$75 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 7, 2015 Check-out: Jan 8, 2015

Globus Hotel Florence

3 stars
Via San Antonino 24, Florence, 50123
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
67 reviews
Great place to stay in Florence

This hotel is very well located. Staff is friendly and helpful. We enjoyed breakfast and wifi. We... See full review

  • travel lightly
  • Nov 30, 2014
Wow! Excellent room for an excellent value!

For the price, I wasn't expecting too much, but I was very impressed! The room was small, but very... See full review

  • jjbean4000
  • May 4, 2014
Contemporary style, down-home comfort in Historic City Center
Contemporary styling meets down-home comfort in this centrally located hotel just steps away from the Church of Saint Laurence. A professional, attentive staff welcomes guests with an intimacy and restrained focus that's seamless and polished, a geniality that resonates well among both leisure and business travelers. Rooms at the Globus Hotel Florence are well appointed and include every modern amenity, and an ample buffet breakfast starts everyone's day just right.
Highlights
  • 18th century building in the heart of Florence's historic center
  • Uniquely designed public areas with mahogany furniture and contemporary art
  • Pampering staff that delivers a memorable guest experience
Rooms

The 23 rooms at the Globus Hotel Florence feature dark wood furniture and upscale amenities, conveying both comfort and convenience. Appropriate for both business and leisure travelers, rooms accommodate up to four people, with some offering surreal views over the Medicean Chapels. Room additions include direct-dial telephone, Wi-Fi, LCD/plasma satellite TV with pay-per-view, mini-bar, and air conditioning. Superior rooms come equipped with a personal laptop (for in-room use) and complimentary mini-bar non-alcoholic beverages.

Features

Just steps away from the main train station and the Church of Saint Lawrence, the Globus Hotel Florence is a stylish, boutique hotel whose attentive staff delivers a personalized experience that belies the hotel's city center location.

The hotel's 18th century building blends seamlessly with its sophisticated interior. Rich, mahogany furniture and walls filled with smart, modern works of art adorn the public areas.

Rooms at the Hotel Globus Florence feature upscale amenities and an atmosphere of comfort and elegance. And a sumptuous buffet breakfast greets guests each morning in the hotel bar, the ideal rendezvous point from which to plan the day's activities.

The hotel maintains comprehensive concierge services and a car rental desk. Parking is available nearby for a fee.

Transportation
  • Florence Airport (5 mi/8 km)
  • Santa Maria Novella train station (0.3 mi/450 m)
Attractions
  • Church of Saint Lawrence (66 ft/20 m)
  • Church of Santa Maria Novella (656 ft/200 m)
  • Duomo and Baptistry (984 ft/300 m)
  • Uffizi Gallery (0.62 mi/1 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Airport and train station transfers (fees apply)
  • Car rental desk
  • Concierge

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Globus Hotel Florence also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Globus Hotel Florence Rooms

