$44 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 8, 2015 Check-out: Feb 9, 2015

Casa Howard Guest Houses Florence

Via della Scala, 18, Florence, 50123
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
5 reviews
Unique, Enjoyable Stay

Great location, fantastic if traveling by train as the hotel is only a few blocks from the station.... See full review

  • European 30th Bday
  • Mar 14, 2014
A Lesson in Doing Your Homework

Let me preface what I am about to say by letting you know that I did not necessarily have a bad... See full review

  • AmandaX
  • Feb 29, 2012
Casa Howard Florence accommodation, on Via della Scala 18, opened in the year 2005 after two years of intensive refurbishing. We kept all the original flooring and ceilings to fully achieve the Casa Howard Concept: very high standard houses aiming to host special people. Services include a large Turkish Hammam Bath, a Music/TV room(available when owners are away), a library with fashionable belongings, a terrace room specially for dog owners, another one for parents and children... CHECK IN TIME is between 2 p.m. and 8 p.m. For later check in you are requested to advise the property 1 day in advance with a supplement of EUR 100. AIR CONDITIONING: please be aware that although we have new and perfectly working DAIKIN and MITSUBISHI A/C systems installed in our property, during Summer when outside temperature is exceptionally high, we cannot guarantee an inside temperature below 24C degrees.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Casa Howard Guest Houses Florence also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 5.0 out of 5

Casa Howard Guest Houses Florence Rooms

Standard Double
This very elegant room has a ceiling with typical antique wood paneling and precious curtains . Its very quiet and has a private bathroom inside the room. The furniture , made by a famous Interior Designer , instills a sense of calm and well being . It has beautiful tapestries and very comfortable mattress . Its near the Basilica of Santa Maria Novella.
Superior Double
This room is bigger than the Twin Room Left, its twin room that is on the opposite side. It has a little comfortable terrace that overlooks our patio and where its possible to see the dome of Santa Maria Novella. Its ideal for leisurely breakfasts outdoors. The room has an original fresco on the ceiling in typical wood. Private bathroom with shower.
Deluxe Double
This room has very elegant furnishings. The ceiling has typical antique wood paneling and precious curtains. Beautiful tapestries. Very comfortable mattress. The room is very quiet with a private amazing bathroom. The furniture, made by a famous Interior Designer, instills a sense of calm and well being.
Suite
Large and elegant room . The ceiling has typical antique wood paneling and precious curtains. Beautiful tapestries. Big bed with a very comfortable mattress . It has an amazing private bathroom. The furniture , made by a famous Interior Designer , instills a sense of calm and well being . Huge sofas guarantee an incredible stay . Many magazines have published photos of this room .

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Room service
Services
Childcare Service
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle

Nearby points of interest

  • Church of Santa Maria Novella: 0.1 mi
  • Santa Maria Novella Train station: 0.1 mi
  • Santa Maria Novela Basilica: 0.3 mi
  • Museo di Palazzo Davanzati: 0.3 mi
  • Basilica di San Lorenzo: 0.3 mi
  • Medici Chapels (Cappelle Medicee): 0.3 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.3 mi
  • Laurentian Library (Biblioteca Medicea Laurenziana): 0.3 mi
  • Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto): 0.4 mi
  • Centro Storico: 0.4 mi
  • Mercato Centrale: 0.4 mi
  • Piazza del Duomo: 0.4 mi
  • Duomo - Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore: 0.4 mi
  • Pitti Palace: 0.4 mi
  • Duomo Museum (Museo dell'Opera del Duomo): 0.4 mi
  • Church of Santa Maria Novella: 0.1 mi
  • Santa Maria Novella Train station: 0.1 mi
  • Santa Maria Novela Basilica: 0.3 mi
  • Museo di Palazzo Davanzati: 0.3 mi
  • Basilica di San Lorenzo: 0.3 mi
  • Medici Chapels (Cappelle Medicee): 0.3 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.3 mi
  • Laurentian Library (Biblioteca Medicea Laurenziana): 0.3 mi
  • Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto): 0.4 mi
  • Centro Storico: 0.4 mi
  • Mercato Centrale: 0.4 mi
  • Piazza del Duomo: 0.4 mi
  • Duomo - Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore: 0.4 mi
  • Pitti Palace: 0.4 mi
  • Duomo Museum (Museo dell'Opera del Duomo): 0.4 mi
  • Piazza della Signoria: 0.4 mi
  • Corridoio Vasariano: 0.5 mi
  • Basilica Of San Lorenzo: 0.5 mi
  • Uffizi Gallery (Galleria degli Uffizi): 0.5 mi
  • Museo Galileo - Institute and Museum of the History of Science: 0.5 mi
  • Museo Nazionale del Bargello (Bargello Museum): 0.5 mi
  • Galleria dell'Accademia: 0.6 mi
  • Boboli Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • Giardino Corsi: 0.6 mi
  • Palazzo Vecchio: 0.6 mi
  • Museo di San Marco: 0.7 mi
  • Piazza San Marco: 0.7 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Croce: 0.8 mi
  • Sinagoga di Firenze e Museo ebraico: 0.9 mi
  • Piazzale Michelangelo: 1.1 mi
  • Cimitero Delle Porte Sante: 1.1 mi
  • Giardino Della Gherardesca: 1.2 mi
  • Basilica di San Miniato al Monte: 1.3 mi
  • Museo Stibbert: 1.6 mi
  • Artemio Franchi Stadium: 1.6 mi
  • Fiesole: 3.3 mi
  • Baptistry (Battistero): 42.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (5)

