$50 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

Kursaal and Ausonia Hotel Florence

3 stars
View map of Via Nazionale 24, Florence, 50123

Hotel Overview

Kursaal-and-Ausonia-Hotel-Florence-Hotel-Exterior
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
20 reviews
Maravigioso

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this tucked away hotel in Florence. We were at walking distance... See full review

  • Terry Marie B
  • May 11, 2015
comfy and convenient

Very comfortable accommodations within easy walking distance of all attractions. Nice sitting room... See full review

  • Grakat
  • May 14, 2015
Experience Florence from the inside is the motto of the Kursaal & Ausonia Hotel Florence. This boutique, family-run hotel makes its mission to provide a warm, comfortable home-away-from-home. Located in the historic city center, midway between the Duomo and central train station, the hotel is an ideal base for exploring all of Florence's treasures. Of particular note is the hotel's eco-friendly focus, with energy-saving systems designed to minimize its carbon footprint.
Rooms

Find a warm, serene atmosphere inside the guest rooms of the Kursaal & Ausonia Hotel Florence. Like a traditional Florentine home, every room is unique in layout and furnishings. Some include a separate living room, while others offer a balcony overlooking the Duomo. All offer a blend of contemporary design and amenities, including air conditioning, satellite TV, Wi-Fi (fees apply), refrigerator, direct dial telephone, and laptop-size safe.

Property features

Providing a home-away-from-home experience is the mission of the Kursaal & Ausonia Hotel Florence. This boutique, family-run property serves as an ideal base for exploring the majority of Florence's sites by foot.

The hotel also emphasizes personalized service. The hotel's owner is a qualified tour guide and prides herself on customizing sightseeing itineraries that speak to individual tastes and preferences, the ultimate convenience for those too busy to wade through one-size-fits-all guidebooks.

The hotel has a particular environmental consciousness that seeks to minimize its carbon footprint, a "go green" embrace that includes carefully designed water and lighting systems, biodegradable and eco-friendly cleaning products, and steam cleaning as its primary sanitation method.

Highlights
  • Eco-friendly hotel with energy-saving systems
  • Hands-on, professional staff deliver personal customer service
  • Prime location: Near Florence's most impressive sites
Transportation
  • Florence Airport (4.9 mi/6.6 km)
  • Santa Maria Novella train station (0.2 mi/250 m)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kursaal and Ausonia Hotel Florence also booked these hotels.

★★★
$75
4.0 / 5 73 reviews
★★★
$83
3.6 / 5 49 reviews
★★★
$75
3.3 / 5 4 reviews
★★★
$80
4.3 / 5 4 reviews
★★★★
$111
4.3 / 5 25 reviews
★★★★
$155
4.0 / 5 12 reviews
★★
$53
2.6 / 5 11 reviews
★★★
$67
3.3 / 5 16 reviews
★★★
$106
4.2 / 5 30 reviews

