$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

Corona D'Italia Hotel Florence

3 stars
Via Nazionale, 14, Florence, 50123
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
63 reviews
*Location Location Location*

This hotel is within a very short walking distance from the train station SMN (Santa Maria... See full review

  • PetuniaPiggy
  • Mar 15, 2014
Overall great experience

Nice hotel in a great location. Close to the train terminal and other attractions so easily made a... See full review

  • islandkarate
  • Jun 8, 2014
Personalized service, typical Tuscan style in a 19th century palazzo
The Corona D'Italia Hotel Florence is a bright, spacious hotel that's ideally set in the heart of central Florence. The hotel deftly combines modern elegance with typical Tuscan style. Rooms are bright and spacious -- soundproofing is an especially welcome touch -- and ­a cozy bar is the ideal venue for a cocktail or coffee, day or night.
Highlights
  • Sound-proofed rooms
  • Bedrooms decorated with marble and terracotta floors
  • Set in a 19th century palazzo
Rooms

The 80 en-suite, sound-proofed rooms bring together modern elegance with typical Tuscan touches, such as marble and terracotta floors. Spacious and bright, they include all modern amenities, including air conditioning, satellite TV, direct-dial telephone, safety deposit box, mini-bar, and Wi-Fi. Rooms are available in single, double, triple, and family layouts, the latter that comfortably accommodate four people. Room service is available, too, a welcome touch and convenience for the weary traveler.

Features

The Corona D'Italia Hotel Florence is a stylish and functional 3-star property that's set in a 19th century palazzo within walking distance to all of Florence's major sites and landmarks. Carrara marble and elegant stucco trim accent bright, spacious interiors.

Rooms are decorated in typical Tuscan style with marble and terracotta floors, and complete soundproofing ensures a tranquil respite from the property's bustling central Florence location.

A doting hotel staff prides itself on assisting guests with every trip planning detail, from offering museum reservations to arranging guided visits of the nearby Chianti region.

A sumptuous buffet breakfast ensures everyone's day begins healthy and hearty, while the on-site American Bar is the ideal venue for relaxing over a cocktail or coffee, a cozy and convenient meeting point morning or night.

Transportation
  • Florence Airport (4.9 mi/7.9 km)
  • Santa Maria Novella train station (0.2 mi/ 210 m)
Attractions
  • San Lorenzo (0.3 mi/ 550 m)
  • Piazza del Duomo (0.5 mi/ 750 m)
  • Galleria degli Uffizi (0.8 mi/ 1.2 km)
  • Ponte Vecchio (0.7 mi/ 1.2 km)
Business
  • Meeting Hall accommodates up to 35 guests
  • State-of-the-art technical services and equipment (on request)
  • Wi-Fi 

Corona D'Italia Hotel Florence Rooms

Standard Single Room
Room offers a twin bed with air conditioning, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, laundry service at cost, mini bar, non smoking rooms, room service, safe in room and telephone.
Standard Double Room
Room offers a double bed or teo single beds with air conditioning, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, laundry service at cost, mini bar, non smoking rooms, room service, safe in room and telephone.
Standard Triple Room
Room offers a double bed and a twin bed or three single beds with air conditioning, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, laundry service at cost, mini bar, non smoking rooms, room service, safe in room and telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Corona D'Italia Hotel Florence also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

43.7772 11.2521
Area served
Florence City Centre.
Nearby airports
Amerigo Vespucci International Airport.
Area description
Located in Florence, the Hotel Corona d'Italia 3 stars is a hotel strategically located between the Convention Center (Palaffari and the Fortezza da Basso), the Duomo, and the Santa Maria Novella Central Station.

