$144 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 19, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

Grand Hotel Cavour Florence

4 stars
3 Via del Pronconsolo, Florence, 50122
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
15 reviews
Great for the first time visitor to Florence

Desk staff was an exceptional source of information and suggestions. Breakfast was very good.... See full review

  • GK KK
  • Oct 23, 2013
Perfect Location.

Clean room. Good service. Perfect Location. Yummy Breakfast. Good price. I can't ask for more. Only... See full review

  • kensolo
  • Sep 9, 2012
Florentine charm, Italian inspiration in Florence's city center
The charming Grand Hotel Cavour Florence occupies a historic building that dates back to 1280. It's the place where, according to rumor, the poet Dante met his beloved Beatrice. Rooms are decorated in contemporary style with soothing colors and furnishings, and an on-site spa is dedicated to the total rejuvenation of mind and spirit, a fitting transformation in the heart of this Renaissance city.
Highlights
  • Located in a 13th century building
  • Gym overlooks the façade of Palazzo dei Pazzi
  • Wellness spa complete with Turkish bath
Rooms

Rooms at the Grand Hotel Cavour Florence were renovated in 2006 in a classic style. They feature a warm palate of color-pleasing décor and furnishings along with a private bathroom adorned in a marble mosaic. Other additions include air conditioning, satellite TV, Wi-Fi (fees apply), direct dial telephone, mini-bar, tea- and coffee-making facilities, safe, and comprehensive toiletries kit.

Features

In a perfectly preserved 13th century building, just steps from the house where the masterful poet Dante once lived, the Grand Hotel Cavour is a welcome retreat for visitors. It offers the perfect blend of Florentine charm and Italian inspiration.

 

Rooms were completely renovated in 2006 and are smartly decorated in colors that resemble the Tuscan landscape, with all of the modern amenities one comes to expect from a legitimate four-star property.

 

An on-site spa is dedicated to the total rejuvenation of body and spirit. A frescoed room that overlooks the façade of Palazzo dei Pazzi provides a dramatic space for the basic-yet-functional hotel fitness room. A Turkish bath and cascade shower deliver a powerful, restorative cleansing, ensuring your visit is one of balance and harmony.

 

Finally, Angels Restaurant and Wine Bar is the perfect venue for sampling cuisine that incorporates local ingredients, along with an extensive collection of Tuscan wines.

Transportation
  • Florence Airport (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Santa Maria Novella train station (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
Attractions
  • Duomo and Baptistry (0.2 mi/240 m)
  • Uffizi Gallery (0.2 mi/240 m)
  • Ponte Vecchio (0.4 mi/700 m)
Business
  • Training center with two computer-equipped conference rooms
  • Arrangements with nearby auditorium for large functions

Grand Hotel Cavour Florence Rooms

STANDARD PLUS
Standard Plus Double are similar to the standard rooms but offer more space. Room with 1 Double bed or 2 Twin beds equipped with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Laundry service at cost, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Pay TV, Pay-per-view movies, Room service, Safe in room, Shaver in bathroom and Telephone.
STANDARD - ROOM
Standard Single Room with 1 Single bed equipped with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Laundry service at cost, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Pay TV, Pay-per-view movies, Room service, Safe in room, Shaver in bathroom and Telephone.
STANDARD - ROOM
Standard Double Room with 1 Double bed or 2 Twin beds equipped with Standard Single Room with 1 Single bed equipped with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Laundry service at cost, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Pay TV, Pay-per-view movies, Room service, Safe in room, Shaver in bathroom and Telephone.
STANDARD - TRIPLE
Standard Triple Room with 1 Double bed and 1 single bed or 3 Twin beds equipped with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Laundry service at cost, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Pay TV, Pay-per-view movies, Room service, Safe in room, Shaver in bathroom and Telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Hotel Cavour Florence also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

43.7703 11.2578
Area served
Florence.
Nearby airports
Amerigo Vespucci International Airport - Florence.
Area description
The Hotel is located right in the historic centre, near Piazza Duomo, at Via del Proconsolo 3.