Kursaal and Ausonia Hotel Florence Rooms

Standard Single Room
The hotel offers 2 types of rooms based on the size: Standard and Superior. Some of the Superior also have a comfortable living room, some look out on the Cathedral, other on the roofs of Florence and some others have private balconies. The atmosphere is warm and cosy with pieces of ancient furniture together with modern details. Bathrooms follow the same logic: spacious, functional and comfortable. Two of the superior rooms have bathtubs.
Standard Double Room
The hotel offers 2 types of rooms based on the size: Standard and Superior. Some of the Superior also have a comfortable living room, some look out on the Cathedral, other on the roofs of Florence and some others have private balconies. The atmosphere is warm and cosy with pieces of ancient furniture together with modern details. Bathrooms follow the same logic: spacious, functional and comfortable. Two of the superior rooms have bathtubs.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Pet friendly
Dining
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Mercato Centrale: 0.1 mi
  • Basilica di San Lorenzo: 0.2 mi
  • Basilica Of San Lorenzo: 0.2 mi
  • Medici Chapels (Cappelle Medicee): 0.2 mi
  • Galleria dell'Accademia: 0.3 mi
  • Laurentian Library (Biblioteca Medicea Laurenziana): 0.3 mi
  • Museo di San Marco: 0.3 mi
  • Church of Santa Maria Novella: 0.3 mi
  • Santa Maria Novella Train station: 0.3 mi
  • Gallery Of The Academy: 0.3 mi
  • Duomo - Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore: 0.4 mi
  • Piazza del Duomo: 0.4 mi
  • Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto): 0.4 mi
  • Duomo Museum (Museo dell'Opera del Duomo): 0.4 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Croce: 0.4 mi
  • Mercato Centrale: 0.1 mi
  • Basilica di San Lorenzo: 0.2 mi
  • Basilica Of San Lorenzo: 0.2 mi
  • Medici Chapels (Cappelle Medicee): 0.2 mi
  • Galleria dell'Accademia: 0.3 mi
  • Laurentian Library (Biblioteca Medicea Laurenziana): 0.3 mi
  • Museo di San Marco: 0.3 mi
  • Church of Santa Maria Novella: 0.3 mi
  • Santa Maria Novella Train station: 0.3 mi
  • Gallery Of The Academy: 0.3 mi
  • Duomo - Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore: 0.4 mi
  • Piazza del Duomo: 0.4 mi
  • Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto): 0.4 mi
  • Duomo Museum (Museo dell'Opera del Duomo): 0.4 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Croce: 0.4 mi
  • Centro Storico: 0.5 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.5 mi
  • Museo di Palazzo Davanzati: 0.5 mi
  • Museo Nazionale del Bargello (Bargello Museum): 0.6 mi
  • Piazza della Signoria: 0.6 mi
  • Ponte Vecchio: 0.6 mi
  • Palazzo Vecchio: 0.7 mi
  • Uffizi Gallery (Galleria degli Uffizi): 0.7 mi
  • Corridoio Vasariano: 0.7 mi
  • Giardino Corsi: 0.7 mi
  • Sinagoga di Firenze e Museo ebraico: 0.7 mi
  • Museo Galileo - Institute and Museum of the History of Science: 0.7 mi
  • Pitti Palace: 0.7 mi
  • Giardino Della Gherardesca: 0.8 mi
  • Boboli Gardens: 1 mi
  • Piazzale Michelangelo: 1.2 mi
  • Museo Stibbert: 1.3 mi
  • San Miniato Al Monte: 1.3 mi
  • Artemio Franchi Stadium: 1.3 mi
  • Basilica di San Miniato al Monte: 1.5 mi
  • Fiesole: 2.8 mi
  • Baptistry (Battistero): 43 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
10:30 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Kursaal and Ausonia Hotel Florence

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 20
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kursaal and Ausonia Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Claudia FRANKLIN
Single
Mexico
Jul 14, 2015

My trip to Florence

The hotel is well situated, the staff is nice and kind. But the worst thing is that in my bed I found some bedbugs, I took some photographs of the bed, the bugs and litle drops of my blood on the sheet......... it was so disgusting and very unconfortable to find these insects there...........

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Kursaal and Ausonia Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Claudia FRANKLIN
Single
Mexico
Jul 12, 2015

Hotel Kursaal in florence

I went to Florence to stay there 3 nights And to visit some nearby places! People working at front desk were kind and nice, specially the guy that works at night, but I was very disappointed because I found bedbugs in my bed....... He couldnt change me to another room so I spend 2 nights with this insects until next day the owner moved me to a very small room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Kursaal and Ausonia Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grakat
Family
Bellaire
May 14, 2015

comfy and convenient

Very comfortable accommodations within easy walking distance of all attractions. Nice sitting room and library with books to borrow in many languages. Breakfast offers many options and is plentiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Kursaal and Ausonia Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Terry Marie B
Family
Coopersburg
May 11, 2015

Maravigioso

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this tucked away hotel in Florence. We were at walking distance to all the beautiful sights this beautiful city has to offer and steps away from great eating places. The owners were a wonderful couple, very friendly and so helpful, so much so that the wife, Paola was the best tour guide. Guided Tours of Florence! We will definitely be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Kursaal and Ausonia Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
European Vacationers
Couples
Washington DC
Jan 2, 2014

Hotel is essentially a hostel

My fiancé and I were extremely dissatisfied with this hotel. It was difficult to find and once we finally arrived , we had to climb 5 flights of concrete stairs to find what was essentially a hostel. It looked like it hadn't been renovated in at least 30 years. The room was a decent size but the furniture was broken and falling apart. The bathroom was the worst. There was no real shower, ie the bathroom was the shower. We paid $165.00 euro a night and felt it was worth no more than $60-75 euro. While the staff was nice, we do not recommend anyone staying there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Kursaal and Ausonia Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mr. Mike and Mrs. Mary
Couples
Howell, MI
Oct 1, 2013

Awesome Hotel!

