$113 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 28, 2015 Check-out: Apr 29, 2015

Corona D'Italia Hotel Florence

3 stars
View map of Via Nazionale, 14, Florence, 50123

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Corona D'Italia Hotel Florence

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 46
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Corona D'Italia Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PTCPA
Merrick, NY
Nov 4, 2012

Family getaway

The hotel was centrally located and staff were very accommodating. Breakfast was very good with lots of choices and plenty of seating. The room was comfortable but the bathroom could use some renovating. Overall it was a very good experience considering the craziness of the area and the number if people they try to accommodate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The food is very good and you can find plenty of restaurants that offer a great meal for reasonable prices. Of course the sightseeing and the the place is fantastic!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Corona D'Italia Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mary and Steve
Business
Bettendorf, Iowa
Nov 29, 2010

What a value, and close to train station

This hotel was super!! It was an easy walk from the train station with lots of luggage, and we were greeted by a very helpful staff at the counter. We were given maps and directions as well as help with tickets to museums. A superb value!! Heartily recommend!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Corona D'Italia Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia
Oct 28, 2010

Florence, Hotel Corona D'Italia

In a great location. Just close enough to the attractions, but far enough away to eat at less touristy restaurants. Everything was clean and comfortable, and the staff was very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Corona D'Italia Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Richieval
Business
NW Indiana
Oct 11, 2010

Just Okay

Two twin blankets covered our king bed, and if you ran the shower fast, you stood in six inches of water in the tub. This place is just okay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Corona D'Italia Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Louisville, KY
Sep 15, 2010

A week in Italy, in a great Hotel.

We first started our trip flying from the states and arriving in the FLR airport about noon. We took the volain bus which is 5 euro a piece to the santa maria novella train station. We walked 2 blocks to our hotel. Our hotel was a great hub for going everywhere we wanted to go. Right next door was the market, wich was only a short walk to food and the sites in florence. We used florence as a hub and since the train station was really close to the hotel we used it to take trips to pisa, rome, venice, and verona. Only an hour ride and about 80 euro a piece one way. There is a customer service office inside the train station where they have people who speak good english that can help you figure the train system out. We ate pappa pizza a lot right outside the hotel. cheap quick lunch. we also had gelato at the bermuda triangle just down from papa pizza every day. The best part of Florence was the night life. Me and my wife walked through the streets watching artists chalk the streets drawing the mona lisa, or musicians playing their hearts out. We danced together on the Ponte Vecho looking over the river, listening to a wonderful artist on our anniversary night. Italy is beautiful but tough for foreigners like we were. Dont buy any wine or cigars, they will not go through customs, not even the duty free shop ones. They confiscated them from me with no return. Take the Metro in Rome. Dont try to walk to the sites. Its too long and will literally run you down. Dont exchange cash ANYWHERE. All the exchange places give TERRIBLE Rates. 60 Euros for $100, When we were there. Go to a bank ATM and withdraw. It was about 93 euro for $100. HUGE difference. When on the train make sure you get the right stop on the quick tickets for getting off at SM Novella. Florence has 3 stops, even on the fast train, before SM Novella. In Venice once you have seen Saint Marks there isnt really anything else to see. Dont trust the signs to get there either. They are misleading and sometimes flat out wrong. If you can, take the water taxi to and from this attraction. Do your shopping around the Saint Marks and the Train Station dont get lost in the streets for hours like we did. The best cheapest place to eat in venice was called Brek, right outside the train station, to the left of the first big bridge. It was less than 10 euro for a huge plate of pasta and drinks. This was a great honeymoon/anniversary for us. We loved it so much and did so much by the end of the week. We saw just about everything in Italy without taking any expensive tours. Do it yourself. Take some time and plan it out. Learn a few Italian phrases as well. You will be saying grazie, bonjourno and ciao a lot. The maid service was unbelievable at our hotel and the breakfast was huge and always filled us up before we left on our trips. We left at 5am the next morning because the bus from the train station left at 530 to take us to the airport. the only bus available till 7, and our plane left at 7. 5 euro for the bus ride back. Enjoy and good luck!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Book this hotel. It is 2 blocks away from the train station. You can go anywhere in Italy from the train station. For local trains like to see Pisa, buy tickets at the Tabachi in the train station. Just say I need tickets to Pisa. About 11 euro for 2 one way. Youll have to buy some in Pisa for the return. There is a customer service station to help you figure out the fast trains that will take you to rome and venice. It is on the opposite side from the poliza spot. But basically all you need to know is the fast train symbol and the number of the train to look for. The fast trains leave every 30 minutes. You can choose your destination on the quick ticket computers. There is a certain symbol for the fast trains. Its ER or FR something like that italisized print. If your ride to Rome or Venice is more than 1hr 45min your on a slow train. you should be able to choose your seats as well. choose seats acroos from each other not beside. there is not leg room. better to hit legs with someone you know. before you punch it in check the to and from locations. rome is roma termini, and venice is venezia s lucia. florence is firenze smn. going to pisa you have to take the slow train, local train. its about an hour. the station is called Pisa Centro, but the final destination of the train should be lovorrno. youll get off before lovorrno though. Use the trains dont rent a car.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Corona D'Italia Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Aptos, CA
Sep 14, 2010

