$192 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 5, 2014 Check-out: Oct 6, 2014

Giglio

3 stars
VIA CAVOUR CAMILLO BENZO 85, 50129 FLORENCE, Florence, 50129
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
7 reviews
Feels more like B&B then hotel (this is good thing)

We had a great room. The breakfast was very good. The owners were very friendly and accomadetive.... See full review

  • Fatherofthebride
  • May 24, 2013
Your home away from home in Florence

Our stay at Hotel Giglio was wonderful. Marco and his staff pulled out all the stops to make us... See full review

  • Malibured
  • Jan 4, 2012
Info taken from hotel website. D.O 03.2008 The hotel is located on the second floor of an historic building. The hotel has recently been completely renovated. The Hotel is located on Via Cavour, one of the important streets in the centre of Florence. It is within easy walking distance of Florence's most important historical sites and museums.

Hotel Map

43.7809 11.2606
Nearby airports
Galilei San Giusto, (PSA), 46.00, MI, E; Siena, (SAY), 37.00, MI, N; Lucca, (LCV), 36.00, MI, E; Peretola, (FLR), 4.00, MI, SE;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Giglio also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Giglio Rooms

Guest Rooms
The comfortable rooms, furnished tastefully and complete with hardwood and terra cotta floors, are equipped with air conditioning, independent heat, direct telephone lines, Internet access upon request, satellite television, Tele+, security vaults, bathrooms with bathtubs or showers, hair dryers and towel heaters. There is also a hot tub available upon request.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
Dining
Free breakfast
24 hour room service

Nearby points of interest

  • Piazza San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Croce: 0.2 mi
  • Museo di San Marco: 0.2 mi
  • Galleria dell'Accademia: 0.2 mi
  • Mercato Centrale: 0.4 mi
  • Giardino Della Gherardesca: 0.5 mi
  • Basilica di San Lorenzo: 0.5 mi
  • Medici Chapels (Cappelle Medicee): 0.5 mi
  • Laurentian Library (Biblioteca Medicea Laurenziana): 0.5 mi
  • Duomo Museum (Museo dell'Opera del Duomo): 0.5 mi
  • Basilica Of San Lorenzo: 0.5 mi
  • Duomo - Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore: 0.5 mi
  • Piazza del Duomo: 0.6 mi
  • Sinagoga di Firenze e Museo ebraico: 0.6 mi
  • Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto): 0.6 mi
  • Piazza San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Croce: 0.2 mi
  • Museo di San Marco: 0.2 mi
  • Galleria dell'Accademia: 0.2 mi
  • Mercato Centrale: 0.4 mi
  • Giardino Della Gherardesca: 0.5 mi
  • Basilica di San Lorenzo: 0.5 mi
  • Medici Chapels (Cappelle Medicee): 0.5 mi
  • Laurentian Library (Biblioteca Medicea Laurenziana): 0.5 mi
  • Duomo Museum (Museo dell'Opera del Duomo): 0.5 mi
  • Basilica Of San Lorenzo: 0.5 mi
  • Duomo - Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore: 0.5 mi
  • Piazza del Duomo: 0.6 mi
  • Sinagoga di Firenze e Museo ebraico: 0.6 mi
  • Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto): 0.6 mi
  • Centro Storico: 0.7 mi
  • Church of Santa Maria Novella: 0.7 mi
  • Museo Nazionale del Bargello (Bargello Museum): 0.7 mi
  • Santa Maria Novella Train station: 0.7 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.7 mi
  • Palazzo Vecchio: 0.8 mi
  • Piazza della Signoria: 0.8 mi
  • Museo di Palazzo Davanzati: 0.8 mi
  • Uffizi Gallery (Galleria degli Uffizi): 0.9 mi
  • Museo Galileo - Institute and Museum of the History of Science: 0.9 mi
  • Corridoio Vasariano: 0.9 mi
  • Santa Maria Novela Basilica: 0.9 mi
  • Artemio Franchi Stadium: 1 mi
  • Pitti Palace: 1 mi
  • Giardino Corsi: 1 mi
  • Museo Stibbert: 1.1 mi
  • Piazzale Michelangelo: 1.2 mi
  • Boboli Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Cimitero Delle Porte Sante: 1.4 mi
  • Basilica di San Miniato al Monte: 1.5 mi
  • Fiesole: 2.5 mi
  • Baptistry (Battistero): 43.4 mi

Dining

Restaurant
A buffet-style breakfast is served from 7:30 to 09:30 am.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (7)

Ratings and reviews for Giglio

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
7 out of 7
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.6

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Giglio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Texas trio
Houston, Tx
Aug 19, 2009

Giglio: the place to be family style..

4 days in Firenze for this family. Walked EVERYWHERE. Climbing the dome in the cathedral is a must along with viewing the inside. Piazza della Signoria with the sculptures must be seen. Take the long walk to Piazzale Michelangelo. For musuems all are good but an entire afternoon at Palazzo Pitti and the Boboli Gardens is worth the somewhat steep entrance fee. If you ride bikes walk a few blocks down and lookup Bike by Florence to rent bikes then talk to Roberto at Hotel Giglio. The must go to dining is Tito's just around the corner from Giglio. The chef and staff are fantastic, the food is even bettter and prices more than reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything and I mean everything when shopping is negotiable. period.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Giglio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Malibured
Coconut Creek, FL, USA
Jan 4, 2012

Your home away from home in Florence

Our stay at Hotel Giglio was wonderful. Marco and his staff pulled out all the stops to make us feel welcome. The accommodations were suberb. The breakfast was ample and good. I highly recommend you stay here when you are in Florence. You will be glad you did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Giglio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Aug 11, 2009

Unbeatable location ,friendly staff.

Hotel was great , short walk to attractions, friendly helpful staff,breakfast was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Giglio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fatherofthebride
New York
May 24, 2013

Feels more like B&B then hotel (this is good thing)

We had a great room. The breakfast was very good. The owners were very friendly and accomadetive. It felt more like B&B then hotel. We would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Zaza restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Giglio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Vancouve, British Columbai
Dec 28, 2010

Hotel Giglio - thumbs up!!

The service was excellent. The staff made me feel very at home, and were always ready to answer any questions, recommend places to eat, call me a taxi and so on. The room was comfortable and the bed - well I slept just fine!! (not always the case. They had a full bookshelf of travel guides for anyone who wished to supplement those they had brought along. The hotel felt small and intimate, and it was nice to know that someone was watching out for me while I was travelling alone. The rooms were also clean, and housekeeping visited daily. The breakfast buffet was excellent - good variety, and very tasty selections (my extra 5 lbs. on arriving home can attest to that!). All in all, I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Near the hotel Giglio, if you just want a lighter meal in the evening, I'd head for Cafe Creole - it's a short left, left, right form the hotel door (less than 5 min.) and they offer a full aparatif buffet (cold) for 6 euro. The meal is very satisfying - cold bean salad, carrots, potatoes, meats, pasta. The cafe is small and cozy and eating alone I felt quite comfortable here. They also offer breakfast and lunch. I didn't have the opportunity to eat at these times, but another solo traveller at the hotel did, and gave it a big thumbs up.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Giglio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Malibured
Coconut Creek, FL, USA
Dec 14, 2011

A Splendid Experience

Everything was perfect...location, room, breakfast, staff. Thank you Marco for a wonderful time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Giglio

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jkp
Santa Fe, NM
May 31, 2010

Our stay at Giglio

25 minute walk from train station. Very convenient to the sights. Staff was very helpful. Room was plain but adequate. Bathroom roomy and modern. Breakfast was reasonable except regular coffee was terrible. They had capucino, though, which was okay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search