$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 16, 2014 Check-out: Oct 17, 2014

Kursaal and Ausonia Hotel Florence

3 stars
Via Nazionale 24, Florence, 50123
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
16 reviews
Awesome Hotel!

My wife and I stayed here and were immensely impressed with the hotel. The staff was very helpful... See full review

  • Mr. Mike and Mrs. Mary
  • Oct 1, 2013
Amazing Staff and Location

We chose the Hotel Kursaal Ausonia strictly on price, and jackpot! The staff was incredibly... See full review

  • bldbthmcg
  • May 1, 2012
Boutique charm and homey comforts in the heart of Florence
"Experience Florence from the inside" is the motto of the Kursaal & Ausonia Hotel Florence. This boutique, family-run hotel makes its mission to provide a warm, comfortable home-away-from-home. Located in the historic city center, midway between the Duomo and central train station, the hotel is an ideal base for exploring all of Florence's treasures. Of particular note is the hotel's eco-friendly focus, with energy-saving systems designed to minimize its carbon footprint.
Highlights
  • Eco-friendly hotel with energy-saving systems
  • Hands-on, professional staff deliver personal customer service
  • Prime location: Near Florence's most impressive sites
Rooms

Find a warm, serene atmosphere inside the guest rooms of the Kursaal & Ausonia Hotel Florence. Like a traditional Florentine home, every room is unique in layout and furnishings. Some include a separate living room, while others offer a balcony overlooking the Duomo. All offer a blend of contemporary design and amenities, including air conditioning, satellite TV, Wi-Fi (fees apply), refrigerator, direct dial telephone, and laptop-size safe.

Features

Providing a home-away-from-home experience is the mission of the Kursaal & Ausonia Hotel Florence. This boutique, family-run property serves as an ideal base for exploring the majority of Florence's sites by foot.

The hotel also emphasizes personalized service. The hotel's owner is a qualified tour guide and prides herself on customizing sightseeing itineraries that speak to individual tastes and preferences, the ultimate convenience for those too busy to wade through one-size-fits-all guidebooks.

The hotel has a particular environmental consciousness that seeks to minimize its carbon footprint, a "go green" embrace that includes carefully designed water and lighting systems, biodegradable and eco-friendly cleaning products, and steam cleaning as its primary sanitation method.

Transportation
  • Florence Airport (4.9 mi/6.6 km)
  • Santa Maria Novella train station (0.2 mi/250 m)

Hotel Map

43.7785 11.2535
Area served
Firenze, Via nazionale, 24 City center Italy
Nearby airports
International Airport: amerigo vespucci (firenze) Closest Public Transport: Santa Maria Novella railway station; Autostradale-bus station; Florence Airport shuttle station; Pisa Airport shuttle station.
Area description
City center. 10 min walk from: - the railway station; - Accdemia Gallery; - Santa M.Novella; - San Lorenzo Market; - Fair and congress center; - Fortezza da Basso and 20 min walk from the most important monuments and museums. By car From the Firenze Nord exit follow for the city center (centro). When you get to Fortezza da Basso, take Viale Spartaco Lavagnini and turn right at the first traffic light on Via Santa Caterina d'Alessandria. After the square with trees (Piazza Indipendenza), Via Nazionale starts, our hotel is on the left at number 24 (black). From the Firenze Sud exit follow for the city center. Once you get to Piazza della Libertà take Via Lorenzo Il Magnifico: at the first traffic light turn left on Via Poliziano and continue until you get to Via Santa Caterina d'Alessandria. After the square with trees (Piazza Indipendenza), Via Nazionale starts, our hotel is on the left at number 24 (black).

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kursaal and Ausonia Hotel Florence also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Kursaal and Ausonia Hotel Florence Rooms

