi-Fi (fees apply), satellite TV, air conditioning and safe.

Features

Located in a 14th-century palace and a short walk from Florence's major museums and attractions sits the Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence, a comfortable, superior three-star hotel focused on personalized service and comfort. The hotel's gracious and professional staff provides attentive service, from suggesting local tours to planning regional excursions through the Chianti countryside.


Rooms are decorated in classical Florentine style and feature amenities, such as Wi-Fi, satellite TV, air conditioning, and mini-bar.


A private terrace affords guests a spectacular panoramic view over Florentine rooftops, the ideal base from which to savor an aperitif or glass of Chianti wine.

Transportation
  • Florence Airport (4.9 mi/8.0 km)
  • Santa Maria Novella train station (0.2 mi/350 m)
Attractions
  • Piazza del Duomo (0.4 mi/650 m)
  • Galleria degli Uffizi (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Ponte Vecchio (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Pitti Palace (1.4 mi/2.3 km)

Hotel Map

43.7763 11.2507
Area served
Florence.
Nearby airports
Florence International Airport.
Area description
The Machiavelli Palace Hotel is situated in the heart of Florence, just a few hundred meters from Santa Maria Novella station and the Fortezza da Basso and also a short walk from all the city's monuments and main museums.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence Rooms

Double Room
The room offers 1 Double bed furnished in Florentine style, all with bath, shower and hairdryer, mini-bar, direct dial telephone, satellite TV, air conditioning and safe. In addition there is a unrivalled view over the roofs of Florence from the first floor terrace, where the guest can relax with a drink or sunbathe in the summer.
Triple Room
The room offers 1 Double and 1 Twin bed furnished in Florentine style, all with bath, shower and hairdryer, mini-bar, direct dial telephone, satellite TV, air conditioning and safe. In addition there is a unrivalled view over the roofs of Florence from the first floor terrace, where the guest can relax with a drink or sunbathe in the summer.
Single Room
The room offers 1 Twin bed furnished in Florentine style, all with bath, shower and hairdryer, mini-bar, direct dial telephone, satellite TV, air conditioning and safe. In addition there is a unrivalled view over the roofs of Florence from the first floor terrace, where the guest can relax with a drink or sunbathe in the summer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Church of Santa Maria Novella: 0.1 mi
  • Basilica di San Lorenzo: 0.1 mi
  • Santa Maria Novella Train station: 0.1 mi
  • Medici Chapels (Cappelle Medicee): 0.1 mi
  • Mercato Centrale: 0.2 mi
  • Laurentian Library (Biblioteca Medicea Laurenziana): 0.2 mi
  • Basilica Of San Lorenzo: 0.3 mi
  • Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto): 0.3 mi
  • Piazza del Duomo: 0.3 mi
  • Duomo - Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore: 0.3 mi
  • Duomo Museum (Museo dell'Opera del Duomo): 0.4 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.4 mi
  • Centro Storico: 0.4 mi
  • Museo di Palazzo Davanzati: 0.4 mi
  • Galleria dell'Accademia: 0.4 mi
  • Church of Santa Maria Novella: 0.1 mi
  • Basilica di San Lorenzo: 0.1 mi
  • Santa Maria Novella Train station: 0.1 mi
  • Medici Chapels (Cappelle Medicee): 0.1 mi
  • Mercato Centrale: 0.2 mi
  • Laurentian Library (Biblioteca Medicea Laurenziana): 0.2 mi
  • Basilica Of San Lorenzo: 0.3 mi
  • Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto): 0.3 mi
  • Piazza del Duomo: 0.3 mi
  • Duomo - Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore: 0.3 mi
  • Duomo Museum (Museo dell'Opera del Duomo): 0.4 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.4 mi
  • Centro Storico: 0.4 mi
  • Museo di Palazzo Davanzati: 0.4 mi
  • Galleria dell'Accademia: 0.4 mi
  • Santa Maria Novela Basilica: 0.4 mi
  • Museo di San Marco: 0.5 mi
  • Piazza della Signoria: 0.5 mi
  • Museo Nazionale del Bargello (Bargello Museum): 0.5 mi
  • Piazza San Marco: 0.5 mi
  • Corridoio Vasariano: 0.6 mi
  • Pitti Palace: 0.6 mi
  • Uffizi Gallery (Galleria degli Uffizi): 0.6 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Croce: 0.6 mi
  • Giardino Corsi: 0.6 mi
  • Museo Galileo - Institute and Museum of the History of Science: 0.6 mi
  • Palazzo Vecchio: 0.6 mi
  • Sinagoga di Firenze e Museo ebraico: 0.8 mi
  • Boboli Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Giardino Della Gherardesca: 1 mi
  • Piazzale Michelangelo: 1.1 mi
  • Cimitero Delle Porte Sante: 1.2 mi
  • Basilica di San Miniato al Monte: 1.4 mi
  • Museo Stibbert: 1.4 mi
  • Artemio Franchi Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • Fiesole: 3 mi
  • Baptistry (Battistero): 42.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (35)