Ratings and reviews for Casa Howard Guest Houses Florence

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
5 out of 5
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
2.6
Comfort:
2.4
Location:
4
Value:
3.2

40% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Casa Howard Guest Houses Florence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Shermz2
Business
New York, NY
Dec 2, 2014

Disappointing stay

This was surprisingly disappointing as I had booked based on some positive reviews I saw for this hotel. We had an extra bed request that would not be accommodated for and we were being unnecessarily charged 30 Euros for the extra bed request we originally put in when we booked. If I had been contacted by the hotel the after my booking went through, I could have made better accommodations. However, I wasn’t told until I got to the guesthouse and a woman was rudely snapping at me and telling me that we couldn’t stay in the terrace room we had originally booked. I asked to speak to a manager and she refused to let me talk to him, saying “he won’t talk to you”. She refused to give me her name or talk to anyone that could give us proper customer service. Eventually given another room with an extra bed, but the rudeness of the lady turned me off from the guesthouse and felt downright insulting. Entire building had a smell about it, too. Room were cold. Only positive is that it's about 10 min walk from the train station. Not worth a stay if you're looking for a decent guest-house/b&b experience, Never planning on going near this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Howard Guest Houses Florence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
d.jones136
Business
Nashville, tn
Oct 20, 2014

Be sure to arrive within their timeline!

We were on our honeymoon and doing some sight seeing, so we took some extra time in pompeii, and consequently our drive to florence took longer than anticipated. We ended up arriving at the hotel around 7am the morning after our intended arrival date. We were promptly met with a bad attitude asking why we didn't call them and let them know we would be late. Apart from not having a phone to use while in italy, I've never thought it to be necessary to have a designated arrival time for a service I'm paying for. Read the booking notes. If you want to check in outside of the 2pm-8 pm window it could cost you an extra 100 euros. The room was nice, the bed kind of hard, and The wifi service didn't reach the room. I will seek out different hotel accommodations for my next trip to florence.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Trattoria dall'oste is a great place to eat. We had a wonderful server who told us about places to go see, and things to enjoy while in town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Howard Guest Houses Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
European 30th Bday
Business
Austin Tx
Mar 14, 2014

Unique, Enjoyable Stay

Great location, fantastic if traveling by train as the hotel is only a few blocks from the station. The feel is though you are staying at your own residence in Florence. Each room is unique so explore them online and select your favorite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Explore south of the Arno. Most of the main Florence attractions are north but south of the river has a lot to offer as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Howard Guest Houses Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Patti W
Business
Prospect, KY
Oct 26, 2013

A little disappointed

When I reserved this room I saw nice size rooms in the pictures posted, but arrived and was told I reserved the Hidden Room. It was only about a 10 x 10 room with the shower and sunken tub right next to the bed. We were climbing ver top of each other and our luggage, the TV remote did not work, but the sweet couple running the place came at 10 PM and fixed it after about a half hour of being in our cramped room with us.....AWKWARD! In addition, I ordered breakfast but it never arrived. Breakfast is served in your room....they could not find my breakfast order. Sweet people but not real organized and room rediculously small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Howard Guest Houses Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AmandaX
Business
New York, NY, USA
Feb 29, 2012

A Lesson in Doing Your Homework

Let me preface what I am about to say by letting you know that I did not necessarily have a bad time here, but I did get a completely different experience than what I was expecting. I read only a few reviews and looked briefly at their website. I thought, for the price and location, and based on the good reviews I read, that it would be perfect. And by no means was the CHGH flawed in any way, it was just a complete surprise. Here are the facts: This is NOT a hotel. It is more like a themed bed and breakfast. The "Play Room" has a rock wall (awesome) and pictures of clowns on the wall of the bedroom (alarming). All the rooms have a theme. It is perfectly clean and comfortable (once you take the pictures that make you uncomfortable off the wall and stow them safely away in the corner, facing the wall) Best shower I have ever used in Italy. Think that sums it up. Just make sure you know what you're getting into when you walk in to the Casa Howard. They are friendly and super accomodating, but it is a different kind of experience. The location is amazing though, and they even have bottles of wine available for purchase on every floor. Drink up!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top