$84 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 31, 2015 Check-out: Apr 1, 2015

California Hotel Florence

4 stars
View map of Via Ricasoli 30, Florence, 50122

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for California Hotel Florence

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 22
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
traveler on teacher's budget
Business
harrisonburg, va
Sep 23, 2010

California in Florence!!

The location is SUPERB! we were able to check in and within minutes see the David. we loved the location which was easy to find. the rooms were clean, and the bathrooms spacious (on a european scale). i didn't like that you had a card key that had to be turned into the desk.... and the air conditioner was run on the card key-- so our room was stiffling for the first 35 mintues when we returned... the hotel was perfect for us-- we were more interested in the city then we were with our accomodations-- and we loved this place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Sep 12, 2010

NOT a 4 star hotel

If you're looking for a two star hotel in a good location, this is the one for you. However, when you're expecting a four star hotel as they claim to be, you're more than a little annoyed when they show you to your room. Under no circumstances could this be considered four stars. First of all, the security issue. They have actual keys for the room and you are required to leave your room key with the front desk every time you leave. Besides being annoying, it is also unsafe. Not once did they ask us for ID when we came back and picked up our key. We merely said what room we were in and they handed over the key. They rotated staff, too, so it wasn't like the person recognized us. Also, if you want to use the safe you have to give them a 5 Euro deposit and then carry around a bulky key all day. The room was very small and didn't have any comfy chairs to lounge in, like I would have expected in this hotel class. My husband and I like to take leisurely vacations and end up spending a lot of time in the room, but this room was not inviting at all. The beds were very firm and they provided us with only two very small and hard pillows. The bedding was simply pitiful. They gave us a sheet and a "blanket", which was simply some of the window fabric thrown over the sheet. This isn't what one expects in a four star hotel. Now for the bathroom. It was clean, but that's about all it had going for it. They didn't provide any soap or shampoo, which is usually a given in a place that claims they're a four star hotel (In fact, I've never had to provide my own soap, no matter the star rating of the hotel). We had to go buy hand soap from the grocery. My husband always uses the shampoo provided, so he had to buy shampoo. They provided a minimal number of thin, hard towels. The shower was so tiny that it was difficult for me and I'm a short, slender female. My husband had a heck of a time in there! There was no bathtub, either. Something that would be a given in a four star hotel. One last thing. If you're hoping to have the hotel store your luggage for you, you're only option is to just leave it sitting in the lobby. They have nowhere else to put it. If I'd booked a two star hotel, then this would have fit the bill. Unfortunately, they're trying to pass themselves off as a four star hotel and they simply aren't.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the Mangiafuoco Bracerie on Via Guelfa. It's about a three block walk from the hotel. Excellent food and service. They have typical Tuscan cuisine and food from other parts of Italy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A satisfied guest
Business
Mamaroneck, New York
Aug 8, 2010

Hotel California

Our room was very comfortable and was decorated in the Florentine style-with a fresco on the ceiling. We loved our little balcony with a view of the Duomo. Although we were in the heart of Florence (the Duomo 2 streets away, the Academia with David right down our street) the room was so quiet. I actually liked breakfast. Yes, my cappucinos and espressos came out of a machine, but they were delicious-and you could have refills during breakfast. The staff were polite, informative, and helpful. We could walk everywhere from our hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Book tours in advance to avoid long lines. When we would arrive at attractions like the Academia, there would be long lines snaking around the block, but with our tour guide, we would walk right in at our appointed time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Huntington Beach, CA
Aug 5, 2010

A quaint hotel in the heart of Florence

The hotel is nice, clean and in the center of Florence. The only downside is that there is a little construction in the building next store so you have to go through a different entrance with no elevator to the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Everything is within walking distance from Hotel California.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Franch_lace
Business
Austin, TX
Jul 24, 2010

Good Location

We were on vacation with the children and wanted to stay in a family friendly hotel that was also close to the places we needed to visit. This hotel was in a good location so we did not need to take cabs to get around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Museums and shops are with working distance so we did not need to use any cabs or buses

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, Canada
Jul 17, 2010

Enjoyed Our Stay

The location is excellent as attractions are mostly walking distance for up to 15 minutes, except Piazzale Michelangelo where we have to take the bus. The train station is also closeby that we only have to walk. Excellent staff service, provide us with maps and explain the attractions on maps.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a budget dining option in the train station.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tulas, OK
Jul 7, 2010

Great location

Very central location, but not the best if you want peae and quiet

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Apr 7, 2010

Excellent Hotel

I was very concerned about taking a chance with online booking, but I was so pleasantly surprised. I think what finally helped me to say yes to this one, because I spent hours researching, was the reviews; when they say they would recommend it to a friend, I felt re-assured about my decision. What was also nice was that it just happened to be on the same street my daughter's apartment was while she was here in school. This hotel has a great location. It is on the same street as the David and just around the corner from the Duomo. There is so much to see, Florence is really a fabulous place to visit. There is great shopping, outstanding food and wine. We never had a bad bottle of wine nor a bad meal. Be sure to go to the Piazza Michael Angelo, breathtaking views of all of Florence. We also, through Florence for Fun, did a walk and wine tasting tour that took us to the heart of the vineyards in Chianti country in Panzano, well worth the excursion.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Syracuse, NY
Mar 18, 2010

Amazingly Great Surprise

While my girlfriend and I did not spend much time in the room (we were in Florence after all), we enjoyed the hotel very much. We booked the room for only 60 DOLLARS a night. My girlfriend was skeptical of the hotel due to the inexpensive price and name, but I booked it anyways due to other reviews and pictures I saw as well as the location. My girlfriend was amazed by the hotel. It was all brand new. Everything in the hotel looked brand new and amazingly decorated. Not only that, but the hotel is a block and a half from the Duomo, and a block and a half from the Galleria Dell'academia. For those of you that don't know, those are the two best and most popular things to visit in Florence. All in all the hotel had the best of the best with a very affordable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greece
Dec 10, 2009

good location, good price and clean room

The hotel was under construction, but nothing bothered us. It was neat and clean for the price. Especially bath room was new. And it was in the best location to go around the city!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top