$56 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 18, 2015 Check-out: Jan 20, 2015

Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence

3 stars
Via Nazionale, 10, Florence, 50123
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
37 reviews
Nice Place

Nice hotel, clean, comfortable, quiet. Nice breakfast. Close to train. Not a bad walk to other... See full review

  • Corinn
  • Aug 8, 2014
ok, good lacation, near the station

Everything was fine, but the Breakfast was very poor See full review

  • weiss CS
  • Nov 24, 2014
Traditional Florentine style in a 14th-century palace near attractions
The Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence is located in a 14th-century palace, just a short walk from the main train station. This superior three-star property serves as an ideal base from which to discover all of the city's cultural treasures. An attentive, multi-lingual staff can help arrange city tours and regional excursions, a welcome convenience for those who want to focus on maximizing their time and travel experience. A private terrace offers an ideal vantage point to gaze across Florentine rooftops, a surreal setting that's ever-so-appropriate in this Renaissance city.
Highlights
  • Located in a 14th century palace
  • Private terrace provides stunning views of Florence
  • Multi-lingual staff helps arrange city tours and regional excursions
Rooms

Cozy, comfortable rooms are well-appointed in typical Florentine style. Special additions include a private bath or shower, mini-bar, direct dial telephone, Wi-Fi (fees apply), satellite TV, air conditioning and safe.

Features

Located in a 14th-century palace and a short walk from Florence's major museums and attractions sits the Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence, a comfortable, superior three-star hotel focused on personalized service and comfort. The hotel's gracious and professional staff provides attentive service, from suggesting local tours to planning regional excursions through the Chianti countryside.


Rooms are decorated in classical Florentine style and feature amenities, such as Wi-Fi, satellite TV, air conditioning, and mini-bar.


A private terrace affords guests a spectacular panoramic view over Florentine rooftops, the ideal base from which to savor an aperitif or glass of Chianti wine.

Transportation
  • Florence Airport (4.9 mi/8.0 km)
  • Santa Maria Novella train station (0.2 mi/350 m)
Attractions
  • Piazza del Duomo (0.4 mi/650 m)
  • Galleria degli Uffizi (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Ponte Vecchio (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Pitti Palace (1.4 mi/2.3 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence Rooms

Double Room
The room offers 1 Double bed furnished in Florentine style, all with bath, shower and hairdryer, mini-bar, direct dial telephone, satellite TV, air conditioning and safe. In addition there is a unrivalled view over the roofs of Florence from the first floor terrace, where the guest can relax with a drink or sunbathe in the summer.
Triple Room
The room offers 1 Double and 1 Twin bed furnished in Florentine style, all with bath, shower and hairdryer, mini-bar, direct dial telephone, satellite TV, air conditioning and safe. In addition there is a unrivalled view over the roofs of Florence from the first floor terrace, where the guest can relax with a drink or sunbathe in the summer.
Single Room
The room offers 1 Twin bed furnished in Florentine style, all with bath, shower and hairdryer, mini-bar, direct dial telephone, satellite TV, air conditioning and safe. In addition there is a unrivalled view over the roofs of Florence from the first floor terrace, where the guest can relax with a drink or sunbathe in the summer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Church of Santa Maria Novella: 0.1 mi
  • Basilica di San Lorenzo: 0.1 mi
  • Santa Maria Novella Train station: 0.1 mi
  • Medici Chapels (Cappelle Medicee): 0.1 mi
  • Mercato Centrale: 0.2 mi
  • Laurentian Library (Biblioteca Medicea Laurenziana): 0.2 mi
  • Basilica Of San Lorenzo: 0.3 mi
  • Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto): 0.3 mi
  • Piazza del Duomo: 0.3 mi
  • Duomo - Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore: 0.3 mi
  • Duomo Museum (Museo dell'Opera del Duomo): 0.4 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.4 mi
  • Centro Storico: 0.4 mi
  • Museo di Palazzo Davanzati: 0.4 mi
  • Galleria dell'Accademia: 0.4 mi
  • Church of Santa Maria Novella: 0.1 mi
  • Basilica di San Lorenzo: 0.1 mi
  • Santa Maria Novella Train station: 0.1 mi
  • Medici Chapels (Cappelle Medicee): 0.1 mi
  • Mercato Centrale: 0.2 mi
  • Laurentian Library (Biblioteca Medicea Laurenziana): 0.2 mi
  • Basilica Of San Lorenzo: 0.3 mi
  • Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto): 0.3 mi
  • Piazza del Duomo: 0.3 mi
  • Duomo - Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore: 0.3 mi
  • Duomo Museum (Museo dell'Opera del Duomo): 0.4 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.4 mi
  • Centro Storico: 0.4 mi
  • Museo di Palazzo Davanzati: 0.4 mi
  • Galleria dell'Accademia: 0.4 mi
  • Santa Maria Novela Basilica: 0.4 mi
  • Museo di San Marco: 0.5 mi
  • Piazza della Signoria: 0.5 mi
  • Museo Nazionale del Bargello (Bargello Museum): 0.5 mi
  • Piazza San Marco: 0.5 mi
  • Corridoio Vasariano: 0.6 mi
  • Pitti Palace: 0.6 mi
  • Uffizi Gallery (Galleria degli Uffizi): 0.6 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Croce: 0.6 mi
  • Giardino Corsi: 0.6 mi
  • Museo Galileo - Institute and Museum of the History of Science: 0.6 mi
  • Palazzo Vecchio: 0.6 mi
  • Sinagoga di Firenze e Museo ebraico: 0.8 mi
  • Boboli Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Giardino Della Gherardesca: 1 mi
  • Piazzale Michelangelo: 1.1 mi
  • Cimitero Delle Porte Sante: 1.2 mi
  • Basilica di San Miniato al Monte: 1.4 mi
  • Museo Stibbert: 1.4 mi
  • Artemio Franchi Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • Fiesole: 3 mi
  • Baptistry (Battistero): 42.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (37)

