$73 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 7, 2015 Check-out: Jun 8, 2015

Kursaal and Ausonia Hotel Florence

3 stars
View map of Via Nazionale 24, Florence, 50123

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Kursaal and Ausonia Hotel Florence

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 19
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kursaal and Ausonia Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DIddy
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Sep 13, 2011

FLorence hotel

close to everything; staff very helpful. We had a large room with a balcony at the back of the building, but heard some guests say that the front rooms were noisy and some bathrooms were small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kursaal and Ausonia Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Geneva Switzerland
Jun 29, 2010

great location and comfortable

A great location. A helpful staff. Comfortable rooms. No hot breakfast but continental breakfast acceptable for price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kursaal and Ausonia Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 15, 2010

A decent and affordable experience

For someone on a budget this hotel fit all my needs. The location was great to get around the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kursaal and Ausonia Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ulm, germany
May 16, 2010

Quite nice!

The hotel is conveniently located down a side street from the main train station. <10 minutes by foot to the train station and <20 to the Uffizi. It was easy to get to night-life scenes by foot in San Croce, but it was also far enough away from the Florence mayhem that one could get a good night's sleep! The Eco-friendly hotel was spotless, and the staff were simply wonderful, rates were reasonable, and they even had an Ubuntu Linux terminal available for people who didn't bring a laptop to use internet (for a small fee). The ONLY disappointment was the bathroom. It was very compact, consisting of a toilet, bidet, and sink. There was no tub, and not even a real shower, but a shower fixture hung above the toilet with a small drain just below. Worse, a small tilt in the floor made the drain not very effective during and after use. We checked in late at night found it required practice to not flood the entire bathroom after a short shower, but the staff was perfectly happy to mop up the floor late at night before we discovered a technique. Maybe that's their ploy for everyone to conserve more water! All in all it was quite a nice place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

I strongly recommend booking museum tickets (a necessity for the Uffizi) through their office. Don't spend an extra 10€ paying for the internet fee. A decent though quite large Italian restaurant, La Lampera, is only two blocks away (between the hotel and the train station), and unlike a lot of Florence, their prices are actually reasonable by european standards.

Review of Kursaal and Ausonia Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
1st time in Europe
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 28, 2009

Bigger & better than expected, with bath

Much nicer than we expected, as it was large, had a private bathroom (definitely a plus compared to other places we stayed), was kept clean, had big comfortable beds, had an in-room safe, offered a decent breakfast, and had friendly staff. Window was facing a busy(er) street, but it was cold and cloudy when we were there so the closed windows kept us from noticing. And while the TV only changed channels in one direction, we weren't there to watch more than the weather report in the morning news.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Florence has a small city center, so even the long walk to the train station and bus depot isn't too bad. There is an internet point across the street that was convenient but still cost a lot of euros. Be aware that the laundromat a block away charges 7 euros a load.

Review of Kursaal and Ausonia Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
prims79
Business
Princeton Junction, NJ
Oct 21, 2009

Great location at affordable price

The hotel staff was extremely polite and helpful. The location was perfect since it was close to all the tourist sights and train station. The breakfast buffet was okay - with not much selection. Although not fancy, the room was comfortable. Would definitely visit again and recommend to anyone looking for affordable hotel near the local attactions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kursaal and Ausonia Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Torc
Business
San Francisco, CA
Sep 30, 2009

Florence 23 September-29 September 2009

Typical size for a mid-budget Italian hotel. Traveling with my father, we stayed at six hotels in five Italian cities on this trip, all in roughly the same price range. At first they had us booked in a reasonably-sized double (one bed), but since I had requested two twins, they immediately moved us to a larger room with a double (two twins pushed together) and another bed against a different wall. This worked very well for us. Power outlets were abundant and the air conditioner, although noisy, didn't bother us. I have traveled a lot (usually on a tight budget) and have reasonable expectations for what a European hotel room and bathroom will look like. My dad has traveled very little and was on a larger budget with very American expectations. I was happy with just about everything; he was displeased with the size of the showers, condition and choice of the television, and the choices for breakfast (standard continental - again, something I was used to getting). The neighborhood is very noisy, but the double-paned glass does keep most of the sound out. The position of the TV is also pretty odd.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

A few public internet stores are a block away. Their rates were €1.50 per hour vs. €1 per 15 minutes at the hotel.

Review of Kursaal and Ausonia Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
boulder colorado
Jun 26, 2009

the nicest front desk staff in Florence!

This hotel, though not luxurious, is conveniently located and has the most helpful and friendly staff in Florence. We did not spend much time in our room, but when we did, it was cool and quiet and comfy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kursaal and Ausonia Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Katilee, world traveller
Business
Lincoln, NE
Jun 4, 2009

I would stay there again.

The staff were helpful, the rooms clean, the view of the Duomo amazing, breakfast included-that saves a few euro-, location closes enough to walk to all the sites!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is #24 in blue. Not red, which is a gelato stand.

Back to menu Return to top