Corona D'Italia Hotel Florence

3 stars
Via Nazionale, 14, Florence, 50123
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
85 reviews
*Location Location Location*

This hotel is within a very short walking distance from the train station SMN (Santa Maria... See full review

  • PetuniaPiggy
  • Mar 15, 2014
Overall great experience

Nice hotel in a great location. Close to the train terminal and other attractions so easily made a... See full review

  • islandkarate
  • Jun 8, 2014
Personalized service, typical Tuscan style in a 19th century palazzo
The Corona D'Italia Hotel Florence is a bright, spacious hotel that's ideally set in the heart of central Florence. The hotel deftly combines modern elegance with typical Tuscan style. Rooms are bright and spacious -- soundproofing is an especially welcome touch -- and ­a cozy bar is the ideal venue for a cocktail or coffee, day or night.
Highlights
  • Sound-proofed rooms
  • Bedrooms decorated with marble and terracotta floors
  • Set in a 19th century palazzo
Rooms

The 80 en-suite, sound-proofed rooms bring together modern elegance with typical Tuscan touches, such as marble and terracotta floors. Spacious and bright, they include all modern amenities, including air conditioning, satellite TV, direct-dial telephone, safety deposit box, mini-bar, and Wi-Fi. Rooms are available in single, double, triple, and family layouts, the latter that comfortably accommodate four people. Room service is available, too, a welcome touch and convenience for the weary traveler.

Features

The Corona D'Italia Hotel Florence is a stylish and functional 3-star property that's set in a 19th century palazzo within walking distance to all of Florence's major sites and landmarks. Carrara marble and elegant stucco trim accent bright, spacious interiors.

Rooms are decorated in typical Tuscan style with marble and terracotta floors, and complete soundproofing ensures a tranquil respite from the property's bustling central Florence location.

A doting hotel staff prides itself on assisting guests with every trip planning detail, from offering museum reservations to arranging guided visits of the nearby Chianti region.

A sumptuous buffet breakfast ensures everyone's day begins healthy and hearty, while the on-site American Bar is the ideal venue for relaxing over a cocktail or coffee, a cozy and convenient meeting point morning or night.

Transportation
  • Florence Airport (4.9 mi/7.9 km)
  • Santa Maria Novella train station (0.2 mi/ 210 m)
Attractions
  • San Lorenzo (0.3 mi/ 550 m)
  • Piazza del Duomo (0.5 mi/ 750 m)
  • Galleria degli Uffizi (0.8 mi/ 1.2 km)
  • Ponte Vecchio (0.7 mi/ 1.2 km)
Business
  • Meeting Hall accommodates up to 35 guests
  • State-of-the-art technical services and equipment (on request)
  • Wi-Fi 

Corona D'Italia Hotel Florence Rooms

Standard Single Room
Room offers a twin bed with air conditioning, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, laundry service at cost, mini bar, non smoking rooms, room service, safe in room and telephone.
Standard Double Room
Room offers a double bed or teo single beds with air conditioning, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, laundry service at cost, mini bar, non smoking rooms, room service, safe in room and telephone.
Standard Triple Room
Room offers a double bed and a twin bed or three single beds with air conditioning, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, laundry service at cost, mini bar, non smoking rooms, room service, safe in room and telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

43.7772 11.2521
Area served
Florence City Centre.
Nearby airports
Amerigo Vespucci International Airport.
Area description
Located in Florence, the Hotel Corona d'Italia 3 stars is a hotel strategically located between the Convention Center (Palaffari and the Fortezza da Basso), the Duomo, and the Santa Maria Novella Central Station.

