$94 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

California Hotel Florence

4 stars
View map of Via Ricasoli 30, Florence, 50122

Hotel Overview

California-Hotel-Florence-Guest-Room
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
27 reviews
Excellent Hotel

I was very concerned about taking a chance with online booking, but I was so pleasantly surprised. ... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Apr 7, 2010
Amazingly Great Surprise

While my girlfriend and I did not spend much time in the room (we were in Florence after all), we... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Mar 18, 2010
Classic Florentine boutique hotel steps from Michelangelo's David
With only 22 rooms, the Hotel California Florence is the very definition of Florentine intimacy. It's smart and polished boutique property, just steps away from Michelangelo's David Museum. Rooms are simple yet smart with modern amenities, and a complimentary breakfast is a welcome addition, especially when it is served on the hotel's garden terrace. 
Highlights
  • Prime location: down the street from Michelangelo's David
  • Breakfast (included) served on a garden terrace
  • Bathrooms adorned in white Carrara marble
Rooms
The 22 rooms at the Hotel California are decorated in typical Florentine style, all with private facilities as well as telephone, satellite TV, safe, and air conditioning. Bathrooms are equipped with either a bathtub or shower, and all feature white Carrara marble. Some rooms offer coveted views of the Cupola of the Duomo or a private terrace.
Features
  • The Hotel California Florence, a self-proclaimed "small paradise in Florence," is indeed an intimate, boutique Florentine hotel located in a historic building just steps away from Michelangelo's David Museum.
  • Decorated in classic Florentine style, many of the guest rooms and public spaces are adorned with authentic steel ornaments, frescoes, and stucco work reflective of the Renaissance period.
  • Rooms are spacious and equipped with modern amenities, with some offering rewarding views of the Cupola of the Duomo.
  • Breakfast is included and served on a spacious garden terrace, which is also the ideal spot for relaxing with a cocktail while admiring the facades of the neighboring buildings.
Transportation

Transportation

  • Florence Airport (5.3 mi/8.6 km)
  • Santa Maria Novella train station (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
Attractions
  • Boboli Gardens (0.8 mi/1.4 km)
  • Ponte Vecchio (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • Duomo and Baptistry (0.1 mi/0.2 meters)
  • Uffizi Gallery (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • Michelangelo's David Museum (0.2 mi/0.3 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed California Hotel Florence also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

California Hotel Florence Rooms

Standard Double Room
The bedding option for the room is one double bed or one twin bed. Room offers air conditioning, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable satellite TV, color TV, hairdryer, heating, room service, safe in room and telephone.

Amenities

General
Pet friendly
Dining
Restaurant
Room service

Nearby points of interest

  • Duomo - Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore: 0 mi
  • Duomo Museum (Museo dell'Opera del Duomo): 0 mi
  • Piazza del Duomo: 0.1 mi
  • Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto): 0.1 mi
  • Laurentian Library (Biblioteca Medicea Laurenziana): 0.1 mi
  • Centro Storico: 0.2 mi
  • Medici Chapels (Cappelle Medicee): 0.2 mi
  • Basilica di San Lorenzo: 0.2 mi
  • Mercato Centrale: 0.2 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.2 mi
  • Museo Nazionale del Bargello (Bargello Museum): 0.2 mi
  • Galleria dell'Accademia: 0.3 mi
  • Piazza della Signoria: 0.3 mi
  • Museo di Palazzo Davanzati: 0.3 mi
  • Museo di San Marco: 0.3 mi
  • Duomo - Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore: 0 mi
  • Duomo Museum (Museo dell'Opera del Duomo): 0 mi
  • Piazza del Duomo: 0.1 mi
  • Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto): 0.1 mi
  • Laurentian Library (Biblioteca Medicea Laurenziana): 0.1 mi
  • Centro Storico: 0.2 mi
  • Medici Chapels (Cappelle Medicee): 0.2 mi
  • Basilica di San Lorenzo: 0.2 mi
  • Mercato Centrale: 0.2 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.2 mi
  • Museo Nazionale del Bargello (Bargello Museum): 0.2 mi
  • Galleria dell'Accademia: 0.3 mi
  • Piazza della Signoria: 0.3 mi
  • Museo di Palazzo Davanzati: 0.3 mi
  • Museo di San Marco: 0.3 mi
  • Palazzo Vecchio: 0.3 mi
  • Church of Santa Maria Novella: 0.4 mi
  • Uffizi Gallery (Galleria degli Uffizi): 0.4 mi
  • Museo Galileo - Institute and Museum of the History of Science: 0.4 mi
  • Corridoio Vasariano: 0.4 mi
  • Santa Maria Novella Train station: 0.4 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Croce: 0.4 mi
  • Piazza San Marco: 0.4 mi
  • Santa Maria Novela Basilica: 0.4 mi
  • Sinagoga di Firenze e Museo ebraico: 0.4 mi
  • Pitti Palace: 0.5 mi
  • Basilica Of San Lorenzo: 0.5 mi
  • Boboli Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Giardino Della Gherardesca: 0.8 mi
  • Piazzale Michelangelo: 0.8 mi
  • Giardino Corsi: 0.9 mi
  • Cimitero Delle Porte Sante: 1 mi
  • Basilica di San Miniato al Monte: 1.1 mi
  • Artemio Franchi Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • Museo Stibbert: 1.5 mi
  • Fiesole: 3 mi
  • Baptistry (Battistero): 43.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:30 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for California Hotel Florence