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo Nazionale del Bargello (Bargello Museum): 0 mi
  • Piazza della Signoria: 0.1 mi
  • Palazzo Vecchio: 0.1 mi
  • Uffizi Gallery (Galleria degli Uffizi): 0.1 mi
  • Museo Galileo - Institute and Museum of the History of Science: 0.1 mi
  • Centro Storico: 0.2 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.2 mi
  • Corridoio Vasariano: 0.2 mi
  • Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto): 0.2 mi
  • Duomo Museum (Museo dell'Opera del Duomo): 0.2 mi
  • Piazza del Duomo: 0.2 mi
  • Duomo - Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore: 0.2 mi
  • Museo di Palazzo Davanzati: 0.3 mi
  • Pitti Palace: 0.3 mi
  • Laurentian Library (Biblioteca Medicea Laurenziana): 0.3 mi
  • Museo Nazionale del Bargello (Bargello Museum): 0 mi
  • Piazza della Signoria: 0.1 mi
  • Palazzo Vecchio: 0.1 mi
  • Uffizi Gallery (Galleria degli Uffizi): 0.1 mi
  • Museo Galileo - Institute and Museum of the History of Science: 0.1 mi
  • Centro Storico: 0.2 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.2 mi
  • Corridoio Vasariano: 0.2 mi
  • Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto): 0.2 mi
  • Duomo Museum (Museo dell'Opera del Duomo): 0.2 mi
  • Piazza del Duomo: 0.2 mi
  • Duomo - Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore: 0.2 mi
  • Museo di Palazzo Davanzati: 0.3 mi
  • Pitti Palace: 0.3 mi
  • Laurentian Library (Biblioteca Medicea Laurenziana): 0.3 mi
  • Santa Maria Novela Basilica: 0.4 mi
  • Medici Chapels (Cappelle Medicee): 0.4 mi
  • Sinagoga di Firenze e Museo ebraico: 0.4 mi
  • Basilica di San Lorenzo: 0.4 mi
  • Mercato Centrale: 0.5 mi
  • Galleria dell'Accademia: 0.5 mi
  • Church of Santa Maria Novella: 0.5 mi
  • Boboli Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • Museo di San Marco: 0.6 mi
  • Santa Maria Novella Train station: 0.6 mi
  • Piazzale Michelangelo: 0.6 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Croce: 0.6 mi
  • Piazza San Marco: 0.7 mi
  • Cimitero Delle Porte Sante: 0.7 mi
  • Basilica Of San Lorenzo: 0.8 mi
  • Basilica di San Miniato al Monte: 0.9 mi
  • Giardino Della Gherardesca: 0.9 mi
  • Giardino Corsi: 1.1 mi
  • Artemio Franchi Stadium: 1.3 mi
  • Museo Stibbert: 1.8 mi
  • Fiesole: 3.2 mi
  • Baptistry (Battistero): 43.2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Hotel possesses a new cutting edge training centre with 2 rooms for 10 to 60 people, equipped with computerized workstations, suitable for small meetings, seminars and training courses.

Dining

Angel Restaurant & Wine Bar
It's a spot where the past and present blend to create a unique ambiance which this invite you to try. The bar with tasty appetizers, aperitifs and cocktails is open from 6 p.m. to midnight. The restaurant offers a menu where traditional recipes have been reinterpreted to offer you brand new flavors and local products. It is open from 7:30 p.m. to 10:30 p.m. The Cantinetta is dedicated to wine, cheese and cured meat tasting and is open from 8 p.m. to midnight. Angels Restaurant & Wine Bar is closed on Sunday.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (15)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hotel Cavour Florence

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 15
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.9
Value:
3.1

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hotel Cavour Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Carlisle, Massachusetts
Apr 9, 2010

Perfectly suited to our needs

This hotel was situated in an ideal location for our three-day stay in Florence while visiting our daughter who was spending a semester abroad there. Our daughter was pleased that we picked a hotel that put us within an easy walk of just about everything we'd planned to do. While not flashy from the outside, we were very happy with our room accommodations. Our standard room on the 5th floor was spacious, quiet, and very clean. While the room interior was classic, with wood floors and lovely mouldings, the furnishings were more modern and updated. The bathroom appeared newly updated, with vessel sink and modern,stone-tiled shower with 1/2 glass door. The room was a pleasant mix of classic and modern. The bed was comfortable, with plenty of pillows and extra blankets. We found the front desk to be always cheerful and helpful with information. They called a cab for us and inquired about last-minute Easter dinner reservations, but we didn't ask them to get tickets for museums or other attractions. We did not have breakfast at the hotel but the buffet was set up beautifully, and one floor above was the rooftop terrace with fabulous 360 degree views. I think this hotel is a very good value for the location and comfort of the accommodations. I would certainly stay here again and would recommend it to my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Bargello Museum is literally steps away from this hotel. We were at the museum entrance by 8:15 AM and were first in line for tickets. No waiting! And a lovely museum!

Review of Grand Hotel Cavour Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Faraz
Karachi, Pakistan
Jun 5, 2010

Location plus comfort

Cant beat the location. Can almost touch the Duomo from roof-top terrace where you can enjoy evening coffee and also morning tea. Walk to uffizi and academia and hop-on hop-off stops. if you want pin drop silence in the room, its not for you. if you like people watching, great rooms facing street. sound proofing not that great though. internet in the lobby free with own computer but 5 euro per hour if lobby computer used. great breakfast on 6th floor. walk to railway station, very close and safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

dine at a close by restaurant in front of museum of sculpture near by (which remains open till midnight). sit outside and enjoy (may)

Review of Grand Hotel Cavour Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kensolo
Toronto
Sep 9, 2012

Perfect Location.