Nearby points of interest

  • Mercato Centrale: 0.1 mi
  • Basilica di San Lorenzo: 0.1 mi
  • Medici Chapels (Cappelle Medicee): 0.1 mi
  • Church of Santa Maria Novella: 0.2 mi
  • Basilica Of San Lorenzo: 0.2 mi
  • Laurentian Library (Biblioteca Medicea Laurenziana): 0.2 mi
  • Santa Maria Novella Train station: 0.2 mi
  • Piazza del Duomo: 0.3 mi
  • Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto): 0.3 mi
  • Duomo - Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore: 0.3 mi
  • Galleria dell'Accademia: 0.3 mi
  • Duomo Museum (Museo dell'Opera del Duomo): 0.3 mi
  • Museo di San Marco: 0.4 mi
  • Centro Storico: 0.4 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.4 mi
  • Mercato Centrale: 0.1 mi
  • Basilica di San Lorenzo: 0.1 mi
  • Medici Chapels (Cappelle Medicee): 0.1 mi
  • Church of Santa Maria Novella: 0.2 mi
  • Basilica Of San Lorenzo: 0.2 mi
  • Laurentian Library (Biblioteca Medicea Laurenziana): 0.2 mi
  • Santa Maria Novella Train station: 0.2 mi
  • Piazza del Duomo: 0.3 mi
  • Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto): 0.3 mi
  • Duomo - Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore: 0.3 mi
  • Galleria dell'Accademia: 0.3 mi
  • Duomo Museum (Museo dell'Opera del Duomo): 0.3 mi
  • Museo di San Marco: 0.4 mi
  • Centro Storico: 0.4 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.4 mi
  • Museo di Palazzo Davanzati: 0.4 mi
  • Piazza San Marco: 0.4 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Croce: 0.5 mi
  • Piazza della Signoria: 0.5 mi
  • Santa Maria Novela Basilica: 0.5 mi
  • Museo Nazionale del Bargello (Bargello Museum): 0.5 mi
  • Corridoio Vasariano: 0.6 mi
  • Uffizi Gallery (Galleria degli Uffizi): 0.6 mi
  • Pitti Palace: 0.6 mi
  • Museo Galileo - Institute and Museum of the History of Science: 0.6 mi
  • Giardino Corsi: 0.6 mi
  • Palazzo Vecchio: 0.6 mi
  • Sinagoga di Firenze e Museo ebraico: 0.7 mi
  • Boboli Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Giardino Della Gherardesca: 0.9 mi
  • Piazzale Michelangelo: 1.1 mi
  • Cimitero Delle Porte Sante: 1.3 mi
  • Museo Stibbert: 1.4 mi
  • Artemio Franchi Stadium: 1.4 mi
  • Basilica di San Miniato al Monte: 1.4 mi
  • Fiesole: 3 mi
  • Baptistry (Battistero): 42.9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Conference Room with all the technical equipements and up to 35 seats.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1200
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (85)

Ratings and reviews for Corona D'Italia Hotel Florence

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
85 out of 85
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Corona D'Italia Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JoyousOne
Italy
Feb 4, 2011

Not the best

I've been to Florence before and I thought this looked like a pretty good hotel...I was wrong. My friend and I got there and although the staff was great, the room reaked of something gross and we were put next to rooms that were under construction. There were alot of other rooms,so I couldn't understand why they would put us in a room that was destined to wake us up at 7 am due to construction! The sinks wouldn't drain properly and again the smell of the room just made my stomach turn and I ended up getting sick after staying here. I would not recommend this place. I've seen three stars hotel much better than this place and the walk from the center of Florence to our hotel was not the most convenient. People who have never been to Florence before WOULD recommend this place, but I've stayed in other hotels and been there and done that and I would never again do it at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

'Yab' and 'Slowly' are conveniently located next to each other and are American hot spots. Just ask any locals and they wil be able to point you in the right direction.

Review of Corona D'Italia Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Norfolk, VA
Feb 1, 2011

Great hotel and location

I went sightseeing, shopping, dinning, and I walked everywhere, This was a great place to stay for the price and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is close to everything. You can walk everywhere to go sightseeing or shopping. Great location. The only thing that was inconvenient was the internet, which was expensive.

Review of Corona D'Italia Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amy
Not Provided
Jan 2, 2011

The hotel is wheelcair friendly

The hotel is wheelcair friendly and the rooms are rather large for European standards. The room has a bath and a shower and I am sure the hotel can provide a chair for transferring to shower. The location is excellent and I could push tp most places. I can recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Corona D'Italia Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mary and Steve
Bettendorf, Iowa
Nov 29, 2010

What a value, and close to train station

This hotel was super!! It was an easy walk from the train station with lots of luggage, and we were greeted by a very helpful staff at the counter. We were given maps and directions as well as help with tickets to museums. A superb value!! Heartily recommend!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Corona D'Italia Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maggie
Not Provided
Nov 17, 2010

Excellent hotel, perfect location

Excellent hotel, perfect location for all the sites and the market and easy to reach from the train station. Breakfast fine and staff very helpful and friendly. Would return there if travelling to Florence again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Corona D'Italia Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia
Oct 28, 2010

Florence, Hotel Corona D'Italia

In a great location. Just close enough to the attractions, but far enough away to eat at less touristy restaurants. Everything was clean and comfortable, and the staff was very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Corona D'Italia Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Richieval
NW Indiana
Oct 11, 2010

Just Okay

Two twin blankets covered our king bed, and if you ran the shower fast, you stood in six inches of water in the tub. This place is just okay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Corona D'Italia Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Louisville, KY
Sep 15, 2010

A week in Italy, in a great Hotel.

