$136 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2014 Check-out: Apr 21, 2014

Grand Hotel Adriatico Florence

4 stars
Via Maso Finiguerra, 9, Florence, 50123
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
21 reviews
Great stay

The location was a quick 10 minute walk from the main sites. The hotel was well-appointed. Only... See full review

  • nyctravel
  • Sep 23, 2013
Ideal location for exploring Florence

We had a lovely stay and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was a lovely... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Sep 16, 2013
Clean, contemporary luxury and comfort in the heart of Florence
The smart, elegant Grand Hotel Adriatico provides an ideal base from which to explore all of Florence's treasures, including the Duomo, Ponte Vecchio and famous shopping streets. This four-star property features two restaurants, a bar, garden, and parking area (fees apply). Business travelers stay productive with Wi-Fi connections in common areas and meeting rooms.
Highlights
  • Prime location in the heart of Florence's historic center
  • Parking area (at cost)
  • Indoor garden, the ideal setting for breakfast or cocktails
Rooms

Rooms reflect the Grand Hotel Adriatico's four-star stature. Find contemporary furnishings adorned in warm, soothing colors and fabrics. Other additions include parquet flooring, bathrooms with radio and telephone, air conditioning, telephone, Internet (fees apply), satellite TV with pay-per-view, mini-bar, electronic safe, trouser press, and deluxe toiletries.

Features
In the heart of historic Florence, a short walk from most of the city's cultural highlights, lies the Grand Hotel Adriatico. This clean, polished four-star hotel is a favorite among international clientele for its consistent hospitality and comforts. Rooms include contemporary furnishings in warm colors and soothing fabrics create a welcome retreat for the weariest traveler.

Two on-site restaurants and a bar cater to every whim and occasion, while a well-tended garden serves as the ideal venue (weather permitting) for breakfast or cocktails.

The hotel's extensive meeting facilities accommodate events for up to 450 people, with a range of business services. The hotel provides complimentary access to a nearby fitness center (100 meters) for all guests, a welcome convenience for those seeking to maintain their customary fitness routine.
Transportation
  • Florence Airport (4.6 mi/7.5 km)
  • Santa Maria Novella train station (0.4 mi/550 m)
Attractions
  • Piazza del Duomo (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Galleria degli Uffizi (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Ponte Vecchio (0.6 mi /1 km)
Business
  • 9 meeting rooms accommodating up to 450 people
  • Extensive audio-visual equipment available (fees apply)
  • Secretary and translation services (fees apply)

Grand Hotel Adriatico Florence Rooms

Double/Twin
Room offers a double bed or a twin bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, balcony/terrace, bathrobe, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron/ironing board, mini bar, non smoking rooms, pay-per-view-movies, radio, room service, safe in room, tea and coffee making facilities, valet services and voicemail.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Room service
Services
Business center
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Hotel Adriatico Florence also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

43.7734 11.2446
Area served
Florence.
Nearby airports
Galileo Galei Pisa International Airport.
Area description
Amongst Florence's 4 star hotels, Best Western Grand Hotel Adriatico is in an absolutely privileged position: 300 meters from the Santa Maria Novella train station and from shuttle bus terminals for Florence's airport, 300 meters from the monument of Santa Maria Novella and the Museo Nazionale della Fotografia Alinari (Alinari National Photograph Museum). A 10 minute walk from the hotel takes you to the Duomo, Ponte Vecchio, Piazza della Signoria ect., and to the famous shopping streets (via Tornabuoni, Borgognissanti, via della Vigna Nuova ect.). The Palazzo degli Affari, Centro Congressi (Congress Center) and the Fortezza da Basso are only 500 meters away from the hotel.

Nearby points of interest

  • Santa Maria Novella Train station: 0.2 mi
  • Church of Santa Maria Novella: 0.3 mi
  • Santa Maria Novela Basilica: 0.4 mi
  • Museo di Palazzo Davanzati: 0.4 mi
  • Basilica di San Lorenzo: 0.5 mi
  • Medici Chapels (Cappelle Medicee): 0.5 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.5 mi
  • Giardino Corsi: 0.5 mi
  • Laurentian Library (Biblioteca Medicea Laurenziana): 0.5 mi
  • Basilica Of San Lorenzo: 0.5 mi
  • Pitti Palace: 0.5 mi
  • Mercato Centrale: 0.5 mi
  • Centro Storico: 0.5 mi
  • Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto): 0.6 mi
  • Piazza del Duomo: 0.6 mi
  • Santa Maria Novella Train station: 0.2 mi
  • Church of Santa Maria Novella: 0.3 mi
  • Santa Maria Novela Basilica: 0.4 mi
  • Museo di Palazzo Davanzati: 0.4 mi
  • Basilica di San Lorenzo: 0.5 mi
  • Medici Chapels (Cappelle Medicee): 0.5 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.5 mi
  • Giardino Corsi: 0.5 mi
  • Laurentian Library (Biblioteca Medicea Laurenziana): 0.5 mi
  • Basilica Of San Lorenzo: 0.5 mi
  • Pitti Palace: 0.5 mi
  • Mercato Centrale: 0.5 mi
  • Centro Storico: 0.5 mi
  • Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto): 0.6 mi
  • Piazza del Duomo: 0.6 mi
  • Corridoio Vasariano: 0.6 mi
  • Duomo - Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore: 0.6 mi
  • Piazza della Signoria: 0.6 mi
  • Duomo Museum (Museo dell'Opera del Duomo): 0.6 mi
  • Boboli Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • Uffizi Gallery (Galleria degli Uffizi): 0.6 mi
  • Museo Galileo - Institute and Museum of the History of Science: 0.7 mi
  • Museo Nazionale del Bargello (Bargello Museum): 0.7 mi
  • Galleria dell'Accademia: 0.8 mi
  • Palazzo Vecchio: 0.8 mi
  • Museo di San Marco: 0.8 mi
  • Piazza San Marco: 0.9 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Croce: 0.9 mi
  • Sinagoga di Firenze e Museo ebraico: 1 mi
  • Cimitero Delle Porte Sante: 1.2 mi
  • Piazzale Michelangelo: 1.2 mi
  • Giardino Della Gherardesca: 1.3 mi
  • Basilica di San Miniato al Monte: 1.5 mi
  • Museo Stibbert: 1.7 mi
  • Artemio Franchi Stadium: 1.8 mi
  • Fiesole: 3.4 mi
  • Baptistry (Battistero): 42.5 mi

