$61 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 26, 2015

Kursaal and Ausonia Hotel Florence

3 stars
View map of Via Nazionale 24, Florence, 50123

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Kursaal and Ausonia Hotel Florence

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 20
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kursaal and Ausonia Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
prims79
Business
Princeton Junction, NJ
Oct 21, 2009

Great location at affordable price

The hotel staff was extremely polite and helpful. The location was perfect since it was close to all the tourist sights and train station. The breakfast buffet was okay - with not much selection. Although not fancy, the room was comfortable. Would definitely visit again and recommend to anyone looking for affordable hotel near the local attactions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kursaal and Ausonia Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Torc
Business
San Francisco, CA
Sep 30, 2009

Florence 23 September-29 September 2009

Typical size for a mid-budget Italian hotel. Traveling with my father, we stayed at six hotels in five Italian cities on this trip, all in roughly the same price range. At first they had us booked in a reasonably-sized double (one bed), but since I had requested two twins, they immediately moved us to a larger room with a double (two twins pushed together) and another bed against a different wall. This worked very well for us. Power outlets were abundant and the air conditioner, although noisy, didn't bother us. I have traveled a lot (usually on a tight budget) and have reasonable expectations for what a European hotel room and bathroom will look like. My dad has traveled very little and was on a larger budget with very American expectations. I was happy with just about everything; he was displeased with the size of the showers, condition and choice of the television, and the choices for breakfast (standard continental - again, something I was used to getting). The neighborhood is very noisy, but the double-paned glass does keep most of the sound out. The position of the TV is also pretty odd.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

A few public internet stores are a block away. Their rates were €1.50 per hour vs. €1 per 15 minutes at the hotel.

Review of Kursaal and Ausonia Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ulm, germany
May 16, 2010

Quite nice!

The hotel is conveniently located down a side street from the main train station. <10 minutes by foot to the train station and <20 to the Uffizi. It was easy to get to night-life scenes by foot in San Croce, but it was also far enough away from the Florence mayhem that one could get a good night's sleep! The Eco-friendly hotel was spotless, and the staff were simply wonderful, rates were reasonable, and they even had an Ubuntu Linux terminal available for people who didn't bring a laptop to use internet (for a small fee). The ONLY disappointment was the bathroom. It was very compact, consisting of a toilet, bidet, and sink. There was no tub, and not even a real shower, but a shower fixture hung above the toilet with a small drain just below. Worse, a small tilt in the floor made the drain not very effective during and after use. We checked in late at night found it required practice to not flood the entire bathroom after a short shower, but the staff was perfectly happy to mop up the floor late at night before we discovered a technique. Maybe that's their ploy for everyone to conserve more water! All in all it was quite a nice place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

I strongly recommend booking museum tickets (a necessity for the Uffizi) through their office. Don't spend an extra 10€ paying for the internet fee. A decent though quite large Italian restaurant, La Lampera, is only two blocks away (between the hotel and the train station), and unlike a lot of Florence, their prices are actually reasonable by european standards.

Review of Kursaal and Ausonia Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DIddy
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Sep 13, 2011

FLorence hotel

close to everything; staff very helpful. We had a large room with a balcony at the back of the building, but heard some guests say that the front rooms were noisy and some bathrooms were small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kursaal and Ausonia Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grakat
Business
Bellaire
May 14, 2015

comfy and convenient

Very comfortable accommodations within easy walking distance of all attractions. Nice sitting room and library with books to borrow in many languages. Breakfast offers many options and is plentiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kursaal and Ausonia Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bldbthmcg
Business
Newport News, VA, USA
May 1, 2012

Amazing Staff and Location

We chose the Hotel Kursaal Ausonia strictly on price, and jackpot! The staff was incredibly accommodating and gracious; thanks to you all for a great stay. Paola was wonderful, and, lucky for us, a licensed tour guide. If staying in Florence, you must ask Paola for a tour of the country homes of the Medicis. Also their tour, with Simone, of the Uffizi Gallery was great. The location is close to everything. And, those who have been to the city before can tell you how important this is: they have an elevator!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Shipping to our home from Bartoli's in the Central Market was a great experience. They were gracious and took their time to answer every question, and we could first sample everything before making decisions. The two year-old Pecorino will leave you speechless!

Review of Kursaal and Ausonia Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mr. Mike and Mrs. Mary
Business
Howell, MI
Oct 1, 2013

Awesome Hotel!

My wife and I stayed here and were immensely impressed with the hotel. The staff was very helpful and attentive. The rooms were extremely comfortable and spacious, especially for a European hotel. We stayed here on the second leg of our second trip to Italy and of all of our hotels, this was hands down, one of the best. The staff was very accommodating, and offered us help at every turn when we asked for it (spoke English, with WiFi, made reservations for us). Breakfast every morning was nice as it added value to the hotel itself and saved us a few Euro each day, which is always a nice bonus. The location was great as well as it was two blocks from Mercato Centrale and San Lorenzo, and just a few more blocks from Il Duomo and all of the main sites. When my wife and I make our next trip, we will definitely be booking here as we were 100% satisfied with our entire experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Swing into Mercato Centrale, grab some cheese (which they will cut for you), fresh bread, some olives and a bottle of wine and sit on any church steps. It will be an amazing lunch of great food and watching the world stroll by.

Review of Kursaal and Ausonia Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
1st time in Europe
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 28, 2009

Bigger & better than expected, with bath

Much nicer than we expected, as it was large, had a private bathroom (definitely a plus compared to other places we stayed), was kept clean, had big comfortable beds, had an in-room safe, offered a decent breakfast, and had friendly staff. Window was facing a busy(er) street, but it was cold and cloudy when we were there so the closed windows kept us from noticing. And while the TV only changed channels in one direction, we weren't there to watch more than the weather report in the morning news.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Florence has a small city center, so even the long walk to the train station and bus depot isn't too bad. There is an internet point across the street that was convenient but still cost a lot of euros. Be aware that the laundromat a block away charges 7 euros a load.

Review of Kursaal and Ausonia Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Katilee, world traveller
Business
Lincoln, NE
Jun 4, 2009

I would stay there again.

The staff were helpful, the rooms clean, the view of the Duomo amazing, breakfast included-that saves a few euro-, location closes enough to walk to all the sites!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is #24 in blue. Not red, which is a gelato stand.

Review of Kursaal and Ausonia Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Terry Marie B
Business
Coopersburg
May 11, 2015

Maravigioso

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this tucked away hotel in Florence. We were at walking distance to all the beautiful sights this beautiful city has to offer and steps away from great eating places. The owners were a wonderful couple, very friendly and so helpful, so much so that the wife, Paola was the best tour guide. Guided Tours of Florence! We will definitely be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top