Nearby points of interest

  • Mercato Centrale: 0.1 mi
  • Basilica di San Lorenzo: 0.1 mi
  • Medici Chapels (Cappelle Medicee): 0.1 mi
  • Church of Santa Maria Novella: 0.2 mi
  • Basilica Of San Lorenzo: 0.2 mi
  • Laurentian Library (Biblioteca Medicea Laurenziana): 0.2 mi
  • Santa Maria Novella Train station: 0.2 mi
  • Piazza del Duomo: 0.3 mi
  • Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto): 0.3 mi
  • Duomo - Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore: 0.3 mi
  • Galleria dell'Accademia: 0.3 mi
  • Duomo Museum (Museo dell'Opera del Duomo): 0.3 mi
  • Museo di San Marco: 0.4 mi
  • Centro Storico: 0.4 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.4 mi
  • Mercato Centrale: 0.1 mi
  • Basilica di San Lorenzo: 0.1 mi
  • Medici Chapels (Cappelle Medicee): 0.1 mi
  • Church of Santa Maria Novella: 0.2 mi
  • Basilica Of San Lorenzo: 0.2 mi
  • Laurentian Library (Biblioteca Medicea Laurenziana): 0.2 mi
  • Santa Maria Novella Train station: 0.2 mi
  • Piazza del Duomo: 0.3 mi
  • Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto): 0.3 mi
  • Duomo - Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore: 0.3 mi
  • Galleria dell'Accademia: 0.3 mi
  • Duomo Museum (Museo dell'Opera del Duomo): 0.3 mi
  • Museo di San Marco: 0.4 mi
  • Centro Storico: 0.4 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.4 mi
  • Museo di Palazzo Davanzati: 0.4 mi
  • Piazza San Marco: 0.4 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Croce: 0.5 mi
  • Piazza della Signoria: 0.5 mi
  • Santa Maria Novela Basilica: 0.5 mi
  • Museo Nazionale del Bargello (Bargello Museum): 0.5 mi
  • Corridoio Vasariano: 0.6 mi
  • Uffizi Gallery (Galleria degli Uffizi): 0.6 mi
  • Pitti Palace: 0.6 mi
  • Museo Galileo - Institute and Museum of the History of Science: 0.6 mi
  • Giardino Corsi: 0.6 mi
  • Palazzo Vecchio: 0.6 mi
  • Sinagoga di Firenze e Museo ebraico: 0.7 mi
  • Boboli Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Giardino Della Gherardesca: 0.9 mi
  • Piazzale Michelangelo: 1.1 mi
  • Cimitero Delle Porte Sante: 1.3 mi
  • Museo Stibbert: 1.4 mi
  • Artemio Franchi Stadium: 1.4 mi
  • Basilica di San Miniato al Monte: 1.4 mi
  • Fiesole: 3 mi
  • Baptistry (Battistero): 42.9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Conference Room with all the technical equipements and up to 35 seats.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1200
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (63)

Ratings and reviews for Corona D'Italia Hotel Florence

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
63 out of 63
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Corona D'Italia Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Helsinki
Feb 20, 2011

Hotel Corona D' Italia

Staff at reception and dining was very courteous. On arrival they had all our room and keys ready and it took them 5 seconds to do our check in. Room was nice and big and very near to Florence central station. Breakfast was also good. We would definitely come back again to same hotel when we travel to Florence again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Corona D'Italia Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Louisville, KY
Sep 15, 2010

A week in Italy, in a great Hotel.

We first started our trip flying from the states and arriving in the FLR airport about noon. We took the volain bus which is 5 euro a piece to the santa maria novella train station. We walked 2 blocks to our hotel. Our hotel was a great hub for going everywhere we wanted to go. Right next door was the market, wich was only a short walk to food and the sites in florence. We used florence as a hub and since the train station was really close to the hotel we used it to take trips to pisa, rome, venice, and verona. Only an hour ride and about 80 euro a piece one way. There is a customer service office inside the train station where they have people who speak good english that can help you figure the train system out. We ate pappa pizza a lot right outside the hotel. cheap quick lunch. we also had gelato at the bermuda triangle just down from papa pizza every day. The best part of Florence was the night life. Me and my wife walked through the streets watching artists chalk the streets drawing the mona lisa, or musicians playing their hearts out. We danced together on the Ponte Vecho looking over the river, listening to a wonderful artist on our anniversary night. Italy is beautiful but tough for foreigners like we were. Dont buy any wine or cigars, they will not go through customs, not even the duty free shop ones. They confiscated them from me with no return. Take the Metro in Rome. Dont try to walk to the sites. Its too long and will literally run you down. Dont exchange cash ANYWHERE. All the exchange places give TERRIBLE Rates. 60 Euros for $100, When we were there. Go to a bank ATM and withdraw. It was about 93 euro for $100. HUGE difference. When on the train make sure you get the right stop on the quick tickets for getting off at SM Novella. Florence has 3 stops, even on the fast train, before SM Novella. In Venice once you have seen Saint Marks there isnt really anything else to see. Dont trust the signs to get there either. They are misleading and sometimes flat out wrong. If you can, take the water taxi to and from this attraction. Do your shopping around the Saint Marks and the Train Station dont get lost in the streets for hours like we did. The best cheapest place to eat in venice was called Brek, right outside the train station, to the left of the first big bridge. It was less than 10 euro for a huge plate of pasta and drinks. This was a great honeymoon/anniversary for us. We loved it so much and did so much by the end of the week. We saw just about everything in Italy without taking any expensive tours. Do it yourself. Take some time and plan it out. Learn a few Italian phrases as well. You will be saying grazie, bonjourno and ciao a lot. The maid service was unbelievable at our hotel and the breakfast was huge and always filled us up before we left on our trips. We left at 5am the next morning because the bus from the train station left at 530 to take us to the airport. the only bus available till 7, and our plane left at 7. 5 euro for the bus ride back. Enjoy and good luck!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Book this hotel. It is 2 blocks away from the train station. You can go anywhere in Italy from the train station. For local trains like to see Pisa, buy tickets at the Tabachi in the train station. Just say I need tickets to Pisa. About 11 euro for 2 one way. Youll have to buy some in Pisa for the return. There is a customer service station to help you figure out the fast trains that will take you to rome and venice. It is on the opposite side from the poliza spot. But basically all you need to know is the fast train symbol and the number of the train to look for. The fast trains leave every 30 minutes. You can choose your destination on the quick ticket computers. There is a certain symbol for the fast trains. Its ER or FR something like that italisized print. If your ride to Rome or Venice is more than 1hr 45min your on a slow train. you should be able to choose your seats as well. choose seats acroos from each other not beside. there is not leg room. better to hit legs with someone you know. before you punch it in check the to and from locations. rome is roma termini, and venice is venezia s lucia. florence is firenze smn. going to pisa you have to take the slow train, local train. its about an hour. the station is called Pisa Centro, but the final destination of the train should be lovorrno. youll get off before lovorrno though. Use the trains dont rent a car.

