$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 31, 2015 Check-out: Apr 1, 2015

Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence

3 stars
View map of Via Nazionale, 10, Florence, 50123

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 41
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kimberly Molly's mom
Boston MA
Jun 13, 2012

Great location

walking distance from the train station. around the corner from the street markets. 5 min walk to the duomo. staff was acceptable. charged for wifi and other small amenities. nice stay overall. gelato cafe across the street to the right was very nice and offered free wifi with coffee and gelato

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TPC93
Business
Texas
Jun 1, 2012

Great Stay

Great location from the train station and to all the major attractions in Florence. Staff was very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this place to anyone going to Florence!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Daribia David
Business
Sterling Heights, MI USA
Feb 27, 2012

The room matched the ambience of Firenze.

Beautiful room, the shower was small, beds were very very comfortable. Staff was helpful almost tripping over each other to help us in anyone they could. The staff made one feel very welcome as soon as you walked in the door. Only a block away from the train and bus station. Only a block away from the best decorated McDonalds I have ever seen. Only, at the most, a 20 minute walk to all of the important sites in Firenze. Recommended to us and certainly recommended to our associates.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Less than a 20 minute walk to all of the major attractions in Firenze.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Physician
Business
New York, NY, USA
Nov 13, 2011

Good place to stay, could have been better

Overall, I should say that I had a good stay at this place. First of all, it is located about 3-5 minutes from Florence's train station. This was very convenient to me as I traveled between cities by train. So, arriving from Venice or leaving for Pisa the following day and Rome the day after (quite early in the morning) was not at all issue. I could easily walk from the station despite having 2 travel bags with wheels. However, such close proximity to the station and its location on a fairly busy street could be an issue at night sometimes, as you may hear a lot of noise from the street compromising on your sleep. It does get quieter later at night and remains so until early morning. The most important reason as to why I gave lesser points on amenities and room comfort is because the sound-proofing in the facility is poor. I could literally hear every word that was spoken in my neighbor's room (not that I intended it) and as they were awake after I had gone to bed, it was too much of a hindrance for me, as I could not go to sleep for quite some time. The second drawback is that there was a constant malodor prevailing in the bathroom despite the bathroom being clean. I am not sure if it was because of a common ventilator duct traversing the floors above and below. The shower area is quite small. I am an average person and for someone who is big, this could definitely be an issue. If you drop your soap, you could find it very difficult to pick it up from the floor. However, these were not major issues to me on the whole. My bed was comfortable. The room was clean. Mine had a balcony attached to it with a table and few chairs. I could sit on the balcony late in the evening and relax. This would be great if you traveled as a couple. There is a restaurant/pizzeria right across the street (Trattoria, I believe) with very affordable prices and does not charge for COVER (this is a common concept when you dine in Italy, more so in Venice). This could be convenient when you return in the evening tired from sight-seeing. Or you could order food for take-out and have it with your partner on the balcony! Staff was very friendly and helpful. They were always happy to provide useful suggestions and directions. My room was tidied every day and it could not have been kept better. The complimentary breakfast that they provide is extremely good. This came in handy as I was mostly seeing places. After a good breakfast, I could postpone my meal until early in the evening concentrating more on sight-seeing and worrying little about where or when I would eat next. If I needed, I could grab a quick bite and go on. For the price you pay for this hotel, I think this is definitely worth it. If I ever get back to Florence, I won't mind staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Right across the street is the restaurant/pizzeria that I have mentioned above. You could walk to most attractions from the hotel. Florence itself is not a very big city and most attractions can be visited on foot. Alternatively, if you have a driver's license for a moped, you could hire one from a place located a few streets from here.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bobo Green
Business
Dana Point, CA, USA
Nov 8, 2011

So So

I needed a place close to my daughter's apartment so I choose this location whiich was perfect. I had a single and very typical small, small room. I am lucky I am not a typical larger american because the shower was exactly 24"x24". All and all a good value, good central location, morning breakfast was good. It was good, not great just good and that was all I was looking for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Clsoe to many great neighborhood cafes, and a five minute walk to everwhere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MARIEMIA
Business
Miami, FL, USA
Oct 19, 2011

Cannot be recommended

The only positive thing about this hotel is that it is situated 2 minutes from the train station. Otherwise, the first night: we didn't have hot water (they fixed that for the second and last night). But the huge problem is the bathroom...smelled like a public restroom (or worse) and let the room smelling as well! Out of all the hotels I booked in Italy (had about the same budget for all), this is the only one I would NOT recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
brokenrules
Business
St Louis, MO, USA
Sep 6, 2011

Decent for the price

Located in the heart of the city. Friendly staff and old fashioned yet clean and comfortable rooms. Wifi connection in room has a minimal surcharge and parking in a garage only available after 3pm and has a fees. Overall, I think it is great for the price. Fantastic location. Close to tour buses and walkable distance to major attactions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
brooklyn, ny
May 23, 2011

ok stay

we stay in this hotel in 5/2011, good location, close to all the piazzas, nice and helpful staff. breakfast sucks, but not any worse then other similar type hotels. room good size, however, mattress was extremely hard, too too firm, like sleeping on the wooden floor. but if you like it, than it would work for your back. otherwise good stay for the $.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northern CA
May 21, 2011

Florence hotal

The hotel was perfectly located - close to the train station and close to everything in Florence! The room was comfortable and clean. There is absolutely no parking and the streets are very narrow and difficult to maneuver if driving. The downside to the hotel was we found that not all staff at the front desk understood English and we got some crazy answers -we had to learn to "listen" between the lines. The desk clerk who checked me in was very abrupt and not very clear on requirements for documents. Breakfast was very good and the location and comfort level would outweigh the front desk staff and I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The great San Lorenzo open air market was literally a block away and full of great shops and incredible leather goods, scarves and lots of food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bee Jay
Business
Tamarac, FL
Apr 2, 2011

Great location, helpful staff, comfy.

Hotel has charm, restaurants nearby, walking distance to everything including the bus station. Doing some remodeling currently but we were not disturbed by noise. Breakfast was adequate. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the many family-run restaurants that can be found on the narrow little streets. A Micro-Brewery Cafe on the same street as the hotel has great pizza and designer beers.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DallasTX01
Business
Dallas TX
Mar 13, 2011

Close to Train

comfortable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

lots of open market.....overpriced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top