Dining

Bar
Pleasant meeting point for the hotel's guests, the Vespucci is a bar that offers cocktails and drinks prepared by the barman along with small snacks and typical Italian caffetteria (espresso coffee, cappuccino, ect.).
Restauarnt
The restaurant "L'Opera" is exclusively for guests staying at the Best Western Grand Hotel Adriatico and the restaurant La Vela is open to external clients, groups, business lunches and dinners held in a hotel in Florence . Just like in the best 4 star hotels in Florence, both restaurants offer international and classic Italian dishes along with typical traditional Florentine and Tuscan dishes. Guests with particular needs (diets, vegetarian, ect.) may find suitable dishes on the menu that best fits their requirements. A wide selection of Chianti and other regional Italian wines complete the food and beverage services of Best Western Grand Hotel Adriatico.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (21)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hotel Adriatico Florence

Overall score

3.8 / 5
21 out of 21
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hotel Adriatico Florence

Reviewer score

4
PshrynkingEgo
San Luis Obispo
Aug 25, 2012

Conveniently located, walking distance to everything

We initially chose this hotel thinking that we would be driving, so were very pleased to find that it was also very close (walking distance) to the Firenze SMN train station. This is a Best Western Hotel, which is located about 1 block from the Arno. It is a short distance from Ponte Vecchio, The duomo, Palazzo Pitti and the Boboli Gardens. The centrale market for shopping for leather goods. Everything within easy walking distance. A nice breakfast was included, with cappuccino. Fruits, breads, cheeses, hams, tarts, etc... The room included a nice size tub with shower, great for soaking after a day in the grueling 100 degree temperatures. The air conditioning was greatly appreciated. WiFi could be purchased in the lobby for a fee or in the room there was another arrangement that wasn't WiFi but wouldn't work with my iPad, so to the lobby, I went! Unfortunately, this meant limited privacy for Skype calls. Overall, the hotel was clean and comfortable, convenient to everything. A bonus for us was that it did have a laundry right next door (although you will pay dearly for allowing the little man who hangs out there help you, besides the fact that he will throw all of your linen in the dryer when you are not looking, he will also add a significant percentage onto your bill for helping you out. I am sure the Italians know how to argue with him better than we did.) Another couple of bonuses were the little market next door where we could get our water for the next day in advance and cool it in our mini-fridge for the days travels. A little grocer in the other direction had great deli selections and fruit, another half block had a great selection of gourmet items and wines.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Trattoria de Armando... Is a short block away on Borgo Ognissanti heading away from Ponte Vecchio. The owner is a gem! The restaurant has been around since 1957 and has been frequented by famous dancers, actors, singers whose photos line the walls. The food is well prepared and original Tuscan flavors! The tomatoes in this region just pop with flavor, so try the Panzanella. If you are a tripe lover, my partner swears it was the best he ever ate. Everything we tried was delicious and wonderful!

Review of Grand Hotel Adriatico Florence

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Boston MA
Apr 19, 2010

very good hotel!!!

We spent three night at the hotel and were extremely satisfied of the room decor and service. The location (near to the train station) was perfect for us and the hotel even have a free parking lot (but make sure to arrive early in the morning, as spots fill up quickly). They have a great free breakfast buffet as well. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. We definitely recommend it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grand Hotel Adriatico Florence

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Miami,fl
May 21, 2009

Surprisingly, very charming!

Hotel was very charming, clean, excellent staff. Thankyou. Location was great, but neighborhood was a little low scale, but very safe no problems.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Depending were you are walking to , you short or long walks,all with no problems.

