$56 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 24, 2014 Check-out: Nov 27, 2014

Globus Hotel Florence

3 stars
Via San Antonino 24, Florence, 50123
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
66 reviews
Wow! Excellent room for an excellent value!

For the price, I wasn't expecting too much, but I was very impressed! The room was small, but very... See full review

  • jjbean4000
  • May 4, 2014
Great location in Florence

This hotel is really close to the central train station. It was an easy walk to all the tourist... See full review

  • BB Cat
  • Oct 5, 2014
Contemporary style, down-home comfort in Historic City Center
Contemporary styling meets down-home comfort in this centrally located hotel just steps away from the Church of Saint Laurence. A professional, attentive staff welcomes guests with an intimacy and restrained focus that's seamless and polished, a geniality that resonates well among both leisure and business travelers. Rooms at the Globus Hotel Florence are well appointed and include every modern amenity, and an ample buffet breakfast starts everyone's day just right.
Highlights
  • 18th century building in the heart of Florence's historic center
  • Uniquely designed public areas with mahogany furniture and contemporary art
  • Pampering staff that delivers a memorable guest experience
Rooms

The 23 rooms at the Globus Hotel Florence feature dark wood furniture and upscale amenities, conveying both comfort and convenience. Appropriate for both business and leisure travelers, rooms accommodate up to four people, with some offering surreal views over the Medicean Chapels. Room additions include direct-dial telephone, Wi-Fi, LCD/plasma satellite TV with pay-per-view, mini-bar, and air conditioning. Superior rooms come equipped with a personal laptop (for in-room use) and complimentary mini-bar non-alcoholic beverages.

Features

Just steps away from the main train station and the Church of Saint Lawrence, the Globus Hotel Florence is a stylish, boutique hotel whose attentive staff delivers a personalized experience that belies the hotel's city center location.

The hotel's 18th century building blends seamlessly with its sophisticated interior. Rich, mahogany furniture and walls filled with smart, modern works of art adorn the public areas.

Rooms at the Hotel Globus Florence feature upscale amenities and an atmosphere of comfort and elegance. And a sumptuous buffet breakfast greets guests each morning in the hotel bar, the ideal rendezvous point from which to plan the day's activities.

The hotel maintains comprehensive concierge services and a car rental desk. Parking is available nearby for a fee.

Transportation
  • Florence Airport (5 mi/8 km)
  • Santa Maria Novella train station (0.3 mi/450 m)
Attractions
  • Church of Saint Lawrence (66 ft/20 m)
  • Church of Santa Maria Novella (656 ft/200 m)
  • Duomo and Baptistry (984 ft/300 m)
  • Uffizi Gallery (0.62 mi/1 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Airport and train station transfers (fees apply)
  • Car rental desk
  • Concierge

Hotel Map

43.7757 11.2522
Area served
Florence.
Nearby airports
Amerigo vespucci International Airport.
Area description
This charming hotel is located in the historic centre of Florence and is just 500 metres from the Santa Maria Novella Train Station. This property is just a few steps from Santa Maria Novella Central Train Station and whistling distance from Florence's main attractions: Duomo, Accademia, Convention Centre and Exposition Centre (Fortezza da Basso).

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Globus Hotel Florence also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Globus Hotel Florence Rooms

