$161 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 7, 2015 Check-out: Jan 10, 2015

Degli Orafi Hotel Florence

4 stars
Lungarno Archibusieri, 4, Florence, 50121
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
15 reviews
Great place

Wonderful place, great location, can't get any closer to Ponte Vecchio. The room was a loft type... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Apr 15, 2011
Great hotel in the center of Florence

The Hotel degli Orafi was a perfect hotel for a vacationer in Florence. Located between the Ponte... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 5, 2010
Oscar-winning setting in an ancient Florentine building
The elegant Degli Orafi Hotel Florence, the setting for "A Room with a View," is a renowned four-star property housed in an ancient (13th Century) Florentine building. A polished, professional staff assures everyone's stay is productive and first-rate. Guests are encouraged to savor a celebrated Chianti vintage and beautiful city views from the rooftop terrace. The hotel boasts a superb location in the city center along the river, just steps from Ponte Vecchio and Uffizi Gallery.
Highlights
  • The setting for James Ivory's film "A Room with a View"
  • Situated in a 13th century building
  • Prime location steps from Ponte Vecchio and Uffizi Gallery
Rooms

Rooms at the Degli Orafi Hotel Florence are spacious and elegant and richly furnished with period pieces and modern conveniences. Bathrooms are richly adorned in marble, with many rooms offering two sinks. All rooms (classic, executive, and junior suites) include air conditioning, a direct dial phone, mini-bar, satellite TV, and a safe. For those willing to splurge, request the celebrated "Room with a View," the room where James Ivory shot memorable scenes from his 1985 Oscar-winning film, and which offers a coveted view over the Ponte Vecchio.

Features

Perhaps the only Florence hotel that served as the setting for a film that won an Oscar ("A Room with a View") for best set design, the Degli Orafi Hotel Florence is a four-star luxury property situated in a 13th century Florentine building.

Overlooking the River Arno and steps away from the Ponte Vecchio and Uffizi Gallery, it is a privileged starting point for exploring all of Florence's treasures, yet a welcome retreat and local destination in its own right.

Rooms are spacious and elegant and furnished with the finest period pieces, yet teeming with the amenities of the modern day.

A sumptuous buffet breakfast is served in a grand ballroom that overlooks the Arno River, while a rooftop terrace bar is the ideal setting to savor a delicious Chianti wine.

A richly appointed library is the perfect place to relax with a good book or perhaps catch up on correspondence at a computer workstation.

Transportation
  • Florence Airport (5.3 mi/8.5 km)
  • Santa Maria Novella train station (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
Attractions
  • Piazza del Duomo (0.5 mi/900 m)
  • Galleria degli Uffizi (436 ft/130 m)
  • Ponte Vecchio (380 ft/110 m)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Degli Orafi Hotel Florence also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Degli Orafi Hotel Florence Rooms

Standard Double Room
This room offers one king/ one twin beds including air conditioning, alarm clock, color TV, ensuite/ private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, mini bar, non smoking rooms, safe in room and telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Corridoio Vasariano: 0 mi
  • Uffizi Gallery (Galleria degli Uffizi): 0.1 mi
  • Museo Galileo - Institute and Museum of the History of Science: 0.1 mi
  • Pitti Palace: 0.1 mi
  • Piazza della Signoria: 0.2 mi
  • Museo di Palazzo Davanzati: 0.2 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Maria Novela Basilica: 0.3 mi
  • Centro Storico: 0.3 mi
  • Museo Nazionale del Bargello (Bargello Museum): 0.3 mi
  • Palazzo Vecchio: 0.3 mi
  • Boboli Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto): 0.4 mi
  • Piazza del Duomo: 0.4 mi
  • Duomo - Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore: 0.4 mi
  • Corridoio Vasariano: 0 mi
  • Uffizi Gallery (Galleria degli Uffizi): 0.1 mi
  • Museo Galileo - Institute and Museum of the History of Science: 0.1 mi
  • Pitti Palace: 0.1 mi
  • Piazza della Signoria: 0.2 mi
  • Museo di Palazzo Davanzati: 0.2 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Maria Novela Basilica: 0.3 mi
  • Centro Storico: 0.3 mi
  • Museo Nazionale del Bargello (Bargello Museum): 0.3 mi
  • Palazzo Vecchio: 0.3 mi
  • Boboli Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto): 0.4 mi
  • Piazza del Duomo: 0.4 mi
  • Duomo - Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore: 0.4 mi
  • Duomo Museum (Museo dell'Opera del Duomo): 0.4 mi
  • Laurentian Library (Biblioteca Medicea Laurenziana): 0.5 mi
  • Medici Chapels (Cappelle Medicee): 0.5 mi
  • Basilica di San Lorenzo: 0.5 mi
  • Church of Santa Maria Novella: 0.5 mi
  • Santa Maria Novella Train station: 0.6 mi
  • Piazzale Michelangelo: 0.6 mi
  • Mercato Centrale: 0.6 mi
  • Cimitero Delle Porte Sante: 0.6 mi
  • Sinagoga di Firenze e Museo ebraico: 0.6 mi
  • Galleria dell'Accademia: 0.7 mi
  • Museo di San Marco: 0.8 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Croce: 0.8 mi
  • Basilica di San Miniato al Monte: 0.8 mi
  • Basilica Of San Lorenzo: 0.9 mi
  • Piazza San Marco: 0.9 mi
  • Giardino Corsi: 1.1 mi
  • Giardino Della Gherardesca: 1.1 mi
  • Artemio Franchi Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • Museo Stibbert: 2 mi
  • Fiesole: 3.4 mi
  • Baptistry (Battistero): 43 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (15)