Clean room. Good service. Perfect Location. Yummy Breakfast. Good price. I can't ask for more. Only one issue: hot water will be hot right the way. The shower needed to run about 10 mins to be hot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grand Hotel Cavour Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Carlisle, Massachusetts
Apr 9, 2010

Perfectly suited to our needs

This hotel was situated in an ideal location for our three-day stay in Florence while visiting our daughter who was spending a semester abroad there. Our daughter was pleased that we picked a hotel that put us within an easy walk of just about everything we'd planned to do. While not flashy from the outside, we were very happy with our room accommodations. Our standard room on the 5th floor was spacious, quiet, and very clean. While the room interior was classic, with wood floors and lovely mouldings, the furnishings were more modern and updated. The bathroom appeared newly updated, with vessel sink and modern,stone-tiled shower with 1/2 glass door. The room was a pleasant mix of classic and modern. The bed was comfortable, with plenty of pillows and extra blankets. We found the front desk to be always cheerful and helpful with information. They called a cab for us and inquired about last-minute Easter dinner reservations, but we didn't ask them to get tickets for museums or other attractions. We did not have breakfast at the hotel but the buffet was set up beautifully, and one floor above was the rooftop terrace with fabulous 360 degree views. I think this hotel is a very good value for the location and comfort of the accommodations. I would certainly stay here again and would recommend it to my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Bargello Museum is literally steps away from this hotel. We were at the museum entrance by 8:15 AM and were first in line for tickets. No waiting! And a lovely museum!

Review of Grand Hotel Cavour Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GK KK
Orange County, NY
Oct 23, 2013

Great for the first time visitor to Florence

Desk staff was an exceptional source of information and suggestions. Breakfast was very good. Mattress- fair. Within reasonable walking distance to all points of interest and shopping areas

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Hang a right out the door and a right at the first corner. 4 blocks you are at the firsts group of cart vendors. Turn left and go another 4 blocks to the next group of cart vendors

Review of Grand Hotel Cavour Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Faraz
Karachi, Pakistan
Jun 5, 2010

Location plus comfort

Cant beat the location. Can almost touch the Duomo from roof-top terrace where you can enjoy evening coffee and also morning tea. Walk to uffizi and academia and hop-on hop-off stops. if you want pin drop silence in the room, its not for you. if you like people watching, great rooms facing street. sound proofing not that great though. internet in the lobby free with own computer but 5 euro per hour if lobby computer used. great breakfast on 6th floor. walk to railway station, very close and safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

dine at a close by restaurant in front of museum of sculpture near by (which remains open till midnight). sit outside and enjoy (may)

Review of Grand Hotel Cavour Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lupino
London UK
Jun 1, 2010

Dotti Weekend

The bed was so hard and the pillows like sandbags. For 2 pepople thebed was also very small. I didn;t sleep either of the two nights I spent there. I would not go back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Da Lino - great tratoria - simple but high quality.

Review of Grand Hotel Cavour Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Jersey
Sep 25, 2009

Great location

The location of the hotel was excellent for seeing the most popular sights in Florence, i.e., Duomo, Medici chapel, the Uffizzi, Ponte Vechio and Academia. Also a great location for views, dining and shopping. While disappointed in the room because of the tiny shower and the outside noise, I believe that a room on a higher floor would help with the noise and not all rooms have the tiny shower. Unfortunately there were no others available for my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Grand Hotel Cavour Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lupino
London UK
Jun 1, 2010

Dotti Weekend

The bed was so hard and the pillows like sandbags. For 2 pepople thebed was also very small. I didn;t sleep either of the two nights I spent there. I would not go back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Da Lino - great tratoria - simple but high quality.

Review of Grand Hotel Cavour Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Italy
Feb 15, 2011

Great location, rooms decent

The hotel location was excellent; being right by the duomo was very nice. The hotel staff was also very nice and helpful. The rooms and parking weren't as nice. The rooms were nothing like the pictures. I had a room on the first floor that was not nice and looked nothing like the pictures on the website. The bathroom was old and not updated, yet the pictures on their website made it look much much nicer than it was. Maybe the first floor is their redheaded step-child floor, but it is definitely nothing like the pictures on the website. The hotel lobby is super nice, and if they would just update their rooms this could be a 5 star hotel (or even a real 4 star). However, this is a typical European hotel, nothing more and nothing less. Based on the pictures I was expecting much more. Also, we drove there and it is quite stressful getting to the hotel. It was very nice to be able to pull directly up to the hotel, but probably not worth the stress of driving downtown. Once it came time to get our car after check out, it took about 40 minutes for our car to arrive (they park it at some remote location). They made us pay in front of the hotel and then walk to our car further down the street (which worried me since I wouldn't be able to inspect the car in front of them). There was a scratch and a lot of paint that had been chipped off of our front bumper (it's going to cost a few hundred dollars to repaint and repair). I looked for the parking attendant but he was long gone and it wasn't worth our time to even figure out what to do (especially since I am sure they wouldn't do anything to repair it). Overall, it was a nice hotel and I would still recommend people to stay there, but don't expect what you see in the pictures and don't drive to the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top