Economic Twin Room
simple 10 sq meters twin room,street view, yet equipped with all the comforts, this is the perfect accommodation for those who are planning to dedicate the entire day to discovering Florence. Room offers air conditioning, cable satellite SKY TV, color TV, ensuite / private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, non-smoking rooms, safe in room and telephone.
Standard Double Room
a medium-sized room featuring private bathroom with shower, the standard room is ideal both for leisure and business travellers. Some of these rooms also offer a partial view over Florence rooftops and the Medici Chapels. The bedding option for the room is one double bed or one twin bed. Room offers air conditioning, cable SKY TV, color TV, ensuite / private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, non-smoking rooms, safe in room and telephone.
Superior Double Room
the largest rooms, featuring private bathroom with shower or bathtube offering additional comforts and facilities such as LCD-screen TV, personal laptop, 1 free mini bar (soft drinks). Some with pleasant views over Florence rooftops and the Medici Chapels. The bedding option for the room is one double bed or one twin bed. Room offers air conditioning, cable SKY TV, color TV, ensuite / private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, non-smoking rooms, safe in room and telephone.
Superior Triple Room
the largest rooms, featuring private bathroom with shower or bathtube offering additional comforts and facilities such as LCD-screen TV, personal laptop, 1 free mini bar (soft drinks). Some with pleasant views over Florence rooftops and the Medici Chapels. The bedding option for the room is one double bed or one twin bed. Room offers air conditioning, cable SKY TV, color TV, ensuite / private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, non-smoking rooms, safe in room and telephone.
Superior Quadrupal Room
the largest rooms, featuring private bathroom with shower or bathtube offering additional comforts and facilities such as LCD-screen TV, personal laptop, 1 free mini bar (soft drinks). Some with pleasant views over Florence rooftops and the Medici Chapels. The bedding option for the room is one double bed or one twin bed. Room offers air conditioning, cable SKY TV, color TV, ensuite / private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, non-smoking rooms, safe in room and telephone.
Standard Single Room
Room 9 square metres, the bedding option for the room is one french bed 120 cm. Room offers air conditioning, cable SKY TV, color TV, ensuite / private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, non-smoking rooms, safe in room and telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Basilica di San Lorenzo: 0.1 mi
  • Medici Chapels (Cappelle Medicee): 0.1 mi
  • Mercato Centrale: 0.1 mi
  • Church of Santa Maria Novella: 0.1 mi
  • Laurentian Library (Biblioteca Medicea Laurenziana): 0.2 mi
  • Santa Maria Novella Train station: 0.2 mi
  • Piazza del Duomo: 0.2 mi
  • Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto): 0.2 mi
  • Duomo - Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore: 0.3 mi
  • Duomo Museum (Museo dell'Opera del Duomo): 0.3 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.3 mi
  • Centro Storico: 0.3 mi
  • Basilica Of San Lorenzo: 0.3 mi
  • Museo di Palazzo Davanzati: 0.3 mi
  • Galleria dell'Accademia: 0.4 mi
  • Basilica di San Lorenzo: 0.1 mi
  • Medici Chapels (Cappelle Medicee): 0.1 mi
  • Mercato Centrale: 0.1 mi
  • Church of Santa Maria Novella: 0.1 mi
  • Laurentian Library (Biblioteca Medicea Laurenziana): 0.2 mi
  • Santa Maria Novella Train station: 0.2 mi
  • Piazza del Duomo: 0.2 mi
  • Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto): 0.2 mi
  • Duomo - Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore: 0.3 mi
  • Duomo Museum (Museo dell'Opera del Duomo): 0.3 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.3 mi
  • Centro Storico: 0.3 mi
  • Basilica Of San Lorenzo: 0.3 mi
  • Museo di Palazzo Davanzati: 0.3 mi
  • Galleria dell'Accademia: 0.4 mi
  • Museo di San Marco: 0.4 mi
  • Santa Maria Novela Basilica: 0.4 mi
  • Piazza della Signoria: 0.4 mi
  • Museo Nazionale del Bargello (Bargello Museum): 0.4 mi
  • Piazza San Marco: 0.5 mi
  • Corridoio Vasariano: 0.5 mi
  • Uffizi Gallery (Galleria degli Uffizi): 0.5 mi
  • Pitti Palace: 0.5 mi
  • Museo Galileo - Institute and Museum of the History of Science: 0.5 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Croce: 0.5 mi
  • Palazzo Vecchio: 0.6 mi
  • Giardino Corsi: 0.7 mi
  • Sinagoga di Firenze e Museo ebraico: 0.7 mi
  • Boboli Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Giardino Della Gherardesca: 0.9 mi
  • Piazzale Michelangelo: 1 mi
  • Cimitero Delle Porte Sante: 1.2 mi
  • Basilica di San Miniato al Monte: 1.3 mi
  • Artemio Franchi Stadium: 1.4 mi
  • Museo Stibbert: 1.5 mi
  • Fiesole: 3 mi
  • Baptistry (Battistero): 42.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (66)

Ratings and reviews for Globus Hotel Florence

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
66 out of 66
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Globus Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
afwifefromparadise
Honolulu, HI
Jan 6, 2013

Great value!