Review of Grand Hotel Adriatico Florence

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Ocala, FL
May 12, 2011

Very nice hotel

We were very glad we chose this hotel. The desk staff was very courteous and helpful. Our room was clean, comfortable and nicely decorated and was very spacious for a European room. The bathroom was also roomy and modern with big,soft towels. My only complaint about the room is that the mattress was very hard but this seems to be the norm in Italy. I guess they just like extra firm mattresses. The complimentary breakfast was very good with plenty of food choices including fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, cheeses and other "heartier" items. They also have a nice lobby area with comfy chairs and sofas for reading and relaxing. The Adriatico is located within walking distance of the train station. Close enough that you can walk it even when pulling a suitcase. It is centrally located to many of the "must see" sights in Florence with lots of restaurants and bars close by. It was a little noisy the first night since it was the night the street cleaners came through. Although the air conditioning was not running yet the weather in early May is still cool and we were very comfortable, we even needed a blanket at night. I highly recommend this hotel and if we ever get a chance to go to Florence again we'll stay at the Adriatico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Accademia Gallery & Uffizi Gallery

Review of Grand Hotel Adriatico Florence

Reviewer score

4
PshrynkingEgo
San Luis Obispo
Aug 25, 2012

Conveniently located, walking distance to everything

We initially chose this hotel thinking that we would be driving, so were very pleased to find that it was also very close (walking distance) to the Firenze SMN train station. This is a Best Western Hotel, which is located about 1 block from the Arno. It is a short distance from Ponte Vecchio, The duomo, Palazzo Pitti and the Boboli Gardens. The centrale market for shopping for leather goods. Everything within easy walking distance. A nice breakfast was included, with cappuccino. Fruits, breads, cheeses, hams, tarts, etc... The room included a nice size tub with shower, great for soaking after a day in the grueling 100 degree temperatures. The air conditioning was greatly appreciated. WiFi could be purchased in the lobby for a fee or in the room there was another arrangement that wasn't WiFi but wouldn't work with my iPad, so to the lobby, I went! Unfortunately, this meant limited privacy for Skype calls. Overall, the hotel was clean and comfortable, convenient to everything. A bonus for us was that it did have a laundry right next door (although you will pay dearly for allowing the little man who hangs out there help you, besides the fact that he will throw all of your linen in the dryer when you are not looking, he will also add a significant percentage onto your bill for helping you out. I am sure the Italians know how to argue with him better than we did.) Another couple of bonuses were the little market next door where we could get our water for the next day in advance and cool it in our mini-fridge for the days travels. A little grocer in the other direction had great deli selections and fruit, another half block had a great selection of gourmet items and wines.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Trattoria de Armando... Is a short block away on Borgo Ognissanti heading away from Ponte Vecchio. The owner is a gem! The restaurant has been around since 1957 and has been frequented by famous dancers, actors, singers whose photos line the walls. The food is well prepared and original Tuscan flavors! The tomatoes in this region just pop with flavor, so try the Panzanella. If you are a tripe lover, my partner swears it was the best he ever ate. Everything we tried was delicious and wonderful!

Review of Grand Hotel Adriatico Florence

Reviewer score

4
ChuckE
Egypt
Jun 21, 2012

Excellent rooms and value for money

The rooms are perfectly furnished with all the 5* amenities; very modern and new. The location is good given the proximity to the station, but u still have to walk ~10-15 min to get to the center where the action is. Overall, this hotel was great value for money!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Grand Hotel Adriatico Florence

Reviewer score

4
ReynoldYang
Shanghai, China
Jun 4, 2013

Good place and convenient location

Everything is perfect here! Very near the terminal and bus station

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Grand Hotel Adriatico Florence

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Omaha, NE
Apr 25, 2010

Will stay again

Nice hotel close to the SMN railway station. Responsive staff. Clean bathrooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Grand Hotel Adriatico Florence

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Norwich England
Sep 16, 2013

Ideal location for exploring Florence

We had a lovely stay and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was a lovely comfortable experience and always a friendly welcome from the waiters. Its very clean and the bedrooms well furnished. My daughter and myself had a four night break and had a fabulous time in Florence. The beds were surprisingly comfortable and we slept very well (although the wine may have helped!) We would certainly return if we were to visit Florence again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

we went at the end of August - beginning of September and the weather was fantastic, Ideal for sightseeing (not too hot).Try a tour in the Chianti region with some wine tasting its a good day out!

Review of Grand Hotel Adriatico Florence

Reviewer score

4
itchy feet
north Georgia
Nov 7, 2011

nice hotel

It doesn't look like much from the outside, but once inside it is a grand old hotel. Its a little past its prime but clean and comfortable. Staff is friendly and helpful. The included breakfast buffet is excellent. The location is great. Walking distance to the river, consulate, train station and car rentals. I would stay there again if in Florence. There is a very nice local restaurant across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

good local restaurant across the street from hotel. Don't eat anywhere near the Ponte Vechio. Its strictly for tourists and food isn't good.

Review of Grand Hotel Adriatico Florence

Reviewer score

4
Alison
Angus, Scotland
Jun 20, 2012

Good overnight stay

Hotel is very centrally located only 5 minutes from Santa Maria Novella station. Staff were friendly and helpful, giving advice on local restaurants and location of car hire. Room reasonable size and very clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very central location for all amenities.

Back to menu Return to top