Ratings and reviews for Degli Orafi Hotel Florence

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 15
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
5
Value:
4.3

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Degli Orafi Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boise, ID
Apr 15, 2011

Great place

Wonderful place, great location, can't get any closer to Ponte Vecchio. The room was a loft type that had plenty of open space and large bed. Great bathroom but the shower wasn't my favorite, but a good shower is hard to find in Italy anyways.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you in your late teens to early twenties and want to find a good "Club" go to "FullUP" lots of music, continual dancing, and tons of women.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Degli Orafi Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, OH
Jul 20, 2011

Great Hotel on Arno!

The hotel is beautiful and well-located and we had a gorgeous room on the arno, big, spacious, well-appointed with bathrobes etc. There is beautiful roof deck bar with great views too, and the front desk was always wonderful and helpful. Two cons: 1. They charge for internet! That's a ripoff. 2. Breakfast was disappointing. Room was hot and noisy and service is slow -- coffee doesn't come till you are done eating, frequently they are out of eggs or glasses. Need more staff. Otherwise, fabulous!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

We should have gotten a Florence Card but didn't know about it in time. It costs 50 euro for 3 days and lets you in to all museums without a reservation and also busfare. If you are going to a lot of museums, as we did, it is well worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Degli Orafi Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Apr 25, 2011

Smelly

The Degli Orafi location was as advertised - picture perfect. It is adjacent to the Uffizi Museum and on the same block as the Ponte Vecchio bridge. The breakfast area was very elegant with two particular tables looking out over the Arno River. The terrace of the 5th floor bar had magnificent views at each end. The hotel was very clean and service throughout was perfect. I booked an Executive Suite (room 54) to assure room to move about and found it to be spacious with two levels. (note that if you are not interested in climbing about 15 steps to the bedroom or bathroom, chose a standard hotel room) Though none of the windows provided a view, (bedroom, bathroom, and kitchen/dining/sitting areas opened to a public shaft) they allowed in plenty of light. They also let in unbearable smells. There is a pronounced odor of sewage or dead animals in several hotel areas and so much so on the 1st floor of my suite that it was uninhabitable for long periods. When hotel staff took the elevator to the basement floor for supplies, the elevator brought the dead smell up with it and so it also became uninhabitable. The upper suite level with a large bedroom, walk-in closet, and toilet has its own unique and very pronounced smell - that of fried food. A glance out the window showed why - a restaurant cooking vent was just a few feet away. After complaining to management about the smells on each level, I returned to my room 9 hours later to find a portable, battery-powered air freshener placed in the bedroom. The bedroom walls separating suites are not well insulated and neighboring conversations and other noises are clearly heard. This will be an issue if you are a light sleeper. The bottom line is that if you have no issue with offensive odors, the hotel location and staff make it a great choice. On the other hand, if you are sensitive to the smell of sewage, dead animals, or fried food, you'll want to seek an alternate hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Ponte Vecchio Trattoria just a few steps to the left of the hotel (opposite the Uffize Gallery) on the same street that has really good food. ALso, there is a wine bar directly across the street from the Pitti Palace that serves dinner when the cook arrives and her homemade pasta is to die for. The local wine selections by the glass or bottle are excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Degli Orafi Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boise, ID
Apr 15, 2011

