Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence ★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$50
avg/night
Rate and special offer based on
Check-in: Feb 15, 2016 Check-out: Feb 16, 2016

Prof

Would not recommend Wed, Jun 5, 2013
The first room that I was assigned had a faulty light switch in the bathroom. I was moved to another room that was near the stair and elevator. There was a lot of noise both late at night and in the early morning that made sleeping difficult. Also the WIFI would not work with windows operating systems. I asked about this on two occasions and did not receive any help. It seems to be a known problem. If I had not had an IPHONE, it would have been really bad.

| College Station, TX Business

2 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 2 /5
  • Hotel staff: 2 /5
  • Comfort: 2 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

Very good

Would recommend Thu, Apr 4, 2013
Second best hotel that we stayed in Europe. Big room. Our bathroom had a view of big duma. Of course the toilet flashes kind of different. Shower is surrounded by curtains. Location was great. Everything was in walking distance. I would love to stay again. Price was not that expensive.

| Chicago IL Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Okay place

Would not recommend Tue, Sep 4, 2012
This hotel is very close to the train station - Nice location Friendly stuff BUT: There are bed bugs!

| Dai Da Family

2 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 2 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 2 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Great location

Would recommend Wed, Jun 13, 2012
walking distance from the train station. around the corner from the street markets. 5 min walk to the duomo. staff was acceptable. charged for wifi and other small amenities. nice stay overall. gelato cafe across the street to the right was very nice and offered free wifi with coffee and gelato

| Boston MA Singles

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Machiavelli Palace hotel review May 2012

Would not recommend Sun, Jun 3, 2012
This hotel is very well located, within five minutes of the train station and within five to ten minutes of some major sites. The staff was pleasant and accomodating during our two night stay. There was only one extra outlet to charge devices such as cameras, phones and iPad. It was the only hotel during our 8 night trip to Italy where we noticed any bugs. Little black round bugs were noted at least twice on the beds. When crushed the bugs were very bloody -

Dining

Great little restaurant across the street where we had a calzone.

| Chicago, IL Couples

2 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 1 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 2 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

The room matched the ambience of Firenze.

Would recommend Mon, Feb 27, 2012
Beautiful room, the shower was small, beds were very very comfortable. Staff was helpful almost tripping over each other to help us in anyone they could. The staff made one feel very welcome as soon as you walked in the door. Only a block away from the train and bus station. Only a block away from the best decorated McDonalds I have ever seen. Only, at the most, a 20 minute walk to all of the important sites in Firenze. Recommended to us and certainly recommended to our associates.

Time saver

Less than a 20 minute walk to all of the major attractions in Firenze.

| Sterling Heights, MI USA Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Good place to stay, could have been better

Would recommend Sun, Nov 13, 2011
Overall, I should say that I had a good stay at this place. First of all, it is located about 3-5 minutes from Florence's train station. This was very convenient to me as I traveled between cities by train. So, arriving from Venice or leaving for Pisa the following day and Rome the day after (quite early in the morning) was not at all issue. I could easily walk from the station despite having 2 travel bags with wheels. However, such close proximity to the station and its location on a fairly busy street could be an issue at night sometimes, as you may hear a lot of noise from the street compromising on your sleep. It does get quieter later at night and remains so until early morning. The most important reason as to why I gave lesser points on amenities and room comfort is because the sound-proofing in the facility is poor. I could literally hear every word that was spoken in my neighbor's room (not that I intended it) and as they were awake after I had gone to bed, it was too much of a hindrance for me, as I could not go to sleep for quite some time. The second drawback is that there was a constant malodor prevailing in the bathroom despite the bathroom being clean. I am not sure if it was because of a common ventilator duct traversing the floors above and below. The shower area is quite small. I am an average person and for someone who is big, this could definitely be an issue. If you drop your soap, you could find it very difficult to pick it up from the floor. However, these were not major issues to me on the whole. My bed was comfortable. The room was clean. Mine had a balcony attached to it with a table and few chairs. I could sit on the balcony late in the evening and relax. This would be great if you traveled as a couple. There is a restaurant/pizzeria right across the street (Trattoria, I believe) with very affordable prices and does not charge for COVER (this is a common concept when you dine in Italy, more so in Venice). This could be convenient when you return in the evening tired from sight-seeing. Or you could order food for take-out and have it with your partner on the balcony! Staff was very friendly and helpful. They were always happy to provide useful suggestions and directions. My room was tidied every day and it could not have been kept better. The complimentary breakfast that they provide is extremely good. This came in handy as I was mostly seeing places. After a good breakfast, I could postpone my meal until early in the evening concentrating more on sight-seeing and worrying little about where or when I would eat next. If I needed, I could grab a quick bite and go on. For the price you pay for this hotel, I think this is definitely worth it. If I ever get back to Florence, I won't mind staying here again.

Time saver

Right across the street is the restaurant/pizzeria that I have mentioned above. You could walk to most attractions from the hotel. Florence itself is not a very big city and most attractions can be visited on foot. Alternatively, if you have a driver's license for a moped, you could hire one from a place located a few streets from here.

| New York, NY, USA Singles

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Decent for the price

Would recommend Tue, Sep 6, 2011
Located in the heart of the city. Friendly staff and old fashioned yet clean and comfortable rooms. Wifi connection in room has a minimal surcharge and parking in a garage only available after 3pm and has a fees. Overall, I think it is great for the price. Fantastic location. Close to tour buses and walkable distance to major attactions.

| St Louis, MO, USA Friends

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

ok stay

Would not recommend Mon, May 23, 2011
we stay in this hotel in 5/2011, good location, close to all the piazzas, nice and helpful staff. breakfast sucks, but not any worse then other similar type hotels. room good size, however, mattress was extremely hard, too too firm, like sleeping on the wooden floor. but if you like it, than it would work for your back. otherwise good stay for the $.

| brooklyn, ny Couples

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 1 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Florence hotal

Would recommend Sat, May 21, 2011
The hotel was perfectly located - close to the train station and close to everything in Florence! The room was comfortable and clean. There is absolutely no parking and the streets are very narrow and difficult to maneuver if driving. The downside to the hotel was we found that not all staff at the front desk understood English and we got some crazy answers -we had to learn to "listen" between the lines. The desk clerk who checked me in was very abrupt and not very clear on requirements for documents. Breakfast was very good and the location and comfort level would outweigh the front desk staff and I would stay there again.

Shopping hint

The great San Lorenzo open air market was literally a block away and full of great shops and incredible leather goods, scarves and lots of food!

| Northern CA Singles

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5