Economic Twin Room
simple 10 sq meters twin room,street view, yet equipped with all the comforts, this is the perfect accommodation for those who are planning to dedicate the entire day to discovering Florence. Room offers air conditioning, cable satellite SKY TV, color TV, ensuite / private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, non-smoking rooms, safe in room and telephone.
Standard Double Room
a medium-sized room featuring private bathroom with shower, the standard room is ideal both for leisure and business travellers. Some of these rooms also offer a partial view over Florence rooftops and the Medici Chapels. The bedding option for the room is one double bed or one twin bed. Room offers air conditioning, cable SKY TV, color TV, ensuite / private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, non-smoking rooms, safe in room and telephone.
Superior Double Room
the largest rooms, featuring private bathroom with shower or bathtube offering additional comforts and facilities such as LCD-screen TV, personal laptop, Some with pleasant views over Florence rooftops and the Medici Chapels. The bedding option for the room is one double bed or one twin bed. Room offers air conditioning, cable SKY TV, color TV, ensuite / private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, non-smoking rooms, safe in room and telephone.
Superior Triple Room
the largest rooms, featuring private bathroom with shower or bathtube offering additional comforts and facilities such as LCD-screen TV, personal laptop, Some with pleasant views over Florence rooftops and the Medici Chapels. The bedding option for the room is one double bed or one twin bed. Room offers air conditioning, cable SKY TV, color TV, ensuite / private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, non-smoking rooms, safe in room and telephone.
Superior Quadrupal Room
the largest rooms, featuring private bathroom with shower or bathtube offering additional comforts and facilities such as LCD-screen TV, personal laptop. Some with pleasant views over Florence rooftops and the Medici Chapels. The bedding option for the room is one double bed or one twin bed. Room offers air conditioning, cable SKY TV, color TV, ensuite / private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, non-smoking rooms, safe in room and telephone.
Standard Single Room
Room 9 square metres, the bedding option for the room is one french bed 120 cm. Room offers air conditioning, cable SKY TV, color TV, ensuite / private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, non-smoking rooms, safe in room and telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Basilica di San Lorenzo: 0.1 mi
  • Medici Chapels (Cappelle Medicee): 0.1 mi
  • Mercato Centrale: 0.1 mi
  • Church of Santa Maria Novella: 0.1 mi
  • Laurentian Library (Biblioteca Medicea Laurenziana): 0.2 mi
  • Santa Maria Novella Train station: 0.2 mi
  • Piazza del Duomo: 0.2 mi
  • Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto): 0.2 mi
  • Duomo - Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore: 0.3 mi
  • Duomo Museum (Museo dell'Opera del Duomo): 0.3 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.3 mi
  • Centro Storico: 0.3 mi
  • Basilica Of San Lorenzo: 0.3 mi
  • Museo di Palazzo Davanzati: 0.3 mi
  • Galleria dell'Accademia: 0.4 mi
  • Basilica di San Lorenzo: 0.1 mi
  • Medici Chapels (Cappelle Medicee): 0.1 mi
  • Mercato Centrale: 0.1 mi
  • Church of Santa Maria Novella: 0.1 mi
  • Laurentian Library (Biblioteca Medicea Laurenziana): 0.2 mi
  • Santa Maria Novella Train station: 0.2 mi
  • Piazza del Duomo: 0.2 mi
  • Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto): 0.2 mi
  • Duomo - Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore: 0.3 mi
  • Duomo Museum (Museo dell'Opera del Duomo): 0.3 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.3 mi
  • Centro Storico: 0.3 mi
  • Basilica Of San Lorenzo: 0.3 mi
  • Museo di Palazzo Davanzati: 0.3 mi
  • Galleria dell'Accademia: 0.4 mi
  • Museo di San Marco: 0.4 mi
  • Santa Maria Novela Basilica: 0.4 mi
  • Piazza della Signoria: 0.4 mi
  • Museo Nazionale del Bargello (Bargello Museum): 0.4 mi
  • Piazza San Marco: 0.5 mi
  • Corridoio Vasariano: 0.5 mi
  • Uffizi Gallery (Galleria degli Uffizi): 0.5 mi
  • Pitti Palace: 0.5 mi
  • Museo Galileo - Institute and Museum of the History of Science: 0.5 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Croce: 0.5 mi
  • Palazzo Vecchio: 0.6 mi
  • Giardino Corsi: 0.7 mi
  • Sinagoga di Firenze e Museo ebraico: 0.7 mi
  • Boboli Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Giardino Della Gherardesca: 0.9 mi
  • Piazzale Michelangelo: 1 mi
  • Cimitero Delle Porte Sante: 1.2 mi
  • Basilica di San Miniato al Monte: 1.3 mi
  • Artemio Franchi Stadium: 1.4 mi
  • Museo Stibbert: 1.5 mi
  • Fiesole: 3 mi
  • Baptistry (Battistero): 42.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (67)

Ratings and reviews for Globus Hotel Florence

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
67 out of 67
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Globus Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Downey, CA
Aug 30, 2009

Great Place

The staff was excellent and so helpful. The location is great for access to top sights and shopping. The room was great for a family of 4 and VERY quiet. The breakfast was well done in a cozy room with personal service. It was a little hard to find by car because the GPS wanted to take us down roads that were pedestrian only. Parking is expensive (~35 Euros/day) in Florence but there was a nearby garage that was discounted (24 Euros/day) for Globus Hotel guests. All around, the Globus Hotel is an excellent stay at a reasonable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Many restaurants and most attractions did NOT accept Visa or American Express so have lots of cash on hand; almost all street vendors did accept credit cards though. One garage took credit cards, the other did not so ask before parking if short on cash.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Globus Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Volpe
Business
Annapolis, MD
Oct 21, 2011

Great Hotel for Florence

This small hotel is close to the train station and right in the center. 2 min from San Lorenzo and 5 min from Il Doumo. The street is pedestrian only so it is very quite at night. Our room faced the street and we had no problems with noise. The room was comfortable and the wireless worked fine unlike some 4 star places we stayed in in Rome. The staff were super friendly and went out of their way for us. We would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Globus Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
florence trip
Business
Florence, Italy
Nov 11, 2011

the Wonderful "Globus Hotel"

This was one of the BEST experiences we have ever had during a hotel stay (and I was employed with Marriott Intl for 23 years) the staff was outstanding! everyone made sure that all of our needs were met, the entire staff speak english, so that was very helpful during our 2 week stay! Floerence is a spectacular city and the staff at the Globus Hotel made our visit even more spectacular!! We can't wait to return!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The museums and history in this city is incredable!! try to go into every Church that you walk by, because the art work and history are unforgetable!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Globus Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
chiara
Business
Oswego, NY
Dec 1, 2011

2011 november trip to Italy

Great hotel. The location was perfect for me. I liked that they were open all the time and kept the key for the room at the hotel. I did not have to worry about loosing the key.Very safe area. Hotel staff was wonderful and very friendly. The breakfast was great. I loved being able to order a cappucino every morning .My room was small, but just right for me. It was very clean and there is a refrigerator with drinks in it. Having the TV was great. I watched all these old old american programs in italian.Able to easily set up wake-up calls. Great shower in small bathroom. No bathmat for shower, Have to step up and be careful to get into shower and not slip. Perfect hotel and good price. I was very happy with my choice. Hotel is located on side street with no car access, so have to walk a half a block from taxi drop off. Taxi from airport is sooo easy to this hotel. definitely worth getting taxi from cheap tickets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Duomo, Piazza Republica, lots of restaurants, San Lorenzo leather market and food market is right next to this hotel. You have to go to the food market and eat in one of the small restaurants. yum. Right next to hotel is small asian market with wine, food etc. very convienent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Globus Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
b4 its 2 late
Business
Bloomfield, MI, USA
Feb 23, 2012

Fabulous Hotel in the hear of Florence!