Hotel Globus is an ideal hotel for those who travel by train with limited budget but who also wants great value for the price. I am a thirty-yo female solo traveler whose priority was safe and convenient location. Though located in a narrow alley (which is by the way very prevalent in any Italian city and "a dark narrow alley doesn't automatically mean critically dangerous,) I felt adequately safe walking from/to hotel from early in the morning (7-8 AM) till late evening (9 PM). The central market was literally steps from the hotel and so as the street vendors.. Other major attractions including the Duomo, the Academia, the Arno River and the Uffizi are all within walking distance (20 min. MAX). As to the hotel itself, I thought this hotel was incredible and great value for the price. My room was small but sufficiently roomy. It had everything I needed. I took a day trip to Firenze out of Pisa so I only had a backpack. A large enough closet, a comfortable bed, a small fridge, a TV (with Sky), a tiny desk... Just enough to have a comfortable sleep. The shower was small too but why need a gigantic bathtub when all you want to do in Firenze is to tour all the amazing sites and eat the best Trippa!! I really loved their decor also. It was chic, modern, and simple. Their free breakfast was continental buffet style which had croissants, boiled eggs, ham, yogurts, fruits, cereals, toasts, and of course made-to-order cafe, cappuccino, or whatever your favorite Italian coffee. Hotel staff were very courteous and helpful. They will gladly help you with any question you may have to the best of their ability. If you're English speaker, yes they speak perfect English. One more thing about the hotel, the entrance is very small and can be hard to find especially since the reception desk is not located on the ground floor but on the first floor (meaning you have to go up a flight of stairs.) There is no elevator, but you can use a lift for your large luggage. In conclusion, if you want to experience a luxury hotel stay or you're claustrophobic, Globus isn't the place for you. But if you need a clean and cozy hotel with amazing hospitality with tight budget and itinerary, look no further. You just found the perfect hotel to compliment your bound-to-be unforgettable stay in Firenze. I am already planning for my next visit to Firenze and I know I will stay at Globus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Globus Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buffalo, New York
Dec 9, 2009

The Globus was Great!

It was our first night in Italy and we were lucky to be booked into this small hotel with clean rooms, wonderful front desk staff and a fabulous location within walking distance of the train station, all major sights, and right near the Mercado Centrale. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom pristine and the front desk staff made our dinner reservations within 30 minutes of our check-in. Our room had inside shutters which very effectively blocked all street noise and sunlight. The breakfast was good and the host was quite the character. The price was also very reasonable. I would definitely go back and would give Florence some extra time. Two nights was not enough to do this beautiful city and its very friendly citizens justice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Skip the Boboli Gardens. Dry, dusty, poorly maintained and no services available.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Globus Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philippines
Feb 23, 2011

Excellent service and location!!!!

Globus hotel is perfect if you're travelling by train because the train station is a 10min walk. The reception staff is fantastic specially Lucas and Nicollo. The man who handles the breakfast makes a great hot chocolate, he's a bit moody but he does his job. The breakfast selection is good. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. We had a private bathroom and we were given free internet access. Their reception is on the 2nd floor, so if you need help with your luggage, just go up and ask for help. Someone from the reception will go down to get your luggage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Must eat at Nerone which is an 8 minute walk recommended by Lucas at the hotel. Great food and reasonable price!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Globus Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Phaediek
Business
Miami, FL
Aug 16, 2009

Great place to stay

Very close to train station and many restaurants. Florence is a compact city, so it is easy to walk to most of the popular places to visit. Front desk spoke english and was very helpful. Rooms are small, but this is comparable with most rooms we have seen in Europe. Breakfast was good, there were many pastries and breads to choose from.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Globus Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
flyldavid
Business
Washington, DC
Dec 2, 2010

Nice Small Hotel...

