$66 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2014 Check-out: Aug 26, 2014

Globus Hotel Florence

3 stars
Via San Antonino 24, Florence, 50123
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
93 reviews
Wow! Excellent room for an excellent value!

For the price, I wasn't expecting too much, but I was very impressed! The room was small, but very... See full review

  • jjbean4000
  • May 4, 2014
Perfect for a Florentine getaway

The hotel is in an excellent location for central Florence, right near the markets and San Lorenzo.... See full review

  • Collingwoodgirl
  • Feb 15, 2014
Contemporary style, down-home comfort in Historic City Center
Contemporary styling meets down-home comfort in this centrally located hotel just steps away from the Church of Saint Laurence. A professional, attentive staff welcomes guests with an intimacy and restrained focus that's seamless and polished, a geniality that resonates well among both leisure and business travelers. Rooms at the Globus Hotel Florence are well appointed and include every modern amenity, and an ample buffet breakfast starts everyone's day just right.
Highlights
  • 18th century building in the heart of Florence's historic center
  • Uniquely designed public areas with mahogany furniture and contemporary art
  • Pampering staff that delivers a memorable guest experience
Rooms

The 23 rooms at the Globus Hotel Florence feature dark wood furniture and upscale amenities, conveying both comfort and convenience. Appropriate for both business and leisure travelers, rooms accommodate up to four people, with some offering surreal views over the Medicean Chapels. Room additions include direct-dial telephone, Wi-Fi, LCD/plasma satellite TV with pay-per-view, mini-bar, and air conditioning. Superior rooms come equipped with a personal laptop (for in-room use) and complimentary mini-bar non-alcoholic beverages.

Features

Just steps away from the main train station and the Church of Saint Lawrence, the Globus Hotel Florence is a stylish, boutique hotel whose attentive staff delivers a personalized experience that belies the hotel's city center location.

The hotel's 18th century building blends seamlessly with its sophisticated interior. Rich, mahogany furniture and walls filled with smart, modern works of art adorn the public areas.

Rooms at the Hotel Globus Florence feature upscale amenities and an atmosphere of comfort and elegance. And a sumptuous buffet breakfast greets guests each morning in the hotel bar, the ideal rendezvous point from which to plan the day's activities.

The hotel maintains comprehensive concierge services and a car rental desk. Parking is available nearby for a fee.

Transportation
  • Florence Airport (5 mi/8 km)
  • Santa Maria Novella train station (0.3 mi/450 m)
Attractions
  • Church of Saint Lawrence (66 ft/20 m)
  • Church of Santa Maria Novella (656 ft/200 m)
  • Duomo and Baptistry (984 ft/300 m)
  • Uffizi Gallery (0.62 mi/1 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Airport and train station transfers (fees apply)
  • Car rental desk
  • Concierge

Globus Hotel Florence Rooms

Economic Twin Room
simple 10 sq meters twin room,street view, yet equipped with all the comforts, this is the perfect accommodation for those who are planning to dedicate the entire day to discovering Florence. Room offers air conditioning, cable satellite SKY TV, color TV, ensuite / private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, non-smoking rooms, safe in room and telephone.
Standard Double Room
a medium-sized room featuring private bathroom with shower, the standard room is ideal both for leisure and business travellers. Some of these rooms also offer a partial view over Florence rooftops and the Medici Chapels. The bedding option for the room is one double bed or one twin bed. Room offers air conditioning, cable SKY TV, color TV, ensuite / private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, non-smoking rooms, safe in room and telephone.
Superior Double Room
the largest rooms, featuring private bathroom with shower or bathtube offering additional comforts and facilities such as LCD-screen TV, personal laptop, 1 free mini bar (soft drinks). Some with pleasant views over Florence rooftops and the Medici Chapels. The bedding option for the room is one double bed or one twin bed. Room offers air conditioning, cable SKY TV, color TV, ensuite / private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, non-smoking rooms, safe in room and telephone.
Superior Triple Room
the largest rooms, featuring private bathroom with shower or bathtube offering additional comforts and facilities such as LCD-screen TV, personal laptop, 1 free mini bar (soft drinks). Some with pleasant views over Florence rooftops and the Medici Chapels. The bedding option for the room is one double bed or one twin bed. Room offers air conditioning, cable SKY TV, color TV, ensuite / private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, non-smoking rooms, safe in room and telephone.
Superior Quadrupal Room
the largest rooms, featuring private bathroom with shower or bathtube offering additional comforts and facilities such as LCD-screen TV, personal laptop, 1 free mini bar (soft drinks). Some with pleasant views over Florence rooftops and the Medici Chapels. The bedding option for the room is one double bed or one twin bed. Room offers air conditioning, cable SKY TV, color TV, ensuite / private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, non-smoking rooms, safe in room and telephone.
Standard Single Room
Room 9 square metres, the bedding option for the room is one french bed 120 cm. Room offers air conditioning, cable SKY TV, color TV, ensuite / private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, non-smoking rooms, safe in room and telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Globus Hotel Florence also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

43.7757 11.2522
Area served
Florence.
Nearby airports
Amerigo vespucci International Airport.
Area description
This charming hotel is located in the historic centre of Florence and is just 500 metres from the Santa Maria Novella Train Station. This property is just a few steps from Santa Maria Novella Central Train Station and whistling distance from Florence's main attractions: Duomo, Accademia, Convention Centre and Exposition Centre (Fortezza da Basso).