Ratings and reviews for Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
35 out of 35
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Daribia David
Sterling Heights, MI USA
Feb 27, 2012

The room matched the ambience of Firenze.

Beautiful room, the shower was small, beds were very very comfortable. Staff was helpful almost tripping over each other to help us in anyone they could. The staff made one feel very welcome as soon as you walked in the door. Only a block away from the train and bus station. Only a block away from the best decorated McDonalds I have ever seen. Only, at the most, a 20 minute walk to all of the important sites in Firenze. Recommended to us and certainly recommended to our associates.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Less than a 20 minute walk to all of the major attractions in Firenze.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco, CA
Jan 13, 2010

Helpful in an emergency

During our stay at the hotel I encountered a medical emergency and the staff was very helpful in assisting us in getting the the appropriate medical attention including pharmacies and an emergency room. They also translated our concerns from english to italian to ease the communication. Our room faced out the back of the hotel so noise was not an issue. Our shower was very small but had a very nice new shower head in it. I learned that some of their rooms had larger showers, so you may want to ask when getting your room if this is a concern you may have. The location was great and in the heart of nice restaurants, shops, and a large open-air market. I would definitely stay there again. It was a great value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to check out the nearby open-air market.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Aug 27, 2009

Location, service, and food are great

After living in Napoli for two nights and crazzzy tous. We were both exausted. Since we arrived the train station, we just walk a couple steps to check in this hotel in Florence. This hotel provide warm and helpful services. Room is small but clean; food is great. We are sure that if we travel to Florence again, this hotel will be the first choice to live in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DollarAF
Skillman, New Jersey
May 31, 2009

Nice Hotel...near everything

Staff was very helpful...breakfast was plentiful...location, location, location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Plan well in advance as this hotel is very popular.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia
May 27, 2009

Nice Stay, Good Location

Our stay was very enjoyable, we were in Florence for one night and visited a lot of must-sees in the 2 days that we were there. Free breakfast was a nice inclusion, and the proximity to the train station was key in our decision making process. A great value for what we paid for it!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Trattoria Angiolino - Get the Gnocchi and Florentine Steak

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Harry Beard
Business
Seattle. WA
May 13, 2009

Charming, great location, noisy

I've stayed at this hotel in the past and have liked it. This was the first time I stayed alone and was surprised by how small the room was. The floors are tile and sound reverberates through the building. It overlooked a busy side street, so the crowd noises also filtered in through the window. Some throw rugs would do wonders for mitigating some of that. They did have the most affordable internet of any hotel I've stayed at in Europe: 8 euros for 24 hours. You obtain a card from the front desk. I found the staff very friendly and helpful. Also, they have a pretty good breakfast buffet. They have a decent coffee machine, but stay away from the "north american coffee" option - it's truly bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top