$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 5, 2015

Donatello Hotel Florence

3 stars
View map of Piazza Indipendenza, 23, Florence, 50129

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Donatello Hotel Florence

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 22
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.5

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Donatello Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
New Yohkah
Business
New York
May 1, 2012

Painting Holiday

Loved this place! Quiet as can be in an excessively noisy city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Donatello Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Billa
Business
Miami, Florida
Jan 3, 2012

Unexpected gem

One usually doesn't expect much from a 3-star hotel, but this one beat all my expectations. The staff was friendly and courteous. The room was large, nicely appointed, with a roomy bathroom, refrigerator and even an in-room safe. Breakfast was included and good. And the location was very convenient, about 4 blocks from the train station and within easy walking distance of everything, yet in a quiet spot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of restaurants along the Via Nazionale going towards the train station. Found two that we really liked, one of them had free WiFi. And the food was fantastic.

Review of Donatello Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michelle Synhorst
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Dec 11, 2011

Adorable hotel in Florence!

We loved this hotel. It was a short walk to all of the main sights and attractions. The room was really big for a European hotel room. Our room had a skylight which was awesome! Breakfast was good and the staff were all very helpful. My only criticism is that it cost money to connect to the internet. Luckily there was a great bar nearby with free wifi. There were lots of great bars and restaurants really close to the hotel. Overall, I highly recommend this hotel! It was a great value--very high quality considering how cheap it is!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a really great street market only 1 plaza away from the hotel! It is a great place to buy souvenirs and Florentine leather!

Review of Donatello Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Papasan
Business
Pembroke Pines, FL, USA
Dec 3, 2011

NICE AND CLEAN HOTEL

The hotel is located in a good place, but has a problem taxis are not be able to drop you off in front of the hotel. You have to walk and carry your own luggage, because the street is closed. They gave us a nice room close to the elevator and the reception, you were not be able to sleep because every time the phone ring at the reception you can hear it at the room, also y if someone talk at the elevator or when up and down you hear the elevator. The owner is a nice gentlemen, but the lady that work for him on the front desk she was not nice, at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Donatello Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
thrifty mom
Business
Holland, MI, USA
Sep 15, 2011

park setting

Breakfast was good, close to train station and other places to visit. Clean room, good size, air conditioning felt great. Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything was close enough to walk and enjoy the sites.

Review of Donatello Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cavolfiore
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Aug 30, 2011

Clean, friendly budget hotel

I stayed three days, and was very pleased. It's a clean hotel with friendly staff (very good English spoken here) in a very convenient location (a 5-10 minute walk to the main train/bus station, about 10 minutes to the Duomo). You'll be unhappy if you're expecting a luxury hotel or a place to hang out all day. My room was very small - about 10 by 12 - and internet cost extra. That's not what you get here. But if the price is right (and I paid only about $80/night in August), it's a great place to hang your hat after touring the town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The Galileo museum, down by the Arno, east of the Ponte Vecchio. Extremely well organized and curated, with startlingly beautiful renaissance artifacts - maps, globes, instruments, etc. - on display. I'm not a scientist, but I was fascinated. I cut my visit short to tour the Uffizi and wished I'd spent more time at Galileo instead.

Review of Donatello Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
frequenz traveller
Business
california
Aug 26, 2011

disappointed .........................

when we arrived at this hotel for check in , there was no room available eventhough we had reserved online and all paid in advance. they send us to the hotel next door which is way inferior. the hotel manager made us pay for occupancy taxes claiming that our online reservation does not included in it. the room is very small n not clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Donatello Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jose y Flori
Business
Mountain View, CA, USA
Aug 23, 2011

Just Good location

The hotel has a great location, however some members of the staff were not very friendly. The breakfast wasn't good at all and the bread was old. There was a air conditioning in the room but the control didn't work since it was controlled by the hotel's staff. The hotel has a weird smell and the internet connection is not free and is not very good (we had very bad reception in our room).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Donatello Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jose y Flori
Business
Mountain View, CA, USA
Aug 23, 2011

Just Good location

The hotel has a great location, however some members of the staff were not very friendly. The breakfast wasn't good at all and the bread was old. There was a air conditioning in the room but the control didn't work since it was controlled by the hotel's staff. The hotel has a weird smell and the internet connection is not free and is not very good (we had very bad reception in our room).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Donatello Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CA, USA
Jul 23, 2011

trip with children

traveled with husband and 3 and 7 yr old....spacious room...online i could only book a triple...wasn't sure if they were going to charge for my 3 yr old..when we got there the owner charged us about 22 euro a day for the 3 yr old...and explained it was necessary for the city tax/towel/breakfast/etc...our salzburg and venice hotel didn't charge a thing for our 3 yr old...so it was obviously owner discretion...room was fine..large enough to add an extra bed..bathroom was newly redone...air conditioner worked fine during heatwave (had to call reception to turn it on)good location for price.not too far from city center.10 min. straight walk from train station.both kids walked with ease...10 min. walk from accademia...if seeing david make a phone reservation with the museum directly to avoid crazy lines and surcharges that online sites charge..plus, more time slots are available via phone...the phone operators speak perfect english and we were able to book 8:15am reservation with only a 4.5 euro surcharge/ticket...best museum for kids is the leonardo da vinci hands on museum...just 5 min. from accademia..also right next to a grocery store...we stocked up on drinks and left them in the hotel mini fridge...hotel is a 1 hr train ride to pisa....kids enjoyed seeing leaning tower (must be 8 to climb tower and have reservation) and playing in the shaded grass areas....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

good hotel for families...this hotel takes a lot of high school/college tour groups, but our room was on the top floor away from the noise and they also eat in separte dining facility...if your kids don't mind walking for 10-15 min...this hotel is close to just about everything....accademia, duomo, train station...there is also a park right in front of the hotel...and the hotel is not on a busy st

Back to menu Return to top