Nearby points of interest

  • Basilica di San Lorenzo: 0.1 mi
  • Medici Chapels (Cappelle Medicee): 0.1 mi
  • Mercato Centrale: 0.1 mi
  • Church of Santa Maria Novella: 0.1 mi
  • Laurentian Library (Biblioteca Medicea Laurenziana): 0.2 mi
  • Santa Maria Novella Train station: 0.2 mi
  • Piazza del Duomo: 0.2 mi
  • Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto): 0.2 mi
  • Duomo - Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore: 0.3 mi
  • Duomo Museum (Museo dell'Opera del Duomo): 0.3 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.3 mi
  • Centro Storico: 0.3 mi
  • Basilica Of San Lorenzo: 0.3 mi
  • Museo di Palazzo Davanzati: 0.3 mi
  • Galleria dell'Accademia: 0.4 mi
  • Basilica di San Lorenzo: 0.1 mi
  • Medici Chapels (Cappelle Medicee): 0.1 mi
  • Mercato Centrale: 0.1 mi
  • Church of Santa Maria Novella: 0.1 mi
  • Laurentian Library (Biblioteca Medicea Laurenziana): 0.2 mi
  • Santa Maria Novella Train station: 0.2 mi
  • Piazza del Duomo: 0.2 mi
  • Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto): 0.2 mi
  • Duomo - Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore: 0.3 mi
  • Duomo Museum (Museo dell'Opera del Duomo): 0.3 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.3 mi
  • Centro Storico: 0.3 mi
  • Basilica Of San Lorenzo: 0.3 mi
  • Museo di Palazzo Davanzati: 0.3 mi
  • Galleria dell'Accademia: 0.4 mi
  • Museo di San Marco: 0.4 mi
  • Santa Maria Novela Basilica: 0.4 mi
  • Piazza della Signoria: 0.4 mi
  • Museo Nazionale del Bargello (Bargello Museum): 0.4 mi
  • Piazza San Marco: 0.5 mi
  • Corridoio Vasariano: 0.5 mi
  • Uffizi Gallery (Galleria degli Uffizi): 0.5 mi
  • Pitti Palace: 0.5 mi
  • Museo Galileo - Institute and Museum of the History of Science: 0.5 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Croce: 0.5 mi
  • Palazzo Vecchio: 0.6 mi
  • Giardino Corsi: 0.7 mi
  • Sinagoga di Firenze e Museo ebraico: 0.7 mi
  • Boboli Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Giardino Della Gherardesca: 0.9 mi
  • Piazzale Michelangelo: 1 mi
  • Cimitero Delle Porte Sante: 1.2 mi
  • Basilica di San Miniato al Monte: 1.3 mi
  • Artemio Franchi Stadium: 1.4 mi
  • Museo Stibbert: 1.5 mi
  • Fiesole: 3 mi
  • Baptistry (Battistero): 42.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (93)

Ratings and reviews for Globus Hotel Florence

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
93 out of 93
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Globus Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Volpe
Annapolis, MD
Oct 21, 2011

Great Hotel for Florence

This small hotel is close to the train station and right in the center. 2 min from San Lorenzo and 5 min from Il Doumo. The street is pedestrian only so it is very quite at night. Our room faced the street and we had no problems with noise. The room was comfortable and the wireless worked fine unlike some 4 star places we stayed in in Rome. The staff were super friendly and went out of their way for us. We would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Globus Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philippines
Feb 23, 2011

Excellent service and location!!!!

Globus hotel is perfect if you're travelling by train because the train station is a 10min walk. The reception staff is fantastic specially Lucas and Nicollo. The man who handles the breakfast makes a great hot chocolate, he's a bit moody but he does his job. The breakfast selection is good. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. We had a private bathroom and we were given free internet access. Their reception is on the 2nd floor, so if you need help with your luggage, just go up and ask for help. Someone from the reception will go down to get your luggage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Must eat at Nerone which is an 8 minute walk recommended by Lucas at the hotel. Great food and reasonable price!

Review of Globus Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Buffalo, New York
Dec 9, 2009

The Globus was Great!