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
27 out of 27
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frequent Visitor Also
Business
NY
Feb 5, 2013

I go there every time!

Excellent value, especially for Italy. Modern bathrooms, pleasant rooms, decent breakfast, excellent location. Not a super friendly staff, expensive Internet and no duvet covers on bed, just reusable bedspread, but super clean, relaxing, beautiful architectural details. I go there everytime I am in Florence, a few times a year. A definite recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
tinton Falls
May 21, 2015

Not the view I wanted

I got this hotel for the view that it pictures in the main photo. This isnt right because the douomo isnt as close as it seems in the picture. My bathroom smelled so bad. The staff was ok, the location was good but pretty much any othe rhotel is good since florence is so small. We took a taxi to the hotel the first time but then just walked to the train station when we left since it was only a 10 minute walk. Best thing about breakfast was the coffee, other than that we just skipped it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Recent Firenze Traveler
Business
Italy
Aug 4, 2014

Very good location ... But not much more

Room was not dirty but the appearance was less than desirable. Walls were scuffed and visibly stained. Shower head kept falling and spraying water all over the bathroom. Bed linens were clean, but comforter/dust cover was ancient. Parking was conveniently located next to the hotel but slightly pricey. The best thing about this hotel was the location. Very short walk to the Duomo, Palazzo Vecchio, Uffizi, and Ponte Vecchio. Simply not a 4 star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Trujillo
Business
Miami, Fl
Mar 28, 2014

Great location but worst customer service at front desk

I had the worst customer service experience I ever had. I reported broken and dirty bathroom parts that allowed the water to accumulate inside shower and go out and I was asked to fix it with my hands and ask for drying floor as needed. I also asked for the missing shower towel, and I was told they did not have any one at this time...People in the front desk seemed to be tired and become upset when you asked for information about the city...I could not believe it!!! I do not recommend the hotel if you want to enjoy your trip. Bar/Buffet employees provides outstanding service. Great pizza/service at Gelato restaurant close to "ponte veccio"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Robert single traveler
Business
Italy
Jun 4, 2013

Hotel California

The room was very small, not what I expected, thought I was getting a good price from your website but got what I paid for a very small bed and not much room to move.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frequent Visitor Also
Business
NY
Feb 5, 2013

I go there every time!

Excellent value, especially for Italy. Modern bathrooms, pleasant rooms, decent breakfast, excellent location. Not a super friendly staff, expensive Internet and no duvet covers on bed, just reusable bedspread, but super clean, relaxing, beautiful architectural details. I go there everytime I am in Florence, a few times a year. A definite recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
traveler2341562
Business
New York, NY, USA
Feb 26, 2012

not a four-star hotel

The room was fine, with a great shower, poor towels, and no English TV. But it was right next to one of their dining areas, so when people sat at 7:30, our sleeping was over. On top of that, they "store" your luggage right by the side of the entry--not very safe. This was a very good two-star hotel, but no better than that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Zurich, Switzerland
Jul 24, 2011

Nice and getting nicer....

Very nice hotel in very good location. Renovations still in progress and it should be even nicer when complete. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooftop bar was a great surprise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

The hotel is in an area of many one-way streets and a great deal of tourists. If you drive, call ahead on best way to get to the hotel. (GPS could not find it)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Apr 25, 2011

Perfect

The hotel was perfect for what I was looking for. Great breakfast in the morning and very accommodating. Great location. Very close to the train station, shopping and downtown

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marites B.
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Mar 31, 2011

very good

there very nice, the whole staff are very helpful. this place are very close to every where,train station, bus,food places are everywhere and shopping places too. We recommend this hotel for everybody, very clean and they fix your room everyday and give you new towel everytime...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

buy a bus ticket good for a week to commute to save money. its easy to use and you can always ask the driver to any stop u want...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marites B.
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Mar 31, 2011

very good

there very nice, the whole staff are very helpful. this place are very close to every where,train station, bus,food places are everywhere and shopping places too. We recommend this hotel for everybody, very clean and they fix your room everyday and give you new towel everytime...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

buy a bus ticket good for a week to commute to save money. its easy to use and you can always ask the driver to any stop u want...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top