This was a wonderful hotel that was close to the train station and every site we wanted to see in Florence. With my wife and 2 kids it was nice to stop back at the hotel before going to the next fabulous site! Room was great for four. We had a Quad. Coffee/Tea available our entire stay and a good breakfast buffet to get our day started. Wonderful staff. We loved this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Globus Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
travelling w mom and aunt
Business
Astoria NY
Aug 1, 2012

Great hotel Great Price Great deal

This is a great place. Conveniently located, clean hotel, definetely a must.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Train station

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Globus Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joeat
Business
Marietta, GA
Jun 13, 2012

Great value

For the price, you can hardly do better. The staff was the best part--uniformly cheerful and helpful. And patient--I was in the lobby a lot and some of those American tourists made ME want to strangle them, and I was just listening to them. Location is very convenient, convenient to the train station but not so close that it has that cheap "train-station-neighborhood" atmosphere. It's a block from the Medici tombs in San Lorenzo. I had a teeny-tiny single, but spotless and comfortable. My only issue was the internet stopped working on my floor after the first day, and the only way I could use it was by logging onto a specific router in the lobby. They were still trying to figure it out when I left.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bella Mia Gelato in the little piazza by the Medici tombs was good and the ladies were sweet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Globus Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
afwifefromparadise
Business
Honolulu, HI
Jan 6, 2013

Great value!

Hotel Globus is an ideal hotel for those who travel by train with limited budget but who also wants great value for the price. I am a thirty-yo female solo traveler whose priority was safe and convenient location. Though located in a narrow alley (which is by the way very prevalent in any Italian city and "a dark narrow alley doesn't automatically mean critically dangerous,) I felt adequately safe walking from/to hotel from early in the morning (7-8 AM) till late evening (9 PM). The central market was literally steps from the hotel and so as the street vendors.. Other major attractions including the Duomo, the Academia, the Arno River and the Uffizi are all within walking distance (20 min. MAX). As to the hotel itself, I thought this hotel was incredible and great value for the price. My room was small but sufficiently roomy. It had everything I needed. I took a day trip to Firenze out of Pisa so I only had a backpack. A large enough closet, a comfortable bed, a small fridge, a TV (with Sky), a tiny desk... Just enough to have a comfortable sleep. The shower was small too but why need a gigantic bathtub when all you want to do in Firenze is to tour all the amazing sites and eat the best Trippa!! I really loved their decor also. It was chic, modern, and simple. Their free breakfast was continental buffet style which had croissants, boiled eggs, ham, yogurts, fruits, cereals, toasts, and of course made-to-order cafe, cappuccino, or whatever your favorite Italian coffee. Hotel staff were very courteous and helpful. They will gladly help you with any question you may have to the best of their ability. If you're English speaker, yes they speak perfect English. One more thing about the hotel, the entrance is very small and can be hard to find especially since the reception desk is not located on the ground floor but on the first floor (meaning you have to go up a flight of stairs.) There is no elevator, but you can use a lift for your large luggage. In conclusion, if you want to experience a luxury hotel stay or you're claustrophobic, Globus isn't the place for you. But if you need a clean and cozy hotel with amazing hospitality with tight budget and itinerary, look no further. You just found the perfect hotel to compliment your bound-to-be unforgettable stay in Firenze. I am already planning for my next visit to Firenze and I know I will stay at Globus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Globus Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jjbean4000
Business
Washington, DC
May 4, 2014

Wow! Excellent room for an excellent value!

For the price, I wasn't expecting too much, but I was very impressed! The room was small, but very comfortable and very clean. The staff was one of the most friendly of all of the hotels we stayed in. We would ABSOLUTELY stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Globus Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Compass Rose
Business
Bronx, New York
Apr 5, 2010

Cozy Hotel in the Heart of Florence

This great little hotel had the friendliest, most helpful staff, provided a bountiful breakfast, and was the only hotel that we stayed in during our two-week trip through Italy that provided coffee, tea, and sweet treats in the lobby throughout the day. Our room even came with a small balcony with table and 2 chairs, opening onto the rear of a church dome and bell tower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is located a short walk to the Duomo, the train station and great shops and restaurants. In particular, it is situated within walking distance to two great restaurants offering gluten-free menus, Le Botteghe di Donatello and Ciro & Sons Antica Pizzeria Dell' Arte. This was quite the find for a celiac anticipating 'pasta and pizza envy' in Italy!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top