Standard Single Room
The hotel offers 2 types of rooms based on the size: Standard and Superior. Some of the Superior also have a comfortable living room, some look out on the Cathedral, other on the roofs of Florence and some others have private balconies. The atmosphere is warm and cosy with pieces of ancient furniture together with modern details. Bathrooms follow the same logic: spacious, functional and comfortable. Two of the superior rooms have bathtubs.
Standard Double Room
The hotel offers 2 types of rooms based on the size: Standard and Superior. Some of the Superior also have a comfortable living room, some look out on the Cathedral, other on the roofs of Florence and some others have private balconies. The atmosphere is warm and cosy with pieces of ancient furniture together with modern details. Bathrooms follow the same logic: spacious, functional and comfortable. Two of the superior rooms have bathtubs.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Pet friendly
Dining
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Mercato Centrale: 0.1 mi
  • Basilica di San Lorenzo: 0.2 mi
  • Basilica Of San Lorenzo: 0.2 mi
  • Medici Chapels (Cappelle Medicee): 0.2 mi
  • Galleria dell'Accademia: 0.3 mi
  • Laurentian Library (Biblioteca Medicea Laurenziana): 0.3 mi
  • Museo di San Marco: 0.3 mi
  • Church of Santa Maria Novella: 0.3 mi
  • Santa Maria Novella Train station: 0.3 mi
  • Piazza San Marco: 0.3 mi
  • Duomo - Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore: 0.4 mi
  • Piazza del Duomo: 0.4 mi
  • Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto): 0.4 mi
  • Duomo Museum (Museo dell'Opera del Duomo): 0.4 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Croce: 0.4 mi
  • Mercato Centrale: 0.1 mi
  • Basilica di San Lorenzo: 0.2 mi
  • Basilica Of San Lorenzo: 0.2 mi
  • Medici Chapels (Cappelle Medicee): 0.2 mi
  • Galleria dell'Accademia: 0.3 mi
  • Laurentian Library (Biblioteca Medicea Laurenziana): 0.3 mi
  • Museo di San Marco: 0.3 mi
  • Church of Santa Maria Novella: 0.3 mi
  • Santa Maria Novella Train station: 0.3 mi
  • Piazza San Marco: 0.3 mi
  • Duomo - Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore: 0.4 mi
  • Piazza del Duomo: 0.4 mi
  • Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto): 0.4 mi
  • Duomo Museum (Museo dell'Opera del Duomo): 0.4 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Croce: 0.4 mi
  • Centro Storico: 0.5 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.5 mi
  • Museo di Palazzo Davanzati: 0.5 mi
  • Museo Nazionale del Bargello (Bargello Museum): 0.6 mi
  • Piazza della Signoria: 0.6 mi
  • Santa Maria Novela Basilica: 0.6 mi
  • Palazzo Vecchio: 0.7 mi
  • Uffizi Gallery (Galleria degli Uffizi): 0.7 mi
  • Corridoio Vasariano: 0.7 mi
  • Giardino Corsi: 0.7 mi
  • Sinagoga di Firenze e Museo ebraico: 0.7 mi
  • Museo Galileo - Institute and Museum of the History of Science: 0.7 mi
  • Pitti Palace: 0.7 mi
  • Giardino Della Gherardesca: 0.8 mi
  • Boboli Gardens: 1 mi
  • Piazzale Michelangelo: 1.2 mi
  • Museo Stibbert: 1.3 mi
  • Cimitero Delle Porte Sante: 1.3 mi
  • Artemio Franchi Stadium: 1.3 mi
  • Basilica di San Miniato al Monte: 1.5 mi
  • Fiesole: 2.8 mi
  • Baptistry (Battistero): 43 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1030

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (16)

Ratings and reviews for Kursaal and Ausonia Hotel Florence

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 16
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kursaal and Ausonia Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
European Vacationers
Washington DC
Jan 2, 2014

Hotel is essentially a hostel

My fiancé and I were extremely dissatisfied with this hotel. It was difficult to find and once we finally arrived , we had to climb 5 flights of concrete stairs to find what was essentially a hostel. It looked like it hadn't been renovated in at least 30 years. The room was a decent size but the furniture was broken and falling apart. The bathroom was the worst. There was no real shower, ie the bathroom was the shower. We paid $165.00 euro a night and felt it was worth no more than $60-75 euro. While the staff was nice, we do not recommend anyone staying there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kursaal and Ausonia Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mr. Mike and Mrs. Mary
Howell, MI
Oct 1, 2013

Awesome Hotel!

