$98 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 1, 2015 Check-out: Apr 2, 2015

Globus Hotel Florence

3 stars
View map of Via San Antonino 24, Florence, 50123

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Globus Hotel Florence

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
71 out of 71
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Globus Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
afwifefromparadise
Honolulu, HI
Jan 6, 2013

Great value!

Hotel Globus is an ideal hotel for those who travel by train with limited budget but who also wants great value for the price. I am a thirty-yo female solo traveler whose priority was safe and convenient location. Though located in a narrow alley (which is by the way very prevalent in any Italian city and "a dark narrow alley doesn't automatically mean critically dangerous,) I felt adequately safe walking from/to hotel from early in the morning (7-8 AM) till late evening (9 PM). The central market was literally steps from the hotel and so as the street vendors.. Other major attractions including the Duomo, the Academia, the Arno River and the Uffizi are all within walking distance (20 min. MAX). As to the hotel itself, I thought this hotel was incredible and great value for the price. My room was small but sufficiently roomy. It had everything I needed. I took a day trip to Firenze out of Pisa so I only had a backpack. A large enough closet, a comfortable bed, a small fridge, a TV (with Sky), a tiny desk... Just enough to have a comfortable sleep. The shower was small too but why need a gigantic bathtub when all you want to do in Firenze is to tour all the amazing sites and eat the best Trippa!! I really loved their decor also. It was chic, modern, and simple. Their free breakfast was continental buffet style which had croissants, boiled eggs, ham, yogurts, fruits, cereals, toasts, and of course made-to-order cafe, cappuccino, or whatever your favorite Italian coffee. Hotel staff were very courteous and helpful. They will gladly help you with any question you may have to the best of their ability. If you're English speaker, yes they speak perfect English. One more thing about the hotel, the entrance is very small and can be hard to find especially since the reception desk is not located on the ground floor but on the first floor (meaning you have to go up a flight of stairs.) There is no elevator, but you can use a lift for your large luggage. In conclusion, if you want to experience a luxury hotel stay or you're claustrophobic, Globus isn't the place for you. But if you need a clean and cozy hotel with amazing hospitality with tight budget and itinerary, look no further. You just found the perfect hotel to compliment your bound-to-be unforgettable stay in Firenze. I am already planning for my next visit to Firenze and I know I will stay at Globus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Globus Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Florence Fan
Business
Charlotte, NC
Jan 26, 2011

Incredibly wonderful staff

Couldn't have had a better location - less than 1/2 block from the Central Market - three blocks from the main train station - five minute walk from the Duomo! Rooms are small but very adequate. We travel to see the sites, not lounge around in a hotel room. Great for our purposes which was to get a good night's rest. VERY, VERY clean! Adequate breakfast as well. HOWEVER, the very best part was the staff. We have traveled many places in Europe - never have we found such a friendly, helpful staff! FIVE STAR STAFF!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Teatro de Sale is a great way to spend an evening! Check them out on the internet! You need reservations for the 7:30 pm - multi-course meal served with plenty of red wine - 30 euros per person. Each person ALSO must have a memebership - 5 euros - Go during the day, make your reservations, and get your membership. You will be able to save a lot of time. The food was spectacular - the entertainment excellent - Give it a try.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Globus Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Firenzea2
Business
Ann Arbor, MI
Dec 26, 2010

Very good deal

I agree with all the positive reviews on here. Very professional and warm staff, clean rooms (but don't expect luxury), and great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Globus Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
flyldavid
Business
Washington, DC
Dec 2, 2010

Nice Small Hotel...

The hotel staff is great! They are overly friendly and willing to assist. The hotel is located close to a food market (indoor) and a flea market of some sort, in Firenze (Florence). It's perfect for shopping souvenirs. It's also a short walk from Firenze Santa Maria Novella train station. Florence seems to be really condensed and a short walk to most sights. So walking to the Duomo or to the museums from the hotel was no issue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Globus Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Long Island, New York, USA
Sep 14, 2010

Great value

Planned a last minute trip to Florence. This hotel was a solid 3 star hotel. Extremely friendly staff. Didn't encounter one employee who wasn't smiling or ready to help with any request. They booked r/t airport transport for us before we even arrived and booked 3 great tours for else. All worked out perfectly. Family room was fine with a separate small bedroom for the kids. Room did have a mild smell to it but was very clean so unsure where that came from but it wasn't noticable after a while. Location was fine. Walked to every site in the city. No need for taxi or bus. Breakfast was fine as well. Juices, coffee/tea/hot chocolate and a selection of danish & bread and fruit. Just enough to start the day without being too much to pack on the pounds. It's not a 5 star hotel but neither is the price. Small staircase from street to the lobby but the front desk staff was eager to help with the luggage so not a big inconvenience. Safe and quiet area. Lots of restaurants and shopping very close. Pictures on their website are a little misleading and are more elegant than the actual hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Globus Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sgt Steiner
Business
N.Ireland UK
Aug 10, 2010

Great location, clean & tidy

Clean, comfortable and a very central location within 5 mins of Florence centre, sights and markets/shops. Staff very helpful with great language skills. Good continental breakfast. Nice shower, beds etc. Only downside rather small room (budget price though)and lighting in room quite dull. Otherwise a very nice hotel. Reccomended

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Globus Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nebraska
Jun 8, 2010

Globus is worth it.

The staff went out of their way to please you. Very courteous. Of course the rooms are smaller than American rooms, but they were very well organized.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Garibaldi restaurant in the square by the Mercato serves a good meal for a fair price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Globus Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Carlisle, PA, USA
Apr 30, 2010

Wonderful location

The best part of the hotel was it's location - It was near the train station and within 30 minutes walking distance of most sites to see in Florence as well as the shopping market - Free internet was a plus -There were choices of restaurants within the block - Staff was most courteous and helpful - rooms were clean and comfortable, although very small and the hair dryer was inadequate. Would stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Take time to book the "Best of Tuscany" day bus tour

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Globus Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SACImom
Business
wrentham
Apr 25, 2010

Central location and great staff

Friendly and helpful staff accomodated different arrivals of our group, assistance needed and different language skills. Generous buffet breakfast and quiet room off inside courtyard (no view). Beds comfortable and had plenty of hot water

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Globus Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Compass Rose
Business
Bronx, New York
Apr 5, 2010

Cozy Hotel in the Heart of Florence

This great little hotel had the friendliest, most helpful staff, provided a bountiful breakfast, and was the only hotel that we stayed in during our two-week trip through Italy that provided coffee, tea, and sweet treats in the lobby throughout the day. Our room even came with a small balcony with table and 2 chairs, opening onto the rear of a church dome and bell tower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is located a short walk to the Duomo, the train station and great shops and restaurants. In particular, it is situated within walking distance to two great restaurants offering gluten-free menus, Le Botteghe di Donatello and Ciro & Sons Antica Pizzeria Dell' Arte. This was quite the find for a celiac anticipating 'pasta and pizza envy' in Italy!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Globus Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brookeville, MD
Apr 5, 2010

A wonderful, immaculate small hotel

We were there to see Florence and David. This hotel was just perfect. We were completely delighted with the gracious hotel owners and all of their staff who helped us with everything from how to lock our new suitcase to getting us reserved tickets for David and the Uffizi with one days notice. Would definitely return to this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the Lorenzo de Medici Pizzeria and Ristorante...a short walk from the hotel...very large restaurant with excellent food and a large menu. Very busy, plan on relaxing over dinner as Italians believe in letting you enjoy!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top