Great place

Wonderful place, great location, can't get any closer to Ponte Vecchio. The room was a loft type that had plenty of open space and large bed. Great bathroom but the shower wasn't my favorite, but a good shower is hard to find in Italy anyways.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you in your late teens to early twenties and want to find a good "Club" go to "FullUP" lots of music, continual dancing, and tons of women.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Degli Orafi Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ponte vedra florida
Jun 14, 2010

"Beautiful common rooms and fab location

It was located in a very convenient spot to the Arno River and basically next door to the Uffizi Gallery. Never felt that we were in the middle of it all. The staff made great recommendations for restaurants. one out of two were excellent. The staff also made reservations at the galleries. The breakfast room was beautiful and the food great. As was the rooftop terrace bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask hotel to make reservations for major museums.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Degli Orafi Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Trumbull, CT
May 5, 2010

Great hotel in the center of Florence

The Hotel degli Orafi was a perfect hotel for a vacationer in Florence. Located between the Ponte Vecchio and the Uffizi Gallery, the hotel is an easy walk to all of the major sites in the City. I recently stayed there with my elderly mother and found the staff to be very accommodating and helpful. As foodies, we were very interested in restaurant recommendations (especially since the hotel does not have a restaurant itself, only a breakfast area), and every one of the suggestions that we received from the staff was perfect. In addition, the staff noticed during check-in that my mother was celebrating a significant birthday during our stay and sent up a complementary bottle of sparkling wine. The buffet breakfast was quite large by European standards and included items that would appeal to anyone. We were upgraded to a suite upon our arrival and found the rooms to be clean, quiet and comfortable. I would highly recommend the hotel to anyone who travels to Florence and would not hesitate to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurant Buca Mario is not to be missed - traditional Tuscan food since 1886 !

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Degli Orafi Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pretty particular hotel guest
Business
DePere, WI
Nov 8, 2009

Fab location, good hotel

The hotel was in a perfect location! Beautiful view. The public areas were nicer than the rooms. The furniture slipcovers and bed covers are worn and aged, really need new ones. The size of the jr suite and its bathroom was very nice for a long stay. The daily breakfast was tasty and had a nice variety of items. Free mineral water from the mini bar was nice also. We had an issue with our bathroom, it did not drain at all, the water was above my ankles after a quick shower. How housekeeping did not notice this when cleaning, I do not know. We asked for it to be fixed on Sunday, then again on Monday. It was fixed on Monday but then a strong sewer smell filled our bathroom and drifted into the room for the remaining days. Also no free internet even on the hotel computer in the library area. 5 Euros for a half hour! Not sure if I would stay there again. I think they could do a better job for the price. Location is very important but doesn't always make up for lack of other amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

You cannot add tips to your credit card, the credit card system in Italy doesn't allow it. Bring enough cash to tip at all your dining experiences. Also ask for the check, they will not bring it unless you ask. The first night we sat there for 30 minutes waiting for our check because we didn't know. It was pretty funny.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Degli Orafi Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Aug 31, 2009

Great stay on the Arno

The location was the best. Having not been to Florence before, randomly picking a hotel was a bit of a gamble. But I was pleasantly surprised!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Michaelangelo Piazza

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Degli Orafi Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lake Bluff, Illinois
May 9, 2009

Hotel Degli Orafi

This was our second stay at the Orafi and it is one of our favorites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Degli Orafi Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Collierville
Aug 30, 2008

Wonderful location

The two-story apartment style room we were assigned was comfortable and roomy. It would have been wonderful for a longer stay. We were there just one night. It included a kitchenette and sitting room. The location in the heart of Florence was perfect, right next to the Uffizi on Ponte Vecchio. The breakfast room was beautiful and the meal sumptious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The bridge crossing the Arno, a block away, houses many fine jewelry and ceramic shops and affords a beautiful view of the Arno and downtown Florence.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Degli Orafi Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bridgewater
Aug 11, 2008

great hotel

The Degli Orafi is right on the Arno River next to the Ponte Vecchio. Great central location. The staff was teriffic. We got upgraded to suites for our 2 rooms. There is a wonderful rooftop bar with views of the river on one side and views of the city on the other. I have nothing negative to say.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is easy walking distance to great restaurants and shopping. We did not take a taxi the entire 3 days we were there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top