It was our first night in Italy and we were lucky to be booked into this small hotel with clean rooms, wonderful front desk staff and a fabulous location within walking distance of the train station, all major sights, and right near the Mercado Centrale. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom pristine and the front desk staff made our dinner reservations within 30 minutes of our check-in. Our room had inside shutters which very effectively blocked all street noise and sunlight. The breakfast was good and the host was quite the character. The price was also very reasonable. I would definitely go back and would give Florence some extra time. Two nights was not enough to do this beautiful city and its very friendly citizens justice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Skip the Boboli Gardens. Dry, dusty, poorly maintained and no services available.

Review of Globus Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Patrick and Hanna
San Jose, CA
May 26, 2009

Great Value in Great Location

We stayed in a "superior" style room with a partial view of the San Lorenzo Bascilica. Internet was included with a laptop in the room. No elevator from street to lobby but OK for us(perhaps difficult for handicapped people) Nice (light) breakfast included. Perfect location close to train, minutes to the Duomo and 1 block to the market.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Globus Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jood
Manchester, NH, USA
Aug 23, 2011

Traveling single

Globus Hotel in Florence was FANTASTIC!! The staff was Very helpful and accomodating.They helped me with directions and gave suggestions for places to visit. They printed out train and bus schedules for me. The breakfast was better than some I have had in Italy. Fresh fruit, ham, croissants, juices and more! After a day of sightseeing, I came back to a cool, spotless room with the bed made and clean towels. A short walk to all the sites and to the train/bus station. It was PERFECT in all respects! GO TO THIS HOTEL!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Went to the small leather shops around the Duomo. Got great prices on REAL Italian leather bags.

Review of Globus Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
florence trip
Florence, Italy
Nov 11, 2011

the Wonderful "Globus Hotel"

This was one of the BEST experiences we have ever had during a hotel stay (and I was employed with Marriott Intl for 23 years) the staff was outstanding! everyone made sure that all of our needs were met, the entire staff speak english, so that was very helpful during our 2 week stay! Floerence is a spectacular city and the staff at the Globus Hotel made our visit even more spectacular!! We can't wait to return!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The museums and history in this city is incredable!! try to go into every Church that you walk by, because the art work and history are unforgetable!!

Review of Globus Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Phaediek
Miami, FL
Aug 16, 2009

Great place to stay

Very close to train station and many restaurants. Florence is a compact city, so it is easy to walk to most of the popular places to visit. Front desk spoke english and was very helpful. Rooms are small, but this is comparable with most rooms we have seen in Europe. Breakfast was good, there were many pastries and breads to choose from.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Globus Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
chiara
Oswego, NY
Dec 1, 2011

2011 november trip to Italy

Great hotel. The location was perfect for me. I liked that they were open all the time and kept the key for the room at the hotel. I did not have to worry about loosing the key.Very safe area. Hotel staff was wonderful and very friendly. The breakfast was great. I loved being able to order a cappucino every morning .My room was small, but just right for me. It was very clean and there is a refrigerator with drinks in it. Having the TV was great. I watched all these old old american programs in italian.Able to easily set up wake-up calls. Great shower in small bathroom. No bathmat for shower, Have to step up and be careful to get into shower and not slip. Perfect hotel and good price. I was very happy with my choice. Hotel is located on side street with no car access, so have to walk a half a block from taxi drop off. Taxi from airport is sooo easy to this hotel. definitely worth getting taxi from cheap tickets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Duomo, Piazza Republica, lots of restaurants, San Lorenzo leather market and food market is right next to this hotel. You have to go to the food market and eat in one of the small restaurants. yum. Right next to hotel is small asian market with wine, food etc. very convienent.

Review of Globus Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jood
Manchester, NH, USA
Aug 23, 2011

Traveling single

Globus Hotel in Florence was FANTASTIC!! The staff was Very helpful and accomodating.They helped me with directions and gave suggestions for places to visit. They printed out train and bus schedules for me. The breakfast was better than some I have had in Italy. Fresh fruit, ham, croissants, juices and more! After a day of sightseeing, I came back to a cool, spotless room with the bed made and clean towels. A short walk to all the sites and to the train/bus station. It was PERFECT in all respects! GO TO THIS HOTEL!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Went to the small leather shops around the Duomo. Got great prices on REAL Italian leather bags.

Review of Globus Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joeat
Business
Marietta, GA
Jun 13, 2012

Great value

For the price, you can hardly do better. The staff was the best part--uniformly cheerful and helpful. And patient--I was in the lobby a lot and some of those American tourists made ME want to strangle them, and I was just listening to them. Location is very convenient, convenient to the train station but not so close that it has that cheap "train-station-neighborhood" atmosphere. It's a block from the Medici tombs in San Lorenzo. I had a teeny-tiny single, but spotless and comfortable. My only issue was the internet stopped working on my floor after the first day, and the only way I could use it was by logging onto a specific router in the lobby. They were still trying to figure it out when I left.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bella Mia Gelato in the little piazza by the Medici tombs was good and the ladies were sweet.

Back to menu Return to top