$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2015 Check-out: Aug 1, 2015

Donatello Hotel Florence

3 stars
View map of Piazza Indipendenza, 23, Florence, 50129

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Donatello Hotel Florence

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 19
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.6

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Donatello Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
California Grandparents
Business
Monterey Peninsula, CA
Jul 18, 2012

Great Hotel for family Summer touring

The Donatello is great for summer visits to Florence. Good air conditioning, heavy traditional window shutters, cool tile floors instead of sticky carpet, marble bathrooms, and breakfast tables outdoors in a pretty shaded courtyard. They accommodated our request for two rooms for a large family group with only one glitch in the reservation for one room on the first night. Walking distance to the Academia, Ufizzi, and Duomo, and not a bad walk from the train station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Donatello Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MIMSIE
Business
Agoura Hills, CA
Jul 31, 2012

GREAT LOCATION

IT was close to train and 10 min walk to Academia and Uffizzi:)we just walked everywhere:) room was large and comfy. breakfast was nice.we got Free WIFI.only because our room was close to another hotel:) Donetelo was charging for it. Firenze was expensive but this hotel was a great value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Donatello Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Simba63
Business
Pico Rivera, CA
Sep 29, 2012

Nice and Comfortable

Easy check in with the confirmation number. Friendly staff. The room wasn't ready but the service lady worked quickly and looked for us when our rooms were ready. The room was spacious and comfortable. The breakfast choices were good and adequate to satisfy anyone. The only weird things: you have to call from your room to have the air conditioning turned on remotely and there isn't any way to regulate it; wi-fi is available but not free, I only could access it in the corridor but not from in my room (319).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Donatello Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mdolio94
Business
Philadelphia, PA
May 27, 2013

Great Weekend Hotel

Location was very convenient and located near train station and all sights. Staff was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Donatello Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cavolfiore
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Aug 30, 2011

Clean, friendly budget hotel

I stayed three days, and was very pleased. It's a clean hotel with friendly staff (very good English spoken here) in a very convenient location (a 5-10 minute walk to the main train/bus station, about 10 minutes to the Duomo). You'll be unhappy if you're expecting a luxury hotel or a place to hang out all day. My room was very small - about 10 by 12 - and internet cost extra. That's not what you get here. But if the price is right (and I paid only about $80/night in August), it's a great place to hang your hat after touring the town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The Galileo museum, down by the Arno, east of the Ponte Vecchio. Extremely well organized and curated, with startlingly beautiful renaissance artifacts - maps, globes, instruments, etc. - on display. I'm not a scientist, but I was fascinated. I cut my visit short to tour the Uffizi and wished I'd spent more time at Galileo instead.

Review of Donatello Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
thrifty mom
Business
Holland, MI, USA
Sep 15, 2011

park setting

Breakfast was good, close to train station and other places to visit. Clean room, good size, air conditioning felt great. Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything was close enough to walk and enjoy the sites.

Review of Donatello Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Oct 12, 2010

Wonderful Location & Great Front Desk

The room was large and very quiet. The location is excellent. We were able to walk to all of the amazing sites within the City. Good food and entertainment were also close at hand. Florence has lots of water, and as a result, also has plenty of mosquitoes. Expect them in your room if the windows are opened. Our room experienced its fair share of mosquitoes before we arrived as evidenced by all of the bodies smashed on the walls and ceilings. If you are looking for a late-night protein infusion, then this might be appealing. For ambience, the mosquitoe guts were a distraction. Breakfast offerings are good, but get in early. Some of the guests empty the bread, meat and cheese preparing lunches for their daily adventures and wipe out breakfast for the rest. VERY ODD! Also, the coffee and juice machines dispense one cup at a time, so be patient. The woman who runs the breakfast room can be cranky, but considering some of the guests, it might be understandable. Be patient and smile, they really have a lovely place in a terrific location. Just a couple of little annoyances.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are unaware of the parking restrictions in the City Center of Florence, then get the facts. We found out that the area in front of the hotel is reserved for pedestrian traffic. When we arrived, there were no chains up and no signs indicated the situation. Local parking around the pretty park is reserved for residents of the area (some pay for the privilege)and are not open to tourists. You might receive a warning if you are around, a ticket or may even have your vehicle towed. Metered parking is just a couple of blocks away and the hotel does utilize a local garage, but at a price. Ask the front desk staff before you park.

Review of Donatello Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montreal, Canada
Nov 8, 2010

Good value for the price

Well located. Not too fAR from the train station.... Good value... nice breakfast included... located in front of a park...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Donatello Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jimmy JIBIN
Business
New york
Sep 4, 2012

Perfect

Location was great, the rooms were great, and the staff was very helpful. All the reviews that said otherwise are incorrect. Breakfast was simple and sufficient. We booked the room at a good price, but everything else was at an extra charge There is a 25 euro city charge which I didn't know about, which was the only down side. A short walk from the duomo and the academia where David was held. It is about a ten minute walk from the Firenze SMN station, which is convinent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top