We first started our trip flying from the states and arriving in the FLR airport about noon. We took the volain bus which is 5 euro a piece to the santa maria novella train station. We walked 2 blocks to our hotel. Our hotel was a great hub for going everywhere we wanted to go. Right next door was the market, wich was only a short walk to food and the sites in florence. We used florence as a hub and since the train station was really close to the hotel we used it to take trips to pisa, rome, venice, and verona. Only an hour ride and about 80 euro a piece one way. There is a customer service office inside the train station where they have people who speak good english that can help you figure the train system out. We ate pappa pizza a lot right outside the hotel. cheap quick lunch. we also had gelato at the bermuda triangle just down from papa pizza every day. The best part of Florence was the night life. Me and my wife walked through the streets watching artists chalk the streets drawing the mona lisa, or musicians playing their hearts out. We danced together on the Ponte Vecho looking over the river, listening to a wonderful artist on our anniversary night. Italy is beautiful but tough for foreigners like we were. Dont buy any wine or cigars, they will not go through customs, not even the duty free shop ones. They confiscated them from me with no return. Take the Metro in Rome. Dont try to walk to the sites. Its too long and will literally run you down. Dont exchange cash ANYWHERE. All the exchange places give TERRIBLE Rates. 60 Euros for $100, When we were there. Go to a bank ATM and withdraw. It was about 93 euro for $100. HUGE difference. When on the train make sure you get the right stop on the quick tickets for getting off at SM Novella. Florence has 3 stops, even on the fast train, before SM Novella. In Venice once you have seen Saint Marks there isnt really anything else to see. Dont trust the signs to get there either. They are misleading and sometimes flat out wrong. If you can, take the water taxi to and from this attraction. Do your shopping around the Saint Marks and the Train Station dont get lost in the streets for hours like we did. The best cheapest place to eat in venice was called Brek, right outside the train station, to the left of the first big bridge. It was less than 10 euro for a huge plate of pasta and drinks. This was a great honeymoon/anniversary for us. We loved it so much and did so much by the end of the week. We saw just about everything in Italy without taking any expensive tours. Do it yourself. Take some time and plan it out. Learn a few Italian phrases as well. You will be saying grazie, bonjourno and ciao a lot. The maid service was unbelievable at our hotel and the breakfast was huge and always filled us up before we left on our trips. We left at 5am the next morning because the bus from the train station left at 530 to take us to the airport. the only bus available till 7, and our plane left at 7. 5 euro for the bus ride back. Enjoy and good luck!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Book this hotel. It is 2 blocks away from the train station. You can go anywhere in Italy from the train station. For local trains like to see Pisa, buy tickets at the Tabachi in the train station. Just say I need tickets to Pisa. About 11 euro for 2 one way. Youll have to buy some in Pisa for the return. There is a customer service station to help you figure out the fast trains that will take you to rome and venice. It is on the opposite side from the poliza spot. But basically all you need to know is the fast train symbol and the number of the train to look for. The fast trains leave every 30 minutes. You can choose your destination on the quick ticket computers. There is a certain symbol for the fast trains. Its ER or FR something like that italisized print. If your ride to Rome or Venice is more than 1hr 45min your on a slow train. you should be able to choose your seats as well. choose seats acroos from each other not beside. there is not leg room. better to hit legs with someone you know. before you punch it in check the to and from locations. rome is roma termini, and venice is venezia s lucia. florence is firenze smn. going to pisa you have to take the slow train, local train. its about an hour. the station is called Pisa Centro, but the final destination of the train should be lovorrno. youll get off before lovorrno though. Use the trains dont rent a car.

Review of Corona D'Italia Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Aptos, CA
Sep 14, 2010

This hotel does NOT star

I chose this hotel because I wanted to be close to the Santa Maria Novella train station. The standard room that we booked was small, but that wasn't a problem. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable, even if it nearly filled the room. The bathroom was tight, but that wasn't a problem either. It worked for us, and we didn't mind the plastic shower curtain. The hotel's breakfast, while not especially varied, was adequate and the coffee was good. Unfortunately, the walls at this hotel must be made of plywood, because we could hear everything from the neighboring room. The housekeeping staff, was another sorry story. On at least one occasion, they still hadn't made up our room by the time we came back mid-afternoon from a very hot and tiring day of walking around Florence. But that wasn't so much of a problem as their failure to pick up and return our laundry on time. But that wasn't so much of a problem as the fact the housekeeper flat out lied about the problem when I complained to the management. She claimed (to our faces, in front of the management) that she had talked to my wife and my wife had told her that we didn't want our laundry done. But this never happened. We told the manager that the housekeeper couldn't have talked to either of us, because we had left the hotel before she arrived on the morning that our laundry was supposed to be picked up from our room. The manager refused to believe us, repeating, ''But she says she spoke with your wife.'' Clearly, they don't believe that their customers are always right at the Corona D'Italia. Look elsewhere for a room in Firenze!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Corona D'Italia Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
U.S. Navy Napoli, Italy
Sep 2, 2010

A fantastic deal!

Could not have asked for a better location. It was less than a 10 minute walk from the Firenze Centrale station. The bonus was that on leaving the room you could enter the open market and proceed onto the Duomo arriving in around 7 minutes. The staff was top notch and even responded to a request to store our luggage by providing us a check in time of 1030 vice the standard 1200. For it's location and price you could not ask for a better deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top