My wife and I stayed here and were immensely impressed with the hotel. The staff was very helpful and attentive. The rooms were extremely comfortable and spacious, especially for a European hotel. We stayed here on the second leg of our second trip to Italy and of all of our hotels, this was hands down, one of the best. The staff was very accommodating, and offered us help at every turn when we asked for it (spoke English, with WiFi, made reservations for us). Breakfast every morning was nice as it added value to the hotel itself and saved us a few Euro each day, which is always a nice bonus. The location was great as well as it was two blocks from Mercato Centrale and San Lorenzo, and just a few more blocks from Il Duomo and all of the main sites. When my wife and I make our next trip, we will definitely be booking here as we were 100% satisfied with our entire experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Swing into Mercato Centrale, grab some cheese (which they will cut for you), fresh bread, some olives and a bottle of wine and sit on any church steps. It will be an amazing lunch of great food and watching the world stroll by.

Review of Kursaal and Ausonia Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BBgirl
Family
Minneapolis, Mn
May 6, 2013

Clean and convenient, reasonable

This hotel is well located, clean and relatively reasonable, but the rooms are small and dark, the stairway very industrial and in general the staff was not helpful. The location was the main asset.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Kursaal and Ausonia Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gryphonisle
Couples
San Francisco
Nov 12, 2012

Great Location, Nice Room, Helpful and Informative Staff

The Kursaal and Ausonia hotel was a delightful spot from which to explore Florence, conveniently located to both the train and the sights, yet still fairly quiet. Our two night stay was in early November, so the weather was pleasant, but we still had to close the windows due to mosquitos, something that would be an issue in the hot days of summer, with no AC. The room was pleasantly if sparsely furnished; nice antique-feeling rustic wooden pieces, and a glazed tile floor, albeit with no carpet. What I didn't like was minor, but stupid enough to irritate. A double bed here is two twins under one sheet. Not comfortable if you aren't the couple who sleeps in the middle of your own space. The tiny, tiny, elevator probably explains this, but really: Carry a full size mattress up the stairs! The other irritant is what passes for WiFi. It's a deal at E15. for 30 days, but only until you use it. At times it leaps to a page with the alacrity we expect from the Web, then you go to another page and the server is lost because it takes so long to make the connection. Streaming? Ha! Either do away with the WiFi offer, or get a credible system, it's no amenity to have something that doesn't work. That said, the shower was comfortably sized, the water pressure and hot water fine and consistent. Walls are paper thin, which could be an issue but not when we were there. And, if you get a third floor room on the back (we had #15) you'll delight in a Hollywood-quality view of Il Duomo over the rooftops of the picturesque homes, below. We very much enjoyed our stay here and would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Kursaal and Ausonia Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
YoungCoup
Couples
New York
Jun 17, 2012

Great Time

The hotel was very easy to get to, only a 10 minute walk from SMN train station. We had to leave our stuff there but they were willing to accommodate our luggage and even put it in the room when it was ready as we were not going to be around at that time. the hotel was simple, but good. On a budget it is a highly recommended place to go. The service was good. the room was okay, the breakfast was alright. not a five start but definitely a decent place to crash for a few nights in Florence.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurant nearby called Brincello, a must try and a real authentic Tuscan meal. They barely speak English there.

Review of Kursaal and Ausonia Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dsmk
Couples
new york
May 3, 2012

great stay in florence

lovely little hotel and great service in walking distance to all historic sites. breakfast was great . small lounge for sitting and a lending library, staff very helpful and courteous

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

all kinds of eateries nearby for all budgets

Back to menu Return to top