My wife and I stayed here and were immensely impressed with the hotel. The staff was very helpful and attentive. The rooms were extremely comfortable and spacious, especially for a European hotel. We stayed here on the second leg of our second trip to Italy and of all of our hotels, this was hands down, one of the best. The staff was very accommodating, and offered us help at every turn when we asked for it (spoke English, with WiFi, made reservations for us). Breakfast every morning was nice as it added value to the hotel itself and saved us a few Euro each day, which is always a nice bonus. The location was great as well as it was two blocks from Mercato Centrale and San Lorenzo, and just a few more blocks from Il Duomo and all of the main sites. When my wife and I make our next trip, we will definitely be booking here as we were 100% satisfied with our entire experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Swing into Mercato Centrale, grab some cheese (which they will cut for you), fresh bread, some olives and a bottle of wine and sit on any church steps. It will be an amazing lunch of great food and watching the world stroll by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kursaal and Ausonia Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BBgirl
Minneapolis, Mn
May 6, 2013

Clean and convenient, reasonable

This hotel is well located, clean and relatively reasonable, but the rooms are small and dark, the stairway very industrial and in general the staff was not helpful. The location was the main asset.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kursaal and Ausonia Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gryphonisle
San Francisco
Nov 12, 2012

Great Location, Nice Room, Helpful and Informative Staff

The Kursaal and Ausonia hotel was a delightful spot from which to explore Florence, conveniently located to both the train and the sights, yet still fairly quiet. Our two night stay was in early November, so the weather was pleasant, but we still had to close the windows due to mosquitos, something that would be an issue in the hot days of summer, with no AC. The room was pleasantly if sparsely furnished; nice antique-feeling rustic wooden pieces, and a glazed tile floor, albeit with no carpet. What I didn't like was minor, but stupid enough to irritate. A double bed here is two twins under one sheet. Not comfortable if you aren't the couple who sleeps in the middle of your own space. The tiny, tiny, elevator probably explains this, but really: Carry a full size mattress up the stairs! The other irritant is what passes for WiFi. It's a deal at E15. for 30 days, but only until you use it. At times it leaps to a page with the alacrity we expect from the Web, then you go to another page and the server is lost because it takes so long to make the connection. Streaming? Ha! Either do away with the WiFi offer, or get a credible system, it's no amenity to have something that doesn't work. That said, the shower was comfortably sized, the water pressure and hot water fine and consistent. Walls are paper thin, which could be an issue but not when we were there. And, if you get a third floor room on the back (we had #15) you'll delight in a Hollywood-quality view of Il Duomo over the rooftops of the picturesque homes, below. We very much enjoyed our stay here and would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kursaal and Ausonia Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
YoungCoup
New York
Jun 17, 2012

Great Time

The hotel was very easy to get to, only a 10 minute walk from SMN train station. We had to leave our stuff there but they were willing to accommodate our luggage and even put it in the room when it was ready as we were not going to be around at that time. the hotel was simple, but good. On a budget it is a highly recommended place to go. The service was good. the room was okay, the breakfast was alright. not a five start but definitely a decent place to crash for a few nights in Florence.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurant nearby called Brincello, a must try and a real authentic Tuscan meal. They barely speak English there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kursaal and Ausonia Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dsmk
new york
May 3, 2012

great stay in florence

lovely little hotel and great service in walking distance to all historic sites. breakfast was great . small lounge for sitting and a lending library, staff very helpful and courteous

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

all kinds of eateries nearby for all budgets

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kursaal and Ausonia Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bldbthmcg
Newport News, VA, USA
May 1, 2012

Amazing Staff and Location

We chose the Hotel Kursaal Ausonia strictly on price, and jackpot! The staff was incredibly accommodating and gracious; thanks to you all for a great stay. Paola was wonderful, and, lucky for us, a licensed tour guide. If staying in Florence, you must ask Paola for a tour of the country homes of the Medicis. Also their tour, with Simone, of the Uffizi Gallery was great. The location is close to everything. And, those who have been to the city before can tell you how important this is: they have an elevator!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Shipping to our home from Bartoli's in the Central Market was a great experience. They were gracious and took their time to answer every question, and we could first sample everything before making decisions. The two year-old Pecorino will leave you speechless!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kursaal and Ausonia Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DIddy
Seattle, WA, USA
Sep 13, 2011

FLorence hotel

close to everything; staff very helpful. We had a large room with a balcony at the back of the building, but heard some guests say that the front rooms were noisy and some bathrooms were small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kursaal and Ausonia Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Geneva Switzerland
Jun 29, 2010

great location and comfortable

A great location. A helpful staff. Comfortable rooms. No hot breakfast but continental breakfast acceptable for price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kursaal and Ausonia Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Jun 15, 2010

A decent and affordable experience

For someone on a budget this hotel fit all my needs. The location was great to get around the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search