Ratings and reviews for Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
37 out of 37
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dist. Prof
Business
College Station, TX
Jun 5, 2013

Prof

The first room that I was assigned had a faulty light switch in the bathroom. I was moved to another room that was near the stair and elevator. There was a lot of noise both late at night and in the early morning that made sleeping difficult. Also the WIFI would not work with windows operating systems. I asked about this on two occasions and did not receive any help. It seems to be a known problem. If I had not had an IPHONE, it would have been really bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ochka
Business
Chicago IL
Apr 4, 2013

Very good

Second best hotel that we stayed in Europe. Big room. Our bathroom had a view of big duma. Of course the toilet flashes kind of different. Shower is surrounded by curtains. Location was great. Everything was in walking distance. I would love to stay again. Price was not that expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Haidaman
Business
Dai Da
Sep 4, 2012

Okay place

This hotel is very close to the train station - Nice location Friendly stuff BUT: There are bed bugs!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kimberly Molly's mom
Business
Boston MA
Jun 13, 2012

Great location

walking distance from the train station. around the corner from the street markets. 5 min walk to the duomo. staff was acceptable. charged for wifi and other small amenities. nice stay overall. gelato cafe across the street to the right was very nice and offered free wifi with coffee and gelato

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Connecticut, USA
Jun 6, 2012

Great Location

Small rooms, elevator did not work at the time.but great location. Not very friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk from train station

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Athletic One
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 3, 2012

Machiavelli Palace hotel review May 2012

This hotel is very well located, within five minutes of the train station and within five to ten minutes of some major sites. The staff was pleasant and accomodating during our two night stay. There was only one extra outlet to charge devices such as cameras, phones and iPad. It was the only hotel during our 8 night trip to Italy where we noticed any bugs. Little black round bugs were noted at least twice on the beds. When crushed the bugs were very bloody -

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great little restaurant across the street where we had a calzone.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TPC93
Business
Texas
Jun 1, 2012

Great Stay

Great location from the train station and to all the major attractions in Florence. Staff was very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this place to anyone going to Florence!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Daribia David
Business
Sterling Heights, MI USA
Feb 27, 2012

The room matched the ambience of Firenze.

Beautiful room, the shower was small, beds were very very comfortable. Staff was helpful almost tripping over each other to help us in anyone they could. The staff made one feel very welcome as soon as you walked in the door. Only a block away from the train and bus station. Only a block away from the best decorated McDonalds I have ever seen. Only, at the most, a 20 minute walk to all of the important sites in Firenze. Recommended to us and certainly recommended to our associates.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Less than a 20 minute walk to all of the major attractions in Firenze.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Physician
Business
New York, NY, USA
Nov 13, 2011

Good place to stay, could have been better

Overall, I should say that I had a good stay at this place. First of all, it is located about 3-5 minutes from Florence's train station. This was very convenient to me as I traveled between cities by train. So, arriving from Venice or leaving for Pisa the following day and Rome the day after (quite early in the morning) was not at all issue. I could easily walk from the station despite having 2 travel bags with wheels. However, such close proximity to the station and its location on a fairly busy street could be an issue at night sometimes, as you may hear a lot of noise from the street compromising on your sleep. It does get quieter later at night and remains so until early morning. The most important reason as to why I gave lesser points on amenities and room comfort is because the sound-proofing in the facility is poor. I could literally hear every word that was spoken in my neighbor's room (not that I intended it) and as they were awake after I had gone to bed, it was too much of a hindrance for me, as I could not go to sleep for quite some time. The second drawback is that there was a constant malodor prevailing in the bathroom despite the bathroom being clean. I am not sure if it was because of a common ventilator duct traversing the floors above and below. The shower area is quite small. I am an average person and for someone who is big, this could definitely be an issue. If you drop your soap, you could find it very difficult to pick it up from the floor. However, these were not major issues to me on the whole. My bed was comfortable. The room was clean. Mine had a balcony attached to it with a table and few chairs. I could sit on the balcony late in the evening and relax. This would be great if you traveled as a couple. There is a restaurant/pizzeria right across the street (Trattoria, I believe) with very affordable prices and does not charge for COVER (this is a common concept when you dine in Italy, more so in Venice). This could be convenient when you return in the evening tired from sight-seeing. Or you could order food for take-out and have it with your partner on the balcony! Staff was very friendly and helpful. They were always happy to provide useful suggestions and directions. My room was tidied every day and it could not have been kept better. The complimentary breakfast that they provide is extremely good. This came in handy as I was mostly seeing places. After a good breakfast, I could postpone my meal until early in the evening concentrating more on sight-seeing and worrying little about where or when I would eat next. If I needed, I could grab a quick bite and go on. For the price you pay for this hotel, I think this is definitely worth it. If I ever get back to Florence, I won't mind staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Right across the street is the restaurant/pizzeria that I have mentioned above. You could walk to most attractions from the hotel. Florence itself is not a very big city and most attractions can be visited on foot. Alternatively, if you have a driver's license for a moped, you could hire one from a place located a few streets from here.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bobo Green
Business
Dana Point, CA, USA
Nov 8, 2011

So So

I needed a place close to my daughter's apartment so I choose this location whiich was perfect. I had a single and very typical small, small room. I am lucky I am not a typical larger american because the shower was exactly 24"x24". All and all a good value, good central location, morning breakfast was good. It was good, not great just good and that was all I was looking for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Clsoe to many great neighborhood cafes, and a five minute walk to everwhere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top