The hotel staff is great! They are overly friendly and willing to assist. The hotel is located close to a food market (indoor) and a flea market of some sort, in Firenze (Florence). It's perfect for shopping souvenirs. It's also a short walk from Firenze Santa Maria Novella train station. Florence seems to be really condensed and a short walk to most sights. So walking to the Duomo or to the museums from the hotel was no issue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Globus Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Patrick and Hanna
Business
San Jose, CA
May 26, 2009

Great Value in Great Location

We stayed in a "superior" style room with a partial view of the San Lorenzo Bascilica. Internet was included with a laptop in the room. No elevator from street to lobby but OK for us(perhaps difficult for handicapped people) Nice (light) breakfast included. Perfect location close to train, minutes to the Duomo and 1 block to the market.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Globus Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jood
Business
Manchester, NH, USA
Aug 23, 2011

Traveling single

Globus Hotel in Florence was FANTASTIC!! The staff was Very helpful and accomodating.They helped me with directions and gave suggestions for places to visit. They printed out train and bus schedules for me. The breakfast was better than some I have had in Italy. Fresh fruit, ham, croissants, juices and more! After a day of sightseeing, I came back to a cool, spotless room with the bed made and clean towels. A short walk to all the sites and to the train/bus station. It was PERFECT in all respects! GO TO THIS HOTEL!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Went to the small leather shops around the Duomo. Got great prices on REAL Italian leather bags.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Globus Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ShoppoingBigGuy
Business
Southern New Jersey
May 28, 2011

Excellent Staff!

My Spouse and I booked this hotel based on reviews that we read on-line and we were not disappointed. The hotel has an excellent location that is just a few minutes walk to Santa Maria Novella train station (about 3 blocks) and about the same from the Duomo. The Mercato Centrale is one block over and we easily walked everywhere else. The Staff at this hotel are very friendly. The gentleman who attends the breakfast room makes an excellent cup of coffee and makes sure there is plenty of food available, with a selection of bread, croissant, ham, cheese, yogurt, pastry, cereal, juices...etc. The room we booked was the cheapest, so it was on the small side. This was expected so we were not surprised. We had a room on the third floor facing the street but didn't hear much noise from the street. There was a large closet with plenty of storage, two twin beds, a desk, and a small bathroom with excellent water pressure and plenty of hot water. There isn't any storage in the bathroom for toiletries except for a small area on the sink. so if you use a lot of products it might be a challenge to find a place for them in the bathroom- it was not a problem for us, but a shelf near the sink would be nice. My only small complaint about noise was that some of the other customers in the hotel would slam there doors whenever they would come and go. The hotel may have to look at some kind of damper to keep the doors from slamming so hard. It really started to get annoying at the end of our stay. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Globus Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brookeville, MD
Apr 5, 2010

A wonderful, immaculate small hotel

We were there to see Florence and David. This hotel was just perfect. We were completely delighted with the gracious hotel owners and all of their staff who helped us with everything from how to lock our new suitcase to getting us reserved tickets for David and the Uffizi with one days notice. Would definitely return to this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the Lorenzo de Medici Pizzeria and Ristorante...a short walk from the hotel...very large restaurant with excellent food and a large menu. Very busy, plan on relaxing over dinner as Italians believe in letting you enjoy!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Globus Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Collingwoodgirl
Business
Brighton, UK
Feb 15, 2014

Perfect for a Florentine getaway

The hotel is in an excellent location for central Florence, right near the markets and San Lorenzo. There is a flight of stairs to navigate before you get to the reception, and then a very slow lift to take you to other floors. The room was cosy, with a very compact bathroom. But we were out and about all day so didn't spend a lot of time in the room. The breakfast was adequate, no hot food but a reasonable selection of cold food. Very close to restaurants and shops, so we were able to easily drop off our shopping before continuing to see the churches and galleries.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you visit Florence in a low season, do not pre-book the attractions such as the Uffizi. It is cheaper to just turn up and buy a ticket at the door.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Globus Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ITF
Business
Rome, Italy
Feb 6, 2010

Very good hotel!

Very good hotel! Nice price, nice rooms and excelent location, very friendly staff as well! Would definetly recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top