Review of Corona D'Italia Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ontario, Canada
May 19, 2009

Our Florence hotel experience

This hotel was very comfortable, a truly satisfying breakfast with great coffee! My wife and I appreciated the very helpful and friendly staff. Our three nights there were consistently excellent, especially after long days of viewing beautiful art, sculptures and of course Italian leather goods (just around the corner at the street market)!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Open market of many goods (from leather to fashion)

Review of Corona D'Italia Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Business traveller
Business
Rome
Jun 14, 2010

Perfect Hotel, Perfect Location!

If you are coming from the Train station, you take about 5 to 10 minutes to reach this hotel. The staff is friendly and the location is superb. The hotel is located at the beginning of Mercato di San Lorenzo e in 5 minutes walk you can reach Santa Maria Novella square. The hotel itself, apart from its location, has spacious rooms and everything, the rooms, the breakfast, is really in good state. I would suggest other travellers to book for this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

I would suggest a place "Vinoli" located in the Mercato di San Lorenzo where, for lunch, you can eat special "schiacciata" with every type of food. Prices are good and quality is very high.

Review of Corona D'Italia Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
Nov 8, 2009

Unbeatable location

Hotel staff very helpful and speak fluent English. Buffet breakfast was plentiful. Ask for cappucino! Rooms excellent size. Very quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Corona D'Italia Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
London
May 29, 2011

Good hotel. Had a lovely stay.

For a short weekend or business trip this is a really good hotel. There was nothing fancy but this hotel provided a very comfortable stay. I thought I requested a twin room but got a single room (for 90 Euros a night). My room was therefore a bit smaller than expected, particularly the en-suite bathroom, but it was very clean and most importantly very quiet. It was also nicely air conditioned although it did get a bit cold. I didn't work out how to adjust the thermostat! The staff were very friendly and helpful apart from one slightly grumpy receptionist. The location is good too. It isn't in the heart of old Florence but it is very close to it, right next to a large clothes market and very close to the station and several nice restaurants. The breakfast was the only disappointment. Better to get breakfast in one of the local cafes on Via Nazionale.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Corona D'Italia Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Michigan
Mar 17, 2011

Hotel Corona D'Italia

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It is truly an excellent location in Florence, especially if you're using the train system or plan to walk the city. Our room was very clean, with an excellent bathroom. We enjoyed the complimentary breakfasts, complete with a very helpful serving staff. The hotel staff became friendlier during our week, but we were a bit disappointed that the hotel charged us for reserving museum tickets, tours, and phone calls made on our behalf.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Corona D'Italia Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
U.S. Navy Napoli, Italy
Sep 2, 2010

A fantastic deal!

Could not have asked for a better location. It was less than a 10 minute walk from the Firenze Centrale station. The bonus was that on leaving the room you could enter the open market and proceed onto the Duomo arriving in around 7 minutes. The staff was top notch and even responded to a request to store our luggage by providing us a check in time of 1030 vice the standard 1200. For it's location and price you could not ask for a better deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Corona D'Italia Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DJando
NY, New York
Apr 22, 2009

Excellent Location very helpful staff

The hotel was only a fewshort blocks from the train station. We arrived early our rooms were not ready but the staff held our bags without us asking so we could go out and explore. We did book two rooms for only one night, the rooms were very clean and nice size. Small refrigerator and safe in room. Only regrets it was a little noisey in the morning around 8am but i guess it was time to get up anyway. Upon checking out the staff held our bags till 9pm that night which worked out very well for us. The morning breakfast was excellent. I would stay again for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Florence is absoutely amazing, wish i could have stayed longer.

Review of Corona D'Italia Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Tampa, FL
Jul 10, 2011

Good hotel for a quick stay in Florence

Hotel was in a great location near the train station and since Florence is so compact, we were able to walk everywhere from the hotel. No complaints about the room itself, or the hotel staff. Only complaint would be no free Wi-Fi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is very near the train station, about four blocks away.

Back to menu Return to top