This hotel does NOT star

I chose this hotel because I wanted to be close to the Santa Maria Novella train station. The standard room that we booked was small, but that wasn't a problem. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable, even if it nearly filled the room. The bathroom was tight, but that wasn't a problem either. It worked for us, and we didn't mind the plastic shower curtain. The hotel's breakfast, while not especially varied, was adequate and the coffee was good. Unfortunately, the walls at this hotel must be made of plywood, because we could hear everything from the neighboring room. The housekeeping staff, was another sorry story. On at least one occasion, they still hadn't made up our room by the time we came back mid-afternoon from a very hot and tiring day of walking around Florence. But that wasn't so much of a problem as their failure to pick up and return our laundry on time. But that wasn't so much of a problem as the fact the housekeeper flat out lied about the problem when I complained to the management. She claimed (to our faces, in front of the management) that she had talked to my wife and my wife had told her that we didn't want our laundry done. But this never happened. We told the manager that the housekeeper couldn't have talked to either of us, because we had left the hotel before she arrived on the morning that our laundry was supposed to be picked up from our room. The manager refused to believe us, repeating, ''But she says she spoke with your wife.'' Clearly, they don't believe that their customers are always right at the Corona D'Italia. Look elsewhere for a room in Firenze!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Corona D'Italia Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
U.S. Navy Napoli, Italy
Sep 2, 2010

A fantastic deal!

Could not have asked for a better location. It was less than a 10 minute walk from the Firenze Centrale station. The bonus was that on leaving the room you could enter the open market and proceed onto the Duomo arriving in around 7 minutes. The staff was top notch and even responded to a request to store our luggage by providing us a check in time of 1030 vice the standard 1200. For it's location and price you could not ask for a better deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Corona D'Italia Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, FL
Jul 4, 2010

Amazing staff

We went on several tours of Florence and enarby cities, all which the staff reccommended and were very helpful in planning our trips. The staff could not have been more hospitable. Rooms are little small and weird bathrooms, but overall a pleasureable stay. Quick walk to center of the city. And literally a 10 minute walk from the train station with suitcases.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Travtor Nella. Amazing restuarant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Corona D'Italia Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Business traveller
Business
Rome
Jun 14, 2010

Perfect Hotel, Perfect Location!

If you are coming from the Train station, you take about 5 to 10 minutes to reach this hotel. The staff is friendly and the location is superb. The hotel is located at the beginning of Mercato di San Lorenzo e in 5 minutes walk you can reach Santa Maria Novella square. The hotel itself, apart from its location, has spacious rooms and everything, the rooms, the breakfast, is really in good state. I would suggest other travellers to book for this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

I would suggest a place "Vinoli" located in the Mercato di San Lorenzo where, for lunch, you can eat special "schiacciata" with every type of food. Prices are good and quality is very high.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Corona D'Italia Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
saratoga7
Business
Saratoga, CA
Jun 6, 2010

Great Location, Good Tourist Hotel

Less than a block walk from the train station. Right next to one of the largest street markets in Florence, great prices on leather goods. Walking distance to most major sites. Good breakfasts, lots of selection. Rooms were small, but clean and adequate. Front desk people were friendly, spoke english and helpful. Biggest negative was they charged for wifi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The street market, which was just around the corner from the Hotel had the lowest prices on souvenirs that we saw on our trip. Bargain, they will accept less.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Corona D'Italia Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sennebueb
Business
Boston
Mar 29, 2010

Decent Tourist Hotel

The hotel is about a 5-10 minute walk from the main railroad station. It is a great location right next to Florence's leather market and a short walk from all main tourist attractions. The hotel was clean and friendly and offered a nice breakfast buffet. Lots of student groups that were very noisy until late at night. Tiny elevators and long wait times if you wanted to use them when a group was getting ready for check-out. It was good value - I would go back there any time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

San Lorenzo Market - great leather goods and clothes in